Both France and the UK have made unsolicited offers to share design. The UK offered on three separate occasions to outright sell the HMS Prince of Wales and has recently revived its offer for design sharing of a CATOBAR QE2 (which they spent £28M on during the brief phase when the RN had decided to switch from the F-35B to C)Why isn't france being rolled into the IAC 2 endeavour?
They produced their own carrier with catapults powered by nuclear reactors and their own aircraft fly off of it.
The only exception being e2c bought from US
We are in the middle of definition studies for our future carrier(s). We can offer the design of the British carriers, as we were the ones who designed them, but it wasn't worth us buying and I doubt India would want it looking at the costs associated in the British programme... which Is why we passed on it.Why isn't france being rolled into the IAC 2 endeavour?
They produced their own carrier with catapults powered by nuclear reactors and their own aircraft fly off of it.
The only exception being e2c bought from US
I don't think France would like another nuke carrier.. CdG has been a huge pain to maintain and service.. They're quite expensive to procure as well. Afaik, France spends the highest on defense in Europe(allies) and very little room left for increase in expnditure..We are in the middle of definition studies for our future carrier(s). We can offer the design of the British carriers, as we were the ones who designed them, but it wasn't worth us buying and I doubt India would want it looking at the costs associated in the British programme... which Is why we passed on it.
The 60k crore also includes the cost of new fighters and not only the carrier. The estimate was based on carrier using 40+ Rafale M aircraft. The cost of carrier alone costed around 20000 crores. If its Nuclear propulsion IN gave a budget of 70000 crores. Reality was pushed on IN by MoD.That is to say if it gets funded soon..
Last i heard navy was asking 60000 crore for that 65k ton ship and MoD folded..
For comparison, that is 80% more than HMS QE for a smaller ship.
So they said a 50k ton a/c is now being considered which will cost 50000 crore.
The later MoD signs it, the harder inflation will penalise the total cost of program.
And then, there's the airwing.
I think India could have brought the IP and production line of Mig29K back in 2004. These aircrafts have no new orders and India could have modified to our strengths.
Engines fired up, basin trials next for Indigenous Aircraft Carrier
The long-delayed project, which was to be completed by 2018, is now back on track, with senior officers saying that the 37,500-tonne aircraft carrier will initially operate MiG 29K fighters and could also feature indigenous combat aircraft.
With the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) promising a technically compliant fighter jet by 2026, the Navy would be open to using it for the second indigenous aircraft carrier that it plans to build. Though funds have not been cleared by the defence ministry, the Navy is hopeful of a speedy approval for its plan to construct a larger aircraft carrier at the earliest.
Some reports say Mid life update of Mig-29K is also getting considered.
There was talk of Indian Navy approaching DRDO/ ADA to look into the issues faced by Mig 29K. Don't know what happened to that. My take, probably stopped by Russians. They would want us to pay them to look into those problems, not withstanding the fact that a properly navalized fighter ought not to have had these kind of deficiency in the first place.I think India could have brought the IP and production line of Mig29K back in 2004. These aircrafts have no new orders and India could have modified to our strengths.
Anyone wouldnt want us to take a look at their source codes in the first place. Since now its reckoning to sell 57 naval fighters and RN planned to buy it to replace Su33 they are very adamant.There was talk of Indian Navy approaching DRDO/ ADA to look into the issues faced by Mig 29K. Don't know what happened to that. My take, probably stopped by Russians. They would want us to pay them to look into those problems, not withstanding the fact that a properly navalized fighter ought not to have had these kind of deficiency in the first place.
More apt example would have been structural strength work carried out for carrying Brahmos on Su 30mki. Similarly on Mig 29K most of the work needed is the structural.Anyone wouldnt want us to take a look at their source codes in the first place. Since now its reckoning to sell 57 naval fighters and RN planned to buy it to replace Su33 they are very adamant.
The only time they allowed some weapon related source code was for Su30 MKI where we had to integrate Israeli avionics and other tech stuffs ourselves. Even then now they want us to stop tinkering with Su30 particularly reg integration of Israeli and our weapons on them. Their attitude is not able to accept us improving our design capabilities.
The two are uncomparable.More apt example would have been structural strength work carried out for carrying Brahmos on Su 30mki. Similarly on Mig 29K most of the work needed is the structural.
Nope.The 60k crore also includes the cost of new fighters and not only the carrier. The estimate was based on carrier using 40+ Rafale M aircraft. The cost of carrier alone costed around 20000 crores. If its Nuclear propulsion IN gave a budget of 70000 crores. Reality was pushed on IN by MoD.
Well the other poster gave example of weapon integration. Therefore I said as the work required is structural thus, structural strengthening example is more apt.The two are uncomparable.
Su30mki strengthening for brahmos requires far fewer changes, basically regarding increasing load weight of dual hard points on the center of the fuselage, while mig 29k requires entire spinal assembly to be beefed up for proper distribution of stress during arrested recovery..
I simply dont understand then. When it took 3B or around 19k crores with cost and dollar inflation for a 40k tonne carrier how can they cost 45k crores for an 50k tonnes carrier. Earlier I had seen reports saying that 65k tonne with electric propulsion and ac will cost around 65k crores. And I always thought the cost was along with the fighters.Nope.
Here it clearly states that 70,000 crore doesn't include aircraft
https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...ld-use-hybrid-system/articleshow/70381152.cms
And here, it implies so by saying a/c construction of 50,000 crore( resized smaller proposal) will be spread over 10 years to cost 5000 crore/annum.
https://wap.business-standard.com/a...arrier-ins-vishal-on-hold-119050600047_1.html
Here, it iterates the above but 45000 crore specifying conventional propulsion excluding aircraft and a smaller size of 50 kton
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...3rd-aircraft-carrier/articleshow/71383514.cms
And here it just says 1.6 lakh crore ( $22B) for both carrier and aircraft.
https://www.indiatoday.in/amp/mail-...whopping-rs-1-6-lakh-crore-1144836-2018-01-15
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
H | Ministry of defence,India: Save our first Aircraft carrier INS Vikrant | Indian Navy | 2 | |
Chinese Media on INS Vikrant | Indian Navy | 7 | ||
RIP INS Vikrant | Indian Navy | 16 | ||
P | Dismantling of iconic warship INS Vikrant begins | Indian Navy | 11 |