The American model of low density suburbs will destroy this country
hmm
lets see
total population 1,400,000,000
No of families = 1.4 bil / 4 =350,000,000

lets assume everyone lives in 5000 sq feet space
5000 x 350,000,000 = 1,750,000,000,000 sq feet

that is some 162,500 sq km
road network thumb rule 25% of living area.
so some 206,500 sq km.

6% of Indias total land area.

this does not include Offices, Schools, Unis, recreational area just living area etc.

but this is what can be called quality living space

Okabe Rintarou

hmm
lets see

so some 206,500 sq km.

this does not include Offices, Schools, Unis, recreational area just living area etc.

But there are multiple other factors: urban sprawl causes transportation issues. Especially the American style suburbs that makes mass public transit a non-started due to low population density. We need a sweet spot denser than this but not the densest.

One idea is to have "builder floors", basically mid-rise apartments. Middle ground between high rises and independent plots. Not sure about the effectiveness of mass transit in that.

omaebakabaka

hmm
lets see

so some 206,500 sq km.

It does not work like that. Nothing is contiguous, people live where there is water, in modern times electricity, municipal drainage and modern employment means living close to those centers. India's rural living was the closest you can get to that distributed centers but we are not smart enough to structure the employment hubs to sustain that great model anymore. Smart cities are artificial and nothing in that is self sufficient, a bigger pandemic than covid will show their weak points. But it is the best we can do...high speed internet and remote work should force some people in certain industries to move away from cities.

notaname

And genuinely people we need to resolve our drainage system issues before we worry for the beautification of our cities, currently approximately none of our cities can take a good amount of rain.

We are seeing how they are flooding, and getting choked with water the situation is so bad that district admin needing to close down schools and all other stuff, our cities need basic infra first with better street lights and other things, we have been able to somewhat clear those electricity lines, that took us many years, now need is to focus on basic infra then should we jump to beautification of our cities.

An half hour rain brings our road in knee length deep water, an hour we all know what happens, you can't go out, this is with a medium amount of rain we should atleast have something which can take this in and more then that can be debatable but atleast this should be a bare bone system to handle the rains.

notaname

hmm
lets see

so some 206,500 sq km.

And by converting this to Indian property rates, how many will be able to afford this type of construction? I don't think many even think about going this big with atleast 50 lakh in hand.

Okabe Rintarou

And by converting this to Indian property rates, how many will be able to afford this type of construction? I don't think many even think about going this big with atleast 50 lakh in hand.
Bruh. This is almost 1 Kanal. Forget 50 Lakh, will take at least 2 crore to buy land and build a house on it, without considering urban land price appreciation.

omaebakabaka

Bruh. This is almost 1 Kanal. Forget 50 Lakh, will take at least 2 crore to buy land and build a house on it, without considering urban land price appreciation.
Real estate is the most unproductive sector bordering on mafia, black money, speculation and so on. Supply chain should be private so they can offer quality employment and create industry demand and so on but all big ventures (builders) over a threshold needs to be a coop model with central or state open to audits. This will enable us to lift slums and other low income neighbor hoods and chance to replan. But again anything govt touches is probably going to stink. Somewhat Chinese model should be imitated without their ugly ways as they did lift massive people out of poverty and cleaned up cities.

It does not work like that. Nothing is contiguous, people live where there is water, in modern times electricity, municipal drainage and modern employment means living close to those centers.
tbh not everyone needs to live in such kind of houses, people can opt to live in apartments but all kind of choices must be available. High density 10+ floor apartments housing society/Independent building , 10 to 5 floor housing society/Independent building, Duplexes etc population will be divided across these.

Ultimately Cities must also serve to protect the individual culture of the city.

notaname

Real estate is the most unproductive sector bordering on mafia, black money, speculation and so on. Supply chain should be private but all big ventures over a threshold needs to be a coop model with central or state open to audits. This will enable us to lift slums and other low income neighbor hoods and chance to replan. But again anything govt touches is probably going to stink.
They all deal in cash and nothing is written on papers even the correct price of property bought.

And let me share a fact with you, all big builders, colonizers and real state dealers pay hafta to SDM, CM and other government officials so there is no chance of audit like that.

omaebakabaka

They all deal in cash and nothing is written on papers even the correct price of property bought.

And let me share a fact with you, all big builders, colonizers and real state dealers pay hafta to SDM, CM and other government officials so there is no chance of audit like that.
Bribe giving should be made bigger crime than takers perhaps....if caught seize double the assets. Rot will continue even if its borderline functional. It has been like that for over 1000 years now. Even the arab nomads got civilized while we got worse.

omaebakabaka

It's the people who have authority to seize are taking the bribe.
Some things got better with online service and less interaction with public officials some of these things can be solved but neither people nor govt lives by contract. People are 90% problem.

Okabe Rintarou

Didn't this change after RERA?

omaebakabaka

Nope, this is from my recent personal experience one of my plot is stuck due to that. And the colony is RERA approved.
Its the same as getting rid of 1000 rs note and mandatory aadhar use over certain amount but its so rotten that nothing will stop these assholes until the house they live in collapses on these bastards

Didn't this change after RERA?
at this point do you believe gov creating new shit can fix the rot in the society?
we have a forum/association for every grievance but does it really do the wok it was assigned to?
There are 40 million cases stuck in all courts in India combined.

You see mate we have the sickle and blade but our lawn is still a jungle

This population control bill drama is stupid. For multiple reasons. TFR is already about to dip below 2.0. Such a bill/law would have made a difference 40 years ago. Not now. Stupid idea.
We need the bill only to keep the Muslims from outbreeding us.

hmm
lets see

so some 206,500 sq km.

Eh too small for my taste. Need two more bedrooms and two more bathrooms and a separate living room and a den for an office/man cave.

Okabe Rintarou

We need the bill only to keep the Muslims from outbreeding us.
Nah. they will do it despite the bill. You can't criminalize having more children. Only thing you can do is prevent them from entering govt jobs and the like if they have more than two children. That affects the goody-two-shoes Hindus more than it does the Muslims that live in their own communities and chase less after materialism. So a law will only force the former to have less kids while the latter will be largely unaffected. This law is a stupid idea no matter how you look at it. Sorry for the OT.