Infrastructure and Energy Sector

Chandragupt Maurya

@Chandragupta Shaurya

Only planned parts of Super Metropolis Patna.

View attachment 147110
I have read somewhere that the metropolitan population of Kolkata is on decline outmigration is more than in migration if this trend continues then Kolkata will keep getting smaller and won’t remain the third biggest megacity after Delhi and Mumbai
There was a time when Kolkata was most populated city in Indian subcontinent now it has fallen below Delhi and Mumbai

Arjun Mk1A

@Chandragupta Shaurya

Only planned parts of Super Metropolis Patna.

View attachment 147110

The only region that looks organised in Bihar is Dharbanga city ( When we zoom out) . Otherwise every city in India have this unorganized area.

We should make some regarding Urban landscape in 3 levels.
1. Village level redevelopment.
2. Tier -3 & Tier 2 Cities redevelopment ( Lesser cost currently before they also starts to developed into Tier 1)
3. Proper defining of City Corporation. ( There are villages inside Bengaluru, Chennai Urban areas but they are villages - Ridiculous).
4. At last Every state Government should have multiple Cities rather than single city which contributes to state GDP ( You Maharashtra)

Eg. Karnataka has Bengaluru has major contributor. Time to develop Mysore, Mangalore, Hubbali , Dharward, Raichur.
Maharastra - Pune, Nashik, Nagpur, Kohlapur, Amaravati etc.
UP - Noida, Agra, Jhansi, Lucknow, Aligarh, Varanasi, Prayagraj, Gorakhpur and multiple border cities with Nepal.

We need to develop large number of cluster Cities which contribute equally to the state GDP.

Physx32

Why should Indian railways be vertically integrated? Why do they need to design and make their own rolling stock? Outside of the deepest socialist regimes no other train operators on the planet do this

Put out a tender (keep out the Chinese ) and let any global or Indian company meet the requirements, IR is tying one hand behind their back and creating an enormous white elephant by trying to do everything in house.

why doesn’t Airbus run an airline?
Because railways is not a profit oriented organisation. They want the best performance for the least price, that's why train 18 is so affordable but also modern. Global OEMs cannot match this price (see RRTS).

IR shouldn't be dependent on global OEMs, rather we should be working with Indian companies (like Medha, BEML) to produce traction equipment, coaches and ICF can assemble them (already happening with T18).

Optimus

@Bhairav as you are interested in infrastructure you can see progress of various projects in this government website. I got to know about this website few weeks ago it is a good initiative

Bhairav

@Bhairav as you are interested in infrastructure you can see progress of various projects in this government website. I got to know about this website few weeks ago it is a good initiative

Thanks bhai. It was my interest in infra which led to my discovery of DFI. Back in 2015, i used to be active on Skyscrapercity forum, then i got to know about PeeDF (because of the Developing India, but still a long way to go... thread), then after 2016 Uri attack, i started a bycott of PeeDF and started searching for an Indian alternative and found DFI.

Optimus

Thanks bhai. It was my interest in infra which led to my discovery of DFI. Back in 2015, i used to be active on Skyscrapercity forum, then i got to know about PeeDF (because of the Developing India, but still a long way to go thread...), then after 2016 Uri attack, i started a bycott of PeeDF and started searching for an Indian alternative and found DFI.
I found dfi because someone posted a link about a topic in r/indiaspeaks in russia-ukraine conflict thread

Bhairav

I found dfi because someone posted a link about a topic in r/indiaspeaks in russia-ukraine conflict thread
I used to be active on reddit a lot, but the environment there is very toxic and less productive when compared to DFI. Ab yahi apun ka Dera hai.

you are stuck on this skyline point for a few months now mate. my issue with this is that this point needs decades to see the difference
A very naïve take on the situation at hand.
Development Project are always welcome but we have to take Priorities under condition so that we can maximize our Development curve. Gov buildings are good and all but the Money printers are always Non Government Infrastructure. Take other Capitalist Countries for example gov buildings are small and minimal despite having more space because all the money went to establish Infra for the Public. The most recognizable buildings in fact do not belong to gov but Private players.
The Crux being that Gov is focusing in a few packs of land already under its control while the areas outside are wild west which follow no standard no protocol no nothing.
Without the parameters in place we indeed are building cities but they all turn out to be inhospitable mess where public has to compromise on Quality.
At the end of the decade if we do not do Path correction than we will end up with mess of a city with few shinny Gov buildings.

Gov needs to set standard and regulation right fucking now

Shuturmurg

A very naïve take on the situation at hand.
Development Project are always welcome but we have to take Priorities under condition so that we can maximize our Development curve. Gov buildings are good and all but the Money printers are always Non Government Infrastructure. Take other Capitalist Countries for example gov buildings are small and minimal despite having more space because all the money went to establish Infra for the Public. The most recognizable buildings in fact do not belong to gov but Private players.
The Crux being that Gov is focusing in a few packs of land already under its control while the areas outside are wild west which follow no standard no protocol no nothing.
Without the parameters in place we indeed are building cities but they all turn out to be inhospitable mess where public has to compromise on Quality.
At the end of the decade if we do not do Path correction than we will end up with mess of a city with few shinny Gov buildings.

Gov needs to set standard and regulation right fucking now
bad choice of words in the first sentence, not appreciated.

in the picture below, who exactly is responsible for the left side of the wall and right side of the road?

Concard

Its written there - " Indian nuclear scientists estimate that the country could produce 500 GWe for at least four centuries using just the country's economically extractable thorium reserves. "
Here is a video explained by Indian Scientist at CERN. Our nuclear program needs more money. We are sitting on fucking gold mine yet twiddling our thumbs.

Chandragupt Maurya

The only region that looks organised in Bihar is Dharbanga city ( When we zoom out) . Otherwise every city in India have this unorganized area.

We should make some regarding Urban landscape in 3 levels.
1. Village level redevelopment.
2. Tier -3 & Tier 2 Cities redevelopment ( Lesser cost currently before they also starts to developed into Tier 1)
3. Proper defining of City Corporation. ( There are villages inside Bengaluru, Chennai Urban areas but they are villages - Ridiculous).
4. At last Every state Government should have multiple Cities rather than single city which contributes to state GDP ( You Maharashtra)

Eg. Karnataka has Bengaluru has major contributor. Time to develop Mysore, Mangalore, Hubbali , Dharward, Raichur.
Maharastra - Pune, Nashik, Nagpur, Kohlapur, Amaravati etc.
UP - Noida, Agra, Jhansi, Lucknow, Aligarh, Varanasi, Prayagraj, Gorakhpur and multiple border cities with Nepal.

We need to develop large number of cluster Cities which contribute equally to the state GDP.
There is a new city taking shape in south Bihar “Rajgir”
Bihar state government seems to be more focused on Rajgir than Patna it was just jungles and mountains 10 years ago but now it’s getting tier-1 infrastructure , Nalanda University , an international cricket stadium , Nature and Zoo Safari Park , Star Rated Hotels and restaurants , IT Park , An Sports University , Film City and a number of other projects are either under construction or completed you must look at it