Infrastructure and Energy Sector

mokoman

:hmm: i personally prefer solar , its is the future or atleast part of it .

only problem is battery tech , even without that, its still really cheap

i dont buy the 'solar is good environment' line , heard of it been massively polluting + u need lot of fresh water.

but with better panel tech , IMHO its the future .

Physx32

i personally prefer solar , its is the future or atleast part of it .
Solar energy (or wind turbines) cannot replace a coal based thermal power plant simply because It's unreliable. Thermal plants are designed to provide fixed base load to the grid, solar can't do that as it's unreliable and power production varies throughout the day from peak during noon to 0 during nights. To "smooth" this erratic curve, additional gas turbine plants need to be installed to keep spinning the turbines at night (for CSP). For PV solar plants, pumped storage need to be made to store energy during day and use at night. PV solar cells also have a problem supplying variable reactive power to the grid (there's no alternator here where you can change field excitation to control reactive power).

The only way forward is to build nuclear plants (base load) and big hydro plants (both base and peak load). PV solar plants with pumped storage should of course complement these systems.

Also what about geothermal plants? Are they not feasible here?

:hmm: i personally prefer solar , its is the future or atleast part of it .

only problem is battery tech , even without that, its still really cheap

i dont buy the 'solar is good environment' line , heard of it been massively polluting + u need lot of fresh water.

but with better panel tech , IMHO its the future .

Nuclear is the future

I hope india is investing in indigenous nuclear tech like China is otherwise China will DOMINATE the world when they achieve energy independence and are able to export their tech to the rest of the world that is arbitrarily destroying their own non-renewable energy sectors at will as of now.

solar isn’t reliable enough for base load and the battery tech may never be there to address this issue. Coal is going to be the go to base load option for india until nuclear is viable

it seems that India is letting itself fall behind in this arena again and ensuring it’ll be reliant on foreign tech and handouts for another generation.

You should watch the videos i linked in other thread by Shudhanshu mani, creator of train 18. He explains how railway doesn't have the tech expertise to create the aluminum coaches and that's why first they should take some experts from the outside and learn from them he goes in detail about the process.

Idea was to ensure that Train 18 creators at ICF which is a great team should be the one which should focus and learn and from there with some of them know how to be shared with the other coach factories and even private players so that together they can reach the goal of 400 in few years.

One of the point he raised about the useless spending of money on some trains which don't give any returns. Look up his videos on news station, there are atleast 4 to 5 videos recently where he goes in detail about how to achieve this.

I didn't know much about rrts or alstom, if they are making good progress then maybe their expertise can be taken but it should be ensured that they learn and no one is better than ICF since they created train 18 and have a great team and headstart for that.
Why should Indian railways be vertically integrated? Why do they need to design and make their own rolling stock? Outside of the deepest socialist regimes no other train operators on the planet do this

Put out a tender (keep out the Chinese ) and let any global or Indian company meet the requirements, IR is tying one hand behind their back and creating an enormous white elephant by trying to do everything in house.

why doesn’t Airbus run an airline?

Why should Indian railways be vertically integrated? Why do they need to design and make their own rolling stock? Outside of the deepest socialist regimes no other train operators on the planet do this

Put out a tender (keep out the Chinese ) and let any global or Indian company meet the requirements, IR is tying one hand behind their back and creating an enormous white elephant by trying to do everything in house.

Railway need to integrate academia , not a big deal to make tilting train ,and @dbdzzzzzz mani sir is experienced but still i won't take his words as words of bible .

Socialist thinking. Economics needs to come first, instead IR is always waiting for handouts from the GoI

India could create companies with the capabilities of Alstom given its scale but what is the crap that’s actually designed by IR? 1960s junk

Chandragupt Maurya

@Chandragupta Shaurya

Only planned parts of Super Metropolis Patna.

View attachment 147110
I have read somewhere that the metropolitan population of Kolkata is on decline outmigration is more than in migration if this trend continues then Kolkata will keep getting smaller and won’t remain the third biggest megacity after Delhi and Mumbai
There was a time when Kolkata was most populated city in Indian subcontinent now it has fallen below Delhi and Mumbai

Arjun Mk1A

@Chandragupta Shaurya

Only planned parts of Super Metropolis Patna.

View attachment 147110

The only region that looks organised in Bihar is Dharbanga city ( When we zoom out) . Otherwise every city in India have this unorganized area.

We should make some regarding Urban landscape in 3 levels.
1. Village level redevelopment.
2. Tier -3 & Tier 2 Cities redevelopment ( Lesser cost currently before they also starts to developed into Tier 1)
3. Proper defining of City Corporation. ( There are villages inside Bengaluru, Chennai Urban areas but they are villages - Ridiculous).
4. At last Every state Government should have multiple Cities rather than single city which contributes to state GDP ( You Maharashtra)

Eg. Karnataka has Bengaluru has major contributor. Time to develop Mysore, Mangalore, Hubbali , Dharward, Raichur.
Maharastra - Pune, Nashik, Nagpur, Kohlapur, Amaravati etc.
UP - Noida, Agra, Jhansi, Lucknow, Aligarh, Varanasi, Prayagraj, Gorakhpur and multiple border cities with Nepal.

We need to develop large number of cluster Cities which contribute equally to the state GDP.

Physx32

Because railways is not a profit oriented organisation. They want the best performance for the least price, that's why train 18 is so affordable but also modern. Global OEMs cannot match this price (see RRTS).

IR shouldn't be dependent on global OEMs, rather we should be working with Indian companies (like Medha, BEML) to produce traction equipment, coaches and ICF can assemble them (already happening with T18).

Optimus

@Bhairav as you are interested in infrastructure you can see progress of various projects in this government website. I got to know about this website few weeks ago it is a good initiative

Bhairav

@Bhairav as you are interested in infrastructure you can see progress of various projects in this government website. I got to know about this website few weeks ago it is a good initiative

Thanks bhai. It was my interest in infra which led to my discovery of DFI. Back in 2015, i used to be active on Skyscrapercity forum, then i got to know about PeeDF (because of the Developing India, but still a long way to go... thread), then after 2016 Uri attack, i started a bycott of PeeDF and started searching for an Indian alternative and found DFI.

Optimus

Thanks bhai. It was my interest in infra which led to my discovery of DFI. Back in 2015, i used to be active on Skyscrapercity forum, then i got to know about PeeDF (because of the Developing India, but still a long way to go thread...), then after 2016 Uri attack, i started a bycott of PeeDF and started searching for an Indian alternative and found DFI.
I found dfi because someone posted a link about a topic in r/indiaspeaks in russia-ukraine conflict thread

Bhairav

I found dfi because someone posted a link about a topic in r/indiaspeaks in russia-ukraine conflict thread
I used to be active on reddit a lot, but the environment there is very toxic and less productive when compared to DFI. Ab yahi apun ka Dera hai.

you are stuck on this skyline point for a few months now mate. my issue with this is that this point needs decades to see the difference
A very naïve take on the situation at hand.
Development Project are always welcome but we have to take Priorities under condition so that we can maximize our Development curve. Gov buildings are good and all but the Money printers are always Non Government Infrastructure. Take other Capitalist Countries for example gov buildings are small and minimal despite having more space because all the money went to establish Infra for the Public. The most recognizable buildings in fact do not belong to gov but Private players.
The Crux being that Gov is focusing in a few packs of land already under its control while the areas outside are wild west which follow no standard no protocol no nothing.
Without the parameters in place we indeed are building cities but they all turn out to be inhospitable mess where public has to compromise on Quality.
At the end of the decade if we do not do Path correction than we will end up with mess of a city with few shinny Gov buildings.

Gov needs to set standard and regulation right fucking now