INS Vikrant Aircraft Carrier (IAC)

flanker99

Already IAC faced one security breach issue probably NAVY want to install it later to keep things away from certain people ,I guess right now there are many insiders and outsider technicians are there onboard, probably Russians also because landing system installation was done by Russian OEM people, and its good to keep things away from some people and Kerala is a hub of Jihadies..
Imo there's simply some kind of delay from Israeli side on deliveries of mfstar...ins murmugao went to trials without it and she still didn't had it installed in the last sat pics.

Tridev123

It's not an easy task using missiles with respect to Pakistan. Every missile launch by India will be taken as excuse by Paks to launch their strategic missiles as they will feign ignorance about the kind of missiles launched by India. If you had noticed, Pakistan have very very less conventional SSM compared to India. Other than their BMs, all they have is Babur and Raad, even they are nuclear capable as claimed by them.

India on the other hand has a thousands of Brahmos deployed, Nirbhay would be deployed in hundreds soon enough. But India would take the need to attack Pakistan from the skies most likely , not to trigger them to fire missiles. China it's a different ballgame. Our Brahmos can literally flatten their entire military infra in Tibet and Xinjiang. And they would take days to move thier rocket forces from the east to the western part. And they can still do greater damage. Infact more than Pakistan, wrt China, India can have no two measures and go for the full if it wants to prevail in a conflict. China won't.
Sorry for replying so late.
The nuclear bogey is used innumerable times by Islamabad to freeze India into fear and indecision.
We should not fall into the trap and emasculate our military.
As has been stated many times any nuclear attack on India or its forces by even an 0.1 kn atomic bomb will trigger an disproportionate nuclear response by New Delhi and Pakistan as it is known today will cease to exist.

It will be possible that India will convey to Pakistan that the Brahmos and the future Nirbhay(ITCM) missiles that will be launched against Pakistan will have non nuclear warheads.
Now if some idiots in Islamabad choose to disbelieve our assurances and launch an nuclear tipped missile against India in response, so be it. They will be initiating the total destruction of their country caused by an Indian counter strike.

An ongoing example of the use of missiles which do not trigger nuclear war is the use of Iskander, Kaliber and other short range/medium range missiles by Russia against Ukraine.

Now coming to the use of the Brahmos against China.
Now Tibet is an huge mass of land, about 2 million square kilometres (appx).
Xinjiang is also big.
Targets in Tibet and Xinjiang are many hundreds and even more than a thousand kms away from the Indian border.

Can you really compare Pakistan and Tibet & Xinjiang.
An 800 km Extra range Brahmos can hit all possible targets in Pakistan but can it hit an target on the Tibetan border with Mainland China which may be more than a thousand kms from the Indian border.

Do we have an fully tested and validated ITCM with 1500 km range available in numbers now. Possibly dozens of them ready for launch.

If no, then what options do we have. Other than the using the Air Force.

Please use actual or approximate distances of targets(information may be available on the net) in interior Tibet and Xinjiang(from the Indian border) in case you want to argue that the future 800 km range Brahmos will cover every inch of territory in Tibet and Xinjiang.

Bro, we simply don't have cruise missiles of sufficient range to cover the whole of Tibet and Xinjiang. As of today.

Also the longer the distance the target is from the launch point, the more distance the cruise missile has to travel. And it is a known fact that errors in navigation increase with distance. An 1500 km range cruise missile may be less accurate than an 300 km range missile. A large CEP will reduce the effectiveness of the bombing.

No, the distance only affects the CEP of those missiles using inertial navigation system as the major navigation method, such as ballistic missile!
Cruise missile has the inertial navigation as the complementary method, but mainly replying on the GPS and terminal seeker for its CEP.
But distance does affect the effectiveness of the cruise missile bombing as it gives the defender more space and time to organize the defense network, and it also make it difficult for attacker to check the damage effect.

Dark Sorrow

Not true, this is only true for missile that follow ballistic trajectory (MRLS and BM). Especially in old days.
Modern missiles now have negated this drawback with radar sensors, Satellite guidance, TVC and maneuverable re-entry vehicles.
CM have a very accurate guidance computer and sensors (from Satellite Guidance, ground station updates, to INS, to EO and radar sensor for terminal phase).

Adm Kenobi

Seriously where the eff is this ship’s primary sensor suite (MFSTAR)? And they say they’ll be commissioning her next month without it and with no fighter trails? IN is meant to be the most professional service but they’ve fallen into the same jingoistic backwards mentality as the rest.
You are aware of the delays in delivery of MF-STAR but you still continue to raise the same question **EVERY TIME** a pic is posted. Why?
Can you please stop whinging every time a pic of IAC-1 is posted?

As for the "jingoistic backwards mentality", what's the problem here? You are an old member, I believe you do know that a ship isn't to be "operational" (for deployment) just after commissioning, it takes around an year or more for it to be "deployment ready" what's the problem if MF-STAR faces aren't installed on the mast on commissioning? Not like it's the first time IN is commissioning a ship which isn't in its' final form (missing some sensors/eq). You like it? (Crying)

"No fighter trails"

What??

flanker99

You are aware of the delays in delivery of MF-STAR but you still continue to raise the same question **EVERY TIME** a pic is posted. Why?
Can you please stop whinging every time a pic of IAC-1 is posted?

As for the "jingoistic backwards mentality", what's the problem here? You are an old member, I believe you do know that a ship isn't to be "operational" (for deployment) just after commissioning, it takes around an year or more for it to be "deployment ready" what's the problem if MF-STAR faces aren't installed on the mast on commissioning? Not like it's the first time IN is commissioning a ship which isn't in its' final form (missing some sensors/eq). You like it? (Crying)

"No fighter trails"

What??
I expect her to receive it soon murmogao has received her mfstar

@abingdonboy @Adm Kenobi Dheeraj rakho chicha log, kahe aap tension lete ho. Thoda bahar ghumo, seir karo, apna Navy ko bhi itni chinta nahi jitna aap dono le rahe ho
Mf star ke liye kya ?
Lol lag jayega , jahaz se udane ke liye to plane bhi nai hai .
Deployment to waise bhi nai hone wala , in the high seas .
Jahaz banagya bas

Mf star ke liye kya ?
Lol lag jayega , jahaz se udane ke liye to plane bhi nai hai .
Deployment to waise bhi nai hone wala , in the high seas .
Jahaz banagya bas
MF-STAR is a search and track radar. It could be installed even after commissioning. Its not a new RADAR for us and its cuing onboard is not a big issue. Important then the STAR radar is its subcomponent. As far as we have seen, those are already in place.

As far as fighters are concerned, we need a total of 52 Mig-29K among both the ACs. Right now we have 42 in active service. As of now, these are enough to operate from both the ACs. Anyway after commissioning it doesn't mean it would start patrolling Gulf of Eden or South China sea from second day itself.