India's first line of defence - RAW

Bosch

I would like to know more about RAW. Unlike CIA whose ops are much publicised, RAW does not even maintain a website.

Where should I start? I have read The Kaoboys of RAW(by R Raman) and The Unending Game(by Vikram Sood) so far.

I would like to know more about RAW. Unlike CIA whose ops are much publicised, RAW does not even maintain a website.

Where should I start? I have read The Kaoboys of RAW(by R Raman) and The Unending Game(by Vikram Sood) so far.
Even budget of RAW is classified. Recruitment process is far more indirect and shadowed. Only thing what's public is that it exists.

Bosch

Even budget of RAW is classified. Recruitment process is far more indirect and shadowed. Only thing what's public is that it exists.
That's too bad. Atleast some publicity is needed so that bright college students might consider a career in RAW.

Haldiram

Only after I read the thread title did I realize that this forum has been up for years and we haven't had a single thread for RAW. No one even mentions it. :shock:

Bosch

RAW is not a place to make career,when needed they will contact you & train you..the least you can do is say yes
That may be true for RAW agents. But what about engineers, doctors and scientists who would want a challenging career? If they don't even know RAW exists, they will continue working for the usual soul crushing jobs. There definitely is some interest in the career opportunities RAW provides, but no one knows where and how to apply. CIA and MI5 employ their ivy league grads, how many from our iits and nits are working for RAW?

Why so serious?

Lifestyle of RAW agents: Training, Recruitment & Salary
Mar 25, 2019, Shikha Goyal

When we think about the Lifestyle of RAW agents or a Secret Intelligence Field Agents, James Bond movie strikes our mind and we imagine or dreams about the action, investigations, conspiracy plots etc. but is it really true in real life. Is it happened like that only, or may be different. Even some secret Intelligence Services are desk bound jobs, paper work without any action but some may have exciting work, high risk, etc. They also sometimes work as a support job at our country’s Secret Intelligence Services like translation of Foreign languages, communication officers, call centre assistants, technicians, network specialists, recruitment officers etc.

Source: www.ste.india.com

Now we will see the life style of the RAW agents what all they do for us in the Job.

Lifestyle after becoming RAW agents
• They get opportunity to travel and foreign language proves them to be beneficiary. But this job may be a bit lonely one.

• They have to do lots of Research work pottering round and have to attend meetings.

• Sometimes during secret operations it may be risky. Their names are not revealed to anyone for the safety of the officers. Nobody has access of information about them.

• If RAW agents are exposed to anyone they have to stand firm as we all know pressure is everywhere in work the need is to survive and win in any situation.

A story of Ajit Kumar Doval, an IPS officer who rose to become the Intelligence Bureau director and also India’s National Security advisor once revealed his Pakistan mission. He was undercover there for 7 years. He sent vital information regarding their nuclear development. In Pakistan he used to go to Dargah being a Hindu as he doesn’t have to reveal his identity. He used to follow namaz and everything of their culture. After facing such situations he was successful in his mission and return back carefully.

They even can’t share their identity to their family and friends.

• They have to follow a lead, target, info, and report what it leads, who are involved and where it's happening.

• Sometimes they have to meet economically and morally corrupt officials and extract info from them.

• Life within HQ is safer but a lot critical. They are responsible for Intelligence failures or tragedies of fallout. Sometimes if their colleagues are arrested then they have to delete their records and don’t even acknowledge them.

• Even Government discarded them if they are arrested in an operation outside our country.

• When they die on duty they will not get military honours, medal but if they will be successful in completing their missions tthat means they have saved lots of lives in our country.

Top amazing facts about RAW

What type of a training they are provided with. Let us discuss about it.

Training of RAW agents

It lasts for couple of years. Basic training and advanced training are provided to them.

Basic Training lasts no longer than 10 days in which they get familiarised with the real world of espionage and of intelligence. Also, they give knowledge about the space technology, information security, energy security, scientific knowledge, financial, economic and geo strategic analysis. Even they have to read some case studies of other agencies like CIA, ISI, MI6 etc.

Advanced Training

Now after completing ‘Basic Training’ they are sent to Field Intelligence Bureau (FIB) which lasts for about 1 to 2 years where they are taught how to survive in cold areas, jungles etc and also how to manage secret operations. They are also taught infiltration and ex-filtration in realistic conditions and also how to avoid capture, if caught, how to face interrogation. They also supposed to learn the art of making contacts, skills for operating missions etc. And then finally they came back to the school for final polishing.

Do you know the purpose, qualities and eligibility essential for this job?

Purpose of RAW Agents
Espionage is the practice of spying or of using spies, typically by governments to obtain political and military information. Their purpose is to gather information about another country’s activities, protect citizens against secret and covert operations from other countries and internal sources, their military operations, personal information about politicians despite the severe consequences of being caught as a spy.

Qualities to be a RAW Agents

• From diverse cultures and backgrounds they should have the ability to interact effectively with people.

• Communication skills should be magnificent.

• Self- management skills with high level of maturity should be there so that they can give proper judgement according to the situation and the ability to assess the risks.

• Self- motivation, determination to achieve results in any pressure, situation and environment.

• Professionalism and high level of personal integrity should be there which also comes through tough training and development programs.

What is Surgical Strike?

Eligibility for working as a RAW Agents
• Should be a citizen of the country.

• Criminal back ground should not be there.

• Applicant should not be drug addicted.

• Should possess good education from reputed University and should also have a grasp on one foreign language at least.

• Applicant should be ready to travel in any part of the country with a short period of notice.

• Before applying this job don’t tell your friends or relatives.

• Applicant should be real what actually he is.

At the end we will see about the recruitment and salary of such brave soldiers.

Recruitment and Salary of RAW Agents

Source:www.upload.wikimedia.org.com

Initially, RAW relied primarily on trained intelligence officers who were recruited directly. They belong to external wing of the Intelligence Bureau. After its role expands candidates are also recruited from the military, police and the Indian Revenue Service. Later, RAW started recruiting graduates from University. In 1983 RAW created its own service cadre, The Research and Analysis Service (RAS) to take candidate for Group A Civil Services under the Central Staffing Scheme. They have to clear all the stages of Civil Service Examination and few top candidates are allowed to write the RAW examination. They should also have an experience of 20 years of service. This is not a permanent job but a person can earn of about 0.8 to 1.3 lakhs per month.

Hats off to these brave soldiers who don’t even have anything of their own even their identity are also stolen still they work for us for our safety. Kashmir Singh was an exception who got land and monetary from the Punjab Government. He returned in 2008 after spending over three decades in a Pakistan Jail.

WARREN SS

R&AW Is Shady Organization With No morality Most Vicious It Does things You Will only dreamed About

It Does ops One Cannot Do Wearing Uniform.Some of Which Make You question your own morality as human being

It Is most cursed Organization But It Works In garb Of Corrupt Bureaucracy

If You Betray The Agency It Will Spare No one Not Even your close ones

So All the Aspirants Who Want Join Should Think 10 times

Intel gathering is a Serious Business

R&AW Is Shady Organization With No morality Most Vicious It Does things You Will only dreamed About

It Does ops One Cannot Do Wearing Uniform.Some of Which Make You question your own morality as human being

It Is most cursed Organization But It Works In garb Of Corrupt Bureaucracy

If You Betray The Agency It Will Spare No one Not Even your close ones

So All the Aspirants Who Want Join Should Think 10 times

Intel gathering is a Serious Business

Is RAW out of supreme courts jurisdiction.
Seeing how SC is the supreme body can't they bring in RAW organisation under trial.

Or is RAW above human rights?

Bosch

trivia:

Raghuram Rajan’s call to end his stint at the Reserve Bank of India is in many ways a throwback to a different era, the times when the ‘Kaoboys’ of RAW ruled the corridors of power. RN Kao was the influential Indian spook who set up India’s premier external intelligence agency, the Research & Analysis Wing, in 1968 and served until 1977. His Staff Officer, or simply put his most-trusted aide through that entire period, was Rajan’s father R Govindarajan. He was among the first of the ‘Kaoboys’, a name by which most of Kao’s original RAW trainees are known. He went on to resign from the Indian Police Service to join the new RAW Service that Kao had envisioned.

Govindarajan had a lot going for himself besides being one of RAW’s founding hands. He had a brilliant career, was at the top of his batch and ticked all the boxes to become the RAW chief. But when the time came in 1986-87, then prime minister Rajiv Gandhi opted for AK Verma. Many theories filled the air, like how the new Rajiv Gandhi government wanted to simmer the Kao effect, build a new architecture and a new legacy.

All said, it was a rude shock to Govindarajan’s supporters and there were quite a few. Because he had resigned from the IPS, he could not even return to his cadre and be made chief of police in his home state. As a sort of consolation, he was made chairman of the Joint Intelligence Committee. He quietly faded away into his retirement to Chennai. But his was a family lesson, which Rajan, the RBI governor, had probably learnt well.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...kaoboy-rbi-governor-read-signals-quite-early/

WARREN SS

Seeing how SC is the supreme body can't they bring in RAW organisation under trial.

For What ???? What Is the Proof ??? A Conspiracy Theory :biggrin2:

SC Knows R&AW Role Perfectly

Greater scrutiny of RAW & IB will risk own existence: Supreme Court

Read more at:
//economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/51114192.cms?from=mdr&utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

That's too bad. Atleast some publicity is needed so that bright college students might consider a career in RAW.
They consider and join it (who are aware). There most certainly is no need for a publicity like Hollywood to create its fanboys as they don't make any difference.

It's the agency with little noise, hype & publicity and has even surprised Americans and Chinese at various occasions.

Spindrift

No one is above the law, if someone where to being something to the notice of the Supreme Court regarding illegal activities being carried out by them on Indian soil with supporting evidence then the Supreme Court is duty bound by the law to act on it.
And as far as I know for illegal or questionable activities they use assets in the criminal world and not official RAW operatives (this is the case with most external intelligence agencies). Case in point and if I remember it correctly i think Ajit Doval was once caught by Delhi police with a sharp shooter of the Chota Rajan gang (correct me if I am wrong)
Hence they are so secretive and moreover RAW operates in foreign countries as it is an external intelligence agency .

WARREN SS

They consider and join it (who are aware). There most certainly is no need for a publicity like Hollywood to create its fanboys as they don't make any difference.

It's the agency with little noise, hype & publicity and has even surprised Americans and Chinese at various occasions.
For Me Is the Best Op Was Phone Tapping Of Gen Musharraf And Gen Aziz :megusta: in Kargil war

Transcripts of conversations between Lt Gen Mohammad Aziz, Chief of General Staff and Gen Parvez Musharraf, Chief of Army Staff, Pakistan.

(Aziz spoke from Pakistan to Musharraf, who was on a visit to China.)

Pak: Lt Gen Mohd Aziz, Chief of General Staff
China: Gen Parvez Musharraf, Chief of Army Staff

First recording
audio.gif (82 bytes)Real audio version of conversation.

P: How is the visit going?
C: Yes, very well, Okay. And, what else is the news on that side?
P: Ham-dul-ullah. There is no change on the ground situation. They have started rocketing and straffing. That has been upgraded a little. It has happened yesterday also and today. Today high altitude bombing has been done.

C: On their side, in those positions?
P: In those positions, but in today's bombing about three bombs landed on our side of the Line of control. No damage, Sir.

C: Is it quite a lot?
P: Sir, about 12-13 bombs were dropped, from which three fell on our side, which does not appear to be a result of inaccuracy. In my interpretation, it is a sort of giving of a message that if need be, we can do it on the other side as well. It is quite distance apart. Where the bombs have been dropped, they have tried to drop from a good position where they are in difficulty, from behind the LoC but they have fallen on our side of the LoC. So I have spoken to the Foreign Secretary and I have told him that he should make the appropriate noises about this in the Press.

C: They (Indians) should also be told.
P: That we have told, Foreign Secretary will also say and Rashid will also say. He will not, generally speaking, make any such mistake about those other bombs falling on the other side, our stand should be that all these bombs are falling on our side. We will not come into that situation. The guideline that they have given, we have stressed that we should say that this build-up and employment of air strike which has been done under the garb of....us (?), actually they are targetting our position on the LoC and our logistic build-up, these possibly they are taking under the garb having intention for operation the craft (?) Line of Control, and this need to be taken note of and we would retaliate in kind.... is what happened? So, the entire build-up we want to give this colour.

C: Absolutely okay. Yes, this is better. After that, has there been any talk with them? Any meetings etc?
P: Yeserday, again, in the evening.

C: Who all were there?
P: Actually, we insisted that a meeting should be held, because otherwise that friend of ours, the incumbent of my old chair, we thought lest he give some interpretation of his own, we should do something ourselves by going there.

C: Was he little disturbed. I heard that there was some trouble in Sialkot.
P: Yes, There was one in Daska. On this issue there was trouble. Yes, he was little disturbed about that but I told him that such small things keep happening and we can reply to such things in a better way.
C: Absolutely.

P: There is no such thing to worry.
C: So that briefing to Mian Seheb that we did, was the forum the same as where we had done previously? There, at Jamshed's place?
P: No. In Mian Saheb's office.
C: Oh I see. There. What was he saying?
P: From here we had gone -- Choudhary Zafar Saheb, Mehmood, myself & Tauqir. Because before going, Tauqir had spoken with his counterpart. We carried that tape with us.

C: So, what was he (Indian counterpart) saying?
P: That is very interesting. When you come, I will play it for you. Its focus was that these infiltrators, who are sitting here, they have your help and artillery support, without which they could not have come to J&K. This is not a very friendly act and it is against the spirit of the Lahore Declaration. Then Tauqir told him that if your boys tried to physically attack the Line of Control and go beyond it....and that the bombs were planted on the Turtok bridge and the dead body received in the process was returned with military honours and I said, I thought that there wan good enough indication you would not enter into this type of misadventure, and all this build-up that you are doing --- one or more brigade strength and 50-60 aircraft are being collected. These are excuses for undertaking some operations against the verious spaces, so I had put him on the defensive. Then he said the same old story. He would put three points again and again that they (militants) should not be supported, and without your support they could not be there, they have sophisticated weapons and we will flush them out, we will not let them stay there. But this is not a friendly act.

C: So, did they talk of coming out and meeting somewhere?
P: No, No, they did not.

C: Was there some other talk of putting pressure on us?
P: No. He only said that they (militants) will be given suitable reception. This term he used. He said they will be flushed out, and everytime Tauqir said that please tell us some detail, detail about how many have gone into your area, what is happening there? Then I will ask the concerned people and then we will get back to you. So whenever he asked these details, he would say, we will talk about this when we meet, then I will give details. This means, they are possibly looking forward to the next round of talks, in which the two sides could meet. This could be the next round of talks between the two PMs which they are expecting it....Sir, very good thing, no problem...
C: So, many times we had discussed, taken your (PM's?...) blessings and yesterday also I told him that the door of discussion, dialogue must be kept open & rest, no change in ground situation.

P: So, no one was in a particularly disturbed, frame of mind.
C: Even your seat man?
P: Yes, he was disturbed. Also, Malik Saheb was disturbed, as they had been even earlier. Those two's views were that the status quo & the present postion of Gen Hassan (?) no change should be recommended in that. But he was also saying that any escalation after that should be regulated as there may be the danger of war. On this logic, we gave the suggestion that there was no such fear as the scruff (tooti) of their (militants) neck is in our hands, whenever you want, we could regulate it. Ch Zafar Saheb coped very well. He gave a very good presentation of our viewpoint. He said we had briefed the PM earlier & given an assessment. AFter this, we played the tape of Tauqir. Then he said that what we are seeing, that was our assessment, and those very stages of the military situation were being seen, which it would not be a problem for us to handle. Rest, it was for your guidance how to deal with the political & diplomatic aspects. We told him there is no reason of alarm & panic. Then he said that when I came to know seven days back, when Corps Commanders were told. The entire reason of the success of this oepration was this total secrecy. Our experience was that our earlier efforts failed because of lack of secrecy. So the top priority is to accord confidentiality, to ensure our success. We should respect this and the advantage we have from this would give us a handle.
C: Rest (baki), is Mian Saheb okay?
P: Ok. He was confident just like that but for the other two. Shamshad as usual was supporting. Today, for the last two hours the BBC has been continuously reporting on the air strikes by India. Keep using this -- let them keep dropping bombs. As far as internationalisation is concerned, this is the fastest this has happened. You may have seen in the press about UN Secretary General Kofi Annan's appeal that both countries should sit & talk.

Second recording
audio.gif (82 bytes)Real audio version of conversation.

P: This Is Pakistan. Give me Room No. 83315 (same room number). Hello.
C: Hello Aziz.
P: The situation on ground is okay, no change. This area but it is not brought down by attack. One of their MI-17 arms (?) was brought down. Further, the position is, we had approached to our position, it was brought down. Rest is okay. Nothing else except, there is a development. Have you listened to yesterday's news regarding Mian Saheb speaking to his counterpart. He told him that the spirit of Lahore Declaration and escalation has been done by your people. Specially wanted to speak to me thereafter. He told Indian PM that they should have waited instead of upping the ante by using Air Force & all other means. He (Nawaz) told him (Indian PM) that he suggested Sartaj Aziz could go to New Delhi to explore the possibility of defusing the tension.
C: Okay.

P: Which is likely to take place, most probably tomorrow.
C: Okay

P: Our other friend (Lt Gen Ziauddin, DG ISI...?... or could be United States) might have also put pressure on. For that, today they will have a discussion at Foreign Office about 9.30 and Zafar Saheb (Lt Gen Saeeduz Zaman Zafar, GOC 11 Corps & Acting Chief) is supposed to attend.
C: Okay

P: Aziz Saheb (Sartaj Aziz, Foreign, Minister) has discussed with me and my recommendation is that dialogue option is always open. But in their first meeting, they must give no understanding or no commitment on ground situation.
C: Very correct. You or Mehmood (GOC X Corps, Rawalpindi) must have to go with Zafar. Because, they don't know about the ground situation.

P: This week, we are getting together at 8'o clock because meeting will be at 9.30, so Zafar Saheb will deliberate it. We want to suggest to Zafar that they have to maintain that they will not be talking about ground situation. All that you say. So far as the ground situation is concerned. Subsequently, DGMOs can discuss with each other and work out the modus operandi.

C: Idea on LoC
P: Yes. Hint is that, given that the LoC has many areas where the interpretation of either side is not what the other side believes. So, comprehensive deliberation is required. So, that can be worked out by DGMOs.

C: If they are assured that we are here from a long period. We have been sitting here for long. Like in the beginning, the matter is the same -- no post was attacked and no post was captured. The situation is that we are along our defensive Line of Control. If it is not in his (Sartaj Aziz's) knowledge, then discuss it altogehter. Emphasise that for years, we are here only.
C: Yes, this point should be raised. We are sitting on the same LoC since a long period.

P: This is their weakness. They are not agreed on the demarcation under UN's verification, whereas we are agreed. We want to exploit it.
C: This is in Simla Agreement that we cannot go for UN intervention.

P: Our neighbour does not accept their presence or UNMOGIP arrangement for survey for the area. So, we can start from the top, from 9842 (NJ 9842). On this line, we can give them logic but in short, the recommendation for Sartaj Aziz Saheb is that he should make no commitment in the first meeting on military situation. And he should not even accept ceasefire, because if there is ceasefire, then vehicles will be moving (on Dras-Kargil highway). In this regard, they have to use their own argument that whatever is interfering with you. That we don't know but there is no justification about tension on LoC. No justification. We want to give them this type of brief so that he does not get into any specifics.
C: Alright.

P: In this connection, we want your approval and what is your programme.
C: I will come tomorrow. We are just leaving within an hour. We are going to Shenzhen. From there, by evening, we will be in Hong Kong. There will be a flight tomorrow from Hong Kong. So, we will be there at Lahore in the evening, via Bangkok flight.

P: Sunday evening, you will be at Lahore. We will also indicate that, if there is more critical situation, then it (Sartaj visit) should be deferred for another day or two. We can discuss on Monday and then do.

C: Has this MI-17 not fallen in our area?
P: No Sir. This has fallen in their area. We have not claimed it. We have got it claimed through the mujahideen.
C: Well done.
P: But topwise side, crashing straight before our eyes.
C: Very good. Now are they facing any greater difficulty in flying them? Are they scared or not? This also you should note. Are they coming any less nearer?
P : Yes. There is a lot of pressure on them. They were talking about greater air defence than they had anticipated. They can't afford to lose any more aircraft. There has been less intensity of air flying after that.
C: Very good. First class. Is there any build up on the ground?
P: Just like that but the movement is pretty sluggish and slow. One or two are coming near no.6. Till now only one call sign in which one has not reached the valley so far. Now the air people & the ground people will stay back and then the situation will be okay.
C: See you in the evening.

http://web.archive.org/web/20000616034132/http://128.121.131.38/ramgen/india-today/pak1.rm

WARREN SS

No one is above the law, if someone where to being something to the notice of the Supreme Court regarding illegal activities being carried out by them on Indian soil with supporting evidence then the Supreme Court is duty bound by the law to act on it.
And as far as I know for illegal or questionable activities they use assets in the criminal world and not official RAW operatives (this is the case with most external intelligence agencies). Case in point and if I remember it correctly i think Ajit Doval was once caught by Delhi police with a sharp shooter of the Chota Rajan gang (correct me if I am wrong)
Hence they are so secretive and moreover RAW operates in foreign countries as it is an external intelligence agency .
Rajan Itself Was An Asset of Agency

http://dailynht.com/story/19554

https://www.thequint.com/news/india...ota-rajans-arrest-and-nsa-dovals-alleged-role

What is the issue with VK Singh again heard he had a scuffle with RAW.

Deathstar

He was first man to who able get penetration of R&AW Network
Inside Indian armed forces In kashmir

Also political faction of IB not R&AW killed TSD which it seemed threat to it's power
And it's masters

IB is KGB of India which even R&AW fears
TSD as in??and cN u explain more on VK sinSi and penetration in armed forces?

He was first man to who able get penetration of R&AW Network
Inside Indian armed forces In kashmir
He conspired to stop Bikram singhs appointments as army chief.
Also political faction of IB not R&AW killed TSD which it seemed threat to it's power
And it's masters
IB was probably penetrated by Congressi stooges at the time

IB is KGB of India which even R&AW fears
IB is shit organisation from what I've observed, they have babu culture much like any IPS headed job. IPS officer aren't the perfect folks for intelligence agency job it's a 50 50 ratio between good and bad. Most IPS officers can't think out of the box it's not their fault its their training. IB was probably responsible for Lal Bahadur Shastris death as well after all it had KGB influence form 1960