India's China Syndrome

Let us have a look around. China has some 15 countries around its periphery. With the exception of Russia, all those countries are small; in fact, some are tiny. If those countries were to go by the Indian example, they would have no reason even to exist. Their faces would be forever bereft of a smile; but, we know that that is not the case. Those countries are living with honor and dignity. We have the example of the tiny Vietnam standing up to the formidable Chinese army.

Nothing stated above should be taken to mean that we ignore or sleep over external threats to our security. Rather, those threats should be the main focus of our national attention, which presently, these are not. But for that, we do not have to beat our chest in public over our perceived weaknesses, especially at the official (including highest Defence) levels. India is a big country, it must learn to think and act big. The Indian Armed Forces are capable of taking on any world class military machine, provided we can get our mental act together; some 90% of our problems is in our mind.1 It may be relevant to quote an Urdu couplet here:
Khud hi ko ker buland itna Raise yourself to a level,
Ki her taqdir se pehle Above all others;
Khuda bande se khud puchhe So, God himself will ask
Bta teri raza kya hai Tell me, what do you wish to be?
India’s China Syndrome » Indian Defence Review | Page 3:shocked: