Indian Submarine Fleet.

Sridhar

House keeper
Underwater Missile

Why not develop similar tech & install it on the Kilo's,HDW-209, Scorpene's & ATV as well as frigates & destroyers of IN?
The supercavitating underwater missile is a technology demonstration program for close-in defence against underwater targets. It is equipped with a solid-propellant rocket motor, inertial measurement unit, autopilot and a conical tip which can be moved by means of an actuator system. The rocket motor provides the missile with a submerged speed of more than 400km/hr. The inertial measurement unit and the autopilot stabilize the missile so that the heading is held. The flexible nose cone provides steering just as a missile's fins do. Due to its high submerged speed, it moves in an air bubble, the so-called cavitation bubble, wherein almost vacuum prevails, thus greatly reducing its water resistance and enabling the high speed. To date, around a dozen test models of the underwater missile have been built and tested successfully. The tests focused on stabilization, guidance and maximization of agility, which is of great advantage for engaging rapidly moving underwater targets. The supercavitating underwater missile is suited for use from submarines and surface vessels.

Venom post links when you refer something of not your own

Diehl BGT Defence | Precise engagement of sea targets

venom

Looks Like A Torpedo, Acts Like A Robot

June 24, 2009: Sweden has developed a modular torpedo (AUV62) that operates as a UUV (unmanned underwater vehicle.) Because the 21 inch (53cm) torpedo is modular, it weighs .7-1.5 ton and is 3-10 meters (9.3-31 feet) long, depending on what modules are used. It uses new, lighter and more powerful sensors to take pictures (even when no light is available, using Synthetic Aperture Radar, or SAR) or do sonar mapping. AUV62 is most useful looking for bottom mines, and can scan two square kilometers of sea floor per hour. AUV62 can also be equipped with transmitters that make it appear, to other submarines or surface ships, as a submarine. This is used for training, or as a deception device in wartime.

AUV62 communicates via an acoustic (sonar) link that has a range of 3-15 kilometers. When it pokes its short mast above the surface, it can communicate via radio link (up to 8 kilometers, or anywhere if satellite datacomm is used). Endurance is about six hours, depending on speed. AUV62 can move as fast as 36 kilometers an hour, but usually moves along at less than 10 kilometers an hour when mapping or searching.

AUV62, and similar devices (that won't fit into a torpedo tube) have been under development since the 1990s in Sweden. As these UUVs were increasingly used, over the last few years, for testing and training, much more detail, about what's on the Baltic seabed, has been discovered. These include World War II torpedoes, that failed to explode, shipwrecks, and lots of old naval mines. During the two World Wars, over 100,000 such mines were used the Baltic. Only about 40,000 of them were found and removed after the wars. Nearly all of these mines were of the contact type (the sphere with the "antennae" coming out of them). These are kept in place by a chain attached to an anchor on the sea floor. After a while, these mines sink to the sea bottom, where they eventually decay to the point where they are no longer dangerous. With search devices like AUV62, it's now possible to map the location of many of these "lost" mines.

Submarines: Looks Like A Torpedo, Acts Like A Robot

I would love to see this weapon on In Subs...

i think we shud increase the sub's no as ssn and ssbn are costly so we cant have them in more nos hence we shud increase sub's with aip
(amur,u214etc) are best option and we need atleast
30-45 submarines
15 ssn
6 ssbn
51-66 submarines in 2040

we should buy SSK's then N-sub , cheap and best option would be Russian Subs, we can use different countries tech in these subs for deadly performance.
we can also use water-jet propelled engines, only SSK of these type are Russian Kilo in service with RuN,
these are fast & calm.

Sridhar

House keeper
we should buy SSK's then N-sub , cheap and best option would be Russian Subs, we can use different countries tech in these subs for deadly performance.
we can also use water-jet propelled engines, only SSK of these type are Russian Kilo in service with RuN,
these are fast & calm.
We cannot by any nuclear subs form most of the countries making them as they are signatories . We can lease them only .

SATISH

Because SSK are effective in shallow water and coastal defences. Why use a sword in a place of a knife?

venom

We cannot by any nuclear subs form most of the countries making them as they are signatories . We can lease them only .
But we can purchese them once the lease is complete.....We can purchase Akula after its 10 year lease is complete...

bhai i told same we more SSK but with Water Jet propulsion.

We must go in for more SSKs as well as SSNs, a balanced force. SSKs are best in the shallow regions of Bay of Bengal and Arabian Sea. We can use SSNs in the Indian Ocean and the South China sea due to its endurance.

SATISH

We have ship based Ballistic missile called Dhanush if I am right. And this was used to test the PADE and AAD.

guys i heard after india gaining independence ,the naval chief gave requirements for indian navy which includes some submarines and deadly weapons but at that time netas thought submarines will show india as aggressor so they rejected the idea of buying submarines(golden oppurtunity missed) as we will be having 60 years of experience on submarines and our fleet will be as high as 30 or above
i remember reading this in article but don't know the source so can anyone put it here

F-14

Global Defence Moderator
acutal natraj the RIN top brass had many dreams like the a 3 carrier force alsong with SSK's and many other Naval platforms but thanks to Moron and Company in the First cabinet we lost it