Indian Special Forces

Kumaoni

As coldhearted said. My point was not about the 'Humiliation'. More that we dont seem to want to learn any lessons. Jernals continue to earn medals and promotions via COIN and they happy doing that.

Only When China stomped on our border do we wake up to the fact that our BMPs have Zero night fighting capability.
Quality of officers has gotten far worse. Although the IA always had horrible officers (Major General Niranjan Prasad in 1965, pretty much any divisional commander on the western front, most of the eastern front was also quite lackluster too).

ManhattanProject

Yup. This is the issue. Never be afraid of failure but the only real failures are when you don’t learn from mistakes.

IDF’s entire culture changes after each major incident, they design everything- from boots to heavy MBT based on protection and lessons learned whilst the Indian mindset seems to be to operate however the manual was written 20/40/80 years ago.Insisting on bayonet fixtures for PDW in 2020s? Peak Indian military

how many soldiers/CAPF died by their convoys being attacked during movement in and out of station? I remember before Pulwama this happening regularly, if lessons had been learned maybe pulwama wouldn’t have occurred

Freaking Chalta hai attitude
"chalta hai dekha jayega" is in our blood, we dont wear helmets for protection but to avoid fines.

Jedi Operator

watch from 02:00, SEALs (even DEVRGU) cause he was their in the 1990s, had the mentality that body helmets and armour was for pussies. All that "koi na, thok denge" "it's not about the equipment, it's about the mindset" chalta hei attitude we have kept for so long and they changed it after suffering losses in Annaconda and later throughout GWOT. The learning curve was rapid for them owing to their great budget as well. It's not that we cant do any better it's just we dont want to. Mindset issue.

rkhanna

watch from 02:00, SEALs (even DEVRGU) cause he was their in the 1990s, had the mentality that body helmets and armour was for pussies. All that "koi na, thok denge" "it's not about the equipment, it's about the mindset" chalta hei attitude we have kept for so long and they changed it after suffering losses in Annaconda and later throughout GWOT. The learning curve was rapid for them owing to their great budget as well. It's not that we cant do any better it's just we dont want to. Mindset issue.
Also the command had urgency because they spend a fuck load of money on each Soldier. Loosing one (specially an experienced one) takes alot of time

https://www.instagram.com/reel/CnUfpV3KcKl/?igshid=NDk5N2NlZjQ=
@abingdonboy is going to have heart attack after finding western SF not having unformity in uniforms and looks like rag tag college kids😂
Apples and oranges.

this is a CT unit operating in an alert capacity for a civilian setting.

Most European countries have their national CT response in a semi-alert setting aka they are only called out if needed, how does this compare to JK and a military QRF?

and what’s so rag tag here? All their equipment is standardised and spec’d out. There aren’t 4 different types of helmets, plate carriers etc

6th edition is an interesting revelation. After the first 1-2 exs (back then called balanced Iroquois) they stopped publicising this

also worth noting is that unless these GB are from the CIF company (not sure what they are called anymore as CIF were disbanded) GBs aren’t really trained beyond the basics in CT/direct action which is the NSG’s mandate. They certainly won’t be trained in complex CT like ultra urban settings, plane/train assaults etc

GB’s main mission set is FID, so either this is a FID mission (which would be pretty tragic) or it’s just for diplomatic confidence building.

if Indian units ever start playing with the Rangers, MARSOC etc then you know this is above just box ticking

worth watching to understand GBs’ role in their own words:

NSG’s US equivalent is FBI HRT but the US doesn’t really let their ‘tier 1’ units play with anyone that’s not in NATO/a partner force