Indian Special Forces

Kumaoni

That’s not SF, that’s a specialist role sure but it’s not what SF/SOF are traditionally expected to do (behind the lines foreign work). A lot of SFs have a domestic CT responsibility too but that doesn’t make them one and the same.
So then this is where this thread is losing me, how do we distinguish the roles of super infantry like Ghataks and the roles of SF?

Paddy Mayne

There's a twitter handle with name Mountain Rats and username armybratspeaks. He seems to know more than the average Joe about Armed Forces and SF. Is he really a son of an SF veteran?
He also seems to be abusive towards a few veterans who are on the other side of the political spectrum. I myself don't agree with them usually,but it feels bad when he does that.

Kumaoni

There's a twitter handle with name Mountain Rats and username armybratspeaks. He seems to know more than the average Joe about Armed Forces and SF. Is he really a son of an SF veteran?
He also seems to be abusive towards a few veterans who are on the other side of the political spectrum. I myself don't agree with them usually,but it feels bad when he does that.
Have you heard of this guy? He’s a veteran of Operarion Cactus Lilly?

jai jaganath

That idiot
Just go back in this thread u will find a grand roasting of him along with some elite predator guy
Both are true idiots and think people are fool to believe their lies

shouryav105

So then this is where this thread is losing me, how do we distinguish the roles of super infantry like Ghataks and the roles of SF?
SF mandate is doing foreign internal defence and carrying out DA raids , hostage rescue , recon and much more behind enemy line .
But mandate is backed by political will which comes from national security crisis .
When you hear in para sf interview that ci/ct ops are part of their training thats what it means, you must have hear major sushant say that we should not loose people in these ci/ct ops thats what he meant,
We saw para sf fill their mandate in 2016 cross border raids , they did that because of political will to retaliate for uri attack,
Ghatak are doing their job , the ops para sf do nowdays are ghatak level ops .

Paddy Mayne

That idiot
Just go back in this thread u will find a grand roasting of him along with some elite predator guy
Ohh.. really? Had no idea...but is he really an armybrat or just says so for followers?

Kumaoni

SF mandate is doing foreign internal defence and carrying out DA raids , hostage rescue , recon and much more behind enemy line .
But mandate is backed by political will which comes from national security crisis .
When you hear in para sf interview that ci/ct ops are part of their training thats what it means, you must have hear major sushant say that we should not loose people in these ci/ct ops thats what he meant,
We saw para sf fill their mandate in 2016 cross border raids , they did that because of political will to retaliate for uri attack,
Ghatak are doing their job , the ops para sf do nowdays are ghatak level ops .
Isn’t the role of Ghataks to do behind the enemy lines attacks? The Meghdhoot force of ‘65 was basically a combination of Ghatak platoons from a Rajput, Raj Rif, and later in Chhamb,3rd Kumaon (Rifles) and 6 Sikh LIs ghatak commandos joined the force. This force played havoc on Pakistani lines. Similarly, cross border LoC ops were also largely done by Ghataks AFAIK. So that’s where I am lost I guess. The distinction between Ghataks and Para SF.

shouryav105

Ohh.. really? Had no idea...but is he really an armybrat or just says so for followers?
He is not , maybe his father was ,but that doesnt change the fact that he is complete idiot who can not comprehend any logic and thinks he knows stuff because his father was in the unit.

shouryav105

Isn’t the role of Ghataks to do behind the enemy lines attacks? The Meghdhoot force of ‘65 was basically a combination of Ghatak platoons from a Rajput, Raj Rif, and later in Chhamb,3rd Kumaon (Rifles) and 6 Sikh LIs ghatak commandos joined the force. This force played havoc on Pakistani lines. Similarly, cross border LoC ops were also largely done by Ghataks AFAIK. So that’s where I am lost I guess. The distinction between Ghataks and Para SF.
An airborne guy and sf ,both can jump out of a plane , does that make both of them same ?
The time period you are refering to is one where para sf was para commandos , there were no modern sop, no support arms, nothing, I would suggest you do some research online and instead of comparing things to 57 years back ,start learning about modern modus operandi of different units.

SGOperative

An airborne guy and sf ,both can jump out of a plane , does that make both of them same ?
The time period you are refering to is one where para sf was para commandos , there were no modern sop, no support arms, nothing, I would suggest you do some research online and instead of comparing things to 57 years back ,start learning about modern modus operandi of different units.
Pagal hai kya? Ghataks are supposed to be the Pathfinders, QRT and the tip of the spear for their respecitve battalions. That includes them going behind enemy lines and clearing up path for the rest of units. The roles overlap.

@Paddy Mayne please restrict SM related discussions to the relevant threads.

Do not attempt to hijack or detail this thread!

Mods please take note!

shouryav105

Pagal hai kya? Ghataks are supposed to be the Pathfinders, QRT and the tip of the spear for their respecitve battalions. That includes them going behind enemy lines and clearing up path for the rest of units. The roles overlap.
Arey meri jaan, I know they are trained for special recon and targeting infra behind enemy line, I was trying to explain to him by example of airborne and sf, how roles overlap but they are not same, I am not calling ghatak airborne .

Paddy Mayne

Mods please take note!

I'm sorry for that. I'm relatively new here. What are SM related posts? Where can I post them?

NoobWannaLearn

That idiot
Althou an idiot he did start the rumour about all airborn forces getting converted to sf and well he was correct about that but did get proved wrong about that Godzilla picture