Indian Special Forces

Maitreya Shyam

Right now our capabilities are nothing more than conducting a few raids from the border.

We in our deshbhakti forget to really analyse where we stand right now.

Most people don't realise thise equipments are basically capabilities we are talking about.

I am sorry to say some of the ops conducted by Israelis in 70s and 80s are still another 20-30 years away from us.

Our SF in Kashmir are facing a very low intensity firefights.

Iraqi and Afghanistan SF get into more severe firefights.

Their equipment,training and tactics all look much better than us.I have no doubt in the theory that those who work hard will always come on top.

Hence i dont rank Indian SF anywhere in the top 20 SF of the world on basis of anything at all.

Some of our drills are sloppy,our tactics are decades old,shooting style and drills are unimpressive and there is no plan to change and modernise.

I have always showed little interest in AFSOD.

In flying we have 5 P..Prior..Planning..Prevents..Poor.. Performance.

When there is no planning on aquisition how will we modernise?

All of us old timers were saying after SS that now SF will be given priority but we havent seen that.

And even if we aquire that helmet or this bpj i dont think that will change anything on the ground?

Problem is in the calibre of the people responsible..nothing else.
Sir humari sf speed mai lack karti hai (sorry but I am writing this in roman hindi) , aap ye dekho ki wo running ke sath sath shoot karne mai slow hai aur ye chize khud aayengi aisi chizo ko israel ya America nahi sikhaega israel aur america humme concept de sakta hai but baki ka kam humme hi karna padega and second thing even afghan sf faces casualties in large number aur jaisa ki t gen prakash katoch sir ke article ' indian special forces is facing identity crisis' mai likha tha ki galat jagah pe galat soldier ko bhejna bhi eek reason hai humare sf ka one of the best na hona

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Well Tata and DRDO did develop armour plates but vest is not up to the mark @COLDHEARTED AVIATOR We are not fighting untrained Taliban our enemy is much well trained than Taliban and firefight is much less we are more efficient and only few terrorist go to pakistan for training thus less intensity firefight talking about top 20 yes we are there. Isreal had different circumstances we have different and terrain too along with politics . Aur no one is blind other in nationalism @Killbot we are talking about whole army assets Afghans don't have that much assets and there only main goal is to defeat Taliban all of their assets are on NDS .
Well i dont know how you came to the conclusion that third rate kashmiri and paki fighters are better than Afghanis which even the IA feared in Kashmir.

Pig benis on sushy

Well i dont know how you came to the conclusion that third rate kashmiri and paki fighters are better than Afghanis which even the IA feared in Kashmir.
Didn't you see any Taliban video tapes before getting killed do they undergo arms ,and tactical training, navigation , mountain warfare, martial arts training as it is provided to kashmiri and porky militants by pakistan SSG or army and yes In those terrorist also includes Afghans pashtun tribe trained by porkies.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Didn't you see any Taliban video tapes before getting killed do they undergo arms ,and tactical training, navigation , mountain warfare, martial arts training as it is provided to kashmiri and porky militants by pakistan SSG or army and yes In those terrorist also includes Afghans pashtun tribe trained by porkies.
You call 18 year old Facebook warriors from Kashmir better than Mujahids?

Read about Afghanistan USSR war my friend.

Pig benis on sushy

You call 18 year old Facebook warriors from Kashmir better than Mujahids?

Read about Afghanistan USSR war my friend.
No need to argue with you further just read the what I have said above then comment and give hijbul atgm and stinger missile same way US gave it to Taliban then compare the scenerio

rkhanna

Well Tata and DRDO did develop armour plates but vest is not up to the mark @COLDHEARTED AVIATOR We are not fighting untrained Taliban our enemy is much well trained than Taliban and firefight is much less we are more efficient and only few terrorist go to pakistan for training thus less intensity firefight talking about top 20 yes we are there. Isreal had different circumstances we have different and terrain too along with politics . Aur no one is blind other in nationalism @Killbot we are talking about whole army assets Afghans don't have that much assets and there only main goal is to defeat Taliban all of their assets are on NDS .
Sorry you need to read up more on the Taliban and the current war that has been fought there in the recent past. The Haqqani network is considered as one of the best trained light infantry opfor US Forces have fought since Vietnam. Read a book called Outlaw Platoon. Same Haqqani network that cost the Pakistani Army over 750 SSG personel in the campaign in the mid 2000s

The Afghans have been at war for a very very long time.

With respect to Kashmir the jihadis of the 90s were vetter trained and battlehardned than the kids these days. Read a bit of COIN history in J&K.

Infact the Americans withdrawal will have direct implications down the line on Kashmir. Just like the surge of the 90s followed the end of the Soviet war

Automatic Kalashnikov

Please elaborate further
Isn't it better to give them a taste of ops which are outside the mandate of RR and CAPF for a change
aren't para airborne and sf already part of some UN missions, remember 2IC of 12 Para SF laid down his life in an UN mission tenure, I am not able to recall his name and also during 2015 ss 21 PARA Sf had to be called in as it was about to leave for an UN deployment also there are pics of airborne forces on UN deployment.

No need to argue with you further just read the what I have said above then comment and give hijbul atgm and stinger missile same way US gave it to Taliban then compare the scenerio
"If the Kashmiris had this"
"If they were trained in this"
"If there was a budget like that"

You are proving his point. He's saying exactly that.

Current Kashmiri or Pakistani terrorist in Kashmir are a joke compared to Taliban.
There are three categories of guerrillas-

One, which is basically doomed to die or imprisonment, can't be rescued, can't cause mass casualties, can't move around freely. - The kashmiri ones.

Two, who can cause heavy casualties,‍ can be rescued from behind the bars by his bros staging a civilian/soldier/policeman hostage scenario,, can cause mass casualties, can move around freely because of popular support but will surely die if intel network of the BLUFOR is solid. - Most guerrilla groups like the BLA, ISIS in initial years, Al Qaeda or ISIS in Sinai.

Three, who are basically an organized military with no backing by their own state, can perform combined arms assault, may have tanks and armor, can hold territory conventionally and are a good week away from overthrowing the entire government. - Taliban, ISIS by 2017, the Peshmerga, Hezbollah in Lebanon, Izz Ad Dinn Al Qassam in Palestine or Naxals/Maoists at their peak.

The third category has it's own economy, it's own arms factories, large training camps, specialized schools and very heavy public support.
As you move up in these categories, the difficulty to control the insurgency increases tenfold. Make no mistake, the Kashmiri terrorists are nothing even close to Taliban.
If Kashmiris are a headache, Taliban is brain cancer. Any exposure to regular combat with Taliban will definitely push the MoD to get it's priority sorted in a jiffy or the soldiers on the ground will suffer tremendous losses.

rkhanna

Please elaborate further
Isn't it better to give them a taste of ops which are outside the mandate of RR and CAPF for a change
Un op mandates are peacekeeping. Not peace enforcement. It's always defence and under UN mandate. SF units are essentially sent so that all soldiers in the IA get to earn the dollar stipend they get from UN ops. It would be rare if their skills are ever utilized. In Op Khukri the SF were airlifted from India and they operated outside UN mandate and still their ROE was limited. Post op they all returned home.

If you notice the Americans and Brits never operate under a UN flag

Scramjet

Kashmiri Insurgency is altogether different from Afghanistan/iraq/palestine or whatever
Nevermind,
Pakistani ISI's directorate S, the org that funds terror outlets based in PoK/kashmir, actually funds talibanis too....
It all started when soviets invaded afghanistan.
USA gave the responsibility to arm the mujahids to pakistan and pakistan in turn put it on ISI
who in turn set up an ad-hoc force that remained for 10 years.
After soviets went out of afghanistan, this particular adhoc force started supporting HiG (Hezb-e-Islami Gulbuddin)
Now, most of the talibanis who fled afghanistan during that period, indoctrinated pakistanis and went back to afghanistan when the situation became normal, due to this, pakistan now had a really good proxy force backed by ISI.
After the warlord rule went weak, these paki-afghani proxy force got trained in afg, poured into kashmir and even some districts of jammu region and set up various trg camps in proximity to the places on LoC which were unmanned at that time, and some transit camps were setup along the infiltration route...north kashmir, pir panjal mtn range, mtns adjoining wular lake were heavily infested...

Aditya Ballal

@AVINASH4061 sir, it has been said on this thread and on others that the PKM machine guns used by the Paras are from those which have been captured from terrorists and allegedly cannbalised from T-55 tanks. Have few ever been purchased directly and if yes, from where. Is it a problem having different types of PKM within a unit and from where is the 7.62x54 ammo purchased from(Russia, Bulgaria or other former soviet republics).
@AVINASH4061 sir could you clear the doubts regarding this.