Indian Special Forces

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
For show. Try grabbing a knife hand in real knife, you'll regret it right before your lifeless corpse hits the ground.
Yup knife looks good in films and COD but in real life US spec veterans always say why knife when you got a gun?

Marliii

No, knife is plenty useful when concealed. I meant, trying to fight someone with a knife unarmed is suicide.
Its a good multi purpose tool but like in films stealthily taking guys out is not highly recommended if you stab people and doesn't instantly take them out it is natural rule they will cry out

Killbot

Its a good multi purpose tool but like in films stealthily taking guys out is not highly recommended if you stab people and doesn't instantly take them out it is natural rule they will cry out
Nope. If you stab someone in the throat or trachea, or even heart, they can't scream out. Small knife is the best tool for killing if you don't have a gun.

Marliii

Nope. If you stab someone in the throat or trachea, or even heart, they can't scream out. Small knife is the best tool for killing if you don't have a gun.
Most of the US spec guys in YT says its highly discouraged.But my favourite will always be my Crossbow rambo style

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Martial arts = fancy word for combat systems. Even PTK is for show. Hand to hand Combat is basically a reaction to aggression. You can 'teach' someone the basics, but they need to learn to 'react' on their own. That comes from months and months of sparring. So the 'combat system' commandos practice for, say, 100 hours during training is next to useless.

To hell with anyone who calls themselves 'shifu'. Is this fucking kung fu panda???!!!
Dubey ji not cool

What if i changed it to Shifu ji

Kaching 2 lacs a show..i mean per training session.

Gessler

Guys does anyone have AFSOD's pictures ? (Please don't send me bann toll plaza encounter photos, that was 4 para sf not afsod)
From DANIX-19

Note that at this point its nothing but just calling a few Paras, a few MARCOS & a few Garuds and telling them to take orders from the same guy. More of a proof of concept type exercise to see if the commandos play along nicely & don't kill each other (jk). It was very soon after announcement of AFSOD being finalized. Don't really know how much the C&C aspect and Structure of AFSOD was refined in the last year. Haven't heard of any follow-up exercises after this.

Don't expect to see common training, weapons & equipment and logistics for a long time.

And btw, I still think not having a permanent AFSOD cadre is a stupid idea. Being a Tier-1 unit shouldn't be like going on a deployment tour or being deputed into NSG for few years. The skills & lessons to be learnt by such a unit (to include joint training & exercises with NATO Tier-1s) are something that should be built up over the lifetime of service of an operator (like spending 20+ years in the unit), and when new operators are recruited, they should be working alongside & learning from teammates who've spent a lifetime doing the stuff they're doing. Not those who just barely figured out how everything works.

rkhanna

Don't expect to see common training, weapons & equipment and logistics for a long time.
The lack of common training will be the biggest anchor around our ankles.

Imagine a Marcos Sniper providing overwatch to a Para Assault team. Each one using radio codes / SOPs that the other side has no idea what they mean. Or havnt trained enough in those SOPs.

Killbot

Imagine a Marcos Sniper providing overwatch to a Para Assault team. Each one using radio codes / SOPs that the other side has no idea what they mean. Or havnt trained enough in those SOPs.
That is not possible. It will have its own SOPs, otherwise, it is a gigantic joke.

AFSOD will have to have its own recruitment and training. I think only the initial lot will come from existing SOFs. There will probably be a recruitment program which is open for all soldiers from the services in the future. And deployment tenures will beat the whole purpose of the new organization, I.e. a dedicated SOF unit.

This is all speculation of course.

Killbot

looks like the insta sf pages pick stuff from here, saw a reputed page say it was ssg 69
IA don't use SSG-69 in as many numbers as they do the SP-66. The eye relief on the scope also is low, further indicating SP-66. I may be wrong, but don't think I am...

Gessler

Mauser SP66.
Nope.

He clearly has his thumb over the stock in a very typical hunting rifle-type grip.

On an SP-66 you can't do that, it's stock goes over the shooting hand and has a hole for the thumb:

Yes you can still rest your thumb on the groove in the stock for accurate shots but the guy in video isn't doing that. Plus, the stock is clearly not a SP66 design.

That said, I haven't seen us using SP66s in a long long time - anybody got any new pics?

Automatic Kalashnikov

Nope.

He clearly has his thumb over the stock in a very typical hunting rifle-type grip.

On an SP-66 you can't do that, it's stock goes over the shooting hand and has a hole for the thumb:

Yes you can still rest your thumb on the groove in the stock for accurate shots but the guy in video isn't doing that. Plus, the stock is clearly not a SP66 design.

That said, I haven't us using SP66s in a long long time - anybody got any new pics?
Ig there are only 2 pics online of SP66 with IA

How do you know?
I've spoken to a few informed people and it's almost certain that they were a direct action company from either 4 or 9 Para

I really don't think that's afsod.it looks more like a pic from the amphibious exercise held last time
Note that at this point its nothing but just calling a few Paras, a few MARCOS & a few Garuds and telling them to take orders from the same guy. More of a proof of concept type exercise to see if the commandos play along nicely & don't kill each other (jk). It was very soon after announcement of AFSOD being finalized. Don't really know how much the C&C aspect and Structure of AFSOD was refined in the last year. Haven't heard of any follow-up exercises after this.
And btw, I still think not having a permanent AFSOD cadre is a stupid idea. Being a Tier-1 unit shouldn't be like going on a deployment tour or being deputed into NSG for few years.

Why would such a situation exist? Why would there need to be MARCOs providing overwatch to a PARA assault team? Do you ever hear of SBS and SAS doing these things for each other? DEVGRU and CAG? or even SEALs and Green Berets?

There is a fundamental misunderstanding of what AFSOD is amongst some I feel.

AFSOD is a C&C effort, NOT an attempt to make a new tri-service tier-1 unit.

AFSOD is an interim until they create a full fledged SOCOM, it's an experiment to see how disparate units can be streamlined and controlled centrally by dedicated SF command structure and to assess what specialist assets each service has that can be brought under this ambit.

I recommend reading up on the SOCOMs in the West to see what they actually do, hint almost none of them (I can't think of a single one) have multi-service SF/SOF units as a result of a SOCOM.

INSOCOM will strip the PARAs, MARCOs, Garuds from their respective service HQs and put above them a 3(?) star SF officer (Para most likely, hopefully rotated between the services) maybe the other 2 services will have to create something akin to the Indian Navy's special warfare command also to over their respective SF unit and support assets.

INSOCM/AFSOD is NOT creating a new Tier-1 SF unit, that's up to each service to do if they so desire, AFAIK there was a move within the IA to make this happen and it was reported in a low key fashion not long back (120 operators split into 4 groups with support staff, pretty much how DEVGRU and CAG are structured).