Indian Special Forces

Killbot

I know you were talking about NSG but goddamn this video was so well done, in my whole life I have never felt this great watching parades...probably unlike dd's boring way of presenting here it had drama and so beautifully choreographed. Pretty good desu.
I can relate. Especially the NSG clip... Just sexy.

Mikel

I know you were talking about NSG but goddamn this video was so well done, in my whole life I have never felt this great watching parades...probably unlike dd's boring way of presenting here it had drama and so beautifully choreographed. Pretty good desu.
Gimbal stabilizers have been a godsend for content creators.

WARREN SS

I suggest you in good faith to read Vikram Sood's book The Ultimate Goal: A Former R&AW Chief Deconstructs How Nations Construct Narratives.

It will open up your mind. You seem to be a bit captivated by western narratives.
Sood Is A strategical analyst & intelligence operative

He has Zero experience in Clandestine Operations Which basically different Ball game

To understand Difference BTW strategical Analyst And Clandestine in simple Terms
read

WARREN SS

Sood was the former Chief of RAW. He may not have operational experience as clanderstine operative like Doval but to assume he has zero knowledge in that is highly incorrect.
Clandestine Is a Covert Operation Basically Pure Militaristic job Done by trained Skilled Specialist operative experienced in the Craft.

Its Like I Can claim being Surgeon by Reading Few Books on the General surgery :hmm:

Field Intelligence Job Is to collect intelligence And report And maintain there cover

Sood is a Civilian
All Clandestine Operatives are 100 % Military And Highly Skilled in Combat

These are Clandestine Guys

1611431625828.png

1611431655535.png

All Clandestine Operatives are 100 % Military And Highly Skilled in Combat
In India those jobs are done by Special Group which draws manpower from special forces. However, it is under operational control of RAW.

Hence RAW chief is bound to have the knowledge of when, where and how to employ SG.

However if you mean Mr. Sood has personally done covert operation, then it is a big NO.
Only known IPS cadre to have done that is Mr. Doval.

WARREN SS

However if you mean Mr. Sood has personally done covert operation, then it is a big NO.
Only known IPS cadre to have done that is Mr. Doval.
Both are Field Intelligence guys
Similar To IB Operatives

There Job is Intelligence gathering and reporting it back And Handling non state Activities like Proving Funding Too Insurgents And Moles inside Pakistan Establishment etc . Its called Tradecraft in intelligence terms

While Clandestine Is a operational Aspect that is conducted based on Intelligence inputs gathered by these Intel operatives.

ManhattanProject

i know how you feel, we see where we jave come from and how we have evolved but to foreigners its different. They called our guys "gimps" fucking assholes.
What i would like to say is stop uploading these pics on reddit.

AZTEC

Both are Field Intelligence guys
Similar To IB Operatives

There Job is Intelligence gathering and reporting it back And Handling non state Activities like Proving Funding Too Insurgents And Moles inside Pakistan Establishment etc . Its called Tradecraft in intelligence terms

While Clandestine Is a operational Aspect that is conducted based on Intelligence inputs gathered by these Intel operatives.
WTF you guys managed to completely misinterpret my suggestion.

That book is not about special ops. I never said Sood is a clandestine operative.

But FFS Sood was the chief of RAW and the kind of experience he has due to that can not be compared with the narrow confines of spec ops.

What you're saying is like saying that since Elon Musk doesn't know the nitty gritty of how to prepare the food eaten by astronauts, he is incapable of talking about space exploration. xD
Logical fallacy.

WARREN SS

WTF you guys managed to completely misinterpret my suggestion.

That book is not about special ops. I never said Sood is a clandestine operative.

But FFS Sood was the chief of RAW and the kind of experience he has due to that can not be compared with the narrow confines of spec ops.

What you're saying is like saying that since Elon Musk doesn't know the nitty gritty of how to prepare the food eaten by astronauts, he is incapable of talking about space exploration. xD
Logical fallacy.
My point was a civilian like Sood cannot be able to understand complexity of Field Combat and Core military tactics unless he himself trained and skilled in warfare.

The more you face combat the more u get practical tactical experience.

It's like saying just because you are conqueror level player at Pubg.

Doesn't mean you can be sent to practical field combat missions or if you are Great Airsoft player you can be considered skilled in SWAT

A civil engineer cannot do job of a car mechanic
Or a mechanical eng for a plumber.

Jobs are jobs you need practical experience not theoretical

AZTEC

My point was a civilian like Sood cannot be able to understand complexity of Field Combat and Core military tactics unless he himself trained and skilled in warfare.

The more you face combat the more u get practical tactical experience.

It's like saying just because you are conqueror level player at Pubg.

Doesn't mean you can be sent to practical field combat missions or if you are Great Airsoft player you can be considered skilled in SWAT

A civil engineer cannot do job of a car mechanic
Or a mechanical eng for a plumber.

Jobs are jobs you need practical experience not theoretical
Bro, my suggestion was not at all related to spec/clandestine ops.
I suggested that book because I felt that that member was (sort-of) captivated by the narrative that the west is so powerful that it is untouchable.

Here, take a look at the contents of the book:
Capture.JPG

Let's not discuss this further.

MuzzleVelocity

i know how you feel, we see where we jave come from and how we have evolved but to foreigners its different. They called our guys "gimps" fucking assholes.
What i would like to say is stop uploading these pics on reddit.
Yes, I am not sure kya milta hai reddit pe upload kar ke.

Gessler

that member was (sort-of) captivated by the narrative that the west is so powerful that it is untouchable.
I'm sorry but what gave you that impression?

It is a fact-of-matter that Hollywood in today's times in capable of producing far more technically brilliant productions, drawing on both bigger budgets & bigger resource pools. It's not for no reason that even most of the higher-budget Indian productions hire several Camera & SFX guys from West. Or why automobile makers like Tata or Royal Enfield maintain design centers in West.

No one said West was untouchable, but to deny that several hundred years of democracy & free-market capitalism have given the West a huge edge over rest of the world is plain disingenuous. And trust me, no one can set a narrative by denying facts for what they are, and in the information age where it takes 5 mins to verify otherwise.

"First Get your facts straight, then distort them as you wish", I'm sure Vikram Sood would agree.

AZTEC

I'm sorry but what gave you that impression?
Your way of talking.
It is a fact-of-matter that Hollywood in today's times in capable of producing far more technically brilliant productions, drawing on both bigger budgets & bigger resource pools. It's not for no reason that even most of the higher-budget Indian productions hire several Camera & SFX guys from West. Or why automobile makers like Tata or Royal Enfield maintain design centers in West.
I agree. No dispute.
No one said West was untouchable, but to deny that several hundred years of democracy & free-market capitalism have given the West a huge edge over rest of the world is plain disingenuous. And trust me, no one can set a narrative by denying facts for what they are, and in the information age where it takes 5 mins to verify otherwise.
I NEVER denied any of that. xD
What I dislike is that, when anyone says that the Indian (& even the Chinese) civilization will LIKELY surpass the west during our own lifetime, you call them "jingo".
This is not only classic ad hominem, but also an indication that you are captivated by the American narrative that they are invincible.

If you read that book, you will get to know that creating such narratives is one of the main tasks of intelligence agencies.
I felt obliged to get you out of this narrative trap.
"First Get your facts straight, then distort them as you wish", I'm sure Vikram Sood would agree.
Bhai, you got triggered faltu mein.

Let's not talk about this here, this is SF thread please.

Tupac slayer

+

++ another another thing to ponder is that as the CRPF/CAPFs take over CT/COIN roles from the army the army’s own personnel are going to lose their combat experience and battle conditioning and will largely become a peace time army, this has going to be even more apparent in the SF units.

If the PARA (SF)/Garuds/MARCOs aren’t getting as many/any deployments to JK or the NE and aren’t experiencing real world combat this isn’t likely to be a good situation BUT on the other hand it will allow them to re-orient to more strategic missions and focus on true blue SF capabilities. What really stood out to me post-Uri was all the snippets that were coming out saying that it was only after the 2015 strike into Myanmar that the SF units in northern command actually started to train at a battalion level, until then they had been focusing on platoon and likely squad level tactics and operations. This is a red flag and I don’t know if things have changed for good or they’ve reverted back to this post 2016.

Abingdon Boy I have highest regard for you ever since I joined PDF almost a decade back, But I want to differ with you on this, It is good news that Army is removed from COIN or CT Ops duties, Reason is Israel War with Lebanon tells an alarming state too much focus of COIN Ops or CT ops have blunted Israel Military readiness in conventional warfare, when faced with a semi conventional warfare situation in 2006, Israel Army suffered a lot of casualties, Israel was rescued due to Israeli Airforce bombing missions. Repeated exposure to CT or COIN Ops will ruin the talent of army. Army has to train for High end conventional warfare.

Gessler

Let's not talk about this here, this is SF thread please.
Sure but must say this:

What I dislike is that, when anyone says that the Indian (& even the Chinese) civilization will LIKELY surpass the west during our own lifetime, you call them "jingo".
This is classic ad hominem.
I too wish for that to happen, however in terms of predicting the future I may be more pessimistic than rest. If for example you have a company that's showing 5% growth every quarter, I have no problems with saying that in 5 years, your company would grow by 100% (doubled in value). But if your company is showing very little or no growth at all, then I'll have to take it with a pinch of salt if you claim that in 5 years your company will be bigger than Reliance.

Sure you may know something about your company that I don't, but to me that comes across as wishful thinking. And believe me, I too was highly jingoistic about MOST of the things that I'm pessimistic about now back when I first started following defence issues (about ~10 years ago now).