Indian Special Forces

ManhattanProject

If we compare para sf with SSG of pakis and Chinese SF which operate near LAC , how Much behind are we ?
I have heard SSG is far better than the any of the special force we have let alone para sf.

PS for the people losing thier head above. I here have never said we are well equipped , I am strongly against name calling the soldiers or Calling out them for naive things like placement thigh holster , or getting basics right.
We can expect them to be atleast basic trained well because it's a long and lengthy process which no ordinary person can clear imo.
The selection process they go through isnt training, training comes later.

Is theaterisation of commands going to help the state of forces ? Considering budget allocation can be done far more easier and also aquisations as per the needs.
Btw anyone has any idea how SF's will be distributed between different commands ?
IMO
Northern theatre- 2,4,9 PARA SF
Western theatre- 1,3,10 PARA SF
Eastern theatre- 11,12,21 PARA SF

MARCOs assigned to the Maritime command, not sure about Garuds.

But I feel AFSOD should consists of around 2-2.5k men under the PM directly through the CDS. With IA performing so many airborne exercise may they should look to increase the number of Parachute brigades to 3/4. One for northern, eastern, western and maybe one in reserve in Agra itself. One Para sf unit from each theatre could be assigned to lead the para brigade and raise further airborne arty, signals, AOC and other required airborne elements. The remaining 2 sf units under the above 3 theatres can be directly under GOC-in-C. There they can deal with CI/CT, cross border, int gathering, while AFSOD used for a more global level if we have plans/intentions of it.

vidhwanshak

They were operating exactly as many of us have been saying they would- poorly equipped and under trained

We were meant to believe fanboys and anonymous Twitter accounts that they actually had all the kit they needed in the real world

Just a few days ago we were having the latest round of disagreements on this subject. Well life comes at you fast and now the dilsari gang is MIA

Is it still an insult to the service personnel to claim they aren’t supermen and aren’t as capable as western units?
yeah, you were correct.

PARA SF is completely overrated and overhyped.

vidhwanshak

Kaha jaa raha hai is thread ka discussion thoda soch kar bolein
no, it is going on in the right direction.
Didn't you see the images and video that surfaced of the botched-up operation?
They were so under-equipped. Just a little better than the Ghataks.
They weren't able to identify the target and shot both of them at a whim.
Even Major James himself said "Raat ka andhera tha, galti ho gai".
Aur coincidentally aaap logo ka raat me hi shikaar karna hota hai aur raat me hi aap aisi galti kar rahe ho.

no, it is going on in the right direction.
Didn't you see the images and video that surfaced of the botched-up operation?
They were so under-equipped. Just a little better than the Ghataks.
They weren't able to identify the target and shot both of them at a whim.
Even Major James himself said "Raat ka andhera tha, galti ho gai".
Aur coincidentally aaap logo ka raat me hi shikaar karna hota hai aur raat me hi aap aisi galti kar rahe ho.
Night vision kaha hai bhai , ssg better hai inse to

vidhwanshak

why are you bringing SSG when we are whining about PARA SF and their pitiful pieces of equipment?
Pakistan is a failed state and comparing its forces with India is a shameful thing.

We all know the India-China war for dominance in Asia is inevitable and when that time comes, I hope these brave men of ours are equipped properly.

why are you bringing SSG when we are whining about PARA SF and their pitiful pieces of equipment?
Pakistan is a failed state and comparing its forces with India is a shameful thing.

We all know the India-China war for dominance in Asia is inevitable and when that time comes, I hope these brave men of ours are equipped properly.
Nah they wont be .

Paki SSG at max has done small attacks killing 1-2 of our soldiers and sometimes mutilating them like cowards as some achievements, thats what they can do as rest of their history is full of humiliation and defeats. Such things are what regular Indian infantry (especially Naga Regiment) used to do with porkis, crossing border and bringing trophies.

Para SF has done much more like Op Apache and Op Ginger and the famed 28/29 September 2016 cross border raids in PoK in recent history something Special Surrender Group can’t do. Their only worth is training terrorists and surrendering to enemies.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Nothing comes out about them, but they're probably not THAT good.

They do regularly cross train with foreign forces (participated in a Russian lead exercise recently too).

Here's are some pictures of em
In HALO gear-
View attachment 148821
Marine SOF cross training with Saudi SOF-View attachment 148822
Getting debriefed on how to stop masturbating-
View attachment 148823

At International Army games in Russia last year-
View attachment 148824

They have really good standardized gear and probably are better trained at certain kinds of operations but tbh, they haven't been in an actual war.
Their effectiveness is up in the air and can't be judged by mere pictures.

Coming back to SSG, I just remembered @COLDHEARTED AVIATOR 's input regarding the comparison in the archived thread on Indian SOFs.
View attachment 148825
Take from it what you will.
The good or bad thing about experience is that it takes a few weeks to build and if you are disciplined enough and have the equipment the sooner it will come than later.

Which is the case of Chinese.

The same thing happened in WW2 with Americans..got their back handed to them in Tunisia and then what happend?
Americans reached Berlin.

Personally i believe experience and medals are many a times fairy tailes to motivate newer generations to take added risks when they lack in equipment and training.

Thatswhy all Armies make larger than life legends of soldiers and exaggerate their achievements by N times to create a sense of honour which cannot be let down by the newer generations.

Most of the stories are hence portrayed specially in the films like they are Marvel movies.

Anyway,Thanks for tagging me i happen to be more interested in the Russian-Ukranian war thread.

And in the same war we are seeing Russians poorly equipped so much so that even WW2 weapons are regularly being seen.

And i was thinking we are the only ones using Bren and .303.

Its funny to see in this thread even the die hard blind patriots suddenly turn confused after the 12 Para incident.

Thatswhy i say..come see things here then analyse and then say what you forecast.

Rather than coming here and posting like your are defending your family here.

In the end in this war of Gucci gang VS Blind patriots there is only one looser..the dead soldier!

Now i dont know about you guys but i have been to many funerals and that is why i feel we have to modernise.

The thread is at its lowest in the last few years and when i decided to quit i got a call from Major Avinash supporting my decision.We both had talked about the future of this thread and its right there only.

There are very few members here who have no Twitter or personal agenda here and come here purely for SF thread.

So let's not get so negative about one incident and lets also not start jumping after seeing one pic of Marcos also and start cooking stories

Lets be sensible and hope good discussions follow..All the best!

Fire and groove

The good or bad thing about experience is that it takes a few weeks to build and if you are disciplined enough and have the equipment the sooner it will come than later.

Which is the case of Chinese.

The same thing happened in WW2 with Americans..got their back handed to them in Tunisia and then what happend?
Americans reached Berlin.

Personally i believe experience and medals are many a times fairy tailes to motivate newer generations to take added risks when they lack in equipment and training.

Thatswhy all Armies make larger than life legends of soldiers and exaggerate their achievements by N times to create a sense of honour which cannot be let down by the newer generations.

Most of the stories are hence portrayed specially in the films like they are Marvel movies.

Anyway,Thanks for tagging me i happen to be more interested in the Russian-Ukranian war thread.

And in the same war we are seeing Russians poorly equipped so much so that even WW2 weapons are regularly being seen.

And i was thinking we are the only ones using Bren and .303.

Its funny to see in this thread even the die hard blind patriots suddenly turn confused after the 12 Para incident.

Thatswhy i say..come see things here then analyse and then say what you forecast.

Rather than coming here and posting like your are defending your family here.

In the end in this war of Gucci gang VS Blind patriots there is only one looser..the dead soldier!

Now i dont know about you guys but i have been to many funerals and that is why i feel we have to modernise.

The thread is at its lowest in the last few years and when i decided to quit i got a call from Major Avinash supporting my decision.We both had talked about the future of this thread and its right there only.

There are very few members here who have no Twitter or personal agenda here and come here purely for SF thread.

So let's not get so negative about one incident and lets also not start jumping after seeing one pic of Marcos also and start cooking stories

Lets be sensible and hope good discussions follow..All the best!
The ability of a military institution to effectively adapt and learn is far more important than the aggregate experience itself.

Indian Libertarian

I don’t think you should be so quick to dismiss the Pakistanis. As outwardly weak as they may seem, we should not underestimate them. Look how that has panned out for the Russians. Our strategy should be to overprepare and overestimate the Pakistani strength as the likelihood of a war with Pakistan is much greater.