Indian Special Forces

Op Kahuta

one thing I would have to pick is his comment about monocular NVG. It’s nonsense that binocular NODs will cause you to be night blind for 20 mins if you lift them up. Your rods and cones adjust to darkness within a few seconds.

If this is the justification for keeping monocular NODs with Paras then god help us.
Lol ok so you believe what he has to say about there not being snipers in the forces and other things but u question his expertise when he says about NODs. Yeah ok totally doesn't expose your agenda

Op Kahuta

At approximately 15:21 minutes left to the end of this live video by Major Avinash Sahani sir on Instagram, he answered my question regarding his views on the recent conversion of all the non-SF units of the Parachute Regiment to SF units.
Sir is totally straight to the point no bs and he doesn't start spewing bs against the forces like not being trained and shit. Greatest respect to Avinash sir

Aditya Ballal

Lol ok so you believe what he has to say about there not being snipers in the forces and other things but u question his expertise when he says about NODs. Yeah ok totally doesn't expose your agenda
Are you saying a person cannot disagree with some things a person says and agree with the other things? Isn’t that a basic civil conversation/discussion?
Common man, stop being unrealistic and unreasonable.

Op Kahuta

Are you saying a person cannot disagree with some things a person says and agree with the other things? Isn’t that a basic civil conversation/discussion?
Common man, stop being unrealistic and unreasonable.
If that person has far greater experience and expertise in the subject than the one who watches some gora youtube videos featuring superpawa murican SF then yea I expect his opinion to be full of jackshit

jai jaganath

That's the point of agreement or disagreement
U can also surf other sf videos where they say that problem doesn't last long and not so serious of not using dual tube
But what he said regarding snipers is a good slap on those in forums or Twitter when they post pics saying snipers as we don't have them and this forum has already notified and discussed but again people come and disagree
Slowly Slowly whatever we are speaking u will hear it from their mouth and even then again argue

one thing I would have to pick is his comment about monocular NVG. It’s nonsense that binocular NODs will cause you to be night blind for 20 mins if you lift them up. Your rods and cones adjust to darkness within a few seconds.

If this is the justification for keeping monocular NODs with Paras then god help us.
I have heard various reasoning for this and one which makes a lot of sense is you cannot tell how bright an area is to anyone with the naked eye and you may end up walking into a bright enough area where the enemy (who doesn't have NVGs) can see you but you don't think they can.

It's a tradeoff of depth perception for better SA albeit at a lack of FOV. People who train extensively on monoculars usually swear up and down that it's better than binods.

Also, depending on how bright it's set at (someone tell me if all NODs have adjustable brightness or some lack that feature), it can take a few hot minutes to readjust to the dark, especially if the readjustment is getting disrupted intermittently by muzzle flashes.

At approximately 15:21 minutes left to the end of this live video by Major Avinash Sahani sir on Instagram, he answered my question regarding his views on the recent conversion of all the non-SF units of the Parachute Regiment to SF units.
Basically, he's talking along the same lines as the forum members here.

I gave up when some belgian guy started disputing Lt Gen. PC Katoch's claims.

Wait out. As we gather more literature from first hand sources, these jai ho kids will start disputing the claims of former servicemen.

I'll actually seek out Maj General GD Bakshi's interview where he says that NDA was much better back then as they used to hire the best of the best as trainers and today, it's no longer the case.
The cope will be immense.
EDIT- Found it. Watch 12:25 onwards.
Trooo I’m sure they are experts in hand to hand combat which is why they can kill 100000 paki soldiers reeeee
Ideal special operations soldier according to @Kumaoni -
images (17).jpeg

Kumaoni

I have heard various reasoning for this and one which makes a lot of sense is you cannot tell how bright an area is to anyone with the naked eye and you may end up walking into a bright enough area where the enemy can see you but you don't think they can.

It's a tradeoff of depth perception for better SA albeit at a lack of FOV. People who train extensively on monoculars usually swear up and down that it's better than binods.

Also, depending on how bright it's set at (someone tell me if all NODs have adjustable brightness or some lack that feature), it can take a few hot minutes to readjust to the dark, especially if the readjustment is getting disrupted intermittently by muzzle flashes.

Basically, he's talking along the same lines as the forum members here.

I gave up when some belgian guy started disputing Lt Gen. PC Katoch's claims.

Wait out. As we gather more literature from first hand sources, these jai ho kids will start disputing the claims of former servicemen.

I'll actually seek out Maj General GD Bakshi's interview where he says that NDA back then was much better back then as they used to hire the best of the best as trainers and today, it's no longer the case.
The cope will be immense.
EDIT- Found it. Watch 12:25 onwards.

Ideal special operations soldier according to @Kumaoni -
View attachment 165929
Boxinf is better then Gay Gay A (MMA)

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Most organisations aren’t true meritocracies. There’s a degree of having to play the game to get ahead, it definitely seems apparent in many corporate settings and the military too
So the people wanting to hold positions are not the ideal candidates in the first place.

Such chattu people are no way the deserving ones and want positions for all the wrong reasons

In ancient India such underserving people were never given positions and only the most humble and right candidate who didnt seek position were selected.

Basically what we all said, IA senior brass are making monkeys of themselves and their men

Kumaoni

And shooting is more effective.
But TIL hand to hand combatant is a role SOFs are supposed to fill.

What next?
Stone axe horde charges?
Hand to hand combat is useful in mountain warfare or extreme conditions where guns may jam up. Happened in Siachen and Kargil. Though we were less technologically advanced back then.

Comes back around a full circle.
Firstly, mountain warfare ranges are usually further than most other forms of warfare (unless we're talking of caves) and secondly, why IS the equipment jamming and why is it not fixed?

INSAS's transparent magazine used to crack during Kargil and INSAS as a whole got a bad rep because of both quality and misplaced manual of arms.

See what we mean when we say equipment complements training and training can't compensate for critical equipment?

OFBkaRakhwala

Firstly, mountain warfare ranges are usually further than most other forms of warfare (unless we're talking of caves) and secondly, why IS the equipment jamming and why is it not fixed?

INSAS's transparent magazine used to crack during Kargil and INSAS as a whole got a bad rep because of both quality and misplaced manual of arms.

See what we mean when we say equipment complements training and training can't compensate for critical equipment?
Gun to kabhi bhi jam hosakti hai na? :notsure: well not a bad idea to have a hand to hand traning + equipment kuch ja thodi raha hai

Kumaoni

None of this is false but it doesn’t change the importance of basic hand to hand combat, which pretty much every SF or infantry globally teaches.

And in some places like Siachen it was so cold that guns couldn’t be used at all

Gun to kabhi bhi jam hosakti hai na? :notsure: well not a bad idea to have a hand to hand traning + equipment kuch ja thodi raha hai
Aisi kaun si gun hoti hai jo puri squad ki ek saath jaam ho jaye.
If someone's gun jams, they can clear the jam while their teammates cover them.
Isn't it just retarded to imagine two soldiers duking it out while their teammates stand around with fully functional guns just watching like creepy ek tarfa aashiq?

This is WW2 mentality.
To mount the bayonets and start hacking and stabbing away. Should be avoided like the plague.

Guns jam hone ki baat hai, jaam lagane ki nahi jo saare dost milke ek saath lagayenge-
images (19).jpeg