Indian Special Forces (archived)

rkhanna

Our Armed Forces have to be expeditionary otherwise we will keep seeing Chyena and Porkistan knocking our doors at the LoC and LAC.

China is making its Marine corps, plus Indian Navy already has plans to acquire 4 LHD/LPDs and a fresh tender will be released soon as old tender was scrapped due to delay. So Navy has rotary planned for them.

I am not saying it is easy or inexpensive but you’ll have to do it in the future considering rising chinese expansionism.
How many shops does it take to equip 1 LHP task force ? Currently we are hard pressed to equip 2 CBG. Can the navy spare support ships?

The answer is no.

China is pursing a foriegn policy strategy that is trying to ape the Americans. We are 20 years behind china.

Vishalreddy3

Because a Marine corp is expedentiary in nature and that is not in India's current objective list.

We dont have the money to equip a Marine Corps. How much money would it take to equip a brigade size strenght?

LHD/LPD?
Rotary ?
Artillery?
Aux ships?
Landing vehicle?
Amphib armour/IFV ?
Is it possible in the future to have Marine Corps?? Since all our immediate neighbours have a dedicated Marine Corps, including pakis stationed near Sir Creek area, I guess that area and sundarbans in Indo-bangladeshi border is the only area where India can use its Marine Corps in an expedition state.
Funny thing is that, we have an entire ocean named after us and number of islands to upkeep in both the sides and yet we don't have a dedicated Marine Corps, due to the already sad state of our Tri-services!!
Even Mexico, South Korea, Sri Lanka have dedicated Marine Corps 😂😂

rkhanna

Is it possible in the future to have Marine Corps?? Since all our immediate neighbours have a dedicated Marine Corps, including pakis stationed near Sir Creek area, I guess that area and sundarbans in Indo-bangladeshi border is the only area where India can use its Marine Corps in an expedition state.
Funny thing is that, we have an entire ocean named after us and number of islands to upkeep in both the sides and yet we don't have a dedicated Marine Corps, due to the already sad state of our Tri-services!!
Honestly speaking none of those countries have a Marine Corp like it is intended. They are for no better words Naval Infantry for littoral objectives only. They have zero ability to power project. And the 54th amphib division ( now name RMFOR) in India serves the same purpose and for its tasking has a decent Orbat.

We have no territorial claims nor ourtpost around the world.

As our economies grow and economic interests reach geographic diversification we will also expand as a natural evolution of our country.

Honestly there is no need. Whatever Marine Corp we could possibly raise even a decade from now would be insufficient to power project to Africa or the South China sea ( possibly our only two future medium term objectives)

Our naval fleet is more than enought to do thst today and any effective power projection will come from the AirForce lift capability.

ONLY the United States (not even the Chinese) have a proper Marine Corp.

All others are simply light infantry commando units for waterborne ops. The Chinese need their naval infantry to take/keep the island they have stolen from everyone else.

That's all.

Marine corp should be last on the list of requirements for any Indian military reorg

Vishalreddy3

Honestly speaking none of those countries have a Marine Corp like it is intended. They are for no better words Naval Infantry for littoral objectives only. They have zero ability to power project. And the 54th amphib division ( now name RMFOR) in India serves the same purpose and for its tasking has a decent Orbat.

We have no territorial claims nor ourtpost around the world.

As our economies grow and economic interests reach geographic diversification we will also expand as a natural evolution of our country.

Honestly there is no need. Whatever Marine Corp we could possibly raise even a decade from now would be insufficient to power project to Africa or the South China sea ( possibly our only two future medium term objectives)

Our naval fleet is more than enought to do thst today and any effective power projection will come from the AirForce lift capability.

ONLY the United States (not even the Chinese) have a proper Marine Corp.

All others are simply light infantry commando units for waterborne ops. The Chinese need their naval infantry to take/keep the island they have stolen from everyone else.

That's all.

Marine corp should be last on the list of requirements for any Indian military reorg
Thats exactly my thoughts!! All these smaller countries with Marine Corps are just Naval infantry unit, and not for power projection!!
But, it would be better that India had a dedicated Marine Corps, only for Naval Infantry unit and not as a force projection.
Plus we could also counter the logistical constraints, since now in India, the infantry units/battalions are under the IA and the amphibious ships are under the Navy, and hence their leadership and command structure varies causes constraints, and it would be better to bring both under the same roof, which is ideal.

Everyone has, not as big as US Marine Corps. But they do have, we only have a few battalions of Indian Army converted for Amphibious warfare.

Chinese Marines have 20,000 troops.
Pak Marines have 3,500 troops and planning to make it 10,000.

We must have a separate 4th Branch of Indian Armed Forces based on USMC called the Indian Marine Corps. With 50,000-1,00,000 personnel (coz this large is sensible considering we have Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Sundarbans, bases in Seychelles, Maldives, Mauritius, Madagascar, Vietnam etc.

So we need a larger force and equipping them should not be a problem as obviously MoD will equip them with imported Kalashnikovs or AR Pattern rifles that come inexpensive And importing will further reduce cost, or maybe an Indian Private firm made small arms package, who knows.

coz we are/will be already making AK-203, Carbine (CAR-816), Negev LMG, Snipers, Arad, Carmel, P72, Tavors, Uzis, Galils etc.

we are already making tanks, artillery, AFVs, Bulletproof vehicles, FICVs, helicopters, gunships, small arms and accessories, drones, bulletproof gear etc in India so an indigenously armed force won’t cost too much imo, as CAPFs are mostly armed with Indigenous equipments (Except bulgarian AK-47s but they are also less costly) thats why they don’t eat up huge sum of money like the armed forces.

We neet to increase our defence budget even though we aren’t a rich country but god gave us a hostile neighbourhood.

as I have seen Bangladeshis, THEY HATE INDIA TO THE CORE!

They hate their own PM Sheikh Haseena so we can expect friendly relations until sheikh haseena ji is the PM who is pro-India and pro neighbourhood but if pro Bangladeshi agenda government arrives in Bangladesh then we may have similar hostilities with bangladesh as almost all Bangladesh hate India and its People and Love Porkistan Even when we Indians don’t hate them.

Myanmar is friendly but in future hostilities may grow due to Rohingya crisis.

I have seen Nepalis on Social Media abusing India because it didn’t helped us and is stopping oil etc, but Nepal won’t be a hostile neighbour even if a pro china government is there.

Srilankan government(s) mostly remains pro-china even when majority of SriLankans love India so we can’t risk, our whole neighbourhood is growing hostile.

your thoughts?

Vishalreddy3

Everyone has, not as big as US Marine Corps. But they do have, we only have a few battalions of Indian Army converted for Amphibious warfare.

Chinese Marines have 20,000 troops.
Pak Marines have 3,500 troops and planning to make it 10,000.

We must have a separate 4th Branch of Indian Armed Forces based on USMC called the Indian Marine Corps. With 50,000-1,00,000 personnel (coz this large is sensible considering we have Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Sundarbans, bases in Seychelles, Maldives, Mauritius, Madagascar, Vietnam etc.

So we need a larger force and equipping them should not be a problem as obviously MoD will equip them with imported Kalashnikovs or AR Pattern rifles that come inexpensive And importing will further reduce cost, or maybe an Indian Private firm made small arms package, who knows.

coz we are/will be already making AK-203, Carbine (CAR-816), Negev LMG, Snipers, Arad, Carmel, P72, Tavors, Uzis, Galils etc.

we are already making tanks, artillery, AFVs, Bulletproof vehicles, FICVs, helicopters, gunships, small arms and accessories, drones, bulletproof gear etc in India so an indigenously armed force won’t cost too much imo, as CAPFs are mostly armed with Indigenous equipments (Except bulgarian AK-47s but they are also less costly) thats why they don’t eat up huge sum of money like the armed forces.

We neet to increase our defence budget even though we aren’t a rich country but god gave us a hostile neighbourhood.

as I have seen Bangladeshis, THEY HATE INDIA TO THE CORE!

They hate their own PM Sheikh Haseena so we can expect friendly relations until sheikh haseena ji is the PM who is pro-India and pro neighbourhood but if pro Bangladeshi agenda government arrives in Bangladesh then we may have similar hostilities with bangladesh as almost all Bangladesh hate India and its People and Love Porkistan Even when we Indians don’t hate them.

Myanmar is friendly but in future hostilities may grow due to Rohingya crisis.

I have seen Nepalis on Social Media abusing India because it didn’t helped us and is stopping oil etc, but Nepal won’t be a hostile neighbour even if a pro china government is there.

Srilankan government(s) mostly remains pro-china even when majority of SriLankans love India so we can’t risk, our whole neighbourhood is growing hostile.

your thoughts?
Yes! India already has a military base or at least an observation station in Mauritius.
In Seychelles, it is election time for them, and since the rulling part opposed Indian base its unlikely, but the good part is the current election the opposition party might come into power which is pro-India. In the future, probably we might have a military base in Madagascar as well, but under heavy opposition. Djibouti is also an offer we had, but I don't know much about that.
But overall, in the future when geopolitics change, countries change, and for that to happen we need good economy, but in the future its possible to have a Marine Corps.
About the Marine Corps becoming the 4th branch of the Armed forces, is not possible, at most it might be a dedicated department under the Indian Navy!!!

Underground Soldier

In such operations, there is no use of SFs in my view. Such operations are mostly carried out by blasting the house sheltering terrorists. Such operations should be carried out by Local RR units with CRPF QAT leading the charge. SFs Should not be used in such an operation unless it's like pampore 2016 ops. Even there we got 3 of ours SFs KIA.
SFs should be used as they were used in 2007/08 when a small SF team killed Son of Lakhvi in Dense Kupwara Forests. These ops for SFs are mostly photo ops only. Then again, it's my view and the army differs from it...

Narendra s rawat

10 times bigger, so?
They spend most of it in R&D, we don’t.
They spent 1.5 trillion dollars for just the R&D of F-35.
US is maintaining biggest military budget for seven decades.
india-military-expenditure.png

This is indian defence military budget from 1995 to 2020.
You see from the graph our 15 year budget is equal to America 1 year defence budget.
Then comes corruption, incompatant PSU and
42 percentage of our budget goes to salary and pensions.there is no money left for R&D.