Indian Special Forces (archived)

rkhanna

superior to them is determination and overall courage. If
Why do we have a monopoly on determination? Are we the only ones who love our country?

The difference is that the modern Indian army has over a century of experience fighting modern warfare going back to WWI

Rohan Naik

The wrong approach to both. Availability of Fuel leads to saving lives and lack of fuel or shortage thereof may jeopardize lives..
Power projection is also equally important if not more. Sherpa with CRPF and NSG shows determination and will of our forces and establishment. Why can't we have at least some alike vehicles or better suited in terrains like Galwan and surrounding. I know fuel is important but Mig 29 and Su30 per hour flight cost in 3 to 5 sorties would be more than buying world class vehicles for our soldiers. Photo Ops and Media highlights travels long distances and shows that we are prepared and no where behind.

operatorgrumby

Power projection is also equally important if not more. Sherpa with CRPF and NSG shows determination and will of our forces and establishment. Why can't we have at least some alike vehicles or better suited in terrains like Galwan and surrounding. I know fuel is important but Mig 29 and Su30 per hour flight cost in 3 to 5 sorties would be more than buying world class vehicles for our soldiers. Photo Ops and Media highlights travels long distances and shows that we are prepared and no where behind.
"Aap jo keh rahe hai woh sunne mein acha laga raha hai but woh practical nhi hai":yo:

MIDKNIGHT FENERIR-00

VICTORIOUM AUT MORS
If we were Arabs i wont mind having Hummers in our liability list.

Its not an asset.
I mean Iraq was able use Humvees in a Fairly good manner in battles against Islamic State Terrorists especially during Urban Combat in places like Mosul. IEDs are biggest enemies of the Humvee.

MIDKNIGHT FENERIR-00

VICTORIOUM AUT MORS
Why do we have a monopoly on determination? Are we the only ones who love our country?

The difference is that the modern Indian army has over a century of experience fighting modern warfare going back to WWI
Many Countries in our neighborhood have experience fighting a modern warfare going back to WW1 as the Pakis, Bangladeshis, Sri Lankan and Nepali soldiers were all part of the Indian Army in WW1 and WW2. These same soldiers went on to create the current militaries in these states and other states occupied or controlled by Europeans had there own colonial military forces which participated in World Conflicts.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Does any other SF fanboy/geek also find it difficult to watch things like Uri and Avrodh?

Like God knows which guns in Avrodh they used and pathetic tactics like in school we used to play chor police in display in Avrodh as well as in Uri.

Plus they want me to pay for this!!

aditya g

Does any other SF fanboy/geek also find it difficult to watch things like Uri and Avrodh?

Like God knows which guns in Avrodh they used and pathetic tactics like in school we used to play chor police in display in Avrodh as well as in Uri.

Where are you watching Avrodh. Sony Liv does not open outside india

JHARHEADD

I hate to make depreciating comments but this looks like a parody.

Like some 12 year old airsofter on photo ops to show off at highschool...
It's getting embarassing.
Can we raise a crowdfund for gearing up the SOFs?

Yes, I'm serious.
count me in, sir.

Gessler

State of Siege on ZEE5 also.

All these incidents that these shows/movies are based on are brilliant source material, but the quality of film-adaptation leaves a lot to be desired.

rkhanna

Many Countries in our neighborhood have experience fighting a modern warfare going back to WW1 as the Pakis, Bangladeshis, Sri Lankan and Nepali soldiers were all part of the Indian Army in WW1 and WW2. These same soldiers went on to create the current militaries in these states and other states occupied or controlled by Europeans had there own colonial military forces which participated in World Conflicts.

All of those were consolidated under the British Indian Army. Those ethos and traditions were passed down to what is now the Indian and Pakistani armies. The rest provided human resources. Leadership came from what is now India and Pakistan and that relfects heavily in the military traditions and quality of military of both nations.

So again we don't own a monopoly on courage and determination. Every nation manifests their own patriots. However there is no substitute to tradition and ethos that goes a long long way in building up Military capability.

PS look at the battle honors of India's and Pakistan oldest regiments and Cav units. Please compare that with Sri Lanka or bangla or Nepal.

Just as an FYI

USMC is not regular infantry. They consider themselves elite light infantry and was one of reasons they historically resisted joining SOCOM.

Though within the MC they have elite with elite units - MARSOC raiders and Radio and Force Recon Marine
Ignore all the hullaboo that they make. A US Marine is no different from an Army soldier except they focus on the amphibious stuff a lot more.

Marines try to compare themselves to US Army Rangers (the only true "elite" light infantry) but it's laughable. Their training duration and everything else is identical to that of an infantry soldier (barring traditions and culture).
Raiders and Force Recon are SOFs, yes, but Marines have created this myth around themselves as being some elite force.

They're amphibious infantry, plain and simple.
As for their resistance of joining SOCOM, a regular Marine has no business in it. Force Recon wasn't spared by the corps to join it and that's all.
No one ever prodded the regular Marines to join SOCOM.

It's nigh impossible to create and maintain some 2 lakhs elite soldiers with the budget allocated to the Corps.

rkhanna

Ignore all the hullaboo that they make. A US Marine is no different from an Army soldier except they focus on the amphibious stuff a lot more.

Marines try to compare themselves to US Army Rangers (the only true "elite" light infantry) but it's laughable. Their training duration and everything else is identical to that of an infantry soldier (barring traditions and culture).
Raiders and Force Recon are SOFs, yes, but Marines have created this myth around themselves as being some elite force.

They're amphibious infantry, plain and simple.
As for their resistance of joining SOCOM, a regular Marine has no business in it. Force Recon wasn't spared by the corps to join it and that's all.
No one ever prodded the regular Marines to join SOCOM.

It's nigh impossible to create and maintain some 2 lakhs elite soldiers with the budget allocated to the Corps.
Disgaree. Everything about the MC points to their elite expedentitury nature . Their training, equipment and selection and boot camp. Miles away from the basic us infantry grunt. Hell the marine corp outshoots the us army almost 2 to 1 in an avg year. Any us invasion force is spear headed by the Marines with the army providing from their airborne troops and armour corps.

The 82nd Airborne would be a better comparison (The 75th however are a notch above the Marines )

There are a number of books and material that talk about this going alway they way back to WWII and comparing various campaigns including guadacanal and bastone and D day not to mention Korea and vietnam

armyofhind

A US Marine is no different from an Army soldier except they focus on the amphibious stuff a lot more.
Thats not entirely true.

US Marines have a different physical standard in training to begin with.
They have a higher marksmanship requirement as well for all of their personnel.

Aside from this, "Every Marine a Rifleman" holds true. They have a practice of teaching basic infantry and marskmanship to each and every soldier - right down from the line grunt to a fighter pilot.

Which means, in theory, that if a Marine pilot is shot down and can link up with a friendly unit, he can essentially lead that ground unit into combat as well.

And if you take the combat history of US Marines, they have a far more integrated combined arms system than the other branches of the US Military.

Just my two cents.