Indian Special Forces (archived)

scatterStorm

The current Guinness World Record for "greatest absolute distance flown in a wing suit" is 32.094 km (19.94 mi) set by Kyle Lobpries (USA) in Davis, CA 30 May 2016.

Shit so no joy, I repeat no joy. There batteries will be well within 300Km distance from LAC. For SRBMs maybe more than 500Km or 1000Km away.

Are there any other routes, can we go roundtrip from another country? Or we can use rivers streams, but those waters would be so dead cold. Damn our options are tight.

Aniruddha Mulay

old order Stuck in MOD since Last year :doh: :doh: :doh: :mad2::mad2:
Army Para Special Forces Requirements

EquipmentQuantity
Mk 48 light machine guns715
FN Scar (H) assault rifles1,050
Scar (L) / HK-416 assault rifles1,400
FN .50 Cal Browning heavy machine guns110
Helmet mounted night vision goggles400
Combat free fall parachutes600
Barret M107 A1 heavy sniping rifles100
Ammunition rounds20 (M)

Are the Helmet mounted NVG going to be dual tube NVG or quad tube NVG?

ALBY

Section Moderator
Have you ever been to real High Altitude areas ... ??
Metal object on your head ??? and BPJ in front of your chest . where touching even a a small metal object may result in your fingers being chopped off..
You must be kidding ... right. I for one will never put it. Terrain is bigger enemy there than the enemy itself.

There is a metal wire inserted on Indian coat Parka hoods to provide shape to the hood...
That small metal piece in spite of eing insulated has been the reasons of many soldiers death due to lightening in those mountains.. which is so frequent and often. specially when static electricity produced by the woolens the soldiers put on is always present around the body.....
So how do they deal with the rifle having metal barrel🤨

EternalNxg

EquipmentQuantity
Ammunition rounds20 (M)

Hhhmmmm HK416 and scar assault rifles🤔🤔🤔🤔
I doubt our SF will procure these.

EquipmentQuantity
Ammunition rounds20 (M)

Why browning HMG when OFB is producing NSVT??
Does not make sense

apoorv465

Atleast they are getting new rifles. I seriously thought they stopped after getting tars and a few M4's.

so finally we are buying SCAR.
this article is all over the place

It says SFs are buying SCAR-H to replace the “1B LMG” (Brens) which SFs haven’t used for maybe 30 years? Assault rifles replacing LMGs ? And then it refers to the SCAR as a “support weapon”?

And the last para then starts falling about the FN MAG which is a MMG and india has been licence producing it for decades.

EquipmentQuantity
Ammunition rounds20 (M)

This was my first thought too but I thought this had already been cleared last year?

Mfers only seem to wake up when india is given a bloody nose. The entire system needs to be burned down.

Anyway this deal seems different as it’s being pushed now through the new emergency purchase powers and it’s for a lot less than this one above.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

EquipmentQuantity
Ammunition rounds20 (M)

In life there are 3 stages for everything..

1. Struggles or survival
2.Comfort stage
3.Luxury stage

So out of that list SCAR and LMG is a Luxury.We are doing stage 2 in those things.

Whereas in things like helmet,gear,uniform and BPJ Radio we are at level 1.

So the smart people who are more smarter than us as claimed need to make the right decisions.

First be level 2 in everything then go for Level 3.

operatorgrumby

The current Guinness World Record for "greatest absolute distance flown in a wing suit" is 32.094 km (19.94 mi) set by Kyle Lobpries (USA) in Davis, CA 30 May 2016.

Well military doesn't perform the Wing suit method & the appropriate military option is HAHO dropping with around 50 kms of travelling under an open canopy into enemy territory with full battle load in around 20-30 minutes...

Neither combat helmet and plate carrier have metal in them though🙄
Fine ..but the helmet and BPJ are not thermal layers either and do not tell me that materiel does not freeze.. Non metal thingies may be for elite SF guys but not every Indian soldier has those luxuries . I will take time to the coffee to percolate down..

Why to lug 5-10kg extra weight in an operational scenario where you would not expect the Chinese sitting in ambush for you.. or jihadis is firing at you from behind a rock .. you are not in Larmarg or Mahadev ranges or in Machill. Ladakh has no such threats.

Here being and remaining alive is the largest part of soldiering and every step is an expedition... SF being no exceptions. Who will take care of that irritating headache caused by helmets... and extra weight on your lungs put by BPJ.

“The 7.62 x 51 mm FN Scar, made by a US unit of Belgium’s FN Herstal, is being purchased by the Army under its own financial powers and is roughly around Rs 200-300 crore,” confirmed a source.

The wish list of Special Forces includes

715 Mk 48 Light Machine Guns (LMGs),

1,050 FN Scar (H) 7.62×51 assault rifles,

1,400 FN Scar (L) or HK-416 assault rifles,

110 .50 Cal Browning heavy machine guns (HMG),

400 helmet-mounted night vision systems

600 combat free fall parachutes

100 Barret M107 A1 heavy sniping rifles

There is an urgent requirement of 20 million rounds of ammunition. These will be used in the small arms

https://www.financialexpress.com/de...mpany/2007444/lite/?__twitter_impression=true

Fine ..but the helmet and BPJ are not thermal layers either and do not tell me that materiel does not freeze.. Non metal thingies may be for elite SF guys but not every Indian soldier has those luxuries . I will take time to the coffee to percolate down..

Why to lug 5-10kg extra weight in an operational scenario where you would not expect the Chinese sitting in ambush for you.. or jihadis is firing at you from behind a rock .. you are not in Larmarg or Mahadev ranges or in Machill. Ladakh has no such threats.

Here being and remaining alive is the largest part of soldiering and every step is an expedition... SF being no exceptions. Who will take care of that irritating headache caused by helmets... and extra weight on your lungs put by BPJ.
Sir wanted to share some good news with you. Looks like IAS lobby is now in final countdown.

Modi govt now plans to hire 400 directors and deputy secretaries through lateral entry
Many cadre officers are unwilling to come on central deputation, so Modi govt plans to fill massive vacancies and increase efficiency in one stroke.

https://theprint.in/india/governanc...l-entry/449426/?amp&__twitter_impression=true

operatorgrumby

“The 7.62 x 51 mm FN Scar, made by a US unit of Belgium’s FN Herstal, is being purchased by the Army under its own financial powers and is roughly around Rs 200-300 crore,” confirmed a source.

The wish list of Special Forces includes

715 Mk 48 Light Machine Guns (LMGs),

1,050 FN Scar (H) 7.62×51 assault rifles,

1,400 FN Scar (L) or HK-416 assault rifles,

110 .50 Cal Browning heavy machine guns (HMG),

400 helmet-mounted night vision systems

600 combat free fall parachutes

100 Barret M107 A1 heavy sniping rifles

There is an urgent requirement of 20 million rounds of ammunition. These will be used in the small arms

https://www.financialexpress.com/de...mpany/2007444/lite/?__twitter_impression=true
A thing about this, As everyone knows this one's looming around since the stone age..so why the sudden "Bawal" for this. Is the procurement finally saw daylight or just memory freshen up🙄

ALBY

Section Moderator
In life there are 3 stages for everything..

1. Struggles or survival
2.Comfort stage
3.Luxury stage

So out of that list SCAR and LMG is a Luxury.We are doing stage 2 in those things.

Whereas in things like helmet,gear,uniform and BPJ Radio we are at level 1.

So the smart people who are more smarter than us as claimed need to make the right decisions.

First be level 2 in everything then go for Level 3.
Whats the need of going for Mk48 when we are going to make much lighter NG-7 in India? Also the need for. 50 cal doesnt ring a bell when we are making NSVs here.