Indian Role in Afghanistan

Kalki_2018

India should supply then with more Mi-35, 105mm IFG and T-55's or 72's as they retire and are replaced by T-90/Arjun Mk2.

Kshithij

DharmaYoddha
How can Afghanistan even pay back? Are we doling out stuff for developing relationship or is it trade?

yahan kisaan bhook se mar rahy hai paise mil nahi rahy... inhe daan dene ki parhi hai.. Charity, It's a good thing but make sure they sell to other countries also so that some profit can be generated for farmers.

Kalki_2018

Its trade not aide. We can import dried fruits and minerals from Afghanistan. Afghanistan is sitting on lot of mineral deposit and India must help them develop it. None of the weapons I have mentioned are so devastating that Iran or pakistan should shit themselves.

SELVAM

Its trade not aide. We can import dried fruits and minerals from Afghanistan. Afghanistan is sitting on lot of mineral deposit and India must help them develop it. None of the weapons I have mentioned are so devastating that Iran or pakistan should shit themselves.
Afghanistan armed forces hav access to better quality US weapons. Our weapons is not going to give any
advantage to Afghanistan army. Afghanistan army need to find a way to neutralise Taliban suicide bombers. Most of the Afghanistan army casualities r due to suicide attack.

SELVAM

I dont think US is sincere in bringing peace to Afghanistan. They r working in some other plan.

yahan kisaan bhook se mar rahy hai paise mil nahi rahy... inhe daan dene ki parhi hai.. Charity, It's a good thing but make sure they sell to other countries also so that some profit can be generated for farmers.
If the government is buying the wheat from farmers and then giving it, it's still profit for the farmer right?

No
It's a loss
Govt gives a lot of wheat for free to Ration card holders who can pay, and MNREGA who get 20 - 20 kgs of wheat every month. And In charity here and there. Almost 25-30% of Indian population eats for free.
There is no profit and govt runs in loss and hence farmers aren't paid well. This is the actual problem.

M16/ M4 used mostly by their SF with a reputation for jamming up in fine dust so does irregularities in field cleaning by soldiers themselves, 122mm D30 with mere range of 14-15kms at most, Cessna tubro prop for ground support ..

US funds them for weapons and few US weapons in their service which are mostly with SOF, I can name few of Indian system which surpass systems operational in Afghan Army of US origin and Chinese so does east block ..

Go though things you tend to talk about, Get more knowledge before getting into inferior complexity about your own kind and stuff..

Afghanistan armed forces hav access to better quality US weapons. Our weapons is not going to give any advantage to Afghanistan army. .

Kalki_2018

India has supplied INSAS to Oman, Nepal etc and can so the same for ANA.
Indian 105 mm >> D20 gun (122 mm) and USA has not provided them with any gun or tanks. India can provide T-55/72 and spares.
USA has not provided any attack chopper, Mi-35 which we are retiring will be used very well by ANA instead of garbage like cessna. I am sure they would appreciate Rudra also as it can serve both as transport and attack.

Villager

Afghanistan to make Test debut against India
Afghanistan will play their inaugural Test match against India in 2018. Rahul Johri, the BCCI chief executive officer, confirmed that India would host Afghanistan, and that the two boards would work out the venue and the dates shortly.

Since being inducted as an ICC Full Member in June, alongside Ireland, Afghanistan have been looking for an opponent to play their maiden Test match against.

Ireland have already confirmed that they will play their first Test against Pakistan in May 2018.

Villager

2nd Air Cargo Route Launched - To India’s Mumbai City

A second air cargo route has been officially launched from Afghanistan to India’s Mumbai city which will further increase export of fresh fruit.

A second air cargo route, this time to Mumbai, was officially launched on Wednesday from Afghanistan to India following the success of the Afghanistan-New Delhi route.

At the launch ceremony in Kabul, the Deputy Chairman of the Afghanistan Chamber of Commerce and Industries (ACCI), Khan Jan Alokozay said Afghanistan’s fruit exports will increase further with the Kabul-Mumbai route.

“The government has taken 80 percent responsibility of exporting of fruits to outside the country,” Alokozai said.

He also thanked President Ashraf Ghani for the government’s efforts, and said: “India is not charging taxes to Afghan traders. We are also trying to send fruit to India’s Amritsar city.”

In the meantime, Second Vice President Mohammad Sarwar Danish also said that the air corridor is very important for the government, adding that “we are hoping that the neighboring countries even consider the economy in their political policy.”

“India also promised to hold exhibition for Afghan traders in Mumbai city and they also want to create business chambers,” Danish said. “We hope that our Ministry of Foreign Affairs develops this relations even further.”

On Sunday, the Head of the Public Relations Office of the Senior Advisor to the President in Banking and Finance, Sameer Rasa, said since the launch of the air cargo corridor between Afghanistan and New Delhi, in India, six months ago, fresh produce, dried fruit and medicinal plants to the value of $20 million USD has been exported to India.

According to Rasa it is expected that within two days, cargo flights will also be launched to Mumbai in India.

Rasa said that in the six months since the launch of the cargo route, 10,640 tons of fresh and dried fruit, medicinal plants and handcrafts have been exported to Indian markets.

In addition, the ACCI officials said that the establishment of air corridors between Afghanistan and India is key to boosting exports to India and also to the rest of the world.

“When we look back at our exports in the past six months the total volume of our exports in which the air corridor had a significant role, we have seen a dramatic increase and it totals - in the six months - to about $398 million USD,” said Atiqullah Nusrat, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the ACCI.

This comes amid ongoing talks between government and the private sector to open up other air cargo routes to foreign countries.

But some businessmen have said that government needs to focus on attracting investment for the packaging sector for agricultural products if it wants to increase its exports.

TheVarun

"Why the hell should we care about what Pakistan thinks about India's presence in Afghanistan,,,,,India is a free and sovereign nation..."

Well said! India is popular, progressive, very familiar and very benign. India has an ancient relationship with Afghanistan that goes back to pre-Buddhist times, let alone pre-Islamic.The very names Afghanistan, Kabul and Kandahar are of Indian/Sanskritic origin. India is not alien, undesirable, unprogressive and anti-plural in Afghanistan. The Taliban and the Pakistanis are these things, except for alien.

Guys, I am starting to think that we are right now the only country on earth that actually gives a fook about Afghans in a genuine manner. Everyone else is talking about either discarding Afghanistan as a whole or cutting deals with Taliban or asking Pakistan to be a channel.

Though the Stans are also involved, but that's more due to security concerns than anything else. Also, I really wonder what would sending food aid do when the common Afghans don't even know that it is us sending the help.

Look at this:

Jaishankar voices concern over Afghan situation, lauds Tajikistan’s help in evacuating Indians

New Delhi: Expressing concern about developments in Afghanistan, External Affairs Minister (EAM) S Jaishankar on Saturday appreciated Tajikistan’s role in the evacuation of Indians from Afghanistan in August and September and noted the progress in bilateral cooperation between the two countries in nearly three decades of diplomatic ties.

Jaishankar made these remarks during his meeting with Tajikistan foreign minister where he exchanged views on expanding bilateral cooperation in energy, connectivity, trade, security and capacity building. The two ministers also signed agreements on diplomatic training and program of cooperation.

“We’ve also, of course as neighbours of Afghanistan, we have been very concerned at the developments there. And the participation of the Secretary of your Security Council in the Regional Security Dialogue, which we hosted in November, is something which is deeply appreciated,” Jaishankar said in his opening remarks at his meeting with the Foreign Minister of Tajikistan.

“I would also like to publicly thank you for the tremendous support that you gave us during the evacuation of Indians from Afghanistan in August and September, both Indians as well as some members of the Afghan minority community,” he added. Noting the good bilateral relations between the two sides, Jaishankar highlighted the close cooperating between the two countries in the United Nations (UN) and in the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO). The minister also noted the mutual support between the two countries during the COVID-19 pandemic. “We were happy to provide ‘Made in India’ vaccines and certainly now we look forward to easier travel between India and Tajikistan through recognition of our vaccine certificates.”

Sirojiddin Muhriddin is on an official visit to India from December 18-20 and will attend the 3rd meeting of the India-Central Asia Dialogue. Foreign Ministers of Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan will participate in the meeting. As part of the third meeting of the India-Central Asia Dialogue, the foreign ministers of Central Asian countries are expected to pay a joint courtesy visit to Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Earlier, a meeting in this format was organised by India in October 2020 in digital video conference format.
We must find ways to help people of Afghanistan: EAM Jaishankar at India-Central Asia dialogue

External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar on Sunday pitched for finding ways to help the people in Afghanistan while reaffirming the need for an inclusive government in the country. Speaking at the third India-Central Asia Dialogue, Jaishankar said, "We share deep-rooted historical and civilisational ties with Afghanistan. Our concerns and objectives in that country are similar - a truly inclusive and representative government, the fight against drug trafficking, ensuring unhindered humanitarian assistance and preserving the rights of women, children and minorities."

"We must find ways of helping the people of Afghanistan," the minister added. The dialogue, hosted by India in Delhi, was also attended by the foreign ministers of Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. "The meeting today comes amidst the rapidly changing global and economic situation. The Covid-19 pandemic has resulted in an enormous setback to global health and economy. It has changed the way we imagine workplaces, societies, supply chains and governance. It also highlighted the inadequacies of multilateral structures to meet new and emerging threats," Jaishankar said. "We need diversified supply chains and more regional solutions," he said. Jaishankar floated a 'four C' approach focusing on commerce, capacity enhancement, connectivity and contacts to further expand the cooperation between the two sides.

At the meeting, Kazakhstan Foreign Minister Mukhtar Tileuberdi said, "During the past three decades, Kazakhstan and India have developed successful and dynamic relations across all spectrums of cooperation. Strategic partnership with India is dynamically growing and increasingly covers new areas of cooperation."
"We are eager to maintain trusted political dialogue and look forward to organising a high-level visit of President Tokayev to India next year that could coincide with the 30th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between our two countries," he added.

Tileuberdi welcomes India's growing interest in Central Asia. "Our region is now in a new development stage towards unprecedented convergence in politics, economics, trade and security," he said.
Foreign Minister of Turkmenistan Rashid Meredov said, "Dialogue in this multilateral format is of special importance. It is able to have a serious constructive impact on the challenges arising on the regional and global agenda, including political, security, economic, environmental issues and human dimension."
"This dialogue is natural and impartial," he added.