Indian nuclear submarines

Kyubi

Today morning i saw Hindu news paper on front page that INS Airhant had met accident 10 months ago. I was shocked and disappointed that news leaked in front of front page of Hindu. The whole world know that our nuclear submarine had met accident. We must hang journalist who published these news in public.
He expresses press freedom which the author is well within his rights, we cannot fault with that. Cladsified info does find its way out in public. But if the authir is indeed true then we as people of india have the right to know.

As for the editor to make it front page news is indeed akin to stoking the fire and tarnish our image around the globe.. it is a criminal in real sense .. but thats the grey area when it comes to the authorities to prosecute journos who write such pieces with out naming their sources.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

delbruky

THE VALOR OF BHAI SATI DAS 1621-1675
Now we venture into the realm of speculation conspiracy theories. I certainly believe that a possibility OR THE ATTEMPT to sabotage by pak cannot be ruled out.
Even RAW and IB or Military Intelligence did come across a shred of evidence to support our sabotage theory.. then i have to say that we have a lousy and inept security apparatus.. it is indeed downright shameless that we cant protect our strategic assests .. i just hope GoI will own up and will not obfuscate by blaming Pak.

If this info is indeed true I suspect sabotage.

Could be but for "The Hindu" to report about INS Arihanth with info this damning , i will have to believe that it is true.. If MOD does conclude the report to be true .. then we have to hang our heads in shame
. It is totally unacceptable to have accidents , we will be ridiculed by world who are watching us..

Ridicule or not is irrelevant. NO ONE in the media should be openly talking about STRATGIC ASSETS I mean it is utterly unbelievable that this nonsense has made its way past editorial boards and legal teams to print.

The NSA must be steaming, he had afterall explicitly targeted the leaking and reporting on this exact boat.

What good does it do to have strategic matters discussed like this? Only aids the enemy.

Kyubi

Ridicule or not is irrelevant. NO ONE in the media should be openly talking about STRATGIC ASSETS I mean it is utterly unbelievable that this nonsense has made its way past editorial boards and legal teams to print.

The NSA must be steaming, he had afterall explicitly targeted the leaking and reporting on this exact boat.

What good does it do to have strategic matters discussed like this? Only aids the enemy.
I concure with the view that leaks needs to be plugged and NSA over the years have done a fine job in keeping it like that ( referring here to the development activity) . But when it comes to accidents related to out strategic assests how long should such stories be hid from the public view, only to be picked up by a "quick to fame hungry journo" to spread vitriol against our strike capability.

Hiding such info might be counter productive in the long run as it may come back bitting us.. MoD could infact issue a customary note that INS Arihanth had to undergo few checks and such harmless snippets at certain intervals shall.not raise questions ..

This report by The Hindu is very damning, true or false it has indeed brought a lot of inwarranted attention of our enemy and ridicule of the world.. our Naval might will laughed at considering our history of mishaps..

INS Arihant left crippled after ‘accident’ 10 months ago

NEWS NATIONAL
NATIONAL INS Arihant left crippled after ‘accident’ 10 months ago
Under repair: INS Arihant stationed at the naval warehouse in Visakhapatnam in 2014.
Dinakar Peri
Josy Joseph
NEW DELHI , JANUARY 08, 2018 00:30 IST
UPDATED: JANUARY 08, 2018 00:54 IST
Nuclear submarine was damaged when water entered its propulsion chamber

Indigenous nuclear submarine INS Arihant suffered major damage because of possible human error and has not sailed now for months, according to Navy sources. Arihant is the most important platform within India’s nuclear triad covering land-air-sea modes.

Arihant’s propulsion compartment suffered damage after water entered the area more than 10 months ago, according to details available with The Hindu. One naval source said water rushed in because a hatch on the rear side was left open by mistake. The Ministry of Defence did not respond to questions from The Hindu.

The accident

The indigenous nuclear submarine, built under the Advanced Technology Vessel project (ATV), suffered damage while it was at harbour. Since the accident, the submarine has been undergoing repairs and clean up, and has not sailed, sources said.

Besides other repair work, many pipes had to be cut open and replaced. One naval source said the “cleaning up” is a laborious task in a nuclear submarine which is why there has been a delay in getting it back to sea.

Arihant’s issue has arisen soon after INS Chakra, the nuclear submarine leased from Russia, was reported to have suffered damage to its sonar domes while entering the harbour in Visakhapatnam in early October. However, INS Chakra has only a peripheral role in the nuclear triad, for both training and escorting, since it is INS Arihant that would carry nuclear missiles.

The absence of Arihant from operations came to the political leadership’s attention during the India-China military stand-off at Doklam. Whenever such a stand-off takes place, countries carry out precautionary advance deployment of submarine assets. INS Arihant (Code name S2) came into the limelight on July 26, 2009, the day Gursharan Kaur, wife of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, broke the auspicious coconut to launch India’s first nuclear-powered ballistic missile submarine in Visakhapatnam.

After that, the submarine was towed to an enclosed pier for extensive harbour trials from the dry docks at Ship Building Centre, away from public view. INS Arihant was quietly commissioned into service in August 2016 and its induction is still not officially acknowledged. It is powered by an 83 MW pressurised light-water reactor with enriched uranium.

INS Arihant left crippled after ‘accident’ 10 months ago

Senior naval sources maintain that INS Arihant has not left the harbour for the last ten months or so, and has faced problems from the start. Initial delays could be just teething trouble, glitches at various stages of getting the reactor to go critical and during harbour trials; major differences between the Russian-supplied design and indigenous fabrication are said to have left many issues unaddressed satisfactorily.

Equipped with nuclear-tipped ballistic missiles, Arihant is India’s only operational Ship Submersible Ballistic Nuclear (SSBN) asset. It can stay undetected deep underwater for long periods, range far and wide, and launch nuclear missiles when required.

Arihant: top gun for second-strike

INS Arihant, India’s only operational ship submersible ballistic nuclear (SSBN) asset, is its most dependable platform for a second-strike, given the country “no first use” on nuclear weapons. The other options, land-based and air-launched, are easier to detect.

The submarine is manned by a staff of 100 with extensive training from the School for Advanced Underwater Warfare in Visakhapatnam and further hands-on training on INS Chakra, a Nerpa-class nuclear ship.

Arihant has been immobilised even as the second ballistic missile submarine, Arighat, was launched on November 19 for sea trials. The launch was kept a low-profile event attended by Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and senior Navy officers.

A high-profile launch, to be attended by the Prime Minister, was put off.

Key to nuclear triad

INS Arihant and other nuclear launch platforms — land-based missiles and designated aircraft — are operationally handled by the Strategic Forces Command, and report to the Nuclear Command Authority chaired by the Prime Minister.

However, the over 100 nuclear warheads are not mated with missiles or bombs and remain in civilian custody of the Atomic Energy Department and the Defence Research and Development Organisation.

Ambitious plan

India has an ambitious plan to build a SSBN fleet, comprising five Arihant-class vessels.

Naval sources say the plan hinges on Arihant’s success. It has taken 30 years to build it, at a high cost. “It was initially estimated to cost about ₹3000 crore for three boats — now the cost of Arihant itself seems to have gone over ₹14,000 crore,” a former high-ranking naval officer said.

The Eastern Naval Command plans to operate its nuclear sub fleet from an independent Naval Operational Alternative Base (NOAB) being constructed on 5,000 acres of land at Rambilli, for direct access to the sea. The base is located about 50 km from Visakhapatnam, and jetties are under construction.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/nation...er-accident-10-months-ago/article22392049.ece

We need to investigate this event

But remember don't let this event take us down.

One naval source said water rushed in because a hatch on the rear side was left open by mistake.
WTF man? A next gen nuclear sub was damaged 'as water rushed in because a hatch on the rear side was left open by mistake'? Really? I thought a nuke sub would have adequate and foolproof warning systems if a hatch is found to be open before it sets sail!

Even my car which costs a gazillion times less than a nuke sub has a warning system with a beeping red light flashing on the instrument cluster if any door is not shut properly before starting. And here we have a next gen nuke sub with no clue whether it is comprehensively sealed or not before sailing into the murky waters of the ocean! Jeeez!

I dunno whether to laugh or cry! :shock:

WTF man? A next gen nuclear sub was damaged 'as water rushed in because a hatch on the rear side was left open by mistake'? Really? I thought a nuke sub would have adequate and foolproof warning systems if a hatch is found to be open before it sets sail!

Even my car which costs a gazillion times less than a nuke sub has a warning system with a beeping red light flashing on the instrument cluster if any door is not shut properly before starting. And here we have a next gen nuke sub with no clue whether it is comprehensively sealed or not before sailing into the murky waters of the ocean! Jeeez!

Story doesn’t add up. It’s such a basic error to make, like a pilot taking off with the doors open! Just isn’t going to happen there are checklists in place and the crews of these boats are hand selected they aren’t amateurs.

Arihant is Undergoing a refit that’s why she hasn’t left dock for a while, this story is pure BS have no doubt.

Reporter wrote this knowing IN wouldn’t respond about the status of its nuclear assets. Almost smells like a probing article trying to provoke IN to divulge what refit she is having.

Second major act of treachery by the media in the week, quint had to taken down their article will the Hindu do the same ?

Kshithij

DharmaYoddha

How was the recent K4 test done if Arihant was damaged? This is a question one must answer. The missile was said to have been stuck in the launch tube due to battery running out. Also, a few months back, another article had popped up saying India allowed USA to check INS Chakra. Also, Arihant was checked by the same group. They stated that their intention was to get a submarine lifter or the size of Indian submarines.

As @abingdonboy said, I do feel that this is a probing article trying to force IN to issue a statement about Arihant. I would have understood if Arihant was damaged in a crash. This could also be a news planted by NSA to misguide enemy. Otherwise, there was no need to keep this news a s headline article. There was no news yesterday night but suddenly popped up today morning in front page headlines.

I smell something

Arihant is Undergoing a refit that’s why she hasn’t left dock for a while, this story is pure BS have no doubt.

Reporter wrote this knowing IN wouldn’t respond about the status of its nuclear assets. Almost smells like a probing article trying to provoke IN to divulge what refit she is having.

Second major act of treachery by the media in the week, quint had to taken down their article will the Hindu do the same ?
Just what I was thinking of. When you can't get any information out speculate a bad/wrong/unfortunate information to incite your opponent and make him give out real information.

If at all it's real then it could be that they have tested missile launch which failed or hatch didn't closed after missile was launched from under water leading to excessive pressure leading to leakage. Here One thing to note that missile tube gets filled with water to maintain weight and CG.

How was the recent K4 test done if Arihant was damaged? This is a question one must answer. The missile was said to have been stuck in the launch tube due to battery running out. Also, a few months back, another article had popped up saying India allowed USA to check INS Chakra. Also, Arihant was checked by the same group. They stated that their intention was to get a submarine lifter or the size of Indian submarines.

As @abingdonboy said, I do feel that this is a probing article trying to force IN to issue a statement about Arihant. I would have understood if Arihant was damaged in a crash. This could also be a news planted by NSA to misguide enemy. Otherwise, there was no need to keep this news a s headline article. There was no news yesterday night but suddenly popped up today morning in front page headlines.

I smell something
That US “inspection” saga is intriguing because the IN actually came out forcefully and called BS as did the Russians.

Why are so many fake stories being created recently targeting the most sensitive assets in IN? This is the real question.

Media has a lot of explaining to do, this hardly feels like a responsible press.

I smell something
One more thing. INS Arihant is having 4 missile tubes and 83mw reactor whereas INS Aridhaman is said to have 8 tubes and 150 MW reactor. It could also be that INS Arihant is being retrofitted with 4 more tubes and 150 MW reactor. Now people may ask about INS Aridhaman since it is not even accepted by Indian Navy as recently launched submarine was named INS Arighat. But one thing is sure We have 3 nuke submarines in water for sure. This definitely is speculative article to get real information out.

The hound are already out and latching on to this news
It’s like picking on a disabled child knowing they can’t fight back. Military is always the target of these aholes because they know that 99% of the time they will just shut up and take it. This is doubly true when it comes to strategic assets.

Man we gotta look into our Media houses these people work in India but take money from foreign entities to write biased articles.
And the article itself is very shady, how am I supposed to believe that no sensor picked up the open hatch before dive.

Kshithij

DharmaYoddha
Just what I was thinking of. When you can't get any information out speculate a bad/wrong/unfortunate information to incite your opponent and make him give out real information.

If at all it's real then it could be that they have tested missile launch which failed or hatch didn't closed after missile was launched from under water leading to excessive pressure leading to leakage. Here One thing to note that missile tube gets filled with water to maintain weight and CG.
Missile test happened less than a month ago. This is 10 month old event the news is speaking of. Even the inspection of Chakra and Arihant was 3 month ago.