Indian Navy more likely to select F 18 than rafales

There is a news indian navy already pushing govt for AC yes due to funds these are not coming but next AC will be from USA for navy may be retired USA kitty hawk NIMITZ etc
Forget about it. I already mentioned last year, No old US CV is ever gonna be given to any nation no matter how close of friend they are.
Planes and other hardware yes they can give but CV not possible.

Well the answer is No. Indian Navy is not very comfortable with US ships after INS Jalashwa. So we are not going to buy any second hand carrier. Even the hypothetical situation it will take years to come since deactivating the USN ship first and then install necessary Indian specific requirements. At this stage GoI give another order for Vikrant class carrier with increased displacement.
Apart from CV and Submarines, US Navy is actually not that good in building quality vessels.
Their Littoral Class ships : Independence and Freedom both are plagued with issue which caused the project to get cancelled now.
Even the older Independence and Freedom class built in 70s were of poor quality and had regular issues. They are not allowed to go into sea if there is bad weather.

EU nations builds much better quality Frigates, Corvettes and Destroyers.

I am all in for Indian Navy buying the FA-18 Super Hornet over the Rafale-M but the one and only hurdle which comes with purchase of American equipment especially fighters is that US/Uncle Sam imposes a lot of terms and conditions which limits the use of these planes.

If India is going to select FA-18 SH over Rafale-M than we need to ensure that uncle Sam does not impose any such conditions, we should be able to use these jets however we like and against who ever we want to use.

The FA-18 has the decisive edge against Rafale-M as proven by the points put by @Wisemarko.

So in terms of Politics : RAFALE-M is best choice.
But in terms of Capabilities : FA-18 is the best choice.
So far it only seems as Urban-Political Folklore that US product are with conditions and limits.
Are there any actual proof of that? outside few understandable cases.

Arjun Mk1A

Apart from CV and Submarines, US Navy is actually not that good in building quality vessels.
Their Littoral Class ships : Independence and Freedom both are plagued with issue which caused the project to get cancelled now.
Even the older Independence and Freedom class built in 70s were of poor quality and had regular issues. They are not allowed to go into sea if there is bad weather.

EU nations builds much better quality Frigates, Corvettes and Destroyers.

The thing regarding US Navy ships is overpromising and underdelivering. All their new class of ships like Independence, Zumwalt etc. came lot of radical design but in real world conditions they completely failed to show their required capability. Hence they burned a lot of money in projects and just dismiss the program citing cost overruns.

Who knows their MIC backed senators may get some cut backs.

The thing regarding US Navy ships is overpromising and underdelivering. All their new class of ships like Independence, Zumwalt etc. came lot of radical design but in real world conditions they completely failed to show their required capability. Hence they burned a lot of money in projects and just dismiss the program citing cost overruns.

Who knows their MIC backed senators may get some cut backs.
Heavy cuts to the senator only made the new Independence and Freedom class to get approved with the Aluminium outer shell.
Experts said from day one that these ships are not gonna last long but the project went on.
Now after spending 10s of Billions of Dollar they have cancelled both class now.

You know that one of the newer vessels had really bad cracks formed withing 2 yr of use but the News are kept hidden from media by US Navy. Only recent Report got leaked and they showed the pics of shell badly broken.

Arjun Mk1A

Heavy cuts to the senator only made the new Independence and Freedom class to get approved with the Aluminium outer shell.
Experts said from day one that these ships are not gonna last long but the project went on.
Now after spending 10s of Billions of Dollar they have cancelled both class now.

You know that a not vessels had really bad cracks formed withing 2 yr of use but the News are kept hidden from media by US Navy. Only recent Report got leaked and they showed the pics of shell badly broken.

USN with all in Jumla forget to see that PLAN now rapidly brigdging the gap. No fancy shit but still incremental upgrades and armed to teeth ships at their disposal.

So far it only seems as Urban-Political Folklore that US product are with conditions and limits.
Are there any actual proof of that? outside few understandable cases.
Go on the internet and check, you will get such Examples. It's a well known fact that US Weopons like fighters etc always come with Terms and conditions of some kind.

1 example is Pakistan, Pakistan has F-16 in it's Airforce's inventory and these F-16s are not allowed by the US to be used in an offensive manner against other countries like India. But Pakistan broke this agreement on 27th February and lied it didn't use F-16s against India.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
Go on the internet and check, you will get such Examples. It's a well known fact that US Weopons like fighters etc always come with Terms and conditions of some kind.

1 example is Pakistan, Pakistan has F-16 in it's Airforce's inventory and these F-16s are not allowed by the US to be used in an offensive manner against other countries like India. But Pakistan broke this agreement on 27th February and lied it didn't use F-16s against India.
You need to know the condition in which pakis bought f16s.they told the US they were against the soviets in afghan .lol pakis almost used those same f16s to shoot down hepters used in OBL raid

There are all just claims and folklore only. US planes has been used by many countries in offensive for long time.
This thing with Pakis told to not use their F-16 in offensive is also only claimed by us Indians.

Once you use the term: Go on Internet and check, gives away that you don't have any proof and its just all CLAIMS.

You need to know the condition in which pakis bought f16s.they told the US they were against the soviets in afghan .lol pakis almost used those same f16s to shoot down hepters used in OBL raid
Pakistan had 1st purchased F-16s from US in 1981, ordering 40 fighters. And when I searched on the internet the reason for this than I get mostly the following :
1. The F-16s were given in the form of aid to Pak so that they would aid US in Fighting in Afghanistan.
2. To fight Soviets.

Keep in mind that Pakistan is still a major non NATO ally of USA.

There are all just claims and folklore only. US planes has been used by many countries in offensive for long time.
This thing with Pakis told to not use their F-16 in offensive is also only claimed by us Indians.

Once you use the term: Go on Internet and check, gives away that you don't have any proof and its just all CLAIMS.
Than tell me one thing! If Pakistan didn't had any terms and conditions imposed on the usage of F-16s than why did they lie about not using F-16s on 27th February?

If Pakistan had no terms and conditions imposed on its usage of F-16s than it would have never lied about using F-16 and do you know why "Gayfoora" lied about not using F-16?

It is because there was a Clause between US and Pakistan that Pak will not use F-16s in offense against other nations.

It's not just our media which had reported this but also PAK media and US media too (check on the internet you will get it). Also go through the MIG-21 shoots down F-16 thread and you will find Official material proving this.

Than tell me one thing! If Pakistan didn't had any terms and conditions imposed on the usage of F-16s than why did they lie about not using F-16s on 27th February?

If Pakistan had no terms and conditions imposed on its usage of F-16s than it would have never lied about using F-16 and do you know why "Gayfoora" lied about not using F-16?

It is because there was a Clause between US and Pakistan that Pak will not use F-16s in offense against other nations.

It's not just our media which had reported this but also PAK media and US media too (check on the internet you will get it). Also go through the MIG-21 shoots down F-16 thread and you will find Official material proving this.
As another person already mentioned, you are just fixated with Pakistan's case. They bought it under whole together different context.
All you are arguinng based on it ""Tell me why did they not do this and that in that case"

As another person already mentioned, you are just fixated with Pakistan's case. They bought it under whole together different context.
All you are arguinng based on it ""Tell me why did they not do this and that in that case"
Pakistan had terms and conditions imposed on its F-16s because AFAIK those F-16s Were bought in the form of a Military aid and also US needed Pak to fight Soviets during that time as well.

If we Buy F-16/F-15/F-18 with full money than maybe US will not impose such conditions on us. But I am not sure, uncle Sam has really Advanced equipment but it's policies cannot be trusted. I am fully supportive of FA-18 in Indian Navy but only US has proven to be untrustworthy in many instances.

Pakistan had terms and conditions imposed on its F-16s because AFAIK those F-16s Were bought in the form of a Military aid and also US needed Pak to fight Soviets during that time as well.

If we Buy F-16/F-15/F-18 with full money than maybe US will not impose such conditions on us. But I am not sure, uncle Sam has really Advanced equipment but it's policies cannot be trusted. I am fully supportive of FA-18 in Indian Navy but only US has proven to be untrustworthy in many instances.
Which nation can you trust fully? Why are we Indian so much obsessed with Trust and full-TOT.
Baki Nations Ch***ya hai kya?
Everyone wants best for themselves. Even with the cases where we had full TOT, kya ukhad liya humne?
Su-30MKI mai ek modification apne aap karne mai fat jati hai humari. Udhar China pura plane hi copy kar liye same planes ka.
Bofors ka full-TOT se kya kar liya last 30-40 saal mai?

Super falcon

Major problem when china threat for USA gone USA stop engaging India there will be problem for India post china history of USA suggest the better threat of china stay India keep getting weapons

Cheran

1653925715791.png

No proper "source" for F18 procurement.

I think via emergency procurement we might buy 26, now whether it is F18 or Rafale needs to be seen.

India to buy 26 fighters for INS Vikrant on G-2-G basis
The carrier-based fighter acquisition by the Indian Navy will be part of a larger arrangement with the country selected as India is looking to manufacture fighter aircraft engines under the “Atmanirbhar Bharat” plan.

With the indigenous twin-engine deck-based fighter a decade away, the Narendra Modi government will be buying 26 carrier-based fighters for soon to be commissioned INS Vikrant on a government-to-government basis on the recommendation of the Indian Navy.

While the flight test trials of options French Rafale-Marine have already been conducted at the Indian Navy’s shore-based test facility in Goa this January, the trials of US F-18 super hornet are expected to be completed by June 15. Out of the 26 aircraft, the Indian Navy wants 8 twin seater trainers, which can also be used in combat conditions. Both the fighters are virtually of same vintage and both the manufacturers have maintenance, repairs, and overhaul facilities in India.

Both the aircraft have undergone intensive trials at the test facility in Goa but have not landed on India’s sole aircraft carrier, INS Vikramaditya, as it is under major maintenance in Karwar and expected to start sailing later in June. India’s indigenous aircraft carrier INS Vikrant is undergoing sea trials and is expected to be commissioned by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on August 15, 2022.

According to South Block officials, India is not looking to lease fighters for INS Vikrant but will go for outright G-to-G purchase of the deck-based fighters from either French Dassault or US Boeing, based on the evaluation of Indian Navy’s aviation wing. Both the companies have dealt with the Indian Air Force with Dassault selling Rafale fighters and Boeing selling P8I anti-submarine warfare platform, Chinook helicopters and C-17 heavy lift aircraft. The two aircraft have proven track records with F-18 being tested in Afghan and Iraq wars by the US Navy.

The carrier-based fighter deal is expected to be linked with a larger strategic arrangement with the country involved as New Delhi is looking for aircraft engine manufacturing under the “Atmanirbhar Bharat” initiative with the participation of Indian private sector companies. While French Safran is keen to manufacture 100 kilo newton engines with Indian entities without any pre-conditions, Defence Ministry is also exploring the same with the US as the GE-404 engine is used in the indigenous Tejas fighter and GE-414 being considered for the twin engine advanced multi-role combat aircraft (AMCA) project of the DRDO.

Super falcon

Mark my words and I guarantee you with 100 percent authentic news that India is selecting hornets rafale has no chance in the deal rafale are subject to bigger problems which India navy never want to see they are already struggling with migs they don't want to buy least rafale for keep manuely attaching and de attaching their wings to house them on hanger lifts

Super falcon

Hornets will perform better with us Romeo halos navy never operated any french equipment in past scorpenes are only exception even indian navy are not happy with them too