Indian Navy Developments & Discussions

Adm Kenobi

with a tiny capital budget of 4 Billion dollars ?
A correction, it is ₹47,590cr this year (budget estimate). >$6.3B at $1 = ₹75 avg.

& it's wise to see the budget in ₹ because most of the cost (60-80%) is paid in ₹.

Not a v big amount I agree, but not as small as $4B either..there's a difference of more than 50% here

Angel of War

A correction, it is ₹47,590cr this year (budget estimate). >$6.3B at $1 = ₹75 avg.

& it's wise to see the budget in ₹ because most of the cost (60-80%) is paid in ₹.

Not a v big amount I agree, but not as small as $4B either..there's a difference of more than 50% here
I am talking about previous fiscal and that's more accurate if we want to compare the present state of the navy . This fiscal has just started and we can't predict what shape the navy will be in by the year end. For the previous fiscal budget stood at 33250 crores = 4.4 Billion dollars

karn

Won't NGD design be finalised only after designing a new powerplant and electric transmission? M30 deal only happened recently. And then there is the matter of finalizing the ABM missile that will go on the NGD.
IMO .. to make up numbers they should churn out more P17As ..

Won't NGD design be finalised only after designing a new powerplant and electric transmission? M30 deal only happened recently. And then there is the matter of finalizing the ABM missile that will go on the NGD.
IMO .. to make up numbers they should churn out more P17As ..
What's the M30 ?

Adm Kenobi

I am talking about previous fiscal and that's more accurate if we want to compare the present state of the navy . This fiscal has just started and we can't predict what shape the navy will be in by the year end. For the previous fiscal budget stood at 33250 crores = 4.4 Billion dollars
...then you should put the revised estimate numbers.₹46,021.54cr.. (~$6.13B at $1=₹75)

Adm Kenobi

I will do so when the fiscal ends . Let them spend the money first . Then we'll see where they stand at the end of the year
That fiscal ended in March 2022..₹46,021 is the number for FY21-22

Navy got a big bump in revised estimates,

India is not gonna churn out ships like the PLAN is doing until India can start making its own engines, radars and missiles that IN likes. Those are the real expensive parts. It makes no sense to produce more ships than what you can afford to equip them. If you can only afford to buy a certain amount of missiles along with the supporting structure, that limits the number of ships you should produce.

blackleaf

MDL line will go empty again and yet there is still no progress on any successive ships like P-15C or P-17B or even more orders of existing classes. All bets on NGD and NGF which are no where near ready for production to begin. At this point i am convinced all branches of the Indian military are actively working together to sabotage the standing of the country

Meanwhile at this rate the Chinese can easily field a bigger navy than our own in our own backyard and all indians can do is cope and seethe about how "Chinese maal wont work". If the MOD had any brains, they would roll out an incremental version of P17A called P17B that added back the second helicopter hanger, maybe remove the RBUs and introduce DRDO naval radar to replace the Israeli ones
Doesn't matter how many ships China has if they can't get to the Indian ocean. Indian can put 100 missiles on the A&N islands for much cheaper than China can build a ship with 100 missile. In a defensive war against China the focus should be on ground based area denial systems. Ground based antiship misiles and systems to mine the straits separating the Indian ocean from the pacific should be deployed.

Dark Sorrow

Either they have gone mad or completely due American pressure
Budhijeeviyo kahiye iska koi replacement hai kya be it indigenous or imported
Two things affected this decision
  1. We have lost confidence in Russians to supply such systems and more important ability to support with spares and maintenance
  2. Risk of secondary sanctions on India
Trade relations and commerce deals with west will eventually outweigh any military deals with Russia.

This is a good opportunity for us to develop similar AEW systems.

Two things affected this decision
  1. We have lost confidence in Russians to supply such systems and more important ability to support with spares and maintenance
  2. Risk of secondary sanctions on India
Trade relations and commerce deals with west will eventually outweigh any military deals with Russia.

This is a good opportunity for us to develop similar AEW systems.
We are already doing so much with Dhruv and Rudra as platform. We can develop AEW version in limited numbers. Might need to change to more powerful engines though.