Indian Navy Developments & Discussions

right wing

I m not sure , some kind of work is going on .
Infact in November the ship if this is the same one had even its full Side painted and now rust iron seen as on under construction hull.
Either the image is old or follow on

The Indian Hawk

INS Vikramaditya: Everything you Need to Know about warship
INS Vikramaditya is a warship of 44,500 tonnes, 284 metres long and 60 metres high. In a comparison way, its length is equal to about three football fields and the height is about 22-storey building. The warship is very inspiring and encouraging because of strategic importance. A total of 22 boat floors are present in the ship.

INS Vikramaditya in Indian Navy

With more than 1,600 personnel on board the vessel, INS Vikramaditya is literally a 'city of walks''. With a capacity of more than 8,000 tonnes of LSHSD, the warship has more than 7,000 nautical miles or 13,000 km. is equipped with the potential of strategic activity to the extent of more than that.

Fully prepared vessel during launch & deployment
In order to enable the city of Steel to pass through sea waves at a speed of up to 30 nautical miles on the go of this 44,500 tonne, the vessel is powered by 08 new generation steam boilers producing a total capacity of 180,000 SHP production.
These boilers are larger than the height of four giant conductors, each diameter, than the average male height. Four such propellers - four shaft configurations are another first in the Indian Navy.
The power generation capacity on the ship is about 18 MW which is sufficient to meet the lighting requirement of a small town.
A comprehensive improvement in sensors including long-range air surveillance radars, improved electronic warfare room equipment is able to monitor the warship for a distance of more than 500 km around it.

INS Vikramaditya: Everything you Need to Know about warship

HSL ties up with Turkish firm to build Fleet Support Ships

After clouds of uncertainty, the Hindustan Shipyard Limited, which achieved a turnaround, is inching forward smoothly to sign a contract and begin construction of five Fleet Support Ships for the Indian Navy in collaboration with a Turkish shipyard.

The project is estimated between ₹10,000 crore and ₹14,000 crore. “After obtaining clearance from the Ministry of Defence, we are signing the contract with a shipyard based in Turkey and begin construction in collaboration with it by mid-2021,” HSL Chairman and Managing Director Rear Admiral (retd) L.V. Sarat Babu told The Hindu.

The HSL which planned to have a strategic partnership with Hyundai Heavy Industries dropped it earlier following the latter’s insistence on constructing the first ship in South Korea and procuring major components from the global shipping giant.

Each Fleet Support Ship will have a displacement capacity of 45,000 DWT.

Mr. Sarat Babu said as part of the contract, the ‘know-how and know-why’ from the foreign collaborator would be transferred to HSL to give a fillip to local MSMEs. The MSMEs specialising in fabrication, blasting, piping, cable installation and outfitting will be benefited.

Pontoon contract

In competitive bidding, the HSL recently bagged a prestigious contract for construction of semi-submersible pontoons worth ₹420 crore from the Navy.

Mr. Sarat Babu said the pontoons were being used as platforms to undertake repair of ships and submarines.

The shipyard achieved a milestone in submarine repair capability by completing a normal refit of submarine INS Sindhuvir ahead of schedule. The yard also completed a maiden refit of INS Astradharini, a torpedo launch and recovery vessel for the Navy, ahead of contractual refit schedule.

More orders

The CMD said the yard bagged orders on competitive basis for construction of two Diving Support Vessels worth ₹2,390 crore and four 50-tonne bollard pull tugs worth ₹260 crore for the Navy. It also won orders for construction of four pontoons worth ₹10.25 crore and three flap gates worth ₹20 crore from the Naval Dockyard, Visakhapatnam.

The company cleared ₹108 crore towards its legacy liabilities from its earnings for partial settlement of Essar Oil and resolved a long pending issue related to a bulk carrier built for Goodearth Maritime Ltd after five years and the vessel had sailed from the HSL to the location of a new buyer sometime ago.

Tanmay

HSL ties up with Turkish firm to build Fleet Support Ships

After clouds of uncertainty, the Hindustan Shipyard Limited, which achieved a turnaround, is inching forward smoothly to sign a contract and begin construction of five Fleet Support Ships for the Indian Navy in collaboration with a Turkish shipyard.

The project is estimated between ₹10,000 crore and ₹14,000 crore. “After obtaining clearance from the Ministry of Defence, we are signing the contract with a shipyard based in Turkey and begin construction in collaboration with it by mid-2021,” HSL Chairman and Managing Director Rear Admiral (retd) L.V. Sarat Babu told The Hindu.

The HSL which planned to have a strategic partnership with Hyundai Heavy Industries dropped it earlier following the latter’s insistence on constructing the first ship in South Korea and procuring major components from the global shipping giant.

Each Fleet Support Ship will have a displacement capacity of 45,000 DWT.

Mr. Sarat Babu said as part of the contract, the ‘know-how and know-why’ from the foreign collaborator would be transferred to HSL to give a fillip to local MSMEs. The MSMEs specialising in fabrication, blasting, piping, cable installation and outfitting will be benefited.

Pontoon contract

In competitive bidding, the HSL recently bagged a prestigious contract for construction of semi-submersible pontoons worth ₹420 crore from the Navy.

Mr. Sarat Babu said the pontoons were being used as platforms to undertake repair of ships and submarines.

The shipyard achieved a milestone in submarine repair capability by completing a normal refit of submarine INS Sindhuvir ahead of schedule. The yard also completed a maiden refit of INS Astradharini, a torpedo launch and recovery vessel for the Navy, ahead of contractual refit schedule.

More orders

The CMD said the yard bagged orders on competitive basis for construction of two Diving Support Vessels worth ₹2,390 crore and four 50-tonne bollard pull tugs worth ₹260 crore for the Navy. It also won orders for construction of four pontoons worth ₹10.25 crore and three flap gates worth ₹20 crore from the Naval Dockyard, Visakhapatnam.

The company cleared ₹108 crore towards its legacy liabilities from its earnings for partial settlement of Essar Oil and resolved a long pending issue related to a bulk carrier built for Goodearth Maritime Ltd after five years and the vessel had sailed from the HSL to the location of a new buyer sometime ago.
So the Turks havent been booted out despite their Paki love.

This country is largely Landlock and imagine what kind of inefficient shipyards we have that India approaches a hostile country to build our tankers.
This decision will one day come and bite india in the ass. Any idiot sitting in MEA who thinks trade will shape Turkey mindset is grossly mistaken.

We could have approached South Korean they are far better in producing tanker

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
just got a message on whatsapp from one of my friend who resides in Sulur, TN. he said, within 30 minutes he spotted 2 group of tejas in finger 4 formation roaring towards north. (means 8 tejas)

may be tejas are getting deployed, or just rumors.. don't know for sure..

Snowcat

This country is largely Landlock and imagine what kind of inefficient shipyards we have that India approaches a hostile country to build our tankers.
This decision will one day come and bite india in the ass. Any idiot sitting in MEA who thinks trade will shape Turkey mindset is grossly mistaken.

Turkey is landlocked ? What are you smoking man, maybe I need it too.

Snowcat

Largely landlocked when you compared to India. Read the sentence again
No offense but that statement doesn't make any sense, turkey has quite a big coastline as well when you compare it with its area. Black sea coast, Mediterranean coast and what not.

Bhai you are sitting next to Arabian sea in the middle of Indian Ocean a peninsula with fourth largest navy. Now chota Chetan turkey with no credible navy sitting on black sea is going to teach you shipbuilding

Snowcat

Bhai you are sitting next to Arabian sea in the middle of Indian Ocean a peninsula with fourth largest navy. Now chota Chetan turkey with no credible navy sitting on black sea is going to teach you shipbuilding
Well yeah, looks like it, apparently we can make a warship but can't make a fucking oil tanker. It's even more funny to think about it.

Tanmay

Indian Coastline = approx 7500 kms
Turkish coastline = approx 8000 kms

You see "Sevastapol" in above map?
The famed Russian Black Sea fleet is based there. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Sea_Fleet

In short open access to Russian fleets and ships is through straits controlled by Turkey

Turkey also controls two straits which is the only way out from Black Sea : Bosphorus Strait and Dardanelles Strait

Bhai please give a look on map

Here is

Map of Turkey and surrounding countries

Bhai log refer to my post if India is sitting at crucial sea lanes with navy. Why go to turkey which is I agree is surrounded by sea but compared to India. I hope you are getting my idea. You cannot compare black sea to Indian ocean
This contract is definitely not a good idea

Gandaberunda

Bhai log refer to my post if India is sitting at crucial sea lanes with navy. Why go to turkey which is I agree is surrounded by sea but compared to India. I hope you are getting my idea. You cannot compare black sea to Indian ocean
All our ship building yards are occupied and busy with orders till next 5-10 years. There were only 2 options build new ship building yards or lease the orders which Govt did lattar.

Pash

Yes this contract is definitely not a good idea. but what are other options we have? I was hoping to get assistance from other county and not from Turkey

Snowcat

Yes this contract is definitely not a good idea. but what are other options we have? I was hoping to get assistance from other county and not from Turkey
I think we were also in talks with south korea. Don't know what happened, maybe turkey is the lowest bidder.

Pash

^^

Yes Turkey was the lowest bidder, after SK company insisted on doing work on few in SK and much of parts should be from SK.