Indian EMB-145 AEW&C

India's first eye-in-the-sky ready for a flight

19 Nov 2011 10:42:41 AM IST

BANGALORE: India's prying plane is ready. Called the Airborne Early Warning & Control System (AEW&CS), this tech beast comes in the form of a modified Embraer aircraft (EMB-145 I). Sources told The New Indian Express that the first flight is officially scheduled for December 7 in Brazil. The Centre for Air Borne Systems (CABS), a Bangalore-based wing of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), is developing systems to make the EMB-145 I a mean machine.

Indian Air Force (IAF) will receive three such platforms in the next three years with the first aircraft landing in Bangalore, coming June. "They (CABS) will need six months to integrate the sub-systems, after the EMB-145 I arrives," sources said.

Once operational, India will join an exclusive club of nations owning home-grown eyes in the sky systems.

Currently, Wedge Tail (USA-Boeing), Phalcon (Israel-IAI) and Erieye (Sweden-Ericsson) are world leaders in prying-from-the-top-technology. India had inked a pact with Brazil in 2008 to modify the Embraer so as to integrate the Active Array Antenna Unit (AAAU) on the aircraft's fuselage. The project comes with an updated price tag of Rs 2,157 crore.

CABS director S Christopher confirmed that an Indian delegation will travel to Brazil in the first week of June. G Elangovan, DRDO's chief controller (Avionics) in Delhi, told Express that the EMB-145 I will be the cheapest platform, carrying mission systems, radar, communication units and electronic warfare systems.

The EMB-145 I will boost India's network-centric warfare capabilities. Apart from surveillance, it can track aircraft, UAVS and detect radar signals. It has the ability to scan up to 400 km, giving the IAF recognised air situations thereby enabling battle field management. The aircraft can operate with a maximum crew of 12 people, including operators, rest crew, pilot, co-pilot and flight test engineer. It can fly non-stop for 10-12 hours with mid-air-refuelling. Sources say DRDO has launched a name-hunt, before its baby enters Indian air space in June.

DRDO's earlier attempt to make a surveillance platform (Project Guardian/Airawat) was a disaster as the HS-748 test-bed aircraft crashed in 1999, killing scientists.

India's first eye-in-the-sky ready for a flight | EMB 145 I | | The New Indian Express

saya bhai...thankx for pasting the article couldn't do it...!!

so brazil will not do system integration along with CABS...?

btw 400 km range...thats a killer....
just imagine what will be Phalcon radar's range ....................8)

dont trust what ever you read on Internet................:rolleyes:
:rofl: Then it can be true for both the cases. 400Km can also be myth on Internet.

But Anyways, 300 or 400 KM, our purpose will be done as we can track all Military bases of Pak from our border areas (They are just 100-300Km distance from our border) and they won't able to reciprocate as our more than half of military bases are more than 300 KM.

As per Images in Post No. 14, We can track all movement in Army division, airbases, Missiles regiments. All will be covered within 300KM max. Spy satellite would be 2nd advantage.

But how they will track our Military bases which is mostly 300 Km away. :pound:

Even Brahmos, BVR A-S missiles will play big role in future conflict. 8)

SHASH2K2

As per Images in Post No. 14, We can track all movement in Army division, airbases, Missiles regiments. All will be covered within 300KM max. Spy satellite would be 2nd advantage.

But how they will track our Military bases in Bareiley, Mathura, Pune, Gwalior, Meerut. :pound:
Awacs needs to be well withing our territory to avoid pakistani planes .so Phalcon is perfect for our need against pakistan. we need to worry about china as border is huge and they have better planes and systems to counter Phalcons.

Don't hate me for saying this, but whats up with this color scheme?
It looks smaller than other AWACS too, much like SAAB Erieye

Awacs needs to be well withing our territory to avoid pakistani planes .so Phalcon is perfect for our need against pakistan. we need to worry about china as border is huge and they have better planes and systems to counter Phalcons.
Yes, That was my point. Our AWACS within our territory can cover all Pakistan military establishment. Yes, We need to worry about China as most of their military bases are 500-1,000 Km away (beyond Tibet). This is our real concern. :rolleyes:

So Its just a plane and Radar etc. are going to be mounted on it in India. I wonder how long it will take after the delivery. What is the status of all the Radar and electronics system to be installed. Are they fully developed by DRDO?

SHASH2K2

Yes, That was my point. Our AWACS within our territory can cover all Pakistan military establishment. Yes, We need to worry about China as most of their military bases are 500-1,000 Km away (beyond Tibet). This is our real concern. :rolleyes:
Biggest Gift that USA can offer is 2 X band radars . one in eastern India and one in Kashmir to cover whole China .

Hmm...interestingly, Pak's Erieye is also mounted on the same aircraft...
How important is aircraft for the operation, anyways?

So Its just a plane and Radar etc. are going to be mounted on it in India. I wonder how long it will take after the delivery. What is the status of all the Radar and electronics system to be installed. Are they fully developed by DRDO?
The deal is Brazil provides the flyable airframe, we provide the completer electronic package for our AWACS. The testing in Brazil is with dummy weight to check the stability for the machine. Once it comes to India the fitting of the radar, the the associated package will be done. Regarding the status of development, there is no specific details given out.