Indian Electronics and Semiconductor manufacturing industry

cyclops

‘This manufacture is a real stuff; not bold claims. If you are Chinese then you do not like it but tuff luck.

People have high hopes on this manufacture. It need not be continuous news.
Nice of you to assume I'm Chinese just because I'm not blindly optimistic.

This deal can still bear fruit for India and Foxconn indeed is a big name; that doesn't mean all their dealings have been "real stuff", I have provided a source for people. Here's more.
Foxconn factory fiasco could leave Wisconsinites on the hook for $300m

One can be hopeful without being high on hopium.

This deal can still bear fruit for India and Foxconn indeed is a big name; that doesn't mean all their dealings have been "real stuff", I have provided a source for people. Here's more.

There must be an RCA for it.
Not being optimistic but it's not wise assume that it will fail in India just because it failed in US either.

PLI for server manufacturing incoming in near future.
====
Watch Union Minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar (@Rajeev_GoI) answer Jagdish Mitra's (@jagdishmitra) question on the change in the world order post-covid & supply chain.

They are also going to announce a beefed up PLI for IT Hardware( servers included ) next year.
The current one flopped hard because Govt didn't have it's mainstay of duty increases to boost domestic production since we signed a WTO agreement called ITA-1 in 1996 which makes IT hardware imports ( laptops, PC components, AIO, Servers ) duty free.

Yes, I will go as far as saying Asian country(far east )have something (don’t have word I guess, I will use superior)otherwise what reason could be there all Asian countries are industrilized and others which started at the same did not and are in pathetic situation.
When the power centers were in east instead of west even then these country were thriving and prosperous.
And now see the Africa.indian subcontinent ,Middle East etc

You see china a communist country -industrialised
ROC, - again a industrialised

Both have same people.
Peddlers of chooran will say it's because of their( Chingchongs, Japanese, Koreans, Vietnamese ) shared (((Confucian Culture))) , just like another meme of Protestant Work ethic being peddled a century back, or the (((Hindu Rate of Growth))) used to snigger at us during the glorious time of Socialism and License Raaj.

Firstly all these either have had( Taiwan, Korea, Japan pre-WW2 ), or continue to have Authoritarian( our friendly neighbor and Vietnam ) governments.

This means no 5 year election cycles to waste money and energy on, no drama by Unions, no drama by paid protestors, no tarikh pe tarikh by lazy Milaards blocking land acquisition or anything else, no opposition parties opposing for the sake of opposing, no presstitutes broadcasting HUMAN RIGHTS KHATRE ME HAI propaganda, you can do all the things needed for the development of the economy unimpeded.

Ofc this doesn't mean being in a dictatorship means instant growth, industrialization and development.

2nd factor is all of the above have had( China ) or continue to enjoy close relations with the West( Japan, Taiwan, Korea and Vietnam since 80's Doi Moi reforms ), this resulted in the flow of capital, technology, education and access to large Western markets to promote export related growth.

and ofc the 3rd factor is the leadership is pragmatic, and focuses on set goals towards industrialization, for Korea and Japan this was through Chaebols( your Hyundai, LG, Samsung, Daewoo, SK Hynix ) and Zaibatsus/Keiretsus( Sony, Panasonic, Hitachi, Suzuki etc ) and Taiwanese national champions like TSMC, and for PRChina the list is numerous companies, big and small, ofc this level of support to business would be decried as crony capitalism here.

And of these the 3rd is the most important part, given good relations with the West, and an autocratic regime, you can still have a corrupt shithole with kleptocratic rulers, not saying in the above mentioned countries there's no corruption tho, it's massive in China, but atleast they deliver in some sense, it's not throat cutting loot that you have here under (((secular))) parties, remember, one can get filthy rich by investments also, not just by being a dacoit in a politician's clothing.

Thanks for coming to my TED Talk.

You should be more suspicious of the Aggarwal guy from Vedanta rather than Foxconn, it is them who roped in Foxconn as the "tech partner" for this.

cyclops

The way you wrote it, you still left no doubt.
I gave a relatively nuanced view of the CURRENT situation & never claimed that people swallow black-pills regarding India's semiconductor ambitions.
You not being able to see the nuance isn't my problem.

Abbey

Union Minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar on Monday announced that an Electronics Manufacturing Cluster will be developed in Ranjangaon, Maharashtra, at a cost of Rs 500 crore.

The Electronics Manufacturing Cluster (EMC) is targeted to attract an investment of over Rs 2,000 crore, with a potential to generate thousands of jobs in the coming years.

"To make Maharashtra into an electronics hub, we have approved an Electronics Manufacturing Cluster project in Ranjangaon, Pune. The total investment of the government will be about Rs 500 crore," Minister of State for Electronics and Information Technology Chandrasekhar said at a briefing.
With this, Ranjangaon (Maharashtra) joins the growing roster of locations such as Tamil Nadu, Noida and Karnataka that are making an aggressive pitch to emerge as a vibrant electronics hub.

The overall cost for development of the EMC is Rs 492.85 crore, out of which Rs 207.98 crore will be funded by the government of India and balance contribution of Rs 284.87 crore will be infused by the Maharashtra Industrial Development Corporation (MIDC), State Industrial Agency of Government of Maharashtra, according to a background note.

In addition, a roadshow will be organised soon in Pune on semiconductor design schemes.

"Pune-based CDAC, very soon in Maharashtra under India Semiconductor Mission and Rs 1,000 crore future design scheme… will organise a roadshow in Pune for startups. The Indian government will invest directly in semiconductor design startups," the Minister said

Bangalore based SignalChip - Agumbe series
====
Visited Signalchip today in Bengaluru. Here are some of the 4G/5G systems built by Signaltron that incorporate the Agumbe chip.
I am very proud of the world-class work done by this team and the immense leap in our technology capabilities this signifies.

====
Signalchip launches India’s first indigenous semiconductor chips for 4G LTE, 5G NR modems

Read more at:
https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

Jambudweepa

Big talk 0 action Indian babudom striking again. Inexcusable lethargy shown. none of the proposed semicon investments have been approved
All this when “technocrats” are our ministers, have a look at our R Chandrasekhar’s twitter timeline, feels less like a minister more like a BJP social media influencer no matter how highly educated and well qualified he is.

thebakofbakchod

All this when “technocrats” are our ministers, have a look at our R Chandrasekhar’s twitter timeline, feels less like a minister more like a BJP social media influencer no matter how highly educated and well qualified he is.
90% of every BJP leader's daily existence is su#king supreme leader off in 10 different ways. Other political parties are the same. Seems like they spend more time praising the leader than actually doing any work

He writes a lot on Semiconductor manufacturing and he is bearish on their future in India because of lackadaisical approach of Govt.
National semi conductor policy launched in dec 2021, and already bearish?
let me guess, holding govt accountable to personal expectations, is the major theme of this chap's commentary.

90% of every BJP leader's daily existence is su#king supreme leader off in 10 different ways. Other political parties are the same. Seems like they spend more time praising the leader than actually doing any work
don't make every thread into political thread .
keep political discourse away from technical threads.

he has been championing the cause of internet/SM companies accountability transparency for years, and you want him to rely on twitter as primary medium for communication?

his interviews and industry interactions are more insightful.

It's true though they are delaying bro
frankly i don't understand what this means.

but at a macro level, this is the context i am looking at.

donno about other countries, but in India a sales cycle for a new project which is in single digit crores within private sector itself takes two three years to get it started.

and here in semi conductors case, it's a strategic industry. not just India, many countries will be competing in this space because of the current geopolitical trend of supply chain resilience.

we don't even know what are the number of line items on the check list to get one project up and running, and on top of it GoI has to deal with diplomatic negotiations. if we know for a fact that say there are 20 steps in this process, and GoI or Private sector is stuck on step number 10, then the commentary is understandable.

even for non-strategic industry we don't get to know these things in public domain, only industry insiders will know a little bit. for a strategic industry it is even harder.

here is an anecdote i had posted some time back related to a different industry.

Read an interesting anecdote on twitter a few days back, unable to find it again, So paraphrasing the gist of it.

In late 90's, both pakistan and India were competing for establishing foreign IT companies in our respective countries. Pak army even used to give VIP treatment to visiting company representatives to the extent that they used to send limousine for airport pickup.

Indian govt never bothered with such tamasha.

the guy who is narrating this says, ultimately the company which was scouting both pak and India for establishing their dev centre, chose India. and over a period of time the guy who as assisting them in scouting India became friends with the team who were scouting team, he asked how come they chose India considering he went to pick them up in a maruti omni and Pak army sent them a limousine.

The american guy's response was, when they were about to start their lunch/dinner after they arrived, the pak army host offered their food to be taste tested by a person for poison. That sealed the deal for having their dev centre in India.

I do not like all the pessimist take being peddled here.
We were non existent in the semiconductor game a few years ago and now that the gov has shown interest folks here want the factories to pop up overnight?
I mena how naive are the people?
I also think the Same as other that the project and decision making it slow but is this anything we didn't expect?
Hold your horses and come to this thread 5 years later.
Semi conductor is one of the top 10 tech in complexity, it isn't a walk on the park.
China went from making transistors to RAM in 35 years it didn't happen overnight.