Indian Economy: News and Discussion

TopWatcher

ISRO manufactures chips? When did that happen? They design chips and outsource it to SCL in Chandigarh who still work on ahem ahem 180 nm obsolete node which was introduced in 1998. And most importantly ISRO doesn't have any chip designers par excellence, they design simple chips used in communications. For all the praise of ISRO by ignoramuses in our country most don't know ISRO is led by boomers who refused to change and adapt. Why doesn't ISRO have separate departments for Robotics, Electronics, Computer Science, Rocket propulsion, Material Science, Optics and so on like NASA? Every time they launch a rocket we are shown some terminal most likely developed in early 2000's. The organization is poorly run. ISRO promised to improve GSLV MK3 in 2015 taking it's payload lifting capacity from 4 tons to 6 tons to GTO. Until now, it hasn't happened. If we have a rocket which can lift 6 tons to GTO it will make us fully self reliant in rocket launches. Right now, we have to take the services of Ariane space for payload capacity above 4 tons to GTO.

Most of the idiots in our country who sing endless praises for IIT, IIM, ISRO and credit it to scumbag Nehru have scant understanding of how much we are lagging in many areas. Sucking the dick of Nehru and his family is far more important than understanding what is required of us to become self reliant in many crucial areas of technology. Semiconductor chip manufacturing is important for the country. The sooner we break ground on manufacturing a fab the better.
Bhai entna bhi burra nahin hai. Yeh kuch jada hiii hoon gaya.

Even other nations who try to start space activities not able to reach.

Yes investment required , but it seems app kuch jada hi dil pe le rahe hoon

That open cell tv panel is the key component of any LCD / LED TV set . Ideally we should've subsidised its mfg in India to begin with . As of now imposing an import duty only burdens the consumer & doesn't do anything to aid its manufacture in India which is to say such a duty makes sense if we've a domestic mfg base to protect it from imports .

We lack any domestic panel manufacturers which is what Vedanta was planning to get into from 2015 if I'm not mistaken. Recent news was he's still interested & I think they've sent an offer across to the GoI. I'm assuming it's covered under the PLI scheme.

If we lack the base for mfg of vital sub components of these systems I fail to see how can we succeed in exports unless we heavily subsidise these exports in which case it makes more sense to get these sub components manufacturers here & subsidise them heavily. The assemblers would automatically show up unless we plan to have a holistic solution wherein we subsidise both the assemblers & those ancillary / sub component manufacturers for exports or include domestic production too.
And there are only few Panel manufacturers in the world.

LG - For TV
Samsung - for mobile/tablets/laptops
Sharp
Panasonic

You just done make a new panel industry in India one day. If you want then you have to call on of them here.

ISRO manufactures chips? When did that happen? They design chips and outsource it to SCL in Chandigarh who still work on ahem ahem 180 nm obsolete node which was introduced in 1998. And most importantly ISRO doesn't have any chip designers par excellence, they design simple chips used in communications. For all the praise of ISRO by ignoramuses in our country most don't know ISRO is led by boomers who refused to change and adapt. Why doesn't ISRO have separate departments for Robotics, Electronics, Computer Science, Rocket propulsion, Material Science, Optics and so on like NASA? Every time they launch a rocket we are shown some terminal most likely developed in early 2000's. The organization is poorly run. ISRO promised to improve GSLV MK3 in 2015 taking it's payload lifting capacity from 4 tons to 6 tons to GTO. Until now, it hasn't happened. If we have a rocket which can lift 6 tons to GTO it will make us fully self reliant in rocket launches. Right now, we have to take the services of Ariane space for payload capacity above 4 tons to GTO.

Most of the idiots in our country who sing endless praises for IIT, IIM, ISRO and credit it to scumbag Nehru have scant understanding of how much we are lagging in many areas. Sucking the dick of Nehru and his family is far more important than understanding what is required of us to become self reliant in many crucial areas of technology. Semiconductor chip manufacturing is important for the country. The sooner we break ground on manufacturing a fab the better.
Well, Chips used in rockets, missiles and all are generally made using 180nm even 240 nm nodes.
They are then radiation hardened and heat hardened.

vishnugupt

Bruhhh...
Even Russians can't escape our dhandhomaxxing.....
If this happens, even at a small scale at first, we'll have literally broken the Matrix...
I think these figures were calculated by some great Economist like Raghuram Rajan.

India's oil import bill was 158 billion dollars last year. 20% oil coming from Russia which is increased gradually

So total oil import from Russia accounts between 32 to 40 billion dollars or even less, so how exactly Russian managed to hord 147 billion in India currency???

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

Unless you hire accomplished overseas Indian engineers and scientists and pay them good salaries, science departments are not going to excel. China grew this way by bringing home their accomplished diaspora. I have always said that BJP has never had a good science & engineering policy to completely transform the scientific scene in India. Using private sector to build advanced products may still work as they can hire overseas Indians as consultants etc.

Ya'll Nibbiars The Maharashtra govt. has approved new IT/ITeS policy which is likely to attract investment of 95,000 crore rupees and create over 35 lakh jobs. Some of the important features of the policy are,

FxmDMTFacAg7emC.png

skunk works

I wonder how inflated is this total value of transactions considering dumb me and my dumb gf were fighting on paytm to pay for both of our train tickets from college to home.

View attachment 208478

Mods don't shift this to chit chat as this is also a serious concern which affect our economic statistics :).
Shabaash! ab GDP calculation me ye 23,005 rupees count hoga.

Azaad

And there are only few Panel manufacturers in the world.

LG - For TV
Samsung - for mobile/tablets/laptops
Sharp
Panasonic

You just done make a new panel industry in India one day. If you want then you have to call on of them here.

Man I love Gujjus for a reason!
If there is a real possibility that the Rupee somehow gets to 74 in a short time vs 82 where it is now, then India's nominal GDP growth in dollar terms would be 12% + 10% rupee evaluation = 22 fucking percent.

That'll be a GDP of 4.5 trillion USD nominal in 2024 (FY 25).

Azaad

Somehow Clutterji is mostly in approval of the GoI's economic policies & performance unless it's something as hugely controversial as De Monetization or up until his old friend RR doesn't pop out of the woodworks with Clutterji then forced to cover up for his views with a fig leaf which ends up revealing more than it conceals.

Doesn't ISRO manufacture chips for its own use. Govt can setup a company with help of ISRO.

Than why Govt not doing ?
‘Making these in the lab and industrial manufacture with 100% good test are two different things. This design, manufacturing and testing technology has been mastered by only a few companies and countries.

If there is a real possibility that the Rupee somehow gets to 74 in a short time vs 82 where it is now, then India's nominal GDP growth in dollar terms would be 12% + 10% rupee evaluation = 22 fucking percent.

That'll be a GDP of 4.5 trillion USD nominal in 2024 (FY 25).
But won't such a sharp increase in value affect our export competitiveness? I'm sure a lot of our IT companies and manufacturers won't like it.

Consortium of Japanese manufacturers works with process developed by Sharp and Panasonic.
BOE is other major one developed their own processes.

Rest Chinese ones are all contract manufacturer of other major companies.

We will have to develop contract manufacturer for LED panel in India with one of these major players like we are doing for Mobile phones and related electronics.

right now they are talking about sales people of these two flagship stores, considering most their products are between 70k and 1.5 lakh, they will recover these costs on from just 100 sales each month.

in U.S too they pay above market rate to these sales people. they are called genius or something.

let's wait for their sales numbers from these stores, may be then it will make more sense.
Apple’s India bet pays off, both the Delhi and Mumbai stores earn Rs 25 crore in revenue per month according to reports.

sameer3694

‘He has become a controversial economist by joining less than smart camp of Rahul Gandhi. He is avenging his removal from RBI by joining the Congress camp. India without him is doing fine. He with Rahul Gandhi has lost all his economic brilliance.
Yeah, RR has figured out that the only way to get in to Congress inner circles is to out-retard Rahul gandhi. He's becoming more and more of a partisan troll at this point . TBH, these kinds of people with foreign economics degrees are everywhere in our country and have been leading India ever since independence. They have all kinds of foreign credentials and degrees but lack basic common sense, street-smartness and pragmatism.