Indian Economy: News and Discussion

jadoogar

Isnt 75 acres too small?
They do much more with a FRACTION of the land in Singapore. In India there is reckless wastage of land.

A page ago someone posted a story of a 60 acre Indian Oil facility in Faridabad

- what the heck is there to research in Oil - as the age comes to an end
- why 60 acres - that too in Haryana and U.P. NCR area ... this is such an important alluvial plain... if not needed for agri then return it to forest

karn

They do much more with a FRACTION of the land in Singapore. In India there is reckless wastage of land.

- why 60 acres - that too in Haryana and U.P. NCR area ... this is such an important alluvial plain... if not needed for agri then return it to forest
It was in the research center in Faridabad the one that's already there that gen2 ethanol production was researched .
Indian oil is the defacto standard for all oil and lubricants in this country. They are also the ones that come up with the lubricants that go into armoured vehicles .. did you know the Arjun had its lubricants imported until India oil came up with its own alternative? And there are many many more efforts from bio gas to hydrogen .
Day one we cry that we don't have good enough research facilities and our folks go abroad and day 2 well cry that the reasearch facility is getting in the way of fucking agriculture??

GigaChadBharatiya

You were going well till u said the last line.

angryIndian

Arreh bhai .. It's a status thing .. Being a graduate brings respect . The job they get into is not related to their graduation. When 90% of the workforce does not use the skills they learnt (or didn't) in college obviously the degrees are useless .. so what difference does it make if you are btech pass or BA. And BA is easier to pass.

I don't agree that degrees don't matter for getting a job,it does.Most companies are not looking for plain Arts and Science graduates because they need folks who can fix things and not those who know about the battle of Plassey or the atomic number of oxygen.If you submit a CV where it's mentioned Bachelor of Arts, the H.R will most likely throw it in the dustbin.

I've seen too many BA/Bsc degree holders working as manual labourers, security guards and peons and end up in the miserable life of penury.Instead, people should go for trade skill courses like diesel mechanic/HT line electrician/Welder/Machinist and a host of others which will not only give you skills and work experience but also a job instantly.

Eagle Eye

There is already lot of old stocks gone frm storage due to centre's free foodgrains to people! So storage is not prblm!

Physx32

A Btech at the very least gives you the license to follow any path which is not the case with BA/BSc.
Besides i am not suggesting to do Btech. You should pursue any path but it should be in the field of STEM only.

Why not become a fitter,welder, electrician, plumber ? While very few companies accept BA/BSc degree holders, There are lakhs of organisations that take in these tradesmen.The head welder of my previous company was paid a salary of Rs 60,000/month despite being only a matriculate.This is because he was an argon welder.

And even if you are not getting a job, you can at least open a business and trade your skills.
Why are you clubbing BA with BSc? Do you even know what BSc means?

AK047

My question too. Like are they going to shut up shop? That would be the end of Indias infra construction spree when it comes to ports atleast.
Until a company declares bankruptcy, that is when it stops paying interest to its debtors a company doesn't become bankrupt. You'all do realize that Adani is still a profitable company. And please discuss Adani stuff in the dedicated thread.

angryIndian

Why are you clubbing BA with BSc? Do you even know what BSc means?
In India the three-year science degree. The problem is that you will then have to do masters in most cases to increase your career prospects. So a good solid 5 years has to be devoted towards education which may not be viable for low-income and low-middle-class families.

In market, there is a big demand for HVAC ,CNC,SCADA/VSLM,Hydraulics,Drafting,Electrical Repair and Maintenance jobs.So instead of spending 5 years on courses with very few opportunities,one should prefer these trade skill courses.

In India the three-year science degree. The problem is that you will then have to do masters in most cases to increase your career prospects. So a good solid 5 years has to be devoted towards education which may not be viable for low-income and low-middle-class families.

In market, there is a big demand for HVAC ,CNC,SCADA/VSLM,Hydraulics,Drafting,Electrical Repair and Maintenance jobs.So instead of spending 5 years on courses with very few opportunities,one should prefer these trade skill courses.
Only if studies are not your thing.
Otherwise, getting a 4 year degree is a good idea. If nothing, it gives you flexibility and opens up a lot of opportunities that otherwise would be forever closed.