Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Ya'll Nibbiars Even the Non Metropolitan cities attracting large scale developments.

At ₹10 lakh crore, the capital allocation will be almost 33% more than the FY23 capital outlay of ₹7.5 lakh crore as the economy is witnessing a healthy absorption of the budgetary capital.

GigaChadBharatiya

Getting financial documents signed by 24-25 year olds is NOT an irregularity. Find something else.
Even if the 24-25 year olds do the documents, I dont think its not under supervision of seniors.
Even IT service ops folks work on live prod env where losing millions of dollars worth data is a single query away. Doesnt mean they always do it because leads/seniors do keep a blanked vigilence of proceedings.

Bharatiya

Experts here, how do you see the Adani fiasco turning out?

It feels that we are in a very weak position w.r.t to our western counterparts. The conglomerates of India donate to western media, NGOs and other "Trusts" that act against India. It's unforgivable but somehow continues unabated. Are these corporations coerced or are they just seeking money at the cost of nation or what else?

Even though we're the 5th largest economy in the world, we don't seem to have much leverage against the west. Forget leveraging against them, we aren't completely blunting their indirect leverage against us—trusts, NGOs, media outlets.

We have a neighbor who successfully cut off the western tentacles from reaching its society and corporates. While it's not possible to put up a firewall here, maybe we should learn from them how to limit the western influence.

And while Adani might or might not be what he's accused of, the fact that a foreign group is making money off this is alarming.

What do you think the Indian state and corporate ecosystem should do to blunt the western influence: which is present at practically every layer of the society—media, corporates, politics, academics, ideologies?

It feels that we are in a very weak position w.r.t to our western counterparts. The conglomerates of India donate to western media, NGOs and other "Trusts" that act against India. It's unforgivable but somehow continues unabated. Are these corporations coerced or are they just seeking money at the cost of nation or what else?

Even though we're the 5th largest economy in the world, we don't seem to have much leverage against the west. Forget leveraging against them, we aren't completely blunting their indirect leverage against us—trusts, NGOs, media outlets.

We have a neighbor who successfully cut off the western tentacles from reaching its society and corporates. While it's not possible to put up a firewall here, maybe we should learn from them how to limit the western influence.

And while Adani might or might not be what he's accused of, the fact that a foreign group is making money off this is alarming.

What do you think the Indian state and corporate ecosystem should do to blunt the western influence: which is present at practically every layer of the society—media, corporates, politics, academics, ideologies?
India needs to turn hear on Pfizer,

but we won't...sadly.

You won't have any leverage with $3-5 Trillion economy. Until it crosses $7-8 Trillion, don't expect them to respect you.

But Britain do, France do, Germany do and Japan do. So why not India?

Bharatiya

Still, I think we're too passive and playing too safe with what we have. We certainly aren't even at 50%.

Anyway, the west is hitting out at BJP, India, Hindus. Whatever they can do, they are doing it blatantly and without the any iota of fear. Why doesn't Indian govt gear up and do what it can?

Some members here are supporting Adani, while others are against his rapid debt piling. Let's put aside the economic angle and see this from the political angle. The Heidensburg had ample time to short Adani but they chose this year—the critical year before elections. This also came just a while after the BBC documentary.

Whether Adani is or not a bubble, whatever is happening is, certainly a war. If we don't hit back, we will be seen as weak. Weak will have no respect. We don't have to go over the board, but strike just enough that the situation doesn't escalate but enough to show we won't be pushed around.

Besides, when we reach $7-8 T, the europe will also have 2-3 economies that will be $5 T (Germany, UK, possibly France). There will be a change in our international stature, but not as China had when it hit that mark. The world as a whole is relatively richer and the $8 T mark won't be what it once was.

Still, I think we're too passive and playing too safe with what we have. We certainly aren't even at 50%.

Anyway, the west is hitting out at BJP, India, Hindus. Whatever they can do, they are doing it blatantly and without the any iota of fear. Why doesn't Indian govt gear up and do what it can?

Some members here are supporting Adani, while others are against his rapid debt piling. Let's put aside the economic angle and see this from the political angle. The Heidensburg had ample time to short Adani but they chose this year—the critical year before elections. This also came just a while after the BBC documentary.

Whether Adani is or not a bubble, whatever is happening is, certainly a war. If we don't hit back, we will be seen as weak. Weak will have no respect. We don't have to go over the board, but strike just enough that the situation doesn't escalate but enough to show we won't be pushed around.

Besides, when we reach $7-8 T, the europe will also have 2-3 economies that will be $5 T (Germany, UK, possibly France). There will be a change in our international stature, but not as China had when it hit that mark. The world as a whole is relatively richer and the $8 T mark won't be what it once was.
Germany and UK will not hit $5T mark I can tell you that for sure. They will hover around $4T. UK will be under. They have maxed out their productivity gains and have not created new industries. Despite inflation, their buying power have not increased and they are now into recession.

NutCracker

But Britain do, France do, Germany do and Japan do. So why not India?

It's the per capita income that matters too.
UK , German , Japan govt budget might be 80-120% of ours.
For state sponsored propaganda if they pull out 500$ from the share of budget per capita it wont make much difference in the lifestyle of their population.

Our state budget might be 500$ per capita itself.
if same 500$ amount is spent by Indian govt there will be nothing left to spend on our population.

It's the per capita income that matters too.
UK , German , Japan govt budget might be 80-120% of ours.
For state sponsored propaganda if they pull out 500$ from the share of budget per capita it wont make much difference in the lifestyle of their population.

Our state budget might be 500$ per capita itself.
if same 500$ amount is spent by Indian govt there will be nothing left to spend on our population.
And their debt load is twice their GDP!!! while India's debt load is half of its GDP!!

All major economies will after some time cross debt over 100% of their economies. The debt is to their own institutions and these countries are not going anywhere.
That's why they will not grow that much. They do not have any cushions left to make the necessary investment for new industries and new growth.

Ofcourse they need to maintain where they have reached.

NutCracker

And their debt load is twice their GDP!!! while India's debt load is half of its GDP!!
But it doesn't matter dude..

Spending 500$ per capita per annum for propaganda will be nothing for them when their debt is 120000$ per capita.
Their income is also 50-60000$

Bharatiya

Germany and UK will not hit $5T mark I can tell you that for sure. They will hover around $4T. UK will be under. They have maxed out their productivity gains and have not created new industries. Despite inflation, their buying power have not increased and they are now into recession.
Can you explain your basis for saying that? The projections from WB and IMF point toward continuous growth.

And regarding my previous point stating the leverage of a $8T won't be what it was:
In 2012
GDP:
US: $16.2T EU: $14.6 T China: $8.5 T

China was almost 60% of EU and 50% of US. When we do reach $8T in 2030, we'd probably be only 25% of the US and some 35% of the EU. China's $8T GDP was worth 11.2% of the world's GDP. When we hit $8T, we'd be around 5%. It isn't enough to grow rich, we need to grow richer quicker.

And what will magically change as we hit $7-8T? What can we do then that we can't do now, even if at a lower scale? Our govt's ability to spend per citizen would still be far below that of any western nation and it's not like we're getting new abilities overnight.

My grievance is that the Indian state doesn't even seem to be trying. All the hit jobs on India & BJP are released right from the onset of 2023. But only meek responses so far. There's nothing preventing them from doing it again. And again. And again. It's the behavior of a sitting duck, waiting to be butchered.

Capabilities, we will grow. But without intent, they're useless. We could have all the money in the world, but if we don't fight, then we'll lose it all. Until recent history, we were the richest nation of Earth. But it couldn't stop us from losing a third of our land and a quarter of our population. Rather than waiting forever, the govt. should seriously deal with these external threats. Waiting around until we hit 7 or 8 Trillion won't do us any good. Rather, use what we have properly, including the fact that we're the fastest growing economy.

It's not the dog in the fight, it's the fight in the dog.

Can you explain your basis for saying that? The projections from WB and IMF point toward continuous growth.

And regarding my previous point stating the leverage of a $8T won't be what it was:
In 2012
GDP:
US: $16.2T EU: $14.6 T China: $8.5 T

China was almost 60% of EU and 50% of US. When we do reach $8T in 2030, we'd probably be only 25% of the US and some 35% of the EU. China's $8T GDP was worth 11.2% of the world's GDP. When we hit $8T, we'd be around 5%. It isn't enough to grow rich, we need to grow richer quicker.

And what will magically change as we hit $7-8T? What can we do then that we can't do now, even if at a lower scale? Our govt's ability to spend per citizen would still be far below that of any western nation and it's not like we're getting new abilities overnight.

My grievance is that the Indian state doesn't even seem to be trying. All the hit jobs on India & BJP are released right from the onset of 2023. But only meek responses so far. There's nothing preventing them from doing it again. And again. And again. It's the behavior of a sitting duck, waiting to be butchered.

Capabilities, we will grow. But without intent, they're useless. We could have all the money in the world, but if we don't fight, then we'll lose it all. Until recent history, we were the richest nation of Earth. But it couldn't stop us from losing a third of our land and a quarter of our population. Rather than waiting forever, the govt. should seriously deal with these external threats. Waiting around until we hit 7 or 8 Trillion won't do us any good. Rather, use what we have properly, including the fact that we're the fastest growing economy.

It's not the dog in the fight, it's the fight in the dog.
We can have a room and breathing space after crossing $7-8 Trillion.
We have lot of expenses right now and lot of infrastructure-civil development to be done. We can't just go on spree of funding agencies around the world.