Indian Economy: News and Discussion

I am specifically talking about manufacturing growth rate in my previous comment not not about value addition
I hate discussions of gaslighting nature
, bring the data then we will talk.

requesting members to refrain from expanding the discussion with @jai jaganath unless the previous point is closed. otherwise it would just be a ever expanding discussion, with nothing but rhetoric and insinuations.

thebakofbakchod

jai jaganath

Then this chart should give you a heart attack.

View attachment 184487

Bring back socialism and PSUs. :crying:
No I am never in for of socialism
But what I am saying is that the performance is not upto mark
Maybe I might be immature to speak on it but that's my view and I am not saying this is right

DeStRoY IdEnTiTy

Where will Hollywood go to shoot their poverty porn?

Adani bad, Mudi bad, #MudiShudRejine.

thebakofbakchod

There are 20 other slums each just as big and even more filthy than Dharavi in the Greater Mumbai region. The indian state is incapable of demolishing them or preventing more slums to come up, so they will be fine.

DeStRoY IdEnTiTy

Seriously bro I was surprised to know from a classmate that there js something like slum tour which is offered by few travle agencies for foreigners to satisfy their ego

I said wtf
Ya'll Nibbiars strange article says 10 lakh people, but the eligibility was for around 5 lakh. Baki ke Kaha jayage?. Mumbai has no space to create new slums, and can't create any in Navi Mumbai. So where will this people go?.

There are 20 other slums each just as big and even more filthy than Dharavi in the Greater Mumbai region. The indian state is incapable of demolishing them or preventing more slums to come up, so they will be fine.

Ya'll Nibbiars where they will create new slums, there is hardly any space left in Mumbai. No space for new slums in the MMR regions.

No I am never in for of socialism
But what I am saying is that the performance is not upto mark
Maybe I might be immature to speak on it but that's my view and I am not saying this is right
You are conveniently nitpicking one data point while ignoring how the growth in services balanced the fall in manufacturing. Take time out to study the constituents of our economy and their contributions to the GDP.

Manufacturing is not matching up because of several grassroots issues at state level. Take Judiciary overreach, NGO's, NGT, local corporations, corruption, local politics etc. If production at Sterlite stopped, who was responsible for it? Who agitated at Kudankulam ? Who is agitating at Vizhinjam?
Same in Maharashtra.. Nandigram .. then people question why no industry, no jewerbs and mango man still poor?

Current Govt. is trying its best to remove hurdles which will put us in a high growth trajectory. How did people react to it? Farm bill? There was talk of labor reforms but that Govt. wisely chose not to stir the hornets nest.

If you want to see a higher manufacturing print, then support the govt. in its push for structural reforms which stymie our growth.

As long as people vote for free housing, free bijli, free pani, free education, free treatment, free everything, then don't expect to see any improvement in that graph.

You are conveniently nitpicking one data point while ignoring how the growth in services balanced the fall in manufacturing. Take time out to study the constituents of our economy and their contributions to the GDP.

Manufacturing is not matching up because of several grassroots issues at state level. Take Judiciary overreach, NGO's, NGT, local corporations, corruption, local politics etc. If production at Sterlite stopped, who was responsible for it? Who agitated at Kudankulam ? Who is agitating at Vizhinjam?
Same in Maharashtra.. Nandigram .. then people question why no industry, no jewerbs and mango man still poor?

Current Govt. is trying its best to remove hurdles which will put us in a high growth trajectory. How did people react to it? Farm bill? There was talk of labor reforms but that Govt. wisely chose not to stir the hornets nest.

If you want to see a higher manufacturing print, then support the govt. in its push for structural reforms which stymie our growth.

As long as people vote for free housing, free bijli, free pani, free education, free treatment, free everything, then don't expect to see any improvement in that graph.
my advice would to refrain from getting dragged into this, the chap is writing one liner rhetorics and you are responding with coherent thought. there is a mismatch, usually such discussions go around in circles without conclusion.

Ya'll Nibbiars strange article says 10 lakh people, but the eligibility was for around 5 lakh. Baki ke Kaha jayage?. Mumbai has no space to create new slums, and can't create any in Navi Mumbai. So where will this people go?.

Ya'll Nibbiars where they will create new slums, there is hardly any space left in Mumbai. No space for new slums in the MMR regions.
This is a common problem with every big city. More so if it is the state capital.

jai jaganath

Yes bro I completely agree with it
I am not saying namo is responsible for it but the responsibility is ecosystem, people and mentality
Just saying although BJP trying to change it but can't do it successfully bcoz of socialism inserted public

Jambudweepa

DeStRoY IdEnTiTy

Posh english , some key words like spirit , identity , weak , some comrade cool aid and you can always make a point in india . No matter how retard the logic behind it is .

Prodhan Montri Awas Yojana.

They are geting the 5000 crore from Adani put it to good use.

Is it confirmed that all people living in Dharvi will get compensation? I doubt most have land records or anything. Will they all get free ka mal?

thebakofbakchod

There is little doubt about the scale of the new markets in China and India unleashed by the pace and scale of their urbanization. But businesses still need to be able to serve these markets in practical terms. The way cities are run—and the productivity that results—is a major factor for companies. Here, China is in much better shape than India. While India has barely paid attention to its urban transformation, China has developed a set of internally consistent practices across every element of the urbanization operating model: funding, governance, planning, sectoral policies, and the shape, or pattern, of urbanization, both across the nation as a whole and within cities themselves.

India has underinvested in its cities; China has invested ahead of demand and given its cities the freedom to raise substantial investment resources by monetizing land assets and retaining a 25 percent share of value-added taxes. While India spends $17 per capita on capital investments in urban infrastructure annually, China spends $116. India has devolved little real power and accountability to its cities, but China’s major cities enjoy the same status as provinces and have powerful political appointees as mayors. While India’s urban-planning system has failed to address competing demands for space, China has a mature urban-planning regime (emphasizing the systematic development of run-down areas) consistent with long-range plans for land use, housing, and transportation.
From a McKinsey report in 2010. 12 years later literally nothing has changed! Urban indians are the biggest fools in the planet. Literally no one else in the world would put up even 20% of what urban indians do without outright revolting. The only thing that can save india will be for new Urban-centric political parties to rise up who will stop funds generated by urban areas to be wasted in rural india

NotASussyBoi

As the eminent thinker keep saying Dharvi is a living breathing economy how does one compensate for the business being closed down.
if adani/government compensates business owners they might give them chances for establishing convinience stores, regular aadmi though is going to be hard unless some new giga sweatshop factory comes up they might have to live in affordable housing and put food on the table through the normal means, will be interesting to see if the gov will turn dharavi into a middle class society

Econ nibbas how high is the chance for a good chunk of dharavi to turn into class capable of having good 2bhk houses?