Indian Economy: News and Discussion

tribendra bisoi..

As a one time measure, the I don't mind taking this cut for the betterment of poor.

but

that's not the problem. problem is never ending supply of poor population & their non willingness to uplift themselves. this so called middle class including me have uplifted the selves off this poor list with their hardwork and dedication.

famous examples.. these poor squat on prime properties right in the heart of Delhi but u will find aitconditioners, and LED TV, and fridges... everything needed for the comfort in their shanties... just outside of shanties is poor. No one can touch them as they r vote banks. many own flats which r rented out... all free.

govt does nothing as they r vote banks...I am basically paying for their life style... enough...

U remove one slum by giving them houses, and they setup a new one nearby.. its never ending cycle...
Add socialism to democracy and you have the recipe for disaster . Ideologies have been hunting us since independence . Only ideology india need is to become rich , powerful .

asaffronladoftherisingsun

Dharma Dispatcher
How is this an achievement? With the same demographics as China, we are filing 10 times lesser number of papers.

This rather reflects poorly on the country as even to this date, the government does not spend sufficiently on Research and Development nor is the lab infrastructure is anywhere closer to acceptable levels.In my college and internship days, i had to buy my own GPU system for Designing and analysis purposes because the institution did not provide them.
And then there is the old issue of Thesis plagiarism which is still happening to this day.

This is the reason why it's usually not preferred to pursue a masters and PhD in India.
With the same demographics our Ipr per capita overlaps with the eastern europe. There is all the proof of constant improvement. I had owned you hard in the other thread you liar I will own you now. You are a disgrace bhadralok babus cucked as yours never fought for India nor contributed so don't kang and be jealous of those who are working hard to keep this good country forward. Phd what? Even in the amreekunts 50% of phD candidates are about 50% foreign born upto 70% of candidates in doctoral studies to cs and random stem subjects are Asians. Happens when since you are born of cuckoldry culture all you can do is whine.

Below is the living proof when you posted bs and ran away. This happened when you made yet typical ignoramus remark about India being rich but people poor. I objectively showed you viz quoting M.V.Kamath et al. He has thoroughly researched conditions of India before the brits and confirmed 'economically speaking the non-elitist castes were well off even in medieval India. As well the agricultural productivity in the India was very high in the 19th century. When comparing done with the Indian data with that relating to lulzy brits agriculture around 1804 it was found that the productivity in India, was "Many times higher ' than in brits agriculture.

1660367381915.png

tribendra bisoi..

With the same demographics our Ipr per capita overlaps with the eastern europe. There is all the proof of constant improvement. I had owned you hard in the other thread you liar I will own you now. You are a disgrace bhadralok babus cucked as yours never fought for India nor contributed so don't kang and be jealous of those who are working hard to keep this good country forward. Phd what? Even in the amreekunts 50% of phD candidates are about 50% foreign born upto 70% of candidates in doctoral studies to cs and random stem subjects are Asians. Happens when since you are born of cuckoldry culture all you can do is whine.

Below is the living proof when you posted bs and ran away. This happened when you made yet typical ignoramus remark about India being rich but people poor. I objectively showed you viz quoting M.V.Kamath et al. He has thoroughly researched conditions of India before the brits and confirmed 'economically speaking the non-elitist castes were well off even in medieval India. As well the agricultural productivity in the India was very high in the 19th century. When comparing done with the Indian data with that relating to lulzy brits agriculture around 1804 it was found that the productivity in India, was "Many times higher ' than in brits agriculture.

View attachment 167465
Rad that comment . and follow that thread in twitter . We are no where in the game . Long way to go .

asaffronladoftherisingsun

Dharma Dispatcher
Rad that comment . and follow that thread in twitter . We are no where in the game . Long way to go .

What do you suggest apart from whining then. Have to drop my cousins at airport and shall look after some time.

Stopping the imports from China will be a short term pain point for a population that is addicted to cheap products wonder if our government is strong enough to take this step
Indian Govt can stop or restrict import in sectors where adequate industrial capacity is available. For example Chemical, Pharma are industry where we have substantial capabilities. Still we import a lot of API, speciality chemicals. We have a resilient engineering goods, electrical goods manufacturers also. These sectors can generate employment as well as GDP growth if Chinese imports are restricted

DimetrodonX

The places where we can cut Chinese imports are mainly Electronic goods & Machiney. Both of which has shown a YoY growth of 32% & 18%.

But our energy imports have shown a staggering growth over the year, like Petroleum 89%, Coal 185% & Chemicals 40%. And Quantitative value of these imports even overshadowed the Chinese imports.

Our Electronic goods export have shown a healthy growth of 55%. Though a low base effect, If we are able to hold this momentum our Exports would catch up with our imports with in 4 years.

The engineering goods export has shown a humble 8% growth (recession in US & Europe is showing it's effect, its more evident in July export data).

Both these sectors are key towards replacing our dependance on Chinese imports.

Harshad Mehta speech from 1993.
he was arrested in Nov 92.
He is talking about things which Indian economy takes from granted today.
- market driven exchange rate
- retail investment
- FDI
- lowering of corporate tax
- less speculative, long term investments

Top imports from China exceeding USD 1 billion. This is just a rough draft to give a picture of where we lag, where there's an opportunity to replace exports from China. As obvious, capital goods & electrical equipment, boilers, reactors and misc machinery make up for bulk of our imports. The rest are smaller in value but significant nonetheless and are valued between fractions of a million up to 1 billion but less than a billion.

Values in US$ Million

S.No.HSCodeCommodity2020-20212021-2022%Growth
8.73ARTICLES OF IRON OR STEEL
1,317.92​
1,665.30​
26.36​
22.85ELECTRICAL MACHINERY AND EQUIPMENT AND PARTS THEREOF; SOUND RECORDERS AND REPRODUCERS, TELEVISION IMAGE AND SOUND RECORDERS AND REPRODUCERS,AND PARTS.
20,328.53​
30,266.96​
48.89​
25.31FERTILISERS.
1,551.23​
2,953.45​
90.39​
45.38MISCELLANEOUS CHEMICAL PRODUCTS.
1,386.24​
1,675.77​
20.89​
52.84NUCLEAR REACTORS, BOILERS, MACHINERY AND MECHANICAL APPLIANCES; PARTS THEREOF.
13,987.55​
19,845.45​
41.88​
54.90OPTICAL, PHOTOGRAPHIC CINEMATOGRAPHIC MEASURING, CHECKING PRECISION, MEDICAL OR SURGICAL INST. AND APPARATUS PARTS AND ACCESSORIES THEREOF;
1,732.52​
2,519.20​
45.41​
56.29ORGANIC CHEMICALS
8,974.24​
12,497.95​
39.26​
63.39PLASTIC AND ARTICLES THEREOF.
2,530.53​
4,477.93​
76.96​
90.87VEHICLES OTHER THAN RAILWAY OR TRAMWAY ROLLING STOCK, AND PARTS AND ACCESSORIES THEREOF.
1,375.68​
1,689.42​
22.81​
42.2941ANTIBIOTICS
1,173.86​
1,383.84​
17.89​
78.8471AUTOMATIC DATA PROCESSING MACHINES AND UNITS
4,453.46​
6,571.02​
47.55​
258.8517ELCTRCL APARTS FR LINE TELEPHNY/TELGRPHY, INCL TELPHON SETS WTH CORDLS HANDSET CARIER-CURENT LINE SYSTM; VIDEOPHONE
6,304.38​
6,723.35​
6.65​
265.8542ELCTRNC INTEGRTD CIRCUITS AND MICRO-ASSMBLS
3,335.20​
4,920.83​
47.54​
272.8504ELECTRICAL TRANSFORMERS, STATIC CONVERTERS (FOR EXAMPLE, RECTIFIERS) AND INDUCTORS
1,061.48​
1,372.67​
29.32​
366.2933HETEROCYCLIC COMPOUNDS WITH NITROGEN
1,588.88​
1,825.88​
14.92​
818.8541SEMCOND DVS[SCD]( DIOD,TRNSTR,TRNSDCER); P SENST [SCD],P VOLT IF WITH MDL/ OF PNEL, LED,IF WITH LED;MTD PIEZO-ELEC CRYTL
1,937.58​
6,647.93​
243.10​
1346.851762MACHINES FOR THE RECEPTION, CONVERSION AND TRANSMISSION OR REGENERATION OF VOICE, IMAGES OR OTHER DATA, INCLUDING SWIT
1,372.07​
1,473.78​
7.41​
3126.854140PHOTOSENSTV SEMICNDCTR DEVICES,INCL PHOTOVLTC CELLS W/N ASSMBLD IN MODULES/ MADE UP INTO PANELS;LIGHT EMTTNG DIODES
1,785.21​
5,875.28​
229.11​
3219.847130PORTBL DGTL AUTOMATC DATA PROCESNG MACHNS,WGHNG <10KG CONSISTNG A CENTRL PROCESNG UNIT, A KBYBOARD AND A DISPLAY.
3,796.50​
5,721.37​
50.70​
3271.854231PROCESSORS AND CONTROLLERS, WHETHER OR NOT COMBINED WITH MEMORIES, CONVERTERS, LOGIC CIRCUITS, AMPLIFIERS, CLOCK
1,966.72​
4,058.53​
106.36​
138.85177090*OTHR PARTS OF TELEPHONC/TELEGRPHC APPARTS
3,141.90​
3,801.88​
21.01​

DEV1729

Top imports from China exceeding USD 1 billion. This is just a rough draft to give a picture of where we lag, where there's an opportunity to replace exports from China. As obvious, capital goods & electrical equipment, boilers, reactors and misc machinery make up for bulk of our imports. The rest are smaller in value but significant nonetheless and are valued between fractions of a million up to 1 billion but less than a billion.

Values in US$ Million

S.No.HSCodeCommodity2020-20212021-2022%Growth
8.73ARTICLES OF IRON OR STEEL
1,317.92​
1,665.30​
26.36​
22.85ELECTRICAL MACHINERY AND EQUIPMENT AND PARTS THEREOF; SOUND RECORDERS AND REPRODUCERS, TELEVISION IMAGE AND SOUND RECORDERS AND REPRODUCERS,AND PARTS.
20,328.53​
30,266.96​
48.89​
25.31FERTILISERS.
1,551.23​
2,953.45​
90.39​
45.38MISCELLANEOUS CHEMICAL PRODUCTS.
1,386.24​
1,675.77​
20.89​
52.84NUCLEAR REACTORS, BOILERS, MACHINERY AND MECHANICAL APPLIANCES; PARTS THEREOF.
13,987.55​
19,845.45​
41.88​
54.90OPTICAL, PHOTOGRAPHIC CINEMATOGRAPHIC MEASURING, CHECKING PRECISION, MEDICAL OR SURGICAL INST. AND APPARATUS PARTS AND ACCESSORIES THEREOF;
1,732.52​
2,519.20​
45.41​
56.29ORGANIC CHEMICALS
8,974.24​
12,497.95​
39.26​
63.39PLASTIC AND ARTICLES THEREOF.
2,530.53​
4,477.93​
76.96​
90.87VEHICLES OTHER THAN RAILWAY OR TRAMWAY ROLLING STOCK, AND PARTS AND ACCESSORIES THEREOF.
1,375.68​
1,689.42​
22.81​
42.2941ANTIBIOTICS
1,173.86​
1,383.84​
17.89​
78.8471AUTOMATIC DATA PROCESSING MACHINES AND UNITS
4,453.46​
6,571.02​
47.55​
258.8517ELCTRCL APARTS FR LINE TELEPHNY/TELGRPHY, INCL TELPHON SETS WTH CORDLS HANDSET CARIER-CURENT LINE SYSTM; VIDEOPHONE
6,304.38​
6,723.35​
6.65​
265.8542ELCTRNC INTEGRTD CIRCUITS AND MICRO-ASSMBLS
3,335.20​
4,920.83​
47.54​
272.8504ELECTRICAL TRANSFORMERS, STATIC CONVERTERS (FOR EXAMPLE, RECTIFIERS) AND INDUCTORS
1,061.48​
1,372.67​
29.32​
366.2933HETEROCYCLIC COMPOUNDS WITH NITROGEN
1,588.88​
1,825.88​
14.92​
818.8541SEMCOND DVS[SCD]( DIOD,TRNSTR,TRNSDCER); P SENST [SCD],P VOLT IF WITH MDL/ OF PNEL, LED,IF WITH LED;MTD PIEZO-ELEC CRYTL
1,937.58​
6,647.93​
243.10​
1346.851762MACHINES FOR THE RECEPTION, CONVERSION AND TRANSMISSION OR REGENERATION OF VOICE, IMAGES OR OTHER DATA, INCLUDING SWIT
1,372.07​
1,473.78​
7.41​
3126.854140PHOTOSENSTV SEMICNDCTR DEVICES,INCL PHOTOVLTC CELLS W/N ASSMBLD IN MODULES/ MADE UP INTO PANELS;LIGHT EMTTNG DIODES
1,785.21​
5,875.28​
229.11​
3219.847130PORTBL DGTL AUTOMATC DATA PROCESNG MACHNS,WGHNG <10KG CONSISTNG A CENTRL PROCESNG UNIT, A KBYBOARD AND A DISPLAY.
3,796.50​
5,721.37​
50.70​
3271.854231PROCESSORS AND CONTROLLERS, WHETHER OR NOT COMBINED WITH MEMORIES, CONVERTERS, LOGIC CIRCUITS, AMPLIFIERS, CLOCK
1,966.72​
4,058.53​
106.36​
138.85177090*OTHR PARTS OF TELEPHONC/TELEGRPHC APPARTS
3,141.90​
3,801.88​
21.01​
Shameful for india

DimetrodonX

Guys you all are forgetting about our Energy imports. China is a problem but our oil, coal & chemicals import dwarfs our imports from China

We can't replace imported energy yet but there is definitely opportunity to reduce our imports from China.

It is important because we run a disproportionate trade deficit with China. It will get a lot worse in the future if its left unaddressed.

DEV1729

you mean to say there are no chinese products and chinese components in your household?
Why blame the public when our politician and industrialists showed no shame and allowed chinese evil products into india.A custom officer can burn all those chinese items and prevent it from reaching indian market if our industries can replace chinese products if our politician could have invested in r&d in industry to cut chinese economy rather than giving free electricity and subsidies to food mafia.

Why blame the public when our politician and industrialists showed no shame and allowed chinese evil products into india.
How many Indian's dumped Chinese phones after Galwan?

I did.

I made a conscious effort to reduce China maal as much as I could.

Even went so far and bought a Croma TV when my old TV conked off so what if the sales guy was trying hard to push an LG/MI/Vivo TV. The TV is average but I was fine with it because I hardly watch TV.

Yeah.. I am a deranged 'bhakt' but its the best I can do when I ask others 'What did you do after Galwan'?

Still trading crypto? Still buying Vivo calling it world class.. sure the public is not at fault, Modi is subsidizing Chinese products under some yojana no? /Sarc

I settled for less. Will the rest of our countrymen will?

Read 'Arey, girne par Micromax ka backcover nikal aata hai..' in another thread. True, why settle for less when China has your back covered? Its ok, they will stick a knife on your back only once in a decade, ok, maybe few.. perhaps a century then. They are so nice after all.

DEV1729

China is our enemy we must cut its economic tentacles from indian market.

DimetrodonX

The places where we can cut Chinese imports are mainly Electronic goods & Machiney. Both of which has shown a YoY growth of 32% & 18%.

But our energy imports have shown a staggering growth over the year, like Petroleum 89%, Coal 185% & Chemicals 40%. And Quantitative value of these imports even overshadowed the Chinese imports.

Our Electronic goods export have shown a healthy growth of 55%. Though a low base effect, If we are able to hold this momentum our Exports would catch up with our imports with in 4 years.

The engineering goods export has shown a humble 8% growth (recession in US & Europe is showing it's effect, its more evident in July export data).

Both these sectors are key towards replacing our dependance on Chinese imports.