Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Where thiers a will thiers a way
People will call us copycats for 20 yrs though i can take that can you ?
Why not , if it guarantees economic prosperity.
Plus lets take fountain pen example.
Do you know that most of the nibs aka most important part is made by one or two companies which are either in China and Germany.
Bock , jowo , schmidt etc

So a waterman of 5000 rupees most probably writes similar to 280 rupees pen .
Exception is ofcourse Japan. Whose big 3 pen manufactures pilot , sailor and platinum make their own nib from forging process itself

Do you know that most of the nibs aka most important part is made by one or two companies which are either in China and Germany.

Exception is ofcourse Japan. Whose big 3 pen manufactures pilot , sailor and platinum make their own nib from forging process itself
Noida has nibs making units since over last 30 yrs!
What are you talking about??
Growing up, one of my classmate's father was running a small factory to make the nibs for both fountain and Gel-pens and non-gel pens.

Abdus Salem killed

Isn't Reynolds Indian ?

Noida has nibs making units since over last 30 yrs!
What are you talking about??
Growing up, one of my classmate's father was running a small factory to make the nibs for both fountain and Gel-pens and non-gel pens.
Exactly sir , exactly
Noida factory must be crafting nibs , there is. A difference.
Metal sheet for nibs comes from Germany or China.

Exactly sir , exactly
Noida factory must be crafting nibs , there is. A difference.
Metal sheet for nibs comes from Germany or China.
You are shifting the posts. When someone points out you change the track and points to different things.
Yes, some material is coming from outside but the end finished product is made here.

You are shifting the posts. When someone points out you change the track and points to different things.
Yes, some material is coming from outside but the end finished product is made here.
Aur na bhai sab , goal post mai nai badalta , itna serious hokar to mai reply bhi nai karta hu
Mujhse koi point samajh ne me koi galti ho to bata do aap ,
Yes its made here, Yes it is
Iam saying why can't these big brands source their nibs from Indian manufacturers, why it's always Chinese who mass produce such stuff ?
And not only Noida, Mumbai in Maharashtra, rajahmudry in andhra, chennai in TN has Indian fountain pen companies.
Their nib metal comes from outside, they craft them here .
Yes finished nib is here but big brands on international scale don't source pen nibs from Indian factories.
Like they do from Chinese

Plus all my knowledge comes from the fountain pen network , its a forum dedicated to pens only from across the world

Physx32

Even the less expensive Pilot and Uni-Ball pens are made in Japan and have a quality build.

NutCracker

Samsung isn’t importing any kits, nor do assembly plants need thousands of crores of investment.
Samsung only has OLED display manufacturing facility.
Still need to import LCD for low-mid range.

We don't have either Processor fab or RAM/storage chip making facility.

Maximum i got was a computer DRR4-RAM that had circuit board made in India but memory chips were imported.

Also samsung is planning on shutting down its LCD panel facilities in SK , so that if they want to compete in cheap segment they HAVE TO IMPORT LCD.

Physx32

Can india replicate the same?
This strategy was first pioneered by Japan. An example:

Nikon and Canon, now one of the largest camera companies now actually started their camera business by copying European brands!

Nikon's first camera was actually a copy of the Contax rangefinder camera. Infact the name Nikon was selected as it sounded like Zeiss Ikon! Then of course Nikon innovated and created the historic Nikon F SLR camera along with the F mount. Similarly, Canon started operations by making cheap clones of Leica cameras, then started cloning Nikon cameras and finally innovated to create the EF mount. Now Canon is the market leader.

Next, South Korea followed the same strategy. Just two decades ago, Samsung and LG TVs were considered much inferior to Sony, Panasonic or Pioneer. Now the Korean giants are the leading innovators.

China now makes cheap clones, some decades later they too will rise to the top.

Question is what will us Indians do?

thebakofbakchod

This strategy was first pioneered by Japan. An example:

Nikon and Canon, now one of the largest camera companies now actually started their camera business by copying European brands!

Nikon's first camera was actually a copy of the Contax rangefinder camera. Infact the name Nikon was selected as it sounded like Zeiss Ikon! Then of course Nikon innovated and created the historic Nikon F SLR camera along with the F mount. Similarly, Canon started operations by making cheap clones of Leica cameras, then started cloning Nikon cameras and finally innovated to create the EF mount. Now Canon is the market leader.

Next, South Korea followed the same strategy. Just two decades ago, Samsung and LG TVs were considered much inferior to Sony, Panasonic or Pioneer. Now the Korean giants are the leading innovators.

China now makes cheap clones, some decades later they too will rise to the top.

Question is what will us Indians do?
inhale copium and pretend our products are kwality and everything is good

Physx32

inhale copium and pretend our products are kwality and everything is good
Indian engineering products are crap, but that's to be expected. Instead of inhaling copium, we should try to export this crap to other countries for low prices and move up the food chain gradually. Everyone here knows this.

thebakofbakchod

Indian engineering products are crap, but that's to be expected. Instead of inhaling copium, we should try to export this crap to other countries for low prices and move up the food chain gradually. Everyone here knows this.
I never understand why our companies dont spam american websites like Amazon, eBay or even SEA ecommerce sites like Lazada with their products. Is there something that is blocking them from doing it? It is the easiest way to boost industrial exports. I dont expect high end stuff here, but things like textiles, shoes, machined goods etc are product plenty across the country

Problem is that those websites take huge margin cuts and it may not even be profitable. Only way to compete is to control your logistics costs, i.e., shipping and containerization, etc. This is one area where China shines - logistics on a grand scale. They got this courtesy of Walmart who put in the building blocks during the 2000s before Amazon hit it big after 2008. And China used this Walmart built logistics chain to great effect.