Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Physx32

Actually due to variety of reasons our automobile market is somewhat saturated compared to China.
The chinese market is 26 Million cars per Year and we are hovering at 3.5 to 4 million cars per year. And top of that China have good public transportation network. Still they have staggering market for cars.

On the other hand our market is capped by some weird taxations like length of car, engine size will have different taxes. Even for the taxes people pay we have poor roads and poor public transport.
That's because their city/town roads and expressway network is vastly better than ours. When China had a GDP of $3 trillion, car sales were almost 6 million per year.

The opposite example is Bangladesh where car sales are extremely low due to extremely poor road infrastructure.

SGOperative

That's because their city/town roads and expressway network is vastly better than ours. When China had a GDP of $3 trillion, car sales were almost 6 million per year.

The opposite example is Bangladesh where car sales are extremely low due to extremely poor road infrastructure.
TBH i dont mind the low sales of cars if more Public Transportation Infra is developed.

Physx32

TBH i dont mind the low sales of cars if more Public Transportation Infra is developed.
This is the problem in India. One extreme group only wants railways and the other extreme wants only roads. The reality is we need both roads and rail. All countries which have good public transportation also have excellent roads (Japan, EU, China).

Don't understand why people want to develop ONLY public transportation.

SGOperative

This is the problem in India. One extreme group only wants railways and the other extreme wants only roads. The reality is we need both roads and rail. All countries which have good public transportation also have excellent roads (Japan, EU, China).

Don't understand why people want to develop ONLY public transportation.
I said low number of sales not banning cars bruh :crazy: given the newer policies of the govt it would make more sense for good chunk of people to move to Public transport for their regular transit but most of the infra is non existent in smaller cities.

Omega Seiki Mobility new plant in Punjab, yeah in Punjab.

Bihar jharakhnd ki koi khabar hai kya mitron , kuch halka bhi economic developemwt ?
Ki bas wahi akaal , flood , bhukmari, gurbat, palyan jaari hai ?

Heat

Bihar jharakhnd ki koi khabar hai kya mitron , kuch halka bhi economic developemwt ?
Ki bas wahi akaal , flood , bhukmari, gurbat, palyan jaari hai ?
Skyscrapercity has some decent infra updates from Bihar in the Indian Expressways thread.

After the uranium was discovered in Jharkhand and Andhra Pradesh, huge deposits of the mineral have recently been found in Rajasthan. According to preliminary estimates, about 12 million tonnes of uranium reserves are expected in this area.

The Uranium Corporation of India is likely to invest Rs 3,000 crores from which about 3,000 people will get direct and indirect employment.

How many tonnes of useful uranium fuel can be derived out of 12 million tons?

That is not the real reason for the slow car sales. The actual reason is the pathetic road layout in Indian cities, especially the tier-1 cities where people do have the income to afford cars. I am not even joking when i say any random tier-1000 city in China has more 6+ lane roads than the entirety of India combined. Just open google earth and zoom into literally any city in China and take a look yourself. Such road network means they can easily absorb such massive car sales. Meanwhile every indian city is completely choking with traffic

View attachment 161649

This is a random city i zoomed into. Every single road is at least 4+ lanes wide and the planning is very uniform. There are only 3 cities in India with such road network - chandigarh, noida and gurgaon. The rest have sh!t tier planning where roads change condition and width every 10 feet and intersect at every other angle except 90 degrees. To boost auto sales, build more cities with a uniform layout
And do you know how the Chinese accomplish this? by bulldozing thousands of houses and land without care to property rights of the dwellers. Land rights and usage are very different here from China.

Yes, they said so on the western media.
In China, the property right is a complicated issue: legally, no one has permanent right for any land or property. But for resident property, you have 75 years ownership according to law, for farm land, you have unlimited term. By social consensus (which is far more powerful than law), these properties or lands are already belong to you FOR EVER. No one can touch your property without generous compensation: for example, you have one unit in a building to be dismantled, the developer need to offer you cash+2 new units (at least). If a new road is going use your farm land, then you need to get an amount worth at least 10 years income from this land.
Certainly, the protection of property right in China can't match Western standard. But it is still a most protected one in China. People has no problem with the property right protection, they are arguing about how much is appropriate compensation. For most of ordinary Chinese, this is the easiest way get them into millionaires.
Each year, there are over millions of first time Chinese buyers buying new apartments, trillions of private money invested in all kinds of land or properties. They are not fool. They won't buy if they think their rights won't be protected.

They don't have wide lane roads in China actually.
Only the main roads which cross main sectors have more than 2 lanes. Inside any areas they have actually 1 lane each side with side lanes for two wheelers.
In China, there 4 levels of roads, the width are below:
National Road: 40-70m
Province Road; 16-60m
Township Road (not sure is translated right, it is a administration of a large group of villages ): >6.5m
Village Road: >4.5m

So, the 2 lane roads are only used for those low traffic countryside areas.

WarmongerLSK

Is it a slip of a tongue or the media is misquoting the figures? 12 mn tonnes is way too much.
If all the 12 million tonnes is recoverable at the current rates, it is bigger than all the reserves in the world, lol. Even if it is 1.2 million, we will still come second. Good shit.