Indian Economy: News and Discussion

India can gain from global disruption in China and Europe, Stellantis to accelerate India plans, says CEO Carlos Tavares

Chennai:
Carlos Tavares, CEO of Stellantis says amid global disruption in Europe and China, the situation offers a bigger opportunity for India to grow in the global automotive industry as well as the Stellantis World.

Read more at:
https://auto.economictimes.indiatim...dt=2022-05-22&em=bWFoZW5kcmExMEBnbWFpbC5jb20=

For those not familiar with Stellantis

The principal activity of Stellantis is the design, development, manufacture, and sale of automobiles bearing its 16 brands:

Abarth,
Alfa Romeo,
Chrysler,
Citroën,
Dodge,
DS,
Fiat,
Fiat Professional,
Jeep,
Lancia,
Maserati,
Mopar,
Opel,
Peugeot,
Ram and
Vauxhall.

Stellantis has approximately 300,000 employees, a presence in more than 130 countries with manufacturing facilities in 30 countries.

Data bhi kaam na aaye, anecdotal evidence bhi na lagey,

Agar dikhe, toh bas inflation, inflation, inflation!

View attachment 157103
how is it a surprise?

it's pretty straight forward.

it is a corporate's fiduciary responsibility to create value for their shareholders. which means companies are supposed to make more money than they did last year, to give their primary shareholders return on investment. at a global scale we have almost reached a stage that other than in africa, there are no more new customers to be acquired for global corporates, so no choice for global economy but to increase the prices of existing products by "upgrading" them in the markets that they operate, when product prices increase year on year it is inflation.

inflation is ever present, that's how global economy grows. inflation that we are worried about is high inflation.

on top of it, there is global ridicule when a country or company stops growing. when almost all companies stop growing we know it as recession.

sauntheninja

how is it a surprise?

it is a corporate's fiduciary responsibility to create value for their shareholders. which means companies are supposed to make more money than they did last year, to give their primary shareholders return on investment. at a global scale we have almost reached a stage that other than in africa, there are no more new customers to be acquired for global corporates, so no choice for global economy but to increase the prices of existing products by "upgrading" them in the markets that they operate, when product prices increase year on year it is inflation.

inflation is ever present, that's how global economy grows. inflation that we are worried about is high inflation.

on top of it, there is global ridicule when a country or company stops growing. when almost all companies stop growing we know it as recession.
There are still a lot of poor people in India and China for that matter

INDIAFIRST

Whole world is facing inflation.... many head of banks were in delusion that this phase will pass on but got the reality check....we were quite forth coming and didn't did what USA and Europe banks did which add to there blunders....situation is not bad for us but what RBI guv did by increasing the repo rate is also not good

Not just India, notice how many countries increased in the same week.

Screenshot 2022-05-22 at 8.26.47 PM.png

Fact remains that in india Prices only go UP ..... GST was sold saying prices will rationalize and will come down... we all know what happened...Basically govt fixed GST rates in such a way that if a 1re is given away due to lower slab, at least twice is recovered in next slab.. and continuous tinkering did not helped the matters either...

I myself have defended Demon in big way... apparently, Demon was to bring so called black money.. .. few small fishes with few hundred crores and aloha... It is success... people with connections converted their stash overnight & few used their relatives... No doubt jan dhan accounts filled up & dried pretty fast...

govt choose to increase excise when prices were low to keep fuel prices high ... anyways junta is used to paying why break it.... and now they are doing a favor....

high light of this all was that "A BIG THANK YOU" from Nirmala Tai in budget speech amid table thumping ... and than her claim that She do not eat much "ONION's" so not bothered...and prices can keep going...

It was forgone conclusion that post covid lockdowns .. business' man will stoke inflation to recover the lost business' of lockdown periods....they did Zilch to control it... while hospitals , pharmacy's & doctors run amok during 2nd wave... post it.. It's shopkeepers & industrialist... no doubt... wealth for already rich increased multifold while salaried & lower strata is struggling with costs within same stagnant salaries... apparently bussiness is not making money while declaring hefty profits at same time !!!!!! :D:D:D:D

There is a Joke going on what;sup -
If you take a loan of 5 lakhs .. it;s your problem while banker will sleep in peace but if you take a 500 crores... than u can sleep peacefully while banker will have sleepless nights.. :megusta::megusta::megusta::megusta::megusta:

INDIAFIRST

My friend grows onion... three months back the market rate of onion was 45 per kg but he was paid 13 per kg now due to PM's direct market access for farmers those who are having fields in near by suburbs sold it will 25 ~ 30 kg by bringing their own lorries but who were not near to the suburbs were had to sell out at 13per kg
How to get the normalization is what we are missing ....

In the future we could Create value by importing Surplus resource from neighboring countries in a way that secures both our and their economy.

Say Myanmar has a Surplus of Timber such that our is 1500 per ton and theirs 800 per Ton than it is beneficial to have imports. Value can be added by making premium furniture out of the wood resulting In a stable economic transaction on both our ends.

My friend grows onion... three months back the market rate of onion was 45 per kg but he was paid 13 per kg now due to PM's direct market access for farmers those who are having fields in near by suburbs sold it will 25 ~ 30 kg by bringing their own lorries but who were not near to the suburbs were had to sell out at 13per kg
Flew over my head can you explain again?

Ya'll Nibbiars The Tata Motors posted a 74 percent year on year surge in sales after selling 45,590 units in April 2022 as compared to 26,729 units in the same month last year. This growth comes at a time when rivals Hyundai India and Maruti Suzuki faced a consistent dip. And with this the gap between Suzuki and Tata is reduced. Once Impergnaible Suzuki has been shattereds.

RankTataApr-22Mar-21Growth (%) MoM
1Nexon13,47114,315-5.90
2Punch10,13210,526-3.74
3Tiago8,0624,002101.49
4Altroz4,2664,727-9.75
5Tigor3,8034,007-5.09
6Harrier3,7852,49150.80
7Safari3,0712,22745.00
8Total45,59042,2957.67

how is it a surprise?

Arey the post was made in jest ... hoping @Kumata would bite... and enlighten us with one more post on inflation but...

How can price of onion be the same at farmgate, govt mandi, organized branded retail store, local mandi, nukkad shop in a country as geographically diverse as India?

Each has their own transportation, storage, labor, rent costs associated. There is also the cost of doing business which most people tend to ignore..hidden costs are also blissfully ignored.

Would you pay the same price for onion (same quality) at footpath, nukkad shop, mandi, wholesale market, branded retail store... all equidistant from your house?

Traders lose money, businessmen lose money, entire families commit suicide because of debt but no media covers it with the same empathy that is extended to farmers, soldiers or women in general.

In the future we could Create value by importing Surplus resource from neighboring countries in a way that secures both our and their economy.

Say Myanmar has a Surplus of Timber such that our is 1500 per ton and theirs 800 per Ton than it is beneficial to have imports. Value can be added by making premium furniture out of the wood resulting In a stable economic transaction on both our ends.

Stories floated around like the one about how a certain moneylender brought in logs of Burmese teak over the seas by tying them on to the merchant ships coming to India and made to float to their coastal destination.
I heard these stories way down south TN where you have some 100+ year old houses with massive teak beams and pillars... and they say the logs were tied to ships and brought to TN... apparently the salt water and sun helped in seasoning the wood.

a small nasheed from a wageslave uberlowermiddleclass fella to Badshah Norruddin Modii 300+ viziers waale and his Khajaanchi Kathorataa Seetaaraman banu

arz kiya hain
*ahem ahem*

Ya Modii
Rehem Modii
Ya Modii
Gibs pay qurban hai sabhi
Ya Modii madad Modii
Ya Modii yeh meri jaan yeh zindagi

Gibs pay haan
Mita du Luta du mai apni Mudi 💸
Bheems pay haan
Luta du mita du mai yeh hasti
Yaa Modii rehem Modii
Yaa Modii Gibs pay qurban hai sabhi
Ya Modii madad Modii
Yaa Modii yeh meri jaan yeh zindagi

Mujhay kuch pal dai fursat kay faqeer hum tax wavier kay
Rahey baychain dil kub tak milay kuch pal tou rahat kay
Bheemto pay Gibs pay haan mita du luta du mai apni Mudi 💸
Gibs pay haan luta du mita du mai yeh hasti

Ya Modii rehem Modii
Ya Modii Gibs pay qurban hai sabhi
Ya Modii madad Modii

Bina gibs ke na ek pal ho na bin tax ke kabhi kal ho
Yeh dil ban jai pathar ka na is mai koi hal chal ho
Bheemto pay haan Gibs pay haan mita du luta du mai apni Mudi 💸
Qasam say haan luta du mita du mai yeh hasti

Ya Modii rehem Modii
Ya Modii Gibs pay qurban hai sabhi
Ya Modii maddad Modii

Arey the post was made in jest ... hoping @Kumata would bite... and enlighten us with one more post on inflation but...
Baba,

I saw it and did made a " Strawman" post as @ezsasa nibba claims them to be.. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

All aside... Clearly I am not a fan of Nirmala Tai.. Modi needs a better FM... Fact remains that she do not have a grass level connect... Like say jaitley... And babus are only looking at Delhi as example. Of everything... There is a stress in rural... She cannot see it.. Freebies can take u this far only...

Baba,

I saw it and did made a " Strawman" post as @ezsasa nibba claims them to be.. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

All aside... Clearly I am not a fan of Nirmala Tai.. Modi needs a better FM... Fact remains that she do not have a grass level connect... Like say jaitley... And babus are only looking at Delhi as example. Of everything... There is a stress in rural... She cannot see it.. Freebies can take u this far only...
Bhai... Tai is only carrying on the cess legacy of Jhootlee....but GoI should understand when people are in real pain... guess they did and this couldn't have come at a better time.

In today's world of real time data coupled with aspirations growing beyond 'beta padh likh jaye, beti ki achhe ghar mein shaadi ho jaaye', everybody is trying to minimize their opportunity cost.

Bhai... Tai is only carrying on the cess legacy of Jhootlee....but GoI should understand when people are in real pain... guess they did and this couldn't have come at a better time.
She is continuing with that cess legacy though.. Problem with me is that I cannot tolerate hypocrisy.. And she is master.. Fuck it and say u collected enough to last next decade.... I am willing to pay.. What is the need to show u r doing a favor by reducing excise... Et all... Cut it...

Initially.. It was oil Bonds... They collected double of that... Now roads cess.. In PPP model... Pvt players. Build. At their cost and operate to collect via tolls.. Than why the cess...u r basically taxing a person for same service thrice and claiming thst u r doing a favor.....

She is continuing with that cess legacy though.. Problem with me is that I cannot tolerate hypocrisy.. And she is master.. Fuck it and say u collected enough to last next decade.... I am willing to pay.. What is the need to show u r doing a favor by reducing excise... Et all... Cut it...

Initially.. It was oil Bonds... They collected double of that... Now roads cess.. In PPP model... Pvt players. Build. At their cost and operate to collect via tolls.. Than why the cess...u r basically taxing a person for same service thrice and claiming thst u r doing a favor.....
#TAISPLAINING

The cess doesn't annoy as much as her trying to pull wool over our eyes.

1653241596339.png

Rural Roads
Screenshot 2022-05-22 at 11.18.49 PM.png

Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana , 707,299 km rural roads built
Screenshot 2022-05-22 at 11.18.19 PM.png