Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Two Minutes To Midnight

Ya'll Nibbiars Sri Lanka again begging for Fuel on debts. The Prime Minister of Sri Lanka says the country is out of petrol. And Out of food reserves and petrol. Soon it’ll be Egypt, Tunisia, Ethiopia, Pakistan
Too late. Nothing they can do anymore.

Sri Lanka down to last day of petrol, new prime minister says

"Sri Lanka's new prime minister says the country is down to its last day of petrol as it faces its worst economic crisis in more than 70 years. In a televised address, Ranil Wickremesinghe said the nation urgently needs $75m (£60.8m) of foreign currency in the next few days to pay for essential imports. He said the central bank will have to print money to pay government wages. Mr Wickremesinghe also said state-owned Sri Lankan Airlines may be privatised.

The island nation's economy has been hit hard by the pandemic, rising energy prices, and populist tax cuts. A chronic shortage of foreign currency and soaring inflation had led to a severe shortage of medicines, fuel and other essentials."

They are broke. Can't buy anything anymore.

Vaibhavseafarer

On Phone screens Full HD and 2K and 4K wont give any noticeable difference. Moreover it is not even needed for mobile experience.

For TV also 2K is more than enough. I have 4K TV but does not feel any longing for 4K content, most of the time Full HD is more than enough and 2K looks overkill.
Bhai PS5 lo 4k ka pata tab chalega 😅

I would say you have never worked in an AMCs. You just can't say no.
You will loose your customers saying no. Losing customers means loosing profits.

AMCs don't have any stake in these funds as its the money form retail customers or other institutional investors.
Well certainly not the fault of others if you put yourself into a situation where you can't say no and you want others to follow you??

jadoogar

India need to work on finding out phospates replacement for food security.
Well all those rural toilets... & urban ones ?
Maybe recycle septic tank drainage back to the fields

Why everyone is so scared about Adani's expansion . Business is all about risk and reward. Higer the risk higher the reward.

Adani is playing classic game of Monopoly. He is establishing himself in all important industries. Reminds me of western business tycoons of past and East Asian conglomerates of present day.

India is still new to capitalism game. Therefore many Indians still see ruthless and ambitious capitalism with lot of skepticism. Unlike socialist planned economy, Capitalism comes with lot of risks. Companies fail and succeed all the time. Capitalism is cycle of boom and bust.

It pains me when I see leftist journos mobilising public after bankrupt businesses like Nirav Modi and Vijay Malya. They use language like Chor and Daku. Businesses all over the world declare bankruptcy all the time and fail to repay their loans. Many banks may go under it because of that. This is not a special Indian phenomenon. Look at 2008 financial crisis in US, Where banks gave too many bad loans and was unable to repay. In any free economy such crisis will happen.

Not just Adani, any business can fail. Even a Chaiwala at your Nookad can fail. There are more than 100 unicorn startups in India. Sorry to burst bubble for many here but most of them will fail. Only a few of them will be successful. Those that fail will lead to lot of bad bank loans and many unemployed people. This is how free market capitalism works. Its all about natural selection based on market forces.

Just like failures thare are many glowing examples of high risk and high sucess as well which are never mentioned in Indian leftist media. There are inspirational stories of how how some visionary business person bet all their life savings on seemingly failing business and got catapulted into major success. These sort of stories are never told in India. Its always "This business took so much risk so it failed spectacularly. See Beta now be afraid of capitalism and go prepare for secure gov job."

Sucessful businesses knows how to take calculated risks for meximum profits. They have entire teams dedicated for decision making. Gautam Adani or any other CEO doesn't make decisions out of his a$$ based on his brainfarts. Those banks lending money to companies do extensive study of Return on Investment before giving single rupee. There are all sorts of gov regulations too on top this.

The only way to eliminate risk in economy is full socialism and red tape regulations. The problem with this setup is individual companies don't fail under socialism but rather entire nation fails collectively.

Seriously Indians needs to get out of their anti-capitalist mindset.
It is not being an anti-capitalist mindset. It is calling the bullshit meter test. History has shown that banks are unwilling and too afraid to call in their loans against big borrowers. There's a saying - if you owe the bank a million dollars they have you by the balls. If you owe the bank by the billions, you have the bank by the balls and you can pretty much force the bankers to go along with whatever you say because they need you to keep spinning the plates on top of sticks and making sure that those plates don't fall even though they know that the plates will fall. It is like playing the musical chair. They wanna keep playing but they don't want to miss the chairs. They need the game to keep going. That is where the GoI needs to step in and say enough of this. It is GoI's job to keep the contagion from spreading into other sectors like the Lehman Brothers etc.

What about the real estate market? Stock market collapse has happened in the past but real estate collapse is what is coming.
The Chinese real estate market is a big worry. But unlike other countries real estate market crisis, for now it is a different type of issue:
1. Unlike Japan's 1990s and US' 2000s, its main bubble is concentrated in the real estate developers, not the individual or companies who are ultimate owners as most of them were not buying these properties with super high leverage. Unless there is a greater economic crisis outside the rea estate market causing massive bankruptcy and unemployment, their cash flow is enough to pay off their debt. If there is a such economic crisis, well, those developers will become insignificant comparing to other issues. So, now, Chinese government is trying to resolve these developers SLOWLY.
2. Thanks to the backward Chinese financial market, there is no much financial derivatives here within Chinese domestic market. So, unlike US, other segments were not exposed to the real east market issue as much as Japanese or American did, which in turn limits the scale of this crisis.
3. HOWEVER, real east market is still a big problem in other directions, for example, it locks the future consumption potential, or the low birth rate as youth doesn't want to get married or having babies due to high property price.

So, Chinese is worrying a real estate market collapse in short term (which Chinese government can handle), but the damage effects of an overdeveloped real estate market on the economy in long run.

Can someone please tell me in which position is Indian economy standing at in terms of GDP? According to Wikipedia, we are the world's fifth-largest economy by nominal GDP.
20220520_105431.jpg

On the other hand when I searched on Google than I got a source Claiming the Following :

"The five largest economies in the world as measured by nominal GDP are the U.S., China, Japan, Germany, and the United Kingdom. Just top 5 countries—the U.S., China, Japan, Germany, and the U.K.—make up over half of the world’s economic output by gross domestic product (GDP) in nominal terms."

ABOVE Text is a Copypaste from this source.

LINK OF SOURCE :-

Whatever it is, I think so that we can be certain about the following atleast : We are either the 5th or 6th largest economy in the world.

I am making an estimate that by this Decade (2020-2030) we will surpass the Japanese and German economy and will become the 3rd largest economy in the world. If not by this decade than definitely by early early years of the 2030's Decade.

Varzone

I am making an estimate that by this Decade (2020-2030) we will surpass the Japanese and German economy and will become the 3rd largest economy in the world. If not by this decade than definitely by early early years of the 2030's Decade.

If we're not there till 2030 then something really went wrong. That being said, GDP is far from being the final say on any country's economic power and depth.

I totally agree with you, in my opinion even though a country A might have a bigger GDP as compared to another country B, Country A should also be more developed as compared to country B in terms of infrastructure/living standards.

Any thoughts on the future of EdTech?

Industry going through a churn with the reopening of schools. A neighbor got laid off this week... says many tutors and a few content creators have been booted out and the future is uncertain.

What is the dope from the street?

Any thoughts on the future of TechEd?

Industry going through a churn with the reopening of schools. A neighbor got laid off this week... says many tutors and a few content creators have been booted out and the future is uncertain.

Ya'll Nibbiars will move towards more professional teaching and learnings. And more specialized for courses and certification learnings.

Any thoughts on the future of TechEd?

What is "TechED"? are you talking about Technical education?

Ya'll Nibbiars will move towards more professional teaching nad learnings.
Yeah.. competition is good.. once funding reduces, pricing will come down to UDemy levels and they won't need a bloated sales team to con parents into shelling out 1.5 lakhs.

Byjus acquired Aakash for the same reason... so as not to be left stranded when live/contact classes resume.

EdTech actually. My bad for phrasing it poorly.
1st time I am hearing this Term. Edtech is short for educational Technology.

"EdTech, short for education technology, refers to new technological implementations in the classroom. In-classroom tablets, interactive projection screens and whiteboards, online content delivery, and MOOCs are all examples of EdTech."

I think so that we have all these facilities in some schools/colleges/institutions in India.