Indian Economy: News and Discussion

it seems like consistent 9% growth will remain a dream :frown:.
tHaNkS To sLeEpInG BjPiGs wHo dIdN’T Do mUcH WhEn tHeRe wAs oPpUrTuNiTy, ThEy tAlK MoRe tHaN AcTuAlLy dOiNg, DiSiNvEsTmEnT TaRgEtS MiSsEd bUt yOu’lL SeE BhAjAn mAnDlI SiNgInG MoDi mOdI MoDi aNd iT CeLl bRoAdCaStInG ThE BhAjAn tO GuLlIbLe aNdHbHaKtS Of vIkAs. GiViNg eXcUsEs iS ThEiR BeSt oPtIoN.

Thanks to sleeping BJPigs who didn’t do much when there was oppurtunity, they talk more than actually doing, disinvestment targets missed but you’ll see Bhajan mandli singing modi modi modi and IT Cell broadcasting the bhajan to gullible andhbhakts of vikas. Giving excuses is their best option.
Oye Raghuram Rajan, post in your own name .. :pound:

How exactly does disinvestment directly impact you or the economy?

Covfefe

Oye Raghuram Rajan, post in your own name .. :pound:

How exactly does disinvestment directly impact you or the economy?
Actually the capital budget receivables was to the tune of 200 billion dollars (not really clear on the numbers- if I remember correctly it some 220-240 billion USD in revenue receivables and 200 billion in Capital receivables) for this fiscal- a large part of it coming from disinvestment and asset monetization.

But since most of it hasn't materialised, either the government forgoes the planned expenditure from that money, or keeps levying random taxes and surcharges on products and energy for money. Phir Billa royega ki Tai is the worst @Haldilal

THESIS THORON

Long term projections are BS especially in this pandemic and war prone times.
Realistically 6-7, if we can clock that's good enough. 9-10 are too optimistic- there's a federal structure at play- Centre doesn't have a magic wand.
so, 8% will be nice place to aim :notsure:

Shuturmurg

Realistically 6-7, if we can clock that's good enough. 9-10 are too optimistic- there's a federal structure at play- Centre doesn't have a magic wand.
Not only that, there is a good chance that we are moving towards deglobalization or reduced globalization.

Actually the capital budget receivables was to the tune of 200 billion dollars (not really clear on the numbers- if I remember correctly it some 220-240 billion USD in revenue receivables and 200 billion in Capital receivables) for this fiscal- a large part of it coming from disinvestment and asset monetization.

But since most of it hasn't materialised, either the government forgoes the planned expenditure from that money, or keeps levying random taxes and surcharges on products and energy for money. Phir Billa royega ki Tai is the worst @Haldilal
their original disinvestment target was 2.1 lakh crore out of 30.4 lakh crore budget.

But will have to factor in increased tax revenues in the current fiscal as well. if GoI feels they can manage the accounts without having to sell, why not ? can always be sold at a later date for higher value.

Not saying I am right, just adding a nuance.

Physx32

tHaNkS To sLeEpInG BjPiGs wHo dIdN’T Do mUcH WhEn tHeRe wAs oPpUrTuNiTy, ThEy tAlK MoRe tHaN AcTuAlLy dOiNg, DiSiNvEsTmEnT TaRgEtS MiSsEd bUt yOu’lL SeE BhAjAn mAnDlI SiNgInG MoDi mOdI MoDi aNd iT CeLl bRoAdCaStInG ThE BhAjAn tO GuLlIbLe aNdHbHaKtS Of vIkAs. GiViNg eXcUsEs iS ThEiR BeSt oPtIoN.
What's the craze about this disinvestment? Disinvestment doesn't mean economy will grow at 10%. Selling of profitable PSUs (especially oil and power) will instead harm the country more. Instead of shutting PSUs, they should actually let the employees work and take decisions. GoI intentionally cripples the PSUs, just make the management free and independent from retard IAS baboons and you'll see good profit.

Covfefe

so, 8% will be nice place to aim :notsure:
Read Abhijit Bannerjee's Good Economics for Bad times. Not asking you to buy into all of his recommendation and ideological leanings but he has explained the nuances of macroeconomics very well in that. You learn a lot of things, and end up projecting with an accuracy that's either equal to or worse off than a simple 3 year moving average that a 1 year undergrad can do.

Rather than being obsessed by overall growth rates- which we don't have a deterministic way of achieving, we should target the cost of doing business here-

infra(electricity- power sector reforms pe 1000 article aa chuke newspaper mein
, roads- centre doing a decent job here
, rail- more focus on freight and Semi HSRs needed , ports, air),

taxes(both rates and compliance, Tai cannot keep jumping the rates up and down,),

cost of capital (thus raising bonds, asset monetization, getting FDI, nudging for Climate Financing, B3W, getting Indian bonds listed on foreign funds, 😛 running propaganda campaign in Europe on how cruel they are and are not meeting their own commitments on climate financing which in itself was meagre etc),

law and order, laws(labour, land, contract settlement, getting some goddamn judges and technical members into the tribunals already created), and then pray to God.

Other than Direct taxes and Indirect Taxes department, no other department has a time bound mandate as such(unless otherwise self imposed by Ministers like Gadkari) - it shows that the government is still stuck in that colonial mindset where the job of the government is collect revenue and maintain law and order. Quarterly targets for all the departments on above lines could be a good start- something similar to how we have it in corporate.

7 or 8 or 9 is a byproduct of the system we have in place.

their original disinvestment target was 2.1 lakh crore out of 30.4 lakh crore budget.

But will have to factor in increased tax revenues in the current fiscal as well. if GoI feels they can manage the accounts without having to sell, why not ? can always be sold at a later date for higher value.

Not saying I am right, just adding a nuance.
Ya'll Nibbiars rather than its failure of the current FM to even prepare the Firms for the monetization the PSU will not even be monetized targetd for this or for next year. And not able to generate enough revenues but due to their failures and have to raise taxes during this times.

Ya'll Nibbiars Failures is failure can't hide them.

Ya'll Nibbiars this shows the sheer incompetence to bring statae governments with them and not vice versa.

Ya'll Nibbiars

The Gems & Jewellery Export Promotion Council & MIDC sign agreement for 21 acres of land to build a India Jewellery Park. Plan to shift the buzzing Zaveri Bazaar to Navi Mumbai.

FJiIFNnaMAA8BR1.jpeg