Indian Economy: News and Discussion

angryIndian

Bc. someone called me a congress bhakt:hail::hail::crazy::crazy:

Ultimately, India is a country filled with low IQ losers who refuse to develop and love living in poverty. Until the Indian state heavily clamps down on these cretins and their instigators with a iron fist, this country will be left dealing with scraps. From talking about the Japanese and chinese model to now the vietnamese model, we will be talking about porki and raqibul model in 15 years time.
There are two sides to every story...

This is the same region where POSCO wanted to open up their steel plant.So naturally you would expect heavy protest from locals.

People in Odisha are not very keen on new steel plants coming up because they happen to be the last beneficiary of their own resources. Majority of the beneficiary happen to outsiders.So why should people sacrifice their prime land to benefit others ?

And despite having so many industries there is virtually no job opportunities in the state forcing millions to migrate to other states.Odisha's massive industrialization has not helped in either alleviating poverty or job creation.

HitmanBlood

All the media is somehow obsessed with the fact that owning a business is evil and just try for a government job. So many regional films are about evil businessmen stealing lands from poor villagers to build factories and the near obsession with showing rural areas glorifying the poverty
I saw an interview of an ordinary Chinese, circa 2012 on some international news. Asking about pollution in Chinese cities. He said pollution is bad but it is a necessary evil to transition towards a better economy. He saw this as a sacrifice for future generations. As economy matures, issues like pollution will be taken care of. I was genuinely surprised by this answer.

Can we expect answer like this from average joe in India? Average Indian will start blaming gov, companies, etc. He will compare situation in India with some highly developed western country and demand same standards of living.

Indian population has been conditioned to believe that one day gov will wave some magic wand and all problems will be solved. In the mind of an average Indian, The efficiency of western countries or China or Japan is always attributed to their governments and not the hard working people.

Indian regional movies only reflect popular opinion in the region. In Indian academia, politics, bureaucracy, everywhere people genuinely hold anti industry beliefs. Some regions more than the others.

The seed that was sowed by Nehru-Indira has matured into a tree with deep roots. Unfortunately right has not done enough to expose economic failure of this model as they have done on social issues. Therefore India still remains economically leftist even under a right wing gov.

XR SAM

50% products that we import from China can be made in India right now but we are not doing it because either we don't have factories or it's cheaper to import than make here. Billions of dollars are spent on import of industrial machineries where our mechanical engineers are crying there is no job why we didn't study software. Our government bodies can't sit with this engineers to study which machineries can be made in India and help them to set up factories to serve both domestic demand and if possible export.

Ya'll Nibbiars I have to say The Atal Bihari Vajpee had better vision than Modi. We could have already been a 5 plus Trillion dollars economy now and inching towards the 10 Trillion dollar economy. We lost diamond in search of glass.

Ya'll Nibbiars without Gadkari even this Infrastructure push would had failed. We need more competent minister like gadkari and not like Tai and Kaddi Ninda.

But this ministry is running low in talents like them.

Covfefe

Ya'll Nibbiars I have to say The Atal Biharo Vajpee had better vision than Modi. We could have already been a 5 plus Trillion dollars economy now and inching towards the 10 Trillion dollar economy. We lost diamond in search of glass.
What's the point of being a good economic planner when you can't survive in politics? Modi, too, can develop the way ABV did but ignoring politics when it is the biggest reality is stupidity. People underestimate the politician's willingness to stay in power

Covfefe

Ya'll Nibbiars without Gadkari even this Infrastructure push would had failed. We need more competent minister like gadkari and not like Tai and Kaddi Ninda.

But this ministry is running low in talents like them.
And what will mudi do with senior politicians in his party? Bhajiya talenge wo?

What's the point of being a good economic planner when you can't survive in politics? Modi, too, can develop the way ABV did but ignoring politics when it is the biggest reality is stupidity. People underestimate the politician's willingness to stay in power
Ya'll Nibbiars you can't have all.

And what will mudi do with senior politicians in his party? Bhajiya talenge wo?
Ya'll Nibbiars why not better than running the ministry with incompetent ministers. Talne do yeh unko shajhata hai Tai and kaddi ninda are better running the canteen in the ministry's than running the ministry itselfs.

Covfefe

Ya'll Nibbiars why not better than running the ministry with incompetent ministers. Talne do yeh unmo shajhata hai Tai and kaddi ninda are better running the canteen in the ministry's than running the ministry itselfs
Yeah as if MoSha will remain unscathed after that. They would rather have BJP lose the elections than to have junior/outsiders take the cream ministries

Yes and going out of power for a decade and then throwing it all is worse than having slightly slower growth
Ya'll Nibbiars any way we can't achieve a double digit growth or even sustained higher single digit growth with current incompetent ministers.

Yeah as if MoSha will remain unscathed after that. They would rather have BJP lose the elections than to have junior/outsiders take the cream ministries
Ya'll Nibbiars may be its time to think beyond modi shah. Dhudne se to kucu bhi mil sakta hai.

Covfefe

Ya'll Nibbiars may be its time to think beyond modi shah. Dhudne se to kucu bhi mil sakta hai.
Whoever comes to the seat cannot ignore the realities of party-politics. At the best they can try to run most of the ministries thru bureaucrats (like Modi does) but cabinet ministries like Finance, Home, Defence, Rail(talented people in BJP because they don't have so many senior politicians to pander to, safe majority, otherwise Laluji remember?), Transport- they'll always be political appointments. Gadkari is the only political appointment who's extraordinarily talented (earlier Parikar sahab too)- rest are only technocrats doing good(Goyal, Vaishnaw, Suresh Prabhu earlier). Political appointees are generally average performing- Tai, Ninda Turtle

Ya'll Nibbiars more technocrats can be put into the concern ministry and let the politicians concerned on the politics. The Shah HM was a total disaster and this experiment totally failed.

XR SAM

Absolutely. Vajpayee built roads for economic growth, people brought him on the road. Later we saw how those roads contributed to economic growth after 2005 India was really shining. Modi won 2019 not because of infrastructure or reforms, but for providing direct subsidy transfer without leakage which Congis failed to do and for Jan dhan and free toilets.

XR SAM

Political leaders also can have vision and understand their jobs, watch this speech, it's simply the best I have heard from an Indian neta. Don't know if he had delivered or not but he certainly made the right noise

Covfefe

Political leaders also can have vision and understand their jobs, watch this speech, it's simply the best I have heard from an Indian neta. Don't know if he had delivered or not but he certainly made the right noise

That's why I said, "usually". Politicians don't talk all the right stuff because of two reasons-1) lack of competence on the issue, 2) lack of returns in their polity. South has been lucky on (2) part, the people there voted for development but other than that it's only a matter of luck that we get a competent minister in a suitable portfolio (what had Tai got to do with Economics/Finance, or Ninda Turtle to do with Defence earlier he was in Home)

sauntheninja

That's why I said, "usually". Politicians don't talk all the right stuff because of two reasons-1) lack of competence on the issue, 2) lack of returns in their polity. South has been lucky on (2) part, the people there voted for development but other than that it's only a matter of luck that we get a competent minister in a suitable portfolio (what had Tai got to do with Economics/Finance, or Ninda Turtle to do with Defence earlier he was in Home)
Tai has a economics degree though she is just plain incompetent