Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Why not both? Land acquisition is fast, cheap and quick in coronaland; not the case in India. And it is not like India was putting all her eggs in a single basket. Vajpayee had plans of extensive expressways, inland waterways, railway upgradation and even HSRs; way back in 2000 itself. Yo @Haldilal billa.
Ya'll Nibbiars we need both highways and Expressways. And can't build Expressways everywhere. The Highways are more affordable to built.

The OG who was played by Steve Carell in the movie The Big Short.
and on a side note, the interview setup was itself pleasant. MSM is a gone case, only SM fellows can do these kinds of interviews now.
======
Steve Eisman: “They mistook leverage for genius” (2017 interview)

Concard

Why not both? Land acquisition is fast, cheap and quick in coronaland; not the case in India. And it is not like India was putting all her eggs in a single basket. Vajpayee had plans of extensive expressways, inland waterways, railway upgradation and even HSRs; way back in 2000 itself. Yo @Haldilal billa.
I saw Vajpayee's plans for India if NDA would have come back to power in 2004. Their manifesto had clear goals has to what India must achieve by 2009. There was heavy focus on low end manufacturing. I am sorry I couldn't find the article I read 10 years ago. It said if NDA would have come back to power and assuming Vajpayee was in good health until at least 2009, India would have stole some manufacturing from going to China. If they would have implemented their manifesto Indian economy would have reached $3 Trillion by 2010. India's GDP was $700 billion when NDA left office. We are $3 Trillion now in 2022. UPA really set India back 10 years in every sphere.

I kind of cried that someone like Vajpayee was not reelected. I really hate those scumbags who voted for Commie scum and Congress scum in 2004. We still haven't recovered from the damage of NPA's, lost trust in institutions, scams, national security etc.

I saw Vajpayee's plans for India if NDA would have come back to power in 2004. Their manifesto had clear goals has to what India must achieve by 2009. There was heavy focus on low end manufacturing. I am sorry I couldn't find the article I read 10 years ago. It said if NDA would have come back to power and assuming Vajpayee was in good health until at least 2009, India would have stole some manufacturing from going to China. If they would have implemented their manifesto Indian economy would have reached $3 Trillion by 2010. India's GDP was $700 billion when NDA left office. We are $3 Trillion now in 2022. UPA really set India back 10 years in every sphere.

I kind of cried that someone like Vajpayee was not reelected. I really hate those scumbags who voted for Commie scum and Congress scum in 2004. We still haven't recovered from the damage of NPA's, lost trust in institutions, scams, national security etc.
Ya'll Nibbiars The shining India campagin was a total contributor for this.

Physx32

Vajpayee had plans of extensive expressways, inland waterways, railway upgradation and even HSRs; way back in 2000 itself
Source pls? I'm not aware of any expressways planned by Vajpayee govt. Mumbai-Pune expressway wasn't developed by NHAI.
Land acquisition is fast, cheap and quick in coronaland; not the case in India.
UPEIDA is building thousands of kms of expressways at record pace in the densely populated UP. This proves that land acquisition isn't that much of a problem. The truth is they weren't visionary enough to jump straight to greenfield eways from rural roads. As always, we got something that worked, but not optimal.
what was the counter argument given by Vajpayee Govt in response?
The only reason could be the huge cost of building eways (I don't have any citations though). Golden quadrilateral was mostly funded by oil cess.
Ya'll Nibbiars we need both highways and Expressways. And can't build Expressways everywhere. The Highways are more affordable to built.
I'm talking about Golden quadrilateral, not all highways.

thebakofbakchod

Well said. LA is a problem when you let feral leftoids and activists chimp out like you see in states like TN. I think NHAI recently said that building greenfield roads is both cheaper and faster than expanding existing highways since you only need to negotiate with farmers, instead of demolishing built up homes in the case of highways. We need 1 lakh km of expressways across the country. The ideal scenario would be 100km = 1hr. This is currently only possible on UPEIDA expressways

thebakofbakchod

Vajpayee didnt have an expressway vision. Congress actually did and they released a whitepaper in 2006 or so, calling for 20000km of expressways to be built by 2022. In the end the fking jokers built literally 0km, with tenders being released awarded and cancelled every other month for projects like Mumbai - Vadodara and Delhi - Jaipur.

Physx32

Well said. LA is a problem when you let feral leftoids and activists chimp out like you see in states like TN. I think NHAI recently said that building greenfield roads is both cheaper and faster than expanding existing highways since you only need to negotiate with farmers, instead of demolishing built up homes in the case of highways. We need 1 lakh km of expressways across the country. The ideal scenario would be 100km = 1hr. This is currently only possible on UPEIDA expressways
UPEIDA is atleast a generation ahead of NHAI is designing consistent eways. They use consistent designs, proper ramps, lane marking and signage. Just look at the quality difference between Agra-Lucknow eway and Delhi-Meerut eway

Concard

Vajpayee didnt have an expressway vision. Congress actually did and they released a whitepaper in 2006 or so, calling for 20000km of expressways to be built by 2022. In the end the fking jokers built literally 0km, with tenders being released awarded and cancelled every other month for projects like Mumbai - Vadodara and Delhi - Jaipur.

Congress scums are good at planning and taking credit when BJP executes. It is actually hilarious how they were taking credit for Dedicated freight corridor. DFC work seriously started only in 2015. Rajiv Shukla a bootlicking scum of Nehru dynasty was even taking credit for Jan Dhan Yojana the first scheme Modi launched after he became PM saying because of that bitch Indira Gandhi, Modi was able to provide everyone with a bank account.

Crazywithmath

Source pls? I'm not aware of any expressways planned by Vajpayee govt. Mumbai-Pune expressway wasn't developed by NHAI.
Very difficult to find articles published 15-20 years ago. ABV planned to encircle the entire NCR with a series of access controlled expressways; that would be gradually extended into states like UP, Bihar Rajastan, Punjab, MP etc. The only stuff I could find is this,

UPEIDA is building thousands of kms of expressways at record pace in the densely populated UP. This proves that land acquisition isn't that much of a problem. The truth is they weren't visionary enough to jump straight to greenfield eways from rural roads. As always, we got something that worked, but not optimal.
Not every state is UP. Imagine constructing expressways in Bengal even in 2022 (NHAI has planned a giant network anyway). Have a look at the issues pertaining to the proposed Chennai-Salem expressway or with the upgradation of national highways in Kerala.

Harry101

HitmanBlood

Bc. someone called me a congress bhakt:hail::hail::crazy::crazy:

Ultimately, India is a country filled with low IQ losers who refuse to develop and love living in poverty. Until the Indian state heavily clamps down on these cretins and their instigators with a iron fist, this country will be left dealing with scraps. From talking about the Japanese and chinese model to now the vietnamese model, we will be talking about porki and raqibul model in 15 years time.
Anti development protests are instigated by environment NGOs who tell all sorts of lies to locals. Ordinary villagers not being properly educated belive these lies and do these kind of stuff. When police or gov use force, these NGOs cry foul in media and courts.

Most of the times these NGOs are paid (bribed) for not instigating protests. These subhuman vermin live (lavishly) on such bribes. This is why they do what they do.

The biggest problem isn't uneducated people or NGOs but rather the laws that are so much convoluted that anyone with basic legal knowledge can use them to bully any industry or stall any project.

For India to be next China or Japan, anti industry laws needs to replaced with pro industry laws. Modi gov tried to do this in the beginning with land acquisition law but it was met with massive push and same with farm laws.

Any government who is serious about developing India needs to fix the root problem. Also Indian population needs an alternative to socialist BS. For generations people are led to belive that all private business are bad and only gov can give them jobs and improve their lives. They see on TV wealthy westerners and hear wonderful stories about western world but they don't know that it is pro industry capitalism that has improved western people's lives.

IMO Indian right wing hasn't done enough to explain merit of industrialisation and Indian left is still living in old Marxist idealist anti industry bubble. This is why even openly communist countries are now beating us economically.

Say's a man with a bearish view on Indian markets on odd days, optimistic(not bullish) view on even days.

His assertions always end with - 'Markets are overvalued, a correction is imminent'.

I received an email from Zerodha elaborating why the stock is overvalued, risky and has given a pittance of 3% returns in 2021 while other bank stocks performed better.

1642351440906.png

Am long HDFCBank and BankNifty. Let's see kal kitne pe khulta hai...

Gold that was imported must've been recycled, resold, pledged several times creating value almost every time for the owner. It is something that is more liquid than a share. Try selling your shares when the scrip is stuck in lower circuit. You won't see that with gold.

Let's see how every startup performed from the day of registration, how many directors got blacklisted for not filing returns as they could not generate a rupee in revenue and how many investors have burnt their fingers in these startups.

Yes, startups create wealth for the promoters, kids with skills in a programming language of the late 80's and 90's end up making 40 lakh per annum, eventually get laid off in two years time and keep wondering why Django isn't really taking off ... and go back to front end development and Node JS.

Yes, we understand valuations are high but we also know when to jump ship.

sauntheninja

Anti development protests are instigated by environment NGOs who tell all sorts of lies to locals. Ordinary villagers not being properly educated belive these lies and do these kind of stuff. When police or gov use force, these NGOs cry foul in media and courts.

Most of the times these NGOs are paid (bribed) for not instigating protests. These subhuman vermin live (lavishly) on such bribes. This is why they do what they do.

The biggest problem isn't uneducated people or NGOs but rather the laws that are so much convoluted that anyone with basic legal knowledge can use them to bully any industry or stall any project.

For India to be next China or Japan, anti industry laws needs to replaced with pro industry laws. Modi gov tried to do this in the beginning with land acquisition law but it was met with massive push and same with farm laws.

Any government who is serious about developing India needs to fix the root problem. Also Indian population needs an alternative to socialist BS. For generations people are led to belive that all private business are bad and only gov can give them jobs and improve their lives. They see on TV wealthy westerners and hear wonderful stories about western world but they don't know that it is pro industry capitalism that has improved western people's lives.

IMO Indian right wing hasn't done enough to explain merit of industrialisation and Indian left is still living in old Marxist idealist anti industry bubble. This is why even openly communist countries are now beating us economically.
All the media is somehow obsessed with the fact that owning a business is evil and just try for a government job. So many regional films are about evil businessmen stealing lands from poor villagers to build factories and the near obsession with showing rural areas glorifying the poverty

warriorextreme

Congress might have put many things on paper but they lacked implementation.

Vajapayeeji was the original dreamer and achiever. Here is an archive from PIB from 2003 about Golden Quadrilateral.

That was simply a plan with considering any reality:
1. Chinese salaries only started to boost after 2010, before that, there was no big gap between the 2 countries.
2. The anti-Chinese sentiment wasn't popular until 2012-2013. There was no political will to force the manufacturing re-location before 2010.
3. Even these factories were leaving China, the next destination for most of them would be South East Asia, not India, just like what is happening today.

All the media is somehow obsessed with the fact that owning a business is evil and just try for a government job. So many regional films are about evil businessmen stealing lands from poor villagers to build factories and the near-obsession with showing rural areas glorifying the poverty
That's the general Indian mindset outside of the big metro and quasi-metro cities. Go to any tier-2/3 town and ask the public; they will give you the same answer even today. Businessmen are seen as evil simply because movies, serials, etc., have a socialist tinge even today. The day we have more movies like Guru (Abhishek Bachchan's in 2006) that show that businessmen are also earning for the country, things won't change.

That was simply a plan with considering any reality:
1. Chinese salaries only started to boost after 2010, before that, there was no big gap between the 2 countries.
2. The anti-Chinese sentiment wasn't popular until 2012-2013. There was no political will to force the manufacturing re-location before 2010.
3. Even these factories were leaving China, the next destination for most of them would be South East Asia, not India, just like what is happening today.
Agreed.

India with its democratic values will never have the efficiency that Chinese state-managed factories have. The main attraction for western countries there was a large pool of slave labor. While there are reports of "slavery" in India, these are nowhere close to what China has had or has. Vietnam is like a small China, just more practical and freer on culture and faith. Therefore, working hard and compliance are highly valued there.

India is structurally akin to Australia, NZ, UK, etc., with its chaotic democratic systems, that will always debate and put unionism first.