Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Ya'll Nibbiars India exporting more agriculture products than ever.

Ya'll Nibbiars

As per preliminary official data, India’s merchandise exports in June was USD 32.46 billion, an increase of 47.34 pc over USD 22.03 billion in June 2020 and an increase of 29.7 pc over USD 25.03 billion in June 2019. The growth was notable since the second wave of the pandemic had posed downside risks due to logistical and manpower issues. Not only those risks have subsided now but the government has also come up with economic relief measures that would certainly boost economic growth. The the strong rebound in engineering goods export would support growth and employment.

And Among the concerns faced by the engineering goods exporters, especially MSMEs, and flagged the high ocean freight rates and elevated prices of primary steel weighing down the sector. The Hailing the stimulus package announced by the government and extension of interest subsidy scheme for exporters, the that engineering goods export would stay positive in the current fiscal. The stimulus package would lift sentiment and push domestic demand which has been subdued. The additional credit guarantee of Rs 1.5 lakh crore would help the MSME sector to bridge the cash deficit. The export insurance cover would give further impetus to the sector.

Ya'll Nibbiara we annually import 150 billion dollars of mostly unprocessed Crude oil if we reduce this will see a more positive trade.
and India exports 40 billion $ petroleum products + polyester yarn production for local textile consumption from crude oil (unable to find exactly what this is worth).

net impact is probably lesser than what we assume?

Ya'll Nibbiars mostly Driven by the FMCG.

Ya'll Nibbiars this year India's agri-exports aggregating approximately USD 42 billion.

Ya'll Nibbiars EU again along the Basmati card.

Building skyscrapers without demand will only increase debt and a huge one at that.
I am still on the fence as far that demand and supply maxim goes. The other maxim let the market forces decide appears fallacious too. Following the examples of high end electronic gadgets there is a model of thrusting upon supply first to create demand. This is how the wealth is being created. With better controls the wealth can be then channelised to assist more growth in other areas. Even with current endogenous economic growth model driven by investment in Human resources, innovation and knowledge there is a need of indebtedness as initial investment.

This indebtedness driven economic model has shown that relation between growth and public debt is nonlinear. Therefore the debt has to be kept below debt overhang level. This where I am on the fence to make any clear agreement or disagreement with your assertion.

I am still on the fence as far that demand and supply maxim goes. The other maxim let the market forces decide appears fallacious too. Following the examples of high end electronic gadgets there is model of thrusting by upon supply first to create demand. This is how the wealth is being created. With better controls the wealth can be then channelised to assist more growth in other areas. Even with current endogenous economic growth model driven by investment in Human resources, innovation and knowledge there is a need of indebtedness as initial investment.

This indebtedness driven economic model has shown that relation between growth and public debt is nonlinear. Therefore the debt has to be kept below debt overhang level. This where I am on the fence to make any clear agreement or disagreement with your assertion.
debt based economics can come into play where there is a assured $ or € (not any other currency) circulation, countries plugged into this system have ensured the money keeps circulating within themselves delaying the impact of debt.

in our case, India is new at this game. We have just started to realise how to manage NPA. And more importantly we yet to be inducted into $ or € based currency regimes by way of FTAs.

@Crazywithmath has written a post on FTA yesterday, that post will have to be read in conjunction with my post above.

debt based economics can come into play where there is a assured $ or € (not any other currency) circulation, countries plugged into this system have ensured the money keeps circulating within themselves delaying the impact of debt.

in our case, India is new at this game. We have just started to realise how to manage NPA. And more importantly we yet to be inducted into $ or € based currency regimes by way of FTAs.

@Crazywithmath has written a post on FTA yesterday, that post will have to be read in conjunction with my post above.
Agree, India is trying to detox its financial systems. But at the same time we can afford to kill its animal spirt which comes from risk taking and high indebtedness backed growth. We need to build more skyscrapers, bullet trains and high end manufacturing zones even when domestic and global demand is low. Retrospective taxes, taxes on capital gains, high interests rates, lack of privatisation, high public spending on Infrastructure all are symptoms of deeply founded insecurities which are forcing us to play safe. The best time to build capabilities is when demand is low.

yes, and I am assuming you want to say “at the same time we can’t kill the animal spirits”.

True, so what I think is happening is that modi government has decided that if US and EU are not allowing us to plug into their system, instead of waiting and doing nothing in the meantime make sure efficiency in currency circulation improves within the country. this is where Delhi mumbai express way, dedicated freight corridor, sagar mala project, air travel infra etc are being built at rapid pace. while freeing up the existing debt of current major real estate players by RERA and other schemes.

Ultimately the people who are going to occupy those sky scrapers are the top 1% ers of the future, the more they do business and earn profits because of efficiency in logistics and port infrastructure more the demand for prime real estate.

It’s a slightly longer path compared to UPA method of straight up distribution of cash(loans) to their friends, atleast this way has a better risk mitigation strategy.

Currently atleast two lakh crore infrastructure projects(govt spending) are happening in the country + whatever private players are spending.

Delhi mumbai express way - 50000 crores

dedicated freight corridor - 80,000 crores

This alone is 1.3 lakh crore.

yes, and I am assuming you want to say “at the same time we can’t kill the animal spirits”.

True, so what I think is happening is that modi government has decided that if US and EU are not allowing us to plug into their system, instead of waiting and doing nothing in the meantime make sure efficiency in currency circulation improves within the country. this is where Delhi mumbai express way, dedicated freight corridor, sagar mala project, air travel infra etc are being built at rapid pace. while freeing up the existing debt of current major real estate players by RERA and other schemes.

Ultimately the people who are going to occupy those sky scrapers are the top 1% ers of the future, the more they do business and earn profits because of efficiency in logistics and port infrastructure more the demand for prime real estate.

It’s a slightly longer path compared to UPA method of straight up distribution of cash(loans) to their friends, atleast this way has a better risk mitigation strategy.
We can not insulate our economy from external effects. The risks and blackmails must be negotiated. Just an example of pharma industry which runs on patents controlled by western countries we have to suck up to their patronisation and it comes in many colours and shapes.

Internalising economy has very limited revenue scope. And we are already far behind in every markers; major being infrastructure which can not be run on demand and supply paradigm decided by politicians. As far as only small amount of people living in skyscrapers is a concern then we need to build them first. The money saved as deposits and in gold will start pouring out once there is good supply driven demand.