Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Ya'll Nibbiars

I never understood jealousy. Apart from the fact that it is a highly draining emotion, the way I see it is this: Mukesh Ambani has no poor friends. Even his brother who has fallen on hard times would be worth a few hundred crores. Mukesh ji has no stupid friends either.

India Super Power

Someone posted this rebuttal in reddit after our exports reached an all time high anyone can make sense of this data on whether its true or not?
India's exports for the year at the end of different years
DateIndia's Exports (Billions USD)
31-12-200390.84
31-12-2008288.9
31-12-2013472.18
31-12-2019528.3
Using this, we calculate growth in exports during UPA1, UPA2, Combined 2 terms of UPA & also during Narendrabhai's years.
The different time periods/Terms
Since only yearly data is available & it wouldn't exactly match with the start or end of the political term, I approximate the following dates as the different terms.
DatesTerms
31-12-2003 to 31-12-2008UPA1
31-12-2008 to 31-12-2013UPA2
31-12-2003 to 31-12-2013Combined UP1 & UPA2
31-12-2013 to 31-12-2019Narendrabhai
Cumulative Growth in the different Terms
First let's do total cumulative growth of India's exports during different terms - This is pretty simple - if in 2010 it was Rs. 100 & it grew to Rs. 150 by 2015, then the growth is 50% cumulative over 5 years.
Cumulative Growth
UPA1218.04%
UPA263.44%
Combined UPA419.8%
Narendrabhai11.88%
CAGR of Exports in Different terms
Cumulative growth may not always be the best way to compare two different periods if they are not the same duration (for e.g. 5 years of UPA2 with 6 years of Modi). Here it's not relevant of course because both UPA1 & UPA2 kicked Narendrabhai inspite of being 1 year lesser.
However, let's still calculate CAGR - Compound Annual Growth Rate - i.e. how much is the average year on year Growth. This will make the comparison easier because the number of years in the terms is now normalized by calculating the average yearly growth
Taking the same example as before - Let's say our exports were Rs. 100 in 2010 & Rs. 150 in 2015, then average annual growth is 8.45% (calculated using the Compounding formula)
Average Yearly Growth Rate
UPA126.04%
UPA210.32%
Combined UPA17.92%
Narendrabhai1.89%
  • Exports grew at an average of 17.92% each year during UPA.
  • Exports grew at an average of 1.89% each year during Narendrabhai.
That's the post - try not to laugh too much (or cry too much).
All data taken from https://www.macrotrends.net/countries/IND/india/exports
Updated by copy/pasting from comments
Comparison with the world

World Export Growth crashed during both UPA2 & Modiji's term. But as a developing country/emerging economy, we were never competing with the world export figures. As an emerging economy we were expected to do much better than the world exports (developed nations & also very backward nations don't have much growth so they always pull the world figures down).
For e.g. in UPA2 also world exports growth rate had gone down from earlier highs. But even during UPA2, India's CAGR growth rate was nearly 3x times of World Exports CAGR. Now, under Modiji our CAGR is not even 2x of World Exports CAGR.
Several countries with Good Governance are performing far better than both India & the World.
CountryCAGRCumulative
Modiji1.89%11.88%
Burma[1]14.36%95.6%
Ireland12.18%99.31%
Vietnam11.81%95.35%
Cambodia8.6%74.2%
Bangladesh[2]7.95%58.21%
Phillipines6.23%30.40%
Sri Lanka4.29%28.64%
[1] Only 5 years data is available as compared 6 for other countries
So mods this data is true

Ya'll Nibbiars RIL is going to make billion dollars investment for a Carbon Fibre manufacturing plant in India. If the Eastman chemicals is also true. We may have two carbon fibre making plants in India. The only carbon fibre plant in India is a PSU for the Defence industry. This would be the first commercial focused Carbon Fibre plant's in India.

Ya'll Nibbiars there is National Aerospace Labotries Carbon Fibre plant in Vadodra. But it's manufactures only for the Defence sector. As most of the capacity is utilized for that. But we may see soon many firm's investing in the Carbon Fibre sector's in India.

afako

Hindufying India
Ya'll Nibbiars

YearExportImportTrade Deficit
199936.350.2-13.9
200043.160.8-17.7
200142.554.5-12.0
200244.553.8-9.3
200348.361.6-13.3
200457.2474.15-16.91
200569.1889.33-20.15
200676.23113.1-36.87
2008176.4305.5-129.1
2009168.2274.3-106.1
2010201.1327.0-125.9
2011299.4461.4-162.0
2012298.4500.4-202.0
2013313.2467.5-154.3
2014318.2462.9-144.7
2015310.3447.9-137.6
2016262.3381-118.7
2017275.8384.3-108.5
2018303.52465.58-162.05
2019330.07514.07-184
2020314.31467.19-152.88
What happened in 2008 during the GFC? Imports tripled in a year?

We are exporting and importing as much when our economy was half of its size 10 years back?

India ASEAN FTA came into effect from 2010.

Preferential Trade agreement with Malaysia & Korea in 2009 and with Japan in 2011.

Congress signed a personal MOU with Xi in 2008.

The import policies of that time used to allow import free capital goods without any payment of duty if a project above certain size was made in some sectors. Read Anil Ambani here.

Allowing Chinese power turbines, industrial machinery to flow in India unhindered really destroyed the capital goods industry of India.

This is the biggest economic treason committed. Media was asked to celebrate the IT industry as Indian success story which pathetically provides direct employment to just 3 million Indians out of 1.2 billion at that time. The public took the con and ignored the destruction of manufacturing and mass production capabilities.

It took Modi one full term to just reverse the trend. Make in India did not get much success. The learnings were applied in Atmanirbhar Bharat and PLI scheme which is working out to be a success.

afako

Hindufying India
Real reason Modi will win 2024:

For media and minorities and Chomu Pakis it will be increasing Hindutva and radicalized majority.

Ya'll Nibbiars there is National Aerospace Labotries Carbon Fibre plant in Vadodra. But it's manufactures only for the Defence sector. As most of the capacity is utilized for that. But we may see soon many firm's investing in the Carbon Fibre sector's in India.
Is it possible for private entities to approach NAL for technical help and assistance?

Ya'll Nibbiars yeah for a ToT and JV possible. After all is a PSU's. The technology and patent are worth crore of rupees and the licensing fees annulled could generate hundreds of crores alone.

Crazywithmath

This scheme looks cool. It is proposing to impose zero tariff on raw materials if the finished product is exported, i.e., indirectly incentivising exports. It's a cool idea, nonetheless.

We should focus more on more and more on such projects. We have the world's highest remittance from NRI but on the other hand our trade deficit used to eat all this and as a result there was always a pressure on the INR against USD. We, therefore should see that we minimise our import and maximize the export. This will help our currency to find it real value according to the Purchase power parity. Which is currently four time lower I would like government to come up with a scheme to incentivize this actors where we have high import and as a result outflow of foreign currency. This will automatically result into strengthening of INR which happened in the year 2003 2004 in the Vajpayee ji's time. we need to repeat this. I was very much hopeful when Narendra Modi came in but till date it has not happened. INR has only deprecated now. It is the time to strengthen the INR. Until it happens our GDP will look very small though its real value in purchase power parity term is very high.

Ya'll Nibbiars not in the current objective. RBI will not strength until the Foreign Reserves reaches 1 Trillion Dollars. Rupees strength is not on the RBI and GOI minds sadly but this is a big mistake. Still there is along way to reduce the trade deficit. Not until export specific PLI's are made.