Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Chandragupt Maurya

That's like opening the pandora's box.

What about crude producing states like Assam, Rajasthan, Gujarat?

The state of Assam -

Iron ore, coal and other mineral producing states?

Most mineral producing states get nothing in return other than scorched earth and loss of habitat.

What about tax revenue from IT/ITES exports? Won't they also make similar demands?

Who enjoys most from the crude produced in Assam? Does IOCL pay spot price to the state? Have you seen the lavish lives these blokes lead? The pilferage, corruption etc runs into a few 100 crores easily. The local population forms a fairly small part of the workforce. Most of the executive level posts are cornered by people from different parts of India, including people from Bihar. If we apply your logic here, Assam has a fit case to secede no? Same with Rajasthan or other mineral rich states of India.

We export iron ore for crumbs to China but Indian steel companies are denied access to captive mines within the country.

OTOH, several thermal captive power plants came up in Sundargarh district of Orissa. The place which was once verdant and serene is now pockmarked with mining and captive power plants. The air is smoggy. The coal reserves in that region are said to be the largest in all of Asia and only a fraction of it has been tapped. Good quality coal is available at depths of 10-15 feet. You see truck/tractor loads of coal being illegally mined every day but forest officials have to look the other way because the trucks belong to the forest minister or someone from his party. But the same forest guards must stop a tribal or a villager from carrying a block of coal for his daily use.

Same in Bengal. Free/subsidized electricity has resulted in most coal mines running at huge losses because the state electricity boards don't have any money to pay them.
Then you have yes men paying crores as bribe to be appointed as Chairman/MD of these PSUs.

Have displaced tribals or rural poor got their due from the Govt in the past? In most cases, no.

Public or private, either way, there's loot. You just have to look the other way because if you decide to fight against this injustice, you will be branded a Maoist or a naxal. As there is some generation of taxes for the Govt., they let this continue but how much of it trickles down to the real inhabitants of the affected region?

It is only in the recent past that CIL has offered to pay a respectable sum to Jharkhand Govt.

Corporates(Govt or Private) will simply pillage the land for free, give little to nothing in return and pack off when its time to down the shutters.
Bihar , Bengal , Jharkhand , Assam , Chhattisgarh and Odisha are rich in mineral resources and well connected with rivers (inland waterways) India’s biggest and most important waterway (NW1) passes through this area , NW2 passes through entire north eastern region and it’s linked with NW1
making Industrial clusters alongside inland waterways in these states will not only give good inter state connectivity to this area but will increase our exports and provide jobs to people from all over India
We can also include Bangladesh in this economic belt
The market of Inland waterway vessels alone is of 2.2 trillion dollars we should try to grab most of it by making ships at competitive prices
cheap labor is easily available in this area too , steel is also available from Jharkhand , everything needed is easily available in this area
Shipbuilding industries (for inland waterways) in Bihar , Jharkhand and Bengal has good future prospects

More viable than online retail?
Sir, have a look.

This is the new trend. Everyone here wanT to be a entrepreneur. In final year, I'm already seeing multiple groups forming. Here jobs in startups are prefered , for the sole purpose of learning, tips and tricks of startup. So this is just the beginning. Many more will come.
Making a bigass e-commerce web portal isn't a big deal as the website is only one part of the big puzzle.

Then there is competition. What is your customer acquisition cost? How do you drive traffic?

If you google for a product, the first page lists results from aggregators like Amazon, Flipkart, Myntra etc.

The competition is fierce.

Afaik, he didn't have a choice. Either agree to the sale or take his share and walk out as some investors were looking to exit at those valuation levels and Flipkart simply did not have cash to pay them.

Ever thought about logistics? Viable, good money, plenty to learn, do and innovate.

IndianYonko

Making a bigass e-commerce web portal isn't a big deal as the website is only one part of the big puzzle.

Then there is competition. What is your customer acquisition cost? How do you drive traffic?

If you google for a product, the first page lists results from aggregators like Amazon, Flipkart, Myntra etc.

The competition is fierce.

Afaik, he didn't have a choice. Either agree to the sale or take his share and walk out as some investors were looking to exit at those valuation levels and Flipkart simply did not have cash to pay them.
Understood.
Ever thought about logistics? Viable, good money, plenty to learn, do and innovate.
Didn't get this part.

Ya'll Nibbiars friendster also had a great products but didn't innovated's. Lost money. Not every start up's is prototype unless it's run through a Proseeional manners. And the current founders have no idea and are not interested.

Chandragupt Maurya

Make him PM for once before he leaves us for good.
China , European Union and USA have always prioritized waterways over Roads and Railways their cities and industrial clusters are built alongside waterways and coastal areas India has realised just now that waterways are the most efficient mode of transportation

Leonardo Alves

One of the Thing is bad presently we have 85% traffic on road our priority is first to waterways , 2nd to Railways , 3rd to roads and 4th to aviation : Nitin Gadkari ✌
For that ports must be developed and in massive amount and if I am not wrong we need to do something about coastal areas.

Chandragupt Maurya

For that ports must be developed and in massive amount and if I am not wrong we need to do something about coastal areas.
He is talking about inland waterways inland waterways can be developed like industrial corridors like it happened in China , Europe and USA
We have 5 lakhs road accidents and 1.5 lakh death every year because of traffic on roads that is also one of the reason why we badly need waterways

Leonardo Alves

He is talking about inland waterways inland waterways can be developed like industrial corridors like it happened in China , Europe and USA
And I am talking about Port connectivity from bengal and odissa to Tamil nadu.
Ores from there and production here.

Everything can work well but you have to stop 75 percent reservation type jokers.

Oi khattar and Muchhad of Jharkhand and Yogi of Noida and D and M and K type of guys, I am talking about you guys.

Becuase it WILL CREATE DIVERSION in future and I don't want the return of shell way of thinking.

Ya'll Nibboars agar Gadkari bana PM to phir international standards Raste. Chamko who bhi Rajasthan ki dhool mein. Kya bola Zakas. 😎

We have 5 lakhs road accidents and 1.5 lakh death every year
The figures you quote are largely due to idiots and less due to traffic.

The worst thing about Indian's is they don't keep a safe distance from big vehicles. BC two wheeler riders in particular.... jinka bas chale toh tyre ke neeche ghus jaayein.

The worst thing about Indian's is keeping a safe distance from big vehicles. BC two wheeler riders in particular.... jinka bas chale toh tyre ke neeche ghus jaayein.
Ya'll Nibbiars gaon mein no one absolutely no one dim or upper the Vehicle's lights. Its dangerous then what will happan can't even see what in forward.

I have watched him tallking about making ports , freight villages and smart cities alongside inland waterways he was talking about the potential of NW1 and NW2 (river Ganga and Brahmaputra)
now that one side of the equation(I.e Govt intent) is addressed , other side of the equation needs to be addressed too(I.e business interest in using waterways). Otherwise waterways would just be white elephant later.

Find out what city merchant committees and industry saying about using waterways for transporting the goods. Not just at FICCI level, but lower down the hierarchy in cities and towns adjoining these waterways.

Chandragupt Maurya

The worst thing about Indian's is keeping a safe distance from big vehicles. BC two wheeler riders in particular.... jinka bas chale toh tyre ke neeche ghus jaayein.
This figure will go down drastically if we shif to waterways for freight transportation using roads for transportation of freight when we have huge waterways like Ganga and Brahmaputra is the most idiotic thing

Ya'll Nibbiars two days ago was coming to village a motorcycle wala was using not only the headlight full but was also using the led lights installed can't even see what was coming ahead. Then some how manages to see a truck was coming at high speed from behind. Just barely got away from a major accident's. And even today a rickshaws wala was driving any how without giving indicatior's and stopping in middle any how just like a idiot's.

Chandragupt Maurya

now that one side of the equation(I.e Govt intent) is addressed , other side of the equation needs to be addressed too(I.e business interest in using waterways). Otherwise waterways would just be white elephant later.

Find out what city merchant committees and industry saying about using waterways for transporting the goods. Not just at FICCI level, but lower down the hierarchy in cities and towns adjoining these waterways.
It’s not just about cost effectiveness and job creation or traffic jams but also about loss of human lives in road accidents and pollution both air pollution as well as noise pollution and also about saving the FOREX reserves which we use for importing crude oil

Ya'll Nibbiars two days ago was coming to village a motorcycle wala was using not only the headlight full but was also using the led lights installed can't even see what was coming ahead. Then some how manages to see a truck was coming at high speed from behind. Just barely got away from a major accident's. And even today a rickshaws wala was driving any how within giving indicatior's and stopping in middle any how just like a idiot's.
LED headlights must be banned.

Bhai, tu paidal chalte huye bhi accident karwayega aur public jam ke teri kutaai karegi.