Good news but the future is renewable energy and energy storage.
Which are you referring to? Wind, solar?

They can't become an alternative to traditional power sources, will destroy the ecosystem and agriculture. They just don't scale. They ate entirely unreliable and electricity they generate is extremely as expensive.

The only way forward is nuclear, thorium in particular. Look at how many thorium based plants we are developing.

They can't become an alternative to traditional power sources, will destroy the ecosystem and agriculture. They just don't scale. They ate entirely unreliable and electricity they generate is extremely as expensive.

The only way forward is nuclear, thorium in particular. Look at how many thorium based plants we are developing.
Don’t go by what goras are saying on wind and solar, Indian experience is different. We have something they don’t, economies of scale + plenty of barren land.

It's about efficiency, safety, reliability and scalability. On all metrics, nuclear wins hands down. It just gets bad PR, due to a couple of major disasters over the past half century.

Renewable are terribly inefficient, whereas nuclear is highly efficient.

Compare France and Germany. The former has gone nuclear while the latter has invested USD 500B on renewable and that's still not enough.

The best part about thorium is that it's safer, cleaner than uranium and we have lots of it.

afako

Hindufying India

With due respect to the vaccine, Sputnik V is administered in only 2 million people around the world whereas Covaxin is administered in 2.5 million people. This is simply due to lack of vaccine manufacturing. India simply outclasses every county by a mile in Vaccine production.

According to the company, “Sputnik V is one of the three vaccines in the world with an efficacy of 91.6 per cent and has most authorisations granted with 26 countries globally. The vaccine has already been administered to more than two million people worldwide.”

Being GDPR compliant doesn't necessarily make companies ready for India's upcoming data protection laws

• Being compliant with the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR) won’t necessarily mean that companies are compliant with India’s upcoming Personal Data Protection Bill (PDP).
  • The scope of the PDP is broader and will require companies to make changes to their data management policies in order to operate in India.
  • Once PDP comes into effect, GDPR compliant companies may only have to make a few changes but new laws will be a sea-change for companies who were only compliant to the existing Indian data protection laws.

Considering our population density, don't you think we can have better uses for the barren land.

Usually barren lands mean they are away from water, without water no towns, no industry , no agriculture.

mokoman

Usually barren lands mean they are away from water, without water no towns, no industry , no agriculture.
Solar panels also need water , for cleaning , that too apparently not small amounts .

i think Its a big issue when setting up solar plants.

But still solar parks are awsome

largest solar park in world , Bhadla solar park India. looks like something from a scifi movie.

:hmm: we should cover entire rajasthan desert with them , this is definitely the future

Hfg..

In the previous post, we already debunked the fake news that UP rose from #5 to #2 in state GSDP and that in the last 1 year UP, jumped ahead of Karnataka & Gujarat.
Ajay has also made more fake claims.
Here is a report about his speech & the fake claims he makes in them - UP will become India's largest economy after BJP comes to power in 2022 polls, says Yogi
Fake Claim 1

• First of all, 2015-16 to 2020-21 is 5 Years not 4 years. Unless it's some Vedic Math I am not familiar with.
  • Also even if 5 years, it hasn't really doubled. In 2015-16, UP's GSDP was 11.37 Lakh crores. In 2020-21, it's supposed to be 19.4 Lakh crores. That's a 70% increase - much, much less than doubling.
  • 70% increase in 5 years, works out to a 11.26% increase per year CAGR. West Bengal's 2020-21 GSDP is not yet available. But in 4 years (2015-16 to 2019-20), West Bengal grew at 11.98% CAGR - i.e grew faster than Uttar Pradesh. If you compare 2015-16 to 2019-20 only, West Bengal grew at 11.98% CAGR while UP grew at 12.06% - Ajay had practically the same growth as what several BJP supporters consider the worst performing economy in the whole wide world.
Fake Claim 2

That UP's per capita income has grown to 95,000 is probably a big lie.
In 2019-20, as per RBI data, UP's per capita income (current prices) was Rs. 70,419. RBI hasn't published 2020-21's data yet, but a jump from 70,000 to 95,000 in 1 year is unimaginable.
Also we can try to roughly calculate it. UP's GSDP on current prices for 2020-21 is 19.4 Lakh Crores. Assuming UP's population is the same in 2020-21 as it was the previous year, then that works out to a per-capita GDP of around 76,000 Rs, a far cry from Ajay's claim of 95,000. Also, the denominator has surely increased in one year, so it's probably even lesser than 76,000.
Again, even in the growth in per capita figures, West Bengal did better than UP. RBI has published Net Per Capita figures upto 2019-20
  • At Current price, Uttar Pradesh has grown 49.5% from 2015-16 to 2019-20.
    West Bengal has grown 52.3% in the same period.
  • At Constant price, Uttar Pradesh has grown 23.5% from 2015-16 to 2019-20.
    West Bengal has grown 25.3% in the same period.
Sources:
GSDP data upto 2019-20 taken from - https://m.rbi.org.in/Scripts/PublicationsView.aspx?id=20006
The 2020-21 GSDP data for 2020-21 taken from https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...ist-beats-gujarat-tn/articleshow/81219023.cms
Per Capita figures taken from https://m.rbi.org.in/Scripts/PublicationsView.aspx?id=20005 & https://m.rbi.org.in/Scripts/PublicationsView.aspx?id=20004
Thank you to serLundry for linking me to Ajay's speech in the previous post comments.
Who tf is Ajay? His name is Yogi Adityanath.

Hydro Power scales up really well. Solar plants based on stored heat energy in Sodium salts scales up really good. Wind farms also scale up quite well. Also you can place small generators in the rivers streams in multiple no and provide energy for big cities (already working well in Europe).
Yes, Nuclear option is best option among all but not every country and place can build up nuclear plants.

BIS reaches out to developing nations for adoption of Indian Standards
Pehle yeh BIS standards ko India mai to sudharlo!
So many of standards are ages old and based on outdated processes.

In the previous post, we already debunked the fake news that UP rose from #5 to #2 in state GSDP and that in the last 1 year UP, jumped ahead of Karnataka & Gujarat.
Ajay has also made more fake claims.
Here is a report about his speech & the fake claims he makes in them - UP will become India's largest economy after BJP comes to power in 2022 polls, says Yogi
Fake Claim 1

• First of all, 2015-16 to 2020-21 is 5 Years not 4 years. Unless it's some Vedic Math I am not familiar with.
  • Also even if 5 years, it hasn't really doubled. In 2015-16, UP's GSDP was 11.37 Lakh crores. In 2020-21, it's supposed to be 19.4 Lakh crores. That's a 70% increase - much, much less than doubling.
  • 70% increase in 5 years, works out to a 11.26% increase per year CAGR. West Bengal's 2020-21 GSDP is not yet available. But in 4 years (2015-16 to 2019-20), West Bengal grew at 11.98% CAGR - i.e grew faster than Uttar Pradesh. If you compare 2015-16 to 2019-20 only, West Bengal grew at 11.98% CAGR while UP grew at 12.06% - Ajay had practically the same growth as what several BJP supporters consider the worst performing economy in the whole wide world.
Fake Claim 2

That UP's per capita income has grown to 95,000 is probably a big lie.
In 2019-20, as per RBI data, UP's per capita income (current prices) was Rs. 70,419. RBI hasn't published 2020-21's data yet, but a jump from 70,000 to 95,000 in 1 year is unimaginable.
Also we can try to roughly calculate it. UP's GSDP on current prices for 2020-21 is 19.4 Lakh Crores. Assuming UP's population is the same in 2020-21 as it was the previous year, then that works out to a per-capita GDP of around 76,000 Rs, a far cry from Ajay's claim of 95,000. Also, the denominator has surely increased in one year, so it's probably even lesser than 76,000.
Again, even in the growth in per capita figures, West Bengal did better than UP. RBI has published Net Per Capita figures upto 2019-20
  • At Current price, Uttar Pradesh has grown 49.5% from 2015-16 to 2019-20.
    West Bengal has grown 52.3% in the same period.
  • At Constant price, Uttar Pradesh has grown 23.5% from 2015-16 to 2019-20.
    West Bengal has grown 25.3% in the same period.
Sources:
GSDP data upto 2019-20 taken from - https://m.rbi.org.in/Scripts/PublicationsView.aspx?id=20006
The 2020-21 GSDP data for 2020-21 taken from https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...ist-beats-gujarat-tn/articleshow/81219023.cms
Per Capita figures taken from https://m.rbi.org.in/Scripts/PublicationsView.aspx?id=20005 & https://m.rbi.org.in/Scripts/PublicationsView.aspx?id=20004
Thank you to serLundry for linking me to Ajay's speech in the previous post comments.
Who is Ajay?
What is this rant against Vedic Maths? Vedic Maths = wrong claim? What kind of midget brain is this?
There are numerous articles on different news portals categorically mentioning UP GDP to be 2nd highest. What are you contesting here with your jugglery of facts?

Varun2002

Gland Pharma to manufacture Sputnik...

According to the company, “Sputnik V is one of the three vaccines in the world with an efficacy of 91.6 per cent and has most authorisations granted with 26 countries globally. The vaccine has already been administered to more than two million people worldwide.”
Good news. So Gland is not Chinese owned, its transfer to China was blocked? They did make a big pitch for it in 2016-17.