Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Chinese had set the standard that every city with 3M+ population will have metros. Then they increased that to cover 1.5M+ population cities as well. Ofc its China, so ROI might not really be a factor in these plans.

Looking at that, maybe every Indian city with 2M+ population should get a metro? Another thing to consider is that more of these urban folks would become able to buy personal vehicles as incomes rise in India. Maybe these Metro systems will preempt that vehicle explosion thereby controlling it?
Indian cities are NOT built and spread like Chinese cities. I have worked there and seen chinese cities. They are suitable for big lines of Metros and also they have no issue with funds. Chinese have already moved away from personal transport to using public transport for commuting to offices and colleges.
Beijing and Shanghai are having 600KM+ metro lines because the cities are freakingly huge and well spaced out, It is not like the kachchi colonies of Indian cities with 1000s of people crammed into small area.

Okabe Rintarou

Indian cities are built and spread like Chinese cities. I have worked there and seen chinese cities. They are suitable for big lines of Metros and also they have no issue with funds. Chinese have already moved away from personal transport to using public transport for commuting to offices and colleges.
Beijing and Shanghai are having 600KM+ metro lines because the cities are freakingly huge and well spaced out, It is not like the kachchi colonies of Indian cities with 1000s of people crammed into small area.
You mean "Indian cities are not built and spread like Chinese cities", right? In India, urban planning has usually lagged behind the actual expansion of cities, leading to haphazard and ad-hoc city infrastructure. I see this metro boom as urban bodies pre-empting actual expansion of cities. The antidote to "crammed colonies" in Indian cities is more efficient intra-city transport as well as rising income levels. We are developing the former in anticipation of the latter. Eventually, Indian cities will also get decongested and redeveloped to be somewhat like Chinese cities.

Yes, meant the same, updated the post now.
I don't see Indian cities getting decongested easily unless entirely new cities are made with proper planning.
Every year we are seeing more and more unauthorized (aka Kachchi) colonies get legalized by the local politicians to win the votes.
In Delhi, every year new kachchi colonies are errupting everywhere and AAP party members are getting them regularized with amazing pace! :frusty: just to increase their voter base! The whole city is in mess right now.

Edinburgh

I checked, and there are three standards for building subways in China city.
1, the total economic GDP of the city has reached 300 billion or more; GDP 46 billion US dollars

2. the financial revenue of the city has reached 30 billion or more; Revenue reached $4.6 billion.
3. the population of the urban area has reached 3 million or more.
In addition, the line have to meet the standard of 30000 one-way passengers per hour.

The subway project is not a stepping stone for urban development, but on the contrary, if there is not enough urban strength to run the subway project, the subway will become a chicken rib for urban development.

By this standard, less than ten cities, including Mumbai and Delhi, can build subway.

India's vehicle scrappage policy to offer 5% incentive on new cars for scrapping old vehicles: Gadkari
The Minister of Road Transport and Highways, Nitin Gadkari, said, "Automobile manufacturers will provide about 5 per cent rebate on new car purchases to the consumers in lieu of scrapping of the old. There are four major components of the policy...Apart from rebate, there are provisions of green taxes and other levies on old polluting vehicles. These will be required to undergo mandatory fitness and pollution tests in automated facilities. For this automated fitness centres would be required through out in the country and we are working in that direction."

325 Routes and 56 Airports Including 5 Heliports and 2 Water Aerodromes Operationalized Under Udan

Posted On: 08 MAR 2021 1:40PM by PIB Delhi

Shri Hardeep Singh Puri, MoS, I/C, Civil Aviation today flagged off the first flight from Delhi to the newly upgraded Trishul Military Airbase, Bareilly Airport, Uttar Pradesh. Shri Santosh Gangwar, MoS, I/C, Labour & Employment and Member of Parliament, Bareilly graced the event at the Delhi Airport by flagging off the All Women Crew operated Delhi – Bareilly Inaugural Flight on the International Women’s Day. Shri Pradeep Singh Kharola, Secretary, MoCA and Shri Rajiv Bansal, CMD, Air India joined virtually. Smt. Usha Padhee, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA) was present at the event. Other senior officials of the Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA) & Airport Authority of India (AAI) also attended the event virtually.

The Bareilly airport has been upgraded for commercial flight operations under the Regional Connectivity Scheme – Ude Desh Ka Aam Nagrik (RCS-UDAN) of the Government of India. The flagging off marks the commencement of the 56th airport under the UDAN scheme and marks the successful operationalization of the 8th airport of Uttar Pradesh after Lucknow, Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Kanpur, Hindon, Agra and Prayagraj. Now people can fly at ease by opting for a flight of 60 mins from Delhi to Bareilly while earlier they were forced to opt for a road travel of more than 6 hours or a train journey of more than 4 hours.

Trishul Military Airbase, Bareilly belongs to the Indian Air Force and the land was handed over to the Airport Authority of India for construction of the interim civil aviation operations. The Government of India sanctioned Rs. 88 crores under the UDAN scheme for the development of the interim civil aviation operations. The upgradation was undertaken by the AAI with a cost of Rs. 65 crores.

Alliance Air was awarded the Delhi - Bareilly route under the UDAN-4 bidding process last year. The airline will be deploying its ATR 72 600 aircraft having a seating capacity of 70 seats on this route.

To date, 325 routes and 56 airports including 5 heliports and 2 Water Aerodromes have been operationalized under the UDAN scheme. To keep the fares accessible for the common man, financial incentives in the form of Viability Gap Funding (VGF) is being provided under the UDAN scheme from the Centre, State governments and airport operators to selected airlines to encourage operations from unserved and underserved airports under the scheme.

This aerial connectivity will fulfill the aspirations of the lakhs of people who visit Bareilly for the NathNagri (known for the four Shiva temples located in four corners of the region - DhopeshwarNath, MadniNath, AlakhaNath and TrivatiNath), Ala Hazrat, Shah Sharafat Miyan and Khankahe Niyazia, Zari nagari and historically important sites like as Sanjashya (where the Buddha descended from Tushita to earth). The city is also a center for furniture manufacturing and cotton, cereal and sugar trading. This air connectivity will fulfil the aspirations of people of Bareilly and the entire Uttar Pradesh state. Apart from enhancing the aerial the aerial connectivity of the region, the flight operations will provide additional benefits to the trade, tourism, and local economy.

The flight schedule is mentioned below:

Flight No

Departure

Arrival

Flight 9I701

08:55

10:00

Flight 9I702

10:25

11:25

And we ask how to dispose Plastics, there are tonnes of ways and Indore is already doing it, converting Plastics back to diesel.

sauntheninja

Yes, meant the same, updated the post now.
I don't see Indian cities getting decongested easily unless entirely new cities are made with proper planning.
Every year we are seeing more and more unauthorized (aka Kachchi) colonies get legalized by the local politicians to win the votes.
In Delhi, every year new kachchi colonies are errupting everywhere and AAP party members are getting them regularized with amazing pace! :frusty: just to increase their voter base! The whole city is in mess right now.
Cities like Mumbai and Delhi simply cant support more people we basically need dozen's of new economic powerhouses but all the proposed plans seem to fail in the planning stage or fail to get enough investment

I checked, and there are three standards for building subways in China city.
1, the total economic GDP of the city has reached 300 billion or more; GDP 46 billion US dollars

2. the financial revenue of the city has reached 30 billion or more; Revenue reached $4.6 billion.
3. the population of the urban area has reached 3 million or more.
In addition, the line have to meet the standard of 30000 one-way passengers per hour.

The subway project is not a stepping stone for urban development, but on the contrary, if there is not enough urban strength to run the subway project, the subway will become a chicken rib for urban development.

By this standard, less than ten cities, including Mumbai and Delhi, can build subway.
So we are actually far ahead of chinese in building subways for our cities. I.e we are providing far better infra in similar development stage ( compared to same economic stage in China).

I have been saying this all along. We are doing much better than what china was doing infrawise while it's economy was our size. This means we are ready for even faster growth from here on.

India's vehicle scrappage policy to offer 5% incentive on new cars for scrapping old vehicles: Gadkari
The Minister of Road Transport and Highways, Nitin Gadkari, said, "Automobile manufacturers will provide about 5 per cent rebate on new car purchases to the consumers in lieu of scrapping of the old. There are four major components of the policy...Apart from rebate, there are provisions of green taxes and other levies on old polluting vehicles. These will be required to undergo mandatory fitness and pollution tests in automated facilities. For this automated fitness centres would be required through out in the country and we are working in that direction."

5% is too low. Should have been around 10%. Or 5% along with exchange bonus.
At 5% I doubt, this scheme will be successful. You can't make a scheme successfull by increasing negetive feed back like increasing green tax and re-registration tax.
In a country like India, you need to increase the positive feedback as a vehicle can go without contact with rto/ police for years in rural areas.

Ya'll Nibbiars The Air India employee consortium that had put in an Expression of Interest for the privatisation of the national airline, hasn't made it to the next round of divestment.

In a letter to Air India employees on March 8, the airline's Commercial Director Meenakshi Malik said that the consortium hasn't been shortlisted.

Chandragupt Maurya

Edinburgh

So we are actually far ahead of chinese in building subways for our cities. I.e we are providing far better infra in similar development stage ( compared to same economic stage in China).

I have been saying this all along. We are doing much better than what china was doing infrawise while it's economy was our size. This means we are ready for even faster growth from here on.
GDP is now similar to that of China in 2007. There are more on the subway than China in 2007, when there were 10 cities in China 721 km Subway

It should be very meaningful to compare with various data with 2007's China.

Chandragupt Maurya

Bihar, UP outperform most states, Maharashtra tops with 15.26 lakh MSME registrations
View attachment 80747
The MSME sector contributes significantly to the economy in terms of Gross Domestic Product (GDP), exports and employment generation. According to the government, the MSME sector contributes 30 per cent to the GDP, and the mission is to take it up to 40 per cent. In the export sector, the contribution of MSMEs is 48 per cent and the government wants to take up it to 60 per cent.

Ya'll Nibbiars The Tata Motors shareholders approve hiving off passenger vehicle business and JLR into a separate entity Respectively.

sauntheninja

Bihar, UP outperform most states, Maharashtra tops with 15.26 lakh MSME registrations
View attachment 80747
How is Karnataka so behind you would think the startup culture would help develop more entrepreneurial ambitions