Indian Economy: News and Discussion

mokoman

and it is being projected in news as if the local reservation is for all employees of private companies.
All private jobs with salary less than 50,000 per month.

Thats greather than what an average IT guy earns a month.

You have to register at portal , then if you cant find suitable canditate approach gov babu , then he will look into it and decide what to do next. :rofl:

And that too at 75% , not 25% or 5% .

All this completely goes against what Modi is trying to do at center. :facepalm:

There is high level of regional disparity in india . People migrate to industrialized areas for job . And it is not a good precedent if we really want a cosmopolitan urban culture in india . Govt shd nt decide who a private company hires . This if goes unchallenged it ll become habit of govt to introduce various kinds of reservations in private ecosystem . Private companies shd focus on innovations and profits and shd nt take headache beyond a point regarding socialist schemes of govt for getting votes .
1. Competitiveness of Industry
2. Stops interstate migration, so no national integration and more regionalism
3. Most probably end up growth of cosmopolitan city like Gurugram prematurely.
4. Risk of other states adopting similar laws.

Benefits:
1. Votes in election
2. More competition between states to attract corporates as it will directly impact their voters.
Do note, I am not taking sides, but rather I am trying to avoid falling into a binary trap in a debate.
=====
Outside of Gurugram, more than 80% of workforce will be local. So this law will not have any impact in rest of Haryana.

Issue will be in Gurugram, that too I believe impact will be marginal.

Better debate can happen if there was data available to see what is the percentage of non-locals in that salary range within Gurugram. I suspect the majority of non-locals in Gurugram will be from Delhi-NCR and less than 10% from rest of India for this salary range.

People who are debating this issue, have not put any data including intellectuals, the debate is happening on a matter of principle.

I have seen enough data in other states(non-IT sector), to recognise that the percentage of non-locals in this salary band is quite less.

Leonardo Alves

What’s the issue if locals are getting hired for low to mid salary range jobs?
When a person is hired anywhere, he or she does not start with 51,000 rupees per say and I am talking about average people not IIT grads.

So, what should he do? Because me myself started with 15,000 bandwidth, you only get increased with time.

mokoman

Do note, I am not taking sides, but rather I am trying to avoid falling into a binary trap in a debate.
=====
Outside of Gurugram, more than 80% of workforce will be local. So this law will not have any impact in rest of Haryana.

Issue will be in Gurugram, that too I believe impact will be marginal.

Better debate can happen if there was data available to see what is the percentage of non-locals in that salary range within Gurugram. I suspect the majority of non-locals in Gurugram will be from Delhi-NCR and less than 10% from rest of India for this salary range.

People who are debating this issue, have not put any data including intellectuals, the debate is happening on a matter of principle.

I have seen enough data in other states(non-IT sector), to recognise that the percentage of non-locals in this salary band is quite less.
Makes sense for outside Gurgaon .

But ~75% locals in Gurgaon workforce ??

🤷‍♂️ i don't have any data , but IMHO gurgoan is best thing going for haryana , they gonna fuck it up.

Cant really gauge impact without those % , like you said , but still, private industry wont like this .

Similar laws will be passed in other states as well . not a good look for foreign investors looking to invest in india.

Makes sense for outside Gurgaon .

But ~75% locals in Gurgaon workforce ??

🤷‍♂️ i don't have any data , but IMHO gurgoan is best thing going for haryana , they gonna fuck it up.

Cant really gauge impact without those % , like you said , but still, private industry wont like this .

Similar laws will be passed in other states as well . not a good look for foreign investors looking to invest in india.
Each of our states are the size of countries. If a private company is unable to find a few hundred or thousand workers among the population base of crores, there is something wrong in education policy of that state.

Chandragupt Maurya

Bihar to set up port facility in Odisha
Bihar on Monday made a strong pitch for a greenfield port facility in Odisha from the Centre where it can invest to create infrastructure that could be used to export various products of the state to places across the globe.

Anyways if haryana govt thinks it can act like this and get away with it they need to be given a lesson.

Hopefully states in south like telangana and karnataka and others like maharashtra impose a 80% quota in private sector too so that we can also just sit in our state and enjoy the benifits.

So much for one country free moment lol.

Chandragupt Maurya

Anyways if haryana govt thinks it can act like this and get away with it they need to be given a lesson.

Hopefully states in south like telangana and karnataka and others like maharashtra impose a 80% quota in private sector too so that we can also just sit in our state and enjoy the benifits.

It will actually be good every state should do this it will lead to uniform distribution of industries across the country because they won’t be able to employ the cheap migrant labour

DerBronzeLord

That Khattar is an illiterate guy, this is not the way BJP works in the name of appeasement. I hope it doesn’t affect Delhi NCR else Gurugram will be forever ruined. Its a shame that such things are not considered treason.
Khattar is an absolute Chuti***. In the Nikita Tomar case, one of his men got the peaceful a bail, and though he promised to give Nikita Tomar's family compensation, he didn't do jack-shit.

He is also single-handedly destroying one of the most important cities in India, and is anyway useless for politics in Haryana because, AFAIK, he is of a different caste or sect or something. BJP should remove him. There are much better BJP leaders who actually care about Hindutva and the nation.

DerBronzeLord

It will actually be good every state should do this it will lead to uniform distribution of industries across the country because they won’t be able to employ the cheap migrant labour
Distribution of industries depends on how good the laws are, and what the ease of business is. UP is getting so many industries because Yogi is personally getting them in. Karnataka is getting Tesla and other aerospace co's because the Govt is being proactive. Moves like imposing reservation will hurt a state's capabilities. If Mumbai or Bengaluru had done the same thing of imposing a local quota, they wouldn't be where they are today. Mumbai has a huge Gujarati population, and has the brightest people from the rest of the country who built it. Same goes for Bengaluru.

DerBronzeLord

Bihar to set up port facility in Odisha
Bihar on Monday made a strong pitch for a greenfield port facility in Odisha from the Centre where it can invest to create infrastructure that could be used to export various products of the state to places across the globe.
Why is Bihar setting up a port in Odisha? What is the logic behind this move? Is it to facilitate exports from Bihar?

Leonardo Alves

What I fear is this will create PRESENT DAY type farmers protests in future.