Indian Economy: News and Discussion

DerBronzeLord

Hope that no new bloody tax is added. Privatisation, even under the threat of strikes or what not, should be done. Honestly, I think this budget may be on par with 1991.
Projects like Mumbai Easter waterfront redevelopment should be executed in more and more coastal cities though not the scale of Mumbai but atleast these projects will unlock huge capital. These projects give huge revenues to the government and gives huge boost to GDP. Cyber City gurgaon is a very small city yet is a source of huge revenues.

Reactions: SKC

sauntheninja

Hope that no new bloody tax is added. Privatisation, even under the threat of strikes or what not, should be done. Honestly, I think this budget may be on par with 1991.
just hope the rumored covid cess tax is not implemented further weakening the demand in the economy many people after the lockdown started buying stuff which is the reason for our recovery another tax would hamper that

Actually we do not need anything to import except crude oil, minerals and some heavy machinery which we can not produce. Restrict all imports as much as possible. China has build a massive economy by high level of protectionism. We should be the next factory of the world like we are the pharmacy of the world. Our aim should be the export of high tech goods like Railway engines, planes, automobiles, electronic and IT equipment, mobiles etc.

sauntheninja

Actually we do not need anything to import except crude oil, minerals and some heavy machinery which we can not produce. Restrict all imports as much as possible. China has build a massive economy by high level of protectionism. We should be the next factory of the world like we are the pharmacy of the world. Our aim should be the export of high tech goods like Railway engines, planes, automobiles, electronic and IT equipment, mobiles etc.
China got to where its today because of opening its markets allowing american factories to operate there and then the transfer of technology happened which meant china could start its own companies which they previously just made for the americans

Our Manufacturing sector will gradually increase after all our dedicated infrastructure projects are completed.

DerBronzeLord

China got to where its today because of opening its markets allowing american factories to operate there and then the transfer of technology happened which meant china could start its own companies which they previously just made for the americans
There is a difference between protectionism and allowing phoren factories. Even today, China doesn't allow German automakers to enter easily into the Chinese Market. We should promote our own industries for our market, while allowing a small segment of a few percent for foreign companies as an incentive for them to set up base in India. This is exactly what China did. The primary reason why several companies are moving here are due to the cheap labor+ PLI, geopolitical instability with China, supply chain diversification AND for India's huge market. Criteria 1,2 and 3 are a bit complex, considering that even countries like Thailand and Vietnam can offer that. But the bigger, and most important thing, is the Indian domestic market. Ease out every Sugarland company, gradually, giving around 80% to Indian companies, and handing over 20% to phoren companies. 20% of India's market, in say, mobile phones, is bigger than several ASEAN countries. Increasing import tax slightly, along with providing incentives and a market share to phoren companies, will boost local manufacturing.

Jharkhand is in dire need of investment they are only above Bihar and Uttar Pradesh in terms of per capita income god knows how will the state attract investment now
Their income is only dependent on minerals and tourism and agriculture, such poor condition.

Okabe Rintarou

what happens when all the states start doing this?
Mainay bola tha BC...... Yeh saara jhamela Caste-based reservation se shuru hua hai. That set a very bad precedent. Now, instead of removing this B.$., we are adding to it. Are people really that stupid that they can't see what this will do to investment? We are hanging another albatross around our necks. It will haunt us for next 50 years.

Wardwizard Innovation Inaugurates One of India''s Largest Electric Two-wheelers Plant; To Generate 6,000 Employment Opportunities

Virtual inauguration ceremony of the new plant was conducted by Shri Amit Shah, Hon''ble Minister for Home Affairs, Government of India Mumbai, Maharashtra, India (NewsVoir) • The new plant has the capacity to manufacture over 1 lakh electric two wheelers in a single shift; Plant is equipped to produce 3-4 lakh units per year in full capacity

Probably many of you may know that when a transformation in a company is required, a vision and mission is set. India first of all should know what it want to become. Once that is set, the goal in different areas are set and the best and most economical way to achieve those goals are explored. Once that is done, the resources need to achieve those goals are worked out and a detail plan is drawn to allocate those fund on a long period. How to get that fund is also a challenge so prioritization of allocation is done. So when we plan to allocate fund, a highly meticulous planning is required to get maximum out of what we spent. Economic planning is difficult compared to financial planning as the redistribution of Income, Employment generation, foreign exchange saving etc is consideration in addition to financial aspects. If we want to make India great, we need to spend on basic things like health, water, jungles, primary education and skill development etc.

This planning is a bit difficult in democracy like us as the loan waiver of farmers is the biggest election promise in every election. If the same amount is spent in education farmers, making electricity available etc., the farmer's problem can be solved.

Wardwizard Innovation Inaugurates One of India''s Largest Electric Two-wheelers Plant; To Generate 6,000 Employment Opportunities

Virtual inauguration ceremony of the new plant was conducted by Shri Amit Shah, Hon''ble Minister for Home Affairs, Government of India Mumbai, Maharashtra, India (NewsVoir) • The new plant has the capacity to manufacture over 1 lakh electric two wheelers in a single shift; Plant is equipped to produce 3-4 lakh units per year in full capacity

Yes, we need this sort of innovations. Any cost effective solution to each and every of our issue will have a multiplying effect like LED bulb changed our electricity scenario of the India. Electric scooters shall address our transportation and commutation issue in a great effective manner saving a huge amount of money of people and enabling them to commute cheaply.

BlackViking

Probably many of you may know that when a transformation in a company is required, a vision and mission is set. India first of all should know what it want to become. Once that is set, the goal in different areas are set and the best and most economical way to achieve those goals are explored. Once that is done, the resources need to achieve those goals are worked out and a detail plan is drawn to allocate those fund on a long period. How to get that fund is also a challenge so prioritization of allocation is done. So when we plan to allocate fund, a highly meticulous planning is required to get maximum out of what we spent. Economic planning is difficult compared to financial planning as the redistribution of Income, Employment generation, foreign exchange saving etc is consideration in addition to financial aspects. If we want to make India great, we need to spend on basic things like health, water, jungles, primary education and skill development etc.

This planning is a bit difficult in democracy like us as the loan waiver of farmers is the biggest election promise in every election. If the same amount is spent in education farmers, making electricity available etc., the farmer's problem can be solved.
For that long term planning is required along with creating awareness. Political parties in power can make people aware using their own people, at least BJP with it's large number of party workers.
But sadly our governments plan keeping 5 years in mind.

For that long term planning is required along with creating awareness. Political parties in power can make people aware using their own people, at least BJP with it's large number of party workers.
But sadly our governments plan keeping 5 years in mind.
Perhaps that is why those 65 year plans are scrapped and Planning commission is dissolved. India is a very huge and complex country with multiple problems. That is why many innovations, many ideas and efforts at multiple level is required. Those who have the better understanding of the issue can deal with it in a better way. We have dealt with hunger poverty very effectively and now we are in a stage of developing country beyond hunger poverty such as providing them with houses, electricity, Medical facilities and cooking gas etc.

Good articles are popping up now that we getting closer to Budget announcement.
One good point made here is that PLI incentives only apply to production, not to investment.