Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Everything seems to be good

Except
engg, pwd/cpwd, town planning
I have a bad experience with them.

The method you narrated seems to be all good, so where does the hiccup usually occurs.

Also during the project feasibility report are the stakeholders industrialist ever consulted?
The US approach directly skips to consulting the Stakeholders.

Except

The method you narrated seems to be all good, so where does the hiccup usually occurs.

Also during the project feasibility report are the stakeholders industrialist ever consulted?
Hiccups can occur at any stage. First is that this proces is very time consuming. This is the reason our infra projects take so much time to materialise. One Govt does the foundation, while the next one does inaugaration. So by the time the actual work starts, the costs incurred overshoot the inital budget outlay. This becomes a ripe situation for audit and opposition objection. So, either the present costs are wrong or the budget calculation was wrong meaning the project was conceptualised in incorrect manner, clearly a recepie of disaster. Industry reps cannot be directly consulted as it would mean interference of private parties, again a recepie of corruption allegations, but they are brought on board for their recommendations when tenders are being finalised. Esp in cases where there are only a few parties to participate due to special nature of the project.

Except

Where did you get the impression that US skips to consulting stake holders?

in US economy is largely driven by local govts not federal govt, we haven’t reached that stage yet.

Where did you get the impression that US skips to consulting stake holders?
Buisness articles generally peg America rather high in ease of doing business where bureaucratic process is rather short and approachable since they arent as constrained as us in land, skilled work and finance projects take off faster than in other places.
Here you have to wait for months to get a clearance for setting up your own transfomer for small scale factories.

FalconZero

An interesting video by WSJ, some of the decent points were:
1) It showed Micromax factory, they claimed that 60%+ of their components were sourced from India and can achieve 100% in upcoming 3 to 4 years, an analysist though said that it's 12% but can be achieved in 3 to 4 years.
2) Micromax is working with many Indian local companies to manufacture its smartphone component, so I think we should actually back this company if they succeed to create an ecosystem of small suppliers then other new companies can start budding again.
3) This video gives us the idea that Micromax is not just rebranding Chinese smartphones and for a company to restart all this in less than 5 months is a good start, hope they succeed.
4) Another thing is that GOI is working with Australia and Bolivia to expand our sources of lithium, currently we are importing them from China.
5) We are second largest manufacturers of smartphone but that we already know.

FalconZero

India is building the world's largest spillway surpassing the Three gorges dam. The Polavaram spillway will have a discharge capacity of 50 lakh cusecs which will surpass that of the Three Gorges Dam, which is currently the world's biggest dam.

Progress

• MEIL highlighted the construction of spillway beams, as well as bridges, dividing wall, lifting wall, and the guide wall. At the same time, major works such as the Earth Cum Rockfill Dam are progressing rapidly.
  • In a span of one year, MEIL extended the Spillway piers height from 28 meters to 52 meters.
  • Gap-1 construction, cofferdam works on the upper and lower part of the project site that prevents obstacles due to unforeseen floods is completed.
  • With the concrete construction being done here, the project will be further strengthened during the floods.
  • In the Earth Cum Rock fill Dam construction so far- 1,94,944 cubic meters of concrete construction in the spillway, 1,10,033 cubic meters of concrete work and 10,64,417 cubic meters of earthworks in the spill channel was completed.
  • The crucial 1,88,623 cubic meters of 902 hill excavation works is also completed.
  • 172 girders construction was completed and about 84 girders were placed on the spillway piers.
  • Bridge slab work of 250 meters on 10 piers is also completed, in addition to the installation of girders on the rest of the piers, the shuttering work, steel setting is in process.
  • Gap-1, 2-diaphragm wall construction work is completed. In Gap-3 rock excavation is completed, wall construction is in process.
  • Construction work on the key Trunnian beams in the gates is in full swing.
  • Twenty beams construction has already been completed and setting up gates near the completed beams is running. The gates used in this project are modernised and unique.
Despite the Corona pandemic and massive floods recently, Polavaram project work is nearing completion as per the deadlines set by YSRCP government. Several engineering projects are now underway, and it is now believed that the Polavaram project will be completed on time by 2021 and will set new standards in the field of irrigation project construction.

credits : u/railod on r/IndiaSpeaks

1) It showed Micromax factory, they claimed that 60%+ of their components were sourced from India and can achieve 100% in upcoming 3 to 4 years, an analysist though said that it's 12% but can be achieved in 3 to 4 years.
2) Micromax is working with many Indian local companies to manufacture its smartphone component, so I think we should actually back this company if they succeed to create an ecosystem of small suppliers then other new companies can start budding again.
3) This video gives us the idea that Micromax is not just rebranding Chinese smartphones and for a company to restart all this in less than 5 months is a good start, hope they succeed.
4) Another thing is that GOI is working with Australia and Bolivia to expand our sources of lithium, currently we are importing them from China.
60%+ is a total jhumla, 100% is a meme, mainly because for most electronic products today the big cost in its BOM comes from the ICs, processor/SoC, DRAM, Flash memory, image sensor chip, the lcd/led/oled screen, MEMS and assorted other microcontroller class chips.

To get IC manufacturing here it will take another big bucks govt scheme dedicated specifically for it.
Even then it will start with the microcontroller grade ones, you won't have Samsung 7nm and TSMC 5nm here just like that, it will take decades.

So the more realistic India sources component categories will be
  • PCB
  • Casing/Chassis/Body of the device
  • Screen assembly while the core display tech is imported
  • Battery manufacturing
  • Passive SMT components
  • Speakers
  • Charger and Headphones

Chongistan also doesn't make ICs yet, the good sh*t that sells well is all imported from Taiwan, RoK, Japan, US, EU and maybe Singapore.

Buisness articles generally peg America rather high in ease of doing business where bureaucratic process is rather short and approachable since they arent as constrained as us in land, skilled work and finance projects take off faster than in other places.
Here you have to wait for months to get a clearance for setting up your own transfomer for small scale factories.
one reason could be that the economic conversations we are having in India today, countries like US already had them in 80’s and 90’s.

policy discussions are imperative irrespective of the country including China, no running away from it.

Recycling lithium batteries already in use in India can yield a lot of lithium.
These batteries are recyclable.
We need to focus on waste utilization and Nitin Gadkari says exactly this. According to him, We can earn Rs 5 lakh crore from the business of waste. We can sale waste water. We can get gas from waste water, We can run cars from Gobar gas. We can make methanol from bio waste. Opportunities are enormous. What we need is focus.

FalconZero

60%+ is a total jhumla, 100% is a meme, mainly because for most electronic products today the big cost in its BOM comes from the ICs, processor/SoC, DRAM, Flash memory, image sensor chip, the lcd/led/oled screen, MEMS and assorted other microcontroller class chips.

To get IC manufacturing here it will take another big bucks govt scheme dedicated specifically for it.
Even then it will start with the microcontroller grade ones, you won't have Samsung 7nm and TSMC 5nm here just like that, it will take decades.

So the more realistic India sources component categories will be
  • PCB
  • Casing/Chassis/Body of the device
  • Screen assembly while the core display tech is imported
  • Battery manufacturing
  • Passive SMT components
  • Speakers
  • Charger and Headphones

Chongistan also doesn't make ICs yet, the good sh*t that sells well is all imported from Taiwan, RoK, Japan, US, EU and maybe Singapore.
Yeah me too think so....should have added it there. I wish we start focusing on PC segment too, gaymers are oppressed community...

Ya'll Nibbiars The Tata Motors has a debt problem. In order to service the 14 billion dollars debt. Make the Commercial Division, Passenger Vehicle Division and the JVLR division into a fully fedge subsidiaries and offload most of the debt on the JVLR.

images (84).jpeg
images (87).jpeg
images (86).jpeg
images (5).png
images (4).png
images (88).jpeg
images (89).jpeg

Yeah me too think so....should have added it there. I wish we start focusing on PC segment too, gaymers are oppressed community...
gaymers are small and insignificant.
le IT BOOM :DDDD since 90's has been totally powered by imported Laptops, Desktops, components, Servers and networking hardware from you can guess which country.
All this forex lost, all this possibility of strengthening Indian manufacturing lost.
But there is still potential, IT sector still expanding here.

Ya'll Nibbiars

We don't manufacture the following here.
-LCD module
-Camera moudle
-Chipset
- Microprocessor
-Touch Module
-Speakers
-Sensors

So what's left

- Charger
- Cabinet
-Packaging

We don't manufacture the following here.
-LCD module
-Camera moudle
-Chipset
- Microprocessor
-Touch Module
-Speakers
-Sensors

So what's left

- Charger
- Cabinet
-Packaging
The low hanging fruit here is the chipset, Battery.
Samsung, apple, Redmi have spend billions in R&D on research, what have we done?