Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Rassil Krishnan

You counter the innovashun based sovieties meme with the fact that we are a 1.4 billion population country, compared to these 50-100 million piddis and he will spew his 150 million golden number population control jhumla once more.
The main problem is issue of governmental support to innovation like in universities , private companies and in public research centres.we have the mentality required from the fact that we started many institutions of high research at a young age of the nation when we were much poorer and we stood behind them when we could have not initiated or abandoned them like some neighborhood countires have.

The issue is unlike the rich developed countries of west and like the Pentagon of usa,you do not have virtually infinite money to put into research and development and so we prioritised certain developments like agni missiles,nuclear engineering,etc that are important for many reason.this and many small and large fields were undertaken.

the problem is because of the reality of the difference between the living standards and job opportunities of the western nations and the devolping countries of the time in which we are included it will result in an effect where a lot of your researchers and engineers will seek jobs and education somewhere else like they have done in countires like india and china and many other countires.Your government cannot setup institutions fast enough or they cannot setup institutions of research in evry niche subject and hence inevitably the engineers scientists migrate to foreign countries.

This is changing however as the institutions we have seeded have grown and spread their spectrum of research more and more,many personal are retained in the countries of china and india for example.

The other thing is it will take time,this brain drain and limitations in funding of the central government are the main bottle neck in indian research efforts and still we innovate and develop many things.this will not happen if we were a nation like pakistan which is only obsessed with a foreign religion which puts scientific pursuit where the sun don't shine.it shows suitable we for the future economy and world that when we were poor,we dreamt and undertook research 'thought' to be only meant for well to do countries when we could easily focused on low ambition stuff.

Rassil Krishnan

Yes, indian Low IQ hai, Isliye "innovation" nahi hoti hai na? Is that what you wanted to say?
Abh Khush?

View attachment 68311

Aur ek chart lele, bohot low IQ hai hum :'(

View attachment 68312
IQ is just the averages.even if this chart is 100 percent true and also upto date ,in a population there will be smarties who are far above the averages in IQ.any countries progress in research and development depends upon multiple factors and one of them is the system emplaced to facilitate the finding and selection of these high IQ guys in the general population and puting them in the proper position to conduct research.

The other factors are more important as they are not readily available in all countires and also is reflecting of your society's attitude which is the attitude towards scientific pursuits in the general population and the government, strategic concerns ,money(big one here),system and organisations in place to seed and nurture people who want to pursue specialized research.

Even if the IQ chart is accurate,can anyone answer the rhetorical question why Saudi Arabia and india don't produce the same output in terms of development and research even though Saudis have a lot of cash and not much upliftment to do due to low pop and oil money.

Also there is an advantage india has due to the large population.the indian population is like the Red army tank population in world war 2,we have a lot of lemons,lots of meh and also lots of world beaters.the other countries like in the west have small no of highly motivated and trained and supported researchers due to the legacy of being rich countiries like the German panzer army tanks of WW2 and having all the above factors aligned with them.

However my prediction is that they will waver and dimnish in the future with decreasing slush money due to societal reasons such as money being relocated for gibs me dats and the incursion of foreign low innovative interest pop people in the form of African and middle eastern people in their society.
This period you will see many research stuff being undertaken by countries like China and India just due to brute force nos and money these countries will generate and the gradual improvement of the above factors.what we must do is put up laws and measures to speed up this process.

It will turnout like the fate of the clash of the tank forces of Germany and Russia.

We can’t become a superpower, just badi badi baatein.
The first In phone is itself a poor start. The ram option is limited to 4GB only.
Even after having near to stock android variant the phone is showing stutters and lagging here and there.
Gaming is getting restrict to mid and lower graphics levels in various games.
Unless they write down their own android skin they cant make an efficient and powerful android phone.
I don't think they even have capability to write their worn source code and make their own forks and drivers.

The first In phone is itself a poor start. The ram option is limited to 4GB only.
Even after having near to stock android variant the phone is showing stutters and lagging here and there.
Gaming is getting restrict to mid and lower graphics levels in various games.
Unless they write down their own android skin they cant make an efficient and powerful android phone.
I don't think they even have capability to write their worn source code and make their own forks and drivers.
They could but they don't find it necessary, and don't want to take the hit to their profit margins.
Even after dhulai by ching pongs, this Micromax wala is still the same shameless fellow it seems as of now.

They could but they don't find it necessary, and don't want to take the hit to their profit margins.
Even after dhulai by ching pongs, this Micromax wala is still the same shameless fellow it seems as of now.
Ya, It is not that difficult to build your android fork heck even Xolo (part of Lava) were able to do that but the market went completely to Chinese players by then.
However I never had any confidence in MMX. They started well in 90s as L1 suppliers to the branded Indian companies supplied televisions and other electronics items under the branded companies tag.
When they launched their own products they just did rebranding stuff.

What they never told you when they said India was the worst performing emerging economy

You must have seen the headlines. As the Mint put in “plain facts,” India’s GDP, with a shocking contraction of -23.9% is pretty much at the bottom of the table of emerging economies.

So who is doing better than India? Apparently, almost everyone. I suppose this is a good time for all and sundry, from the high brow Kaushik Basu to social media based economist Dhruv Rathee to take potshots at Modi’s India.

Now, here is what is missing from those “plain facts.” Did they mention what happened to the respective emerging market currencies during this same time? Every country reports GDP growth only in its national currency and not in USD.

India’s economy contracted by 23.9%. For comparison, Brazil’s GDP contracted by 11.9% and Russia’s GDP by 8%. So, did they really do better than India?

Absolutely not. Brazil’s GDP contracted by 11.9% in terms of the Brazilian Real (BRL). Russia’s GDP contracted by 8% in terms of the Russian Ruble (RUB). India’s GDP contracted by 23.9% in Indian Rupee terms.

Unless we move to the same unit, we are almost literally comparing apples to oranges to mangoes.

So what happens when we look at the respective contractions in USD terms? Here is the disaster that struck the RUB and the BRL in times of the Wuhan Coronavirus.

From 1 USD = 61.73 RUB at the beginning of the year, the RUB has collapsed to 76.09 to the dollar. That is down by over 23%!

And look at the Brazilian Real (BRL)

From 1 USD = 4.02 BRL at the beginning of the year, the BRL has collapsed to 5.34 to the dollar. That is down by nearly 33%!

And now see the Indian Rupee, almost rock solid.

Down by barely 4% since the beginning of the year.

Does it not make more sense to compare everything in the same units? So Brazil lost 11.8% of its apples and India lost 23.9% of its oranges. But the price of apples fell by 33% during the same period, while the price of oranges declined only by 4%. So who really lost more?

The economists out here, do tell us!

Ya'll Nibbiars

Mahindra has suddenly lost the way. All new cars are having poor designs. lost 3rd place to Tata and went to 5th spot.
Tata is doing wonders with their new design philosophy and launching models after models.
More new models are in pipeline: Gravitas & HBX.

Mahindra has suddenly lost the way. All new cars are having poor designs. lost 3rd place to Tata and went to 5th spot.
Tata is doing wonders with their new design philosophy and launching models after models.
More new models are in pipeline: Gravitas & HBX.
Ya'll Nibbiars The Tata HBX was schedule to be launched at January. Dont knew what will happen now. The concept to Road ready Vehicle's time need to be recuded in order to increase the sale. And need to do more focus on the Nexon which can be scaled from 5,000 per month to 10,000 if properly done. Tata Vehicles are better than the Maruti and Hyundai's dabbas which are poor in the NCAP Safety ratings.

Tata cars are indeed much safer and well built compared to MSIL but the public perception has not changes a bit. Tata is still selling close 10% of total sales only.
When we were looking for our second car this Jan-Feb, I told my father that lets look out for Nexon and Tiago. He straight away declined saying who buys Tata cars!!!! :laugh:
We went for WagonR in the end.

People still believes that Tata cars are poor man's cars. This big dent is due to their overconfident push to Nano.
They are seems to be recovering well for now. Tiago, Nexon and Altroz all crossed 6K sales last month which is encouraging. Harrier is crossing 2.5K sales.
HBX and Gravitas are expected to ad another 5-7K sales to Tata and bring them closer to 30K sales per month which will be huge for them.
Govt should do something about the Koreans (Kia + Hyundai). We are just giving them too much of space in Indian market which might kill off Tata and Mahindra in long go. MSIL has already become majority Japanese and they have started to sell cheaper and inferior version of their cars in India and better and safer cars of same model outside India.

Ban these chongs or atleast make their business operations hell here.
People will gobble up anything that is cheap and good enough.
They follow anti market policies. They priced the newer version of hector 3-5 lac lower than their market competitors to increase their sales. They can source parts from China and reduce the costs further. This way they can put strain on all other market players. They have practically unlimited supply of money to absorb any loss if they suffer in global markets.

Tata cars are indeed much safer and well built compared to MSIL but the public perception has not changes a bit. Tata is still selling close 10% of total sales only.
When we were looking for our second car this Jan-Feb, I told my father that lets look out for Nexon and Tiago. He straight away declined saying who buys Tata cars!!!! :laugh:
We went for WagonR in the end.

People still believes that Tata cars are poor man's cars. This big dent is due to their overconfident push to Nano.
They are seems to be recovering well for now. Tiago, Nexon and Altroz all crossed 6K sales last month which is encouraging. Harrier is crossing 2.5K sales.
HBX and Gravitas are expected to ad another 5-7K sales to Tata and bring them closer to 30K sales per month which will be huge for them.
Govt should do something about the Koreans (Kia + Hyundai). We are just giving them too much of space in Indian market which might kill off Tata and Mahindra in long go. MSIL has already become majority Japanese and they have started to sell cheaper and inferior version of their cars in India and better and safer cars of same model outside India.
Ya'll Nibbiars And The Wagon R has only Two star Ratings.

Reactions: SKC

And the Wagon R has only Two star Ratings.
Ya I know. but Tata is still not having the same image as MSIL or Hyundai. Even Hyundai's car for sale in India are inferior and not safer than the cars built for global markets. This is happening despite being both Indian version and global version being made in India plants.