Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Haldiram

upload_2019-8-1_12-22-19.png

Glad to know that Indian stock markets follow Sharia compliance as per strictest Middle Eastern standards, otherwise the secular fabric of the stock market would have come under threat.

upload_2019-8-1_12-23-12.png

Haldiram

The thing about this Shariah is that when u give them an inch they take a mile.
We've already given them a mile. Halal meat, Halala marriages, Muslim personal law, polygamy, independent Wakf boards*, Madrassa boards, Aligarh Muslim University, Sharia stock markets, Sharia co-operative savings funds, now they want mainstream banking to become Sharia.

*The Wakf board controls a lot of autonomous land in India : https://defenceforumindia.com/forum/threads/ram-mandir-in-ayodhya.78754/page-18#post-1474720

Sabh kuch toh de diya. We have created a mini Pakistan within India.

Time to go for massive infrastructure binge. Use the sluggish global environment to raise cheap capital and pension funds like canada to fund massive long term infrastructure projects on the lines of Chinese. Build thousands of km of express way and thousand of km of bullet train.

Allow cities to raise capital directly from overseas for faster urbanisation which will make economy much more productive and integrated.

These things will generate huge employment which will revitalise the income - savings - investment cycle.

Sent from my C103 using Tapatalk
According to me, this is the time to educate farmers and do skill development in the big way. Our land is getting spoiled and water is getting disappeared from the cities. If we know the basics and try to go for or city so called development, we will we will end like looser. Aur priority should be water conservation, organic farming,
skill development, population control , improving green covers, building up of jungles etc. This do not require big much fund but it requeires bigger focus and attention. once your focus properly on these, rest of the things can be done as you said like Massive infrastructure etc. what we should not forget is that water conservation, environment conservation ecetera is the most primary thing requiring prime focus. We must focus on biodiesel methanol from bio waste management etc. This will bring prosperity to the rural area and farmers . It will reduce our
dependence on other countries for or oil requirement etc. It will environment as well. It was a time when we were poor and our primary focus was the survival but now that time has passed. We are now in a reasonable state of economic well being. So this is the time to we think something else such as environment conservation, water conservation etcetera which is basic to human well being.

According to me, this is the time to educate farmers and do skill development in the big way. Our land is getting spoiled and water is getting disappeared from the cities. If we know the basics and try to go for or city so called development, we will we will end like looser. Aur priority should be water conservation, organic farming,
skill development, population control , improving green covers, building up of jungles etc. This do not require big much fund but it requeires bigger focus and attention. once your focus properly on these, rest of the things can be done as you said like Massive infrastructure etc. what we should not forget is that water conservation, environment conservation ecetera is the most primary thing requiring prime focus. We must focus on biodiesel methanol from bio waste management etc. This will bring prosperity to the rural area and farmers . It will reduce our
dependence on other countries for or oil requirement etc. It will environment as well. It was a time when we were poor and our primary focus was the survival but now that time has passed. We are now in a reasonable state of economic well being. So this is the time to we think something else such as environment conservation, water conservation etcetera which is basic to human well being.
These ideas work when population is bit more rich. Let's say organic forming while wonderful for nature and health it is costly to buy organic food at current income level of population.

At a higher per capita let's say 6k-10k USD per capita people will have more purchasing power and will prefer organic .

Look at all development and fast developing countries they all became very conscious of their environment / sanitation/ cleaning/ tourism and organic food only after reaching certain income thresholds.

Same thing will repeat in India as our people rise from grinding poverty to middle classes they will learn to appreciate cleanliness / organics and importance of water conservation etc.

Looks like more and more bad news coming for the economy . The panic from the RW supports and how they are tagging Modi and NS in every tweet shows that there is something really going wrong.

Yesterday Susu was saying economy is heading into tail spin

SJ!.jpg

Looks like more and more bad news coming for the economy . The panic from the RW supports and how they are tagging Modi and NS in every tweet shows that there is something really going wrong.

Yesterday Susu was saying economy is heading into tail spin

View attachment 36435
https://m.economictimes.com/news/ec...-strengthens-in-july/articleshow/70477391.cms

Here is slowdown for you.
The Nikkei India Manufacturing Purchasing Managers' Index rose to 52.5 in July from 52.1 in June, remaining above the 50-point mark that separates expansion from contraction.

Also

https://www.business-standard.com/a...port-share-amid-trade-war-119080100136_1.html

Export are growing even in trade war.

The only major Asian economy that’s grown its export share since the start of the tariff wars in 2018 is the one with the fewest trade links to China.

India’s share of world exports rose to 1.71 per cent in the first quarter of 2019 from 1.58 per cent in the fourth quarter of 2017, data compiled by Bloomberg show. The share of every other economy among Asia’s 10 biggest exporting nations fell in the same period

Crisis lol.

Prashant12

GST Collections For June At Rs 1.02 Lakh Crore

The goods and services tax collection rebounded to breach the Rs 1-lakh-crore mark for June after hitting a four-month low in May. The mop-up for June, collected in July, stood at Rs 1.02 lakh crore against Rs 99,939 crore in May, according to a statement by the Ministry of Finance. That’s a 5.7 percent rise over the year-ago period. It is 3.9 percent higher than the monthly average of Rs 98,114

Read more at: https://www.bloombergquint.com/gst/gst-collections-for-june-at-rs-102-lakh-crore
Copyright © BloombergQuint

I am still saying this slowdown and market crash has nothing to do with Recent budget . these are all the spillover effects of the Namo1 and the crucial structural reforms the govt failed to execute . If we still want to dream of 5 Trl by we need some drastic reforms and it has to start now any further delay our 5 Trl will come only by 2030 not by 2024 . Govt has to stop listening to this babus too much and get some economist and get some ideas . This govt is entirely run by bureaucracy the same old style how Modi ran his govt in Gujarat . Sadly it was just one state but here its entire country and he cant replicate the same success in national level unless he adapt some changes .

Haldiram

I am still saying this slowdown and market crash has nothing to do with Recent budget.
Right.

these are all the spillover effects of the Namo1 and the crucial structural reforms the govt failed to execute.
The economy has been in a slowdown since 2012 itself. In the intermediate, the markets rallied in 2014 in the name of Modi. The economy hadn't seen any change. The correction is only cancelling out the exuberance of the 'Modi rally'. Most stocks have gone back to their 2013 rates.

It's not a India specific problem. Check Brazil, China, Europe. Most of them are in a recession.

European Economy Slows, Raising Expectations of E.C.B. Action

upload_2019-8-2_10-13-41.png

No amount of reforms could shield the economy from a global slowdown in consumption. The higher growth we experienced post 1990 was due to plugging into the global economy. This plugging opens us up to external influences of its own. Earlier, we were a closed economy with nationalized banks, we couldn't bother less. Now the global trade climate affects us. If a % of your sales comes from exports and a % of your investment comes from FDI, then a slowdown in either of them affects your economy beyond the gormint's control. How is Balkrishna going to sell their tyres if the red necks on the other side ain't buyin nuffin.