Indian Economy: News and Discussion

It is other way around. The war with pakistan is what gives psychological motivation to people to work harder India has plenty of people and some can be easily put in military work without affecting the work of others. After all, the whole point of developing electronics industry is to have indigenous manufacturing for war consumption.
The most important thing of developing electronics industry is MONEY, not people's motivation. And your indigenous manufacturing won't work if your whole society won't throw everything they got to support in civilian consumption.

Haldiram

This is an article from 2014 >>

Nifty at 100000 & Sensex at 400000 by 2030: the answer lies in assumptions

The Indian market has rallied over 30 per cent so far in the year 2014, but the rally is just getting started, say experts who have come out with target in excess of 1,00,000 for the Nifty and 4,00,000 for the Sensex in the next 15 years or by 2030.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"The answer lies in assumptions"

This is the same kind of assumption we used to make in Geometry class.

>> Prove that the triangle is a right angle.

>> Let's assume the triangle is right angle.

>> Hence proved.

The most important thing of developing electronics industry is MONEY, not people's motivation. And your indigenous manufacturing won't work if your whole society won't throw everything they got to support in civilian consumption.
Problem is actually there with Pakistanis.
Indians, not all being from north India, care less about Pakistan than Pakistanis bother with Indians. May be why Pak is having our MFN but not us having Pak's. There's a big potential but I don't think it can be realised anytime soon. Pakistani people simply won't accept Indian surplus & products unlike Indians do for Chinese.
It is other way around. The war with pakistan is what gives psychological motivation to people to work harder India has plenty of people and some can be easily put in military work without affecting the work of others. After all, the whole point of developing electronics industry is to have indigenous manufacturing for war consumption.
If winning against a weaker neighbour could boost nationalism, nationalism will lose its meaning it being done again & again.

Indians, not all being from north India, care less about Pakistan than Pakistanis bother with Indians.
Not really, even in the North, most people give two hoots for the Napakis, except when it comes to terror. On the streets you'll barely hear anyone talk of shared culture, heritage etc.

Those who do, either have families on the other side or are the members and affiliates of the Lootyens crowd.

And I should add that Hyderabad and Malabar regions have very close links with the Napakis in many ways.

May be why Pak is our MFN but not us having Pak's. There's a big potential but I don't think it can be realised anytime soon. Pakistani people simply won't accept Indian surplus & products unlike Indians do for Chinese.
MFN is nothing but a obligation as a member of WTO (formerly GATT) that all members of WTO should grant MFN status to all other members. India did just that. Napakis being Napakis, baulked at this because anything that tags 'India' and 'favour' together is a quick haul to the nearest lamp post in Shitistan.

If winning against a weaker neighbour could boost nationalism, nationalism will lose its meaning it being done again & again.
Not sure what you are trying to say here.

Haldiram

Markets end losing streak, Sensex closes nearly 100 points up

The 30-share BSE Sensexgained 97.39 points to close at 34,474.38 while the broader 50-share NSE Nifty finished at 10,348.05, up 31.60 points.
Even with the steep fall, most companies are still overpriced on the market. There's scope for a 400+ point dead cat bounce in the short run before the market stagnates back to the current low.

Too many retail investors had pumped in huge sums of money through MFs, leading to even bad companies getting inflated by 40-60% without any earnings growth. The institutional investors saw the opportunity and started booking profits. Even with that, the correction was only ~35%. Those who are buying are still paying a ~15-20% premium with the hope that it will be covered by the earnings growth of the coming quarters.

Advaidhya Tiwari

If winning against a weaker neighbour could boost nationalism, nationalism will lose its meaning it being done again & again
What are you saying? Doesn't make sense. Who told you that Pakistan is the only point of nationalism? Pakistan is only the symbol of a larger evil. People are day to day creatures and need immediate result. So, the symbol has to be attacked regularly to hive consolation

Indians, not all being from north India, care less about Pakistan than Pakistanis bother with Indians. May be why Pak is having our MFN but not us having Pak's. There's a big potential but I don't think it can be realised anytime soon. Pakistani people simply won't accept Indian surplus & products unlike Indians do for Chinese
Who told you that only north Indians care for pakistan? Pakistan refers to entire Islam and the problem is prevalent even in Hyderabad, Karnataka etc. Pakistan as a state is just a symbol. No one really cares about any economic relationship with Pakistan

Advaidhya Tiwari

Again,money is just a tool of registry keeping. Money does not do work, people do. Just like billions are spent on road construction, semiconductor industry can also be built as govt funded project just to gain technology, mainly for defence usage

Even with the steep fall, most companies are still overpriced on the market. There's scope for a 400+ point dead cat bounce in the short run before the market stagnates back to the current low.

Too many retail investors had pumped in huge sums of money through MFs, leading to even bad companies getting inflated by 40-60% without any earnings growth. The institutional investors saw the opportunity and started booking profits. Even with that, the correction was only ~35%. Those who are buying are still paying a ~15-20% premium with the hope that it will be covered by the earnings growth of the coming quarters.
I've just started investing in SIPs. So no money lost for me. So I think the rise that will come now will make me more money than it normally would have.

Haldiram

I've just started investing in SIPs. So no money lost for me. So I think the rise that will come now will make me more money than it normally would have.
Yup. This correction is a prelude to the next round of bull run.

Not really, even in the North, most people give two hoots for the Napakis, except when it comes to terror. On the streets you'll barely hear anyone talk of shared culture, heritage etc.

Those who do, either have families on the other side or are the members and affiliates of the Lootyens crowd.

And I should add that Hyderabad and Malabar regions have very close links with the Napakis in many ways.
That's what I'm saying, threat is overemphasized. Pakistan isn't going to be able to create any major hurdle. But instead, its location could help us a lot.
MFN is nothing but a obligation as a member of WTO (formerly GATT) that all members of WTO should grant MFN status to all other members. India did just that. Napakis being Napakis, baulked at this because anything that tags 'India' and 'favour' together is a quick haul to the nearest lamp post in Shitistan.
Same as what I wrote. Allowing Indian stuff into Pakistani market could help Indian Economy & purchasing power a lot.
In Pak, they won't accept that. Peace actually has to be made from paki side. India's already open.
Not sure what you are trying to say here.
Anything you despise for some past reason can't be called motivation at least.
What are you saying? Doesn't make sense. Who told you that Pakistan is the only point of nationalism? Pakistan is only the symbol of a larger evil. People are day to day creatures and need immediate result. So, the symbol has to be attacked regularly to hive consolation
Who told you that only north Indians care for pakistan? Pakistan refers to entire Islam and the problem is prevalent even in Hyderabad, Karnataka etc. Pakistan as a state is just a symbol. No one really cares about any economic relationship with Pakistan
Except a few again,
Detest is there for re unification of India. You were talking about motivation and comparing with a group of already lost religious, I can't get why looking backward and laughing on someone gonna help you move forward.

Advaidhya Tiwari

That's what I'm saying, threat is overemphasized. Pakistan isn't going to be able to create any major hurdle. But instead, its location could help us a lot.
You seem to know everything? How is Pakistan unable to cause major hurdle when it joins force with others? If Pakistan is such a minor problem, then why not wipe it out completely with ease?

Same as what I wrote. Allowing Indian stuff into Pakistani market could help Indian Economy & purchasing power a lot.
In Pak, they won't accept that. Peace actually has to be made from paki side. India's already open.

Except a few again,
Detest is there for re unification of India. You were talking about motivation and comparing with a group of already lost religious, I can't get why looking backward and laughing on someone gonna help you move forward.
No one asks for mere reunification. It is that the threat must be eliminated completely and permanently. It is not the land that matters but the elimination of hostile people.

No one is laughing on anyone. People learn on the basis of the past and continue in the future. The learning to do is that all threats must be eliminated as soon as possible before anything can be done in the long terms

In Pak, they won't accept that. Peace actually has to be made from paki side. India's already open
Many Indian goods are available in Shitistan, they are imported via Dubai or even Singapore, also imported via Wagah border and LoC.

A lot of stuff, especially medicines is smuggled in from Afghanistan and also from India.

https://www.livemint.com/Opinion/JG...ia-Dubai-The-dynamics-of-IndiaPakistan-t.html

Most of informal trade between the two countries were also found to be via a third country, in particular Dubai. About 68% of India’s informal export to Pakistan was found to be routed via Dubai. 59% of informal import from Pakistan was accounted for by passengers travelling by bus or rail. 24% of informal import from Pakistan was via Line of Control trade routes, while 17% was via Dubai.
Indian goods are available and popular in Shitistan

http://thingsasian.com/story/lahores-indian-bazaar

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...-at-lahores-pan-gali/articleshow/58264178.cms

TV soaps spur demand for Indian goods at Lahore's Pan Gali
TNN | Apr 19, 2017, 07.40 PM IST

LAHORE: Amid the rush and teeming humanity in the narrow lanes of an old market, it is easy to forget the history surrounding its existence. Like Delhi’s Chandni Chowk, named apparently for the beautiful lunar reflection in the length of waterway bisecting the historical market, Anarkali Bazaar in Lahore too evokes the past, being named after the pomegranate-blossom beauty of Sharif un Nissa, a member of Akbar’s harem who, legend says, was buried alive there for being too close to the emperor’s son, Prince Salim. And like the quaint shopping lanes that radiate from Chandni Chowk, Anarkali Bazaar too has its special charms, special among them being Paan Gali.
A narrow alley like many Indian markets, Paan Gali is a collection of 40-odd shops. Lahoris swarm into the area to find things that are usually out of their reach ordinarily — products manufactured in India, a country that both fascinates and repulses them. And none perhaps more so than the humble betel leaf, which lends its name to the market.

After the upheaval of 1947, when Muslims of India crossed the newly demarcated border into Pakistan, they found their destiny there, but not the paan that they had left behind in India. Thus came up a paan-leaf market to meet the new demand. Muzaffar Ahmad, who has been running his betel stall in the market for over 40 years now, testified, “Indian leaves have a better taste and they are firmer than the betel leaves we get in Pakistan.”

Till the early 2000s, the market exclusively sold betel leaves, but cable TV then entered and opened up, if clandestinely, the world of Indian soap operas in that country. There was an unexpected fallout: a sudden demand for goods and products shown in the serials or advertised during the commercial breaks.

A decade and a half later, the outcome is evident. Shop shelves are filled with herbal cosmetics, talcum powders, Ayurvedic medicines, jewellery items, even clothes, and if you scan their packaging, the writing is often in Devnagari, not in the Urdu script of native Pakistan. Most of them have trundled in past the border at Wagah and Attari.

A shopkeeper displays his products: most of which is from India

“After Indian TV serials became popular, many women customers began demanding Indian cosmetics and we decided to start this business to meet such needs,” said Usman, 42. “We can bring in these very products via Dubai, but that makes them expensive due to the various duties and taxes payable.” Not just cosmetics, people also ask for chyawanprash, churan and similar Ayurvedic concotions, either out of curiosity or at the suggestion of the local hakims.

The demand is good, but ensuring supply isn’t a simple task, the process being hostage to the vagaries of Indo-Pakistani diplomatic relations. “There is nothing illegal because we don’t import any harmful products and only sell stuff that our zameer allows us to, claimed Nazim Bhai, a veteran trader, a third-generation shopkeeper in Paan Gali.

The import process is often informal. Nazim himself requests a frequent traveller to India to buy certain products that he is allowed to bring in with his luggage on the Samjhauta Express. “We pay him for his services and sell the products at a remunerative rate made possible by the currency difference,” explained Nazim.

But it is becoming more difficult for the shopkeepers. Many of them quietly disclose that tensions between the two countries have made it tougher to do business. “Pakistanis now don’t like to watch Indian soaps that go on for years,” said Naveed Ahmed. “Our serials have regained their popularity for being short and episodic.” He, however, admitted that despite the persuasive power of Indian TV programmes lessening, people have become habituated to Indian products and continue to buy them at Paan Gali.

“Aaj bhi kai baaji aati hain Vasmol ya Parachute ka tel lene humare paas. Unka hair oil behtar hota hai,” conceded Ahmed. Sometimes, it seems, even diplomatic animosity cannot stand up to the seductive power of good hair oil.

AND

https://www.pharmaceutical-journal....nto-pakistan/10002736.article?firstPass=false

Heck, Shitistani doctors are even prescribing Indian medicines in some cases

There are even doctors who have been prescribing Indian medicines. For example, Peshawar-based doctor Gul Jamal claims to use an Indian brand for chronic stomach problems, finding it “quite effective”.
https://tribune.com.pk/story/1131445/new-trends-demand-indian-medicines-rises-local-markets/

https://reliefweb.int/report/pakistan/smuggled-medicines-save-lives

Haldiram

Just the mere presence of Pakistan blocks Indian market's access to Central Asian Republics and Europe. Both have the potential to quadruple our economy in a very short period. It is because of the blockage in the Wakhan corridor that we have to take the expensive route from Iran - Afghanistan - Central Asia.

It's not some random past reason. A hostile neighbor is squatting on 30% of land it stole from you, and preventing you from building trade ties with major world centers and realizing your national ambitions. The damage Pakistan causes us is more than just border firing or terror incidents. They're a big economic threat in terms of unrealized gains from trade with Central Asia. Had it not been for the Kashmir blockage, we could be importing LNG, oil, Uranium from Central Asia at much cheaper rates through secure land pipelines.

3/4 Pakistani states are ready to cede. We could find a land route to Afghanistan through Sindh - Baluchistan, once they are liberated. We don't even have to annex and administer them. The people will govern themselves like Bangladesh. We shouldn't settle for anything less than the complete dismemberment of Pakistan as we know it.

I am not really sure that the Pakistan blocking Indian access to CA really leads to THAT big of an economic or trade loss.

Let us see what we really need from Central Asian states- Oil and gas and minerals.

The best way to transport oil is via Ships, then pipelines, Railways and finally road. Chabahar/Iran allows us direct access to Central Asian reserves via Sea -> Land-> Caspian sea. Likewise for minerals.

Moreover, our key industrial regions are along the West coast and along the Southern coast. Tankers ships carrying these resources from Central Asia can directly dock and unload their cargo at Kandla, Mundra, JNPT, Mangalore, Kochi, Vizhinjam, Tuticorin, Chennai, Vizag etc.

Of course, our agricultural exports would be much helped via a shorter land route, but what is the carrying capacity of this route? Transporting over Afghan mountains and deserts even if their were little instability, would be costly.

Haldiram

Let us see what we really need from Central Asian states- Oil and gas and minerals.
The gains of road connectivity to CA is two fold. Consider the possibility of setting up a supply chain of Indian goods being sold in CA market, and the allied businesses that will spring out of it (maintenance and spares). Imagine Tajik and Uzbek girls buying Scooty and bois chasing them on their Pulsars :troll:

It'll generate so much employment for our manufacturing units back home.

Also,

India hails Kazakhstan's role as 'number one' supplier of Uranium

(I'm guessing these goods are going to be routed through the INSTC Russia - Iran - Mumbai trade route? wouldn't it be logistically easier if a trade corridor was built from Wakhan straight into Russia?)

Even if you discount the economic aspect, Pakistan simply needs to die. It's a colonial imposition and needs to go. It was made to prevent us from growing too big, like Hanuman.

Wakhan is actually impassable high mountains and steep valleys. It's a corridor in name only, very difficult to make all weather roads through that area at least given the current technologies.

Once again, much of our biggest auto industry (save for Suzuki and a few motorcycle units) is located in the West and South, so far easier to use sea transport to ship them to CA, rather than road/rail containers over much of Indian mainland, Pakistan and Afghan mountains and deserts.

Uranium is far too sensitive to be shipped by road or rail across a third country.

Of course, having a direct route to CA is always good, but it's not indispensable.

Pakistan refers to pan islamism. It is not that if India attacks Pakistan, muslim countries like Indonesia, Arabs etc will not come to help. Even Muslims in India will support Islam over the country as Islam itself is an empire on its own. The high reproductive rate of Muslims and their living at ithers expense is a threat. This is beyond pakistan. Since We Don't want to blane islam as a whole, as we need to get oil, we only blane pakistan for it. Try to understand this
I'm not abusing Islam, we have plenty of their still valuable in world. May be Turkey & Iran even without oil.
Just first point, never put motivation on the basis of conflict with Pak. It will keep hyphenating us with them, giving them unnecessary attention and more potential getting used as proxy against India. Try to get that, it's getting way too much attention.