Indian Economy: News and Discussion

The economy is slated to touch 6 trillion $ in 10 years and the Sensex is geared to reach 1,00,000 in the same time. Itna saara paisa kidhar jayega, hum-hi ko milega. :cool1:
Aur sab tax mein jayega!!
upload_2018-10-4_17-12-17.png

Defenceanalyst91

Why our currency is continue to devalue?.Is any end for this. Some persons r saying our currency may collapse in 2019? We will face recession? They r blaming Trump's trade war for this.

Seems like America is on mission to create economic collapse and war around the world

Haldiram

Aur sab tax mein jayega!! View attachment 28708
Jaitley hinted that they may reduce the LTCG tax in the long run. He stated that it was set to 0 earlier because India wanted people with black money to round trip their money into Indian equities in the absence of organic domestic participation. Now that domestic participation through mutual funds amounts to 80% of the equity inflows, we don't need black money to stabilize our economy.

He said that LTCG may come down later, at an indeterminate time (letting people withdraw money can act as a stimulant to domestic spending and help the economy when the government feels that consumption has gone down). He even said that the annual tax-free withdrawal limit will be raised from the current 1 lakh. If it's raised to 3L, it effectively means that long term investors who wish to withdraw their money post retirement can take out ~25k a month without any tax liability.

There should always be a penalty on lumpsum withdrawals as it has the potential to snowball a selloff and affect everybody in the equity pool.

Advaidhya Tiwari

What the FFFF!!!!??

Rs. 2.50 reduced on diesel and Petrol. Centre to bear the loss of 21000 crores.

Rs 2.50 worth nothing, but 21k crores is a lot of money.
Can anyone give the accurate numbers for Indian GDP in lakhs of crores. I remember it to be around 44.3 lakhs crores(2018 Q1 data).

It is around 0.47% of total GDP.

Now, I really wanna punch Jaitley's face
21k crore will be fore rest of the year (6months). This means about 0.1% of Indian GDP for total FY19. This will help ease inflation and transportation cost. It is a welfare measure to help the people get the required goods at lower price. The centre has gained significantly from increase in petrol tax. The rise in oil price means that tax is also increasing since taxes are proportional to prices. Some of it has been given back. Now states will also reduce taxes to some extent and give relief on petrol prices

Tibarn

This is insane if true...
Hopefully it is fake news, but there was an article in TOI about it a few days ago as well

Yggdrasil

Why our currency is continue to devalue?.Is any end for this. Some persons r saying our currency may collapse in 2019? We will face recession? They r blaming Trump's trade war for this.

Seems like America is on mission to create economic collapse and war around the world
Your (Porkistani) currency is definitely bound for collapse. Yes, PKR will devalue. You're already in a recession.

Don't worry about India, worry about Im the Dim first.

Defenceanalyst91

Your (Porkistani) currency is definitely bound for collapse. Yes, PKR will devalue. You're already in a recession.

Don't worry about India, worry about Im the Dim first.
A Gandu who ran away from India is speaking about my nationality :rofl::rofl:

21k crore will be fore rest of the year (6months). This means about 0.1% of Indian GDP for total FY19. This will help ease inflation and transportation cost. It is a welfare measure to help the people get the required goods at lower price. The centre has gained significantly from increase in petrol tax. The rise in oil price means that tax is also increasing since taxes are proportional to prices. Some of it has been given back. Now states will also reduce taxes to some extent and give relief on petrol prices
I doubt 2.50 rs will hardly help recession.

But if the inflation goes down in coming months then I'll agree

Haldiram

Today's gains..

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today's gains..

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Holy crap.............................................................

Hopefully it is fake news, but there was an article in TOI about it a few days ago as well
They already have gender quotas in the private sector don't they? A few friends of mine who started their own businesses in TN told me they got inspected for how many female employees they have. First we need to fix this nonsense. Of course, adding more quotas and reservations will only be a bigger disaster, whether it be for SC/ST, OBC, religious minority, or whatever else the oppression Olympics spits up.

Imagine reaching the top as CEOs of companies due to reservation in promotions in the private sector too! Merit be damned! Proficiency and productivity be damned! Knowledge and professional competence be damned! In this country of ours ruled by incompetent fools, the politics of appeasement reigns supreme.

Mangal

Imagine reaching the top as CEOs of companies due to reservation in promotions in the private sector too! Merit be damned! Proficiency and productivity be damned! Knowledge and professional competence be damned! In this country of ours ruled by incompetent fools, the politics of appeasement reigns supreme.
My mother said this, "we were landlords govt. took that away, then took away our land in ceiling, We studied hard to get into good colleges and jobs, then they took away admission into good colleges and govt. jobs by reservation, then they came for promotions and took that away. They have been taking away every thing bit by it since independence. What next they will take?" And today I see this news.

Looks like standard twisting by MSM.

Haldiram

They already have gender quotas in the private sector don't they? A few friends of mine who started their own businesses in TN told me they got inspected for how many female employees they have. First we need to fix this nonsense. Of course, adding more quotas and reservations will only be a bigger disaster, whether it be for SC/ST, OBC, religious minority, or whatever else the oppression Olympics spits up.
Quotas in private would never work because it's easy to dodge. Companies can simply outsource various departments of their business to a sole proprietor instead of having an inhouse team and complying with the quota requirement. So, if they have 100 CA's in their accounting team, then, instead of adding a 50% quota to their hiring, they can simply dissolve the whole team and offload the work to a third-party sole-proprietor accounting firm at a much cheaper rate. The firm can, in turn, hire their own people on a contract basis or hire other sole sole proprietor consultants. Everyone will be an independent consultant and no one will be a permanent employee. The more skilled consultants will get higher pay every time they switch companies. Companies will get skilled workers without having to give in to quota diktats.

Akshay_Fenix

India to continue Iranian oil imports post US sanctions

Top industry sources said Indian Oil Corp (IOC) and Mangalore Refinery and Petrochemicals Ltd (MRPL) have contracted 1.25 million tonnes of Iranian oil for import in November, the month when the US sanctions against Iran's oil sector kick-in.

Sources said IOC is importing the "usual" monthly volumes of oil from Iran. It had planned to import of 9 million tonnes of Iranian oil in the 2018-19 fiscal (April 2018 to March 2019) or 0.75 million tonnes a month.

https://www.businesstoday.in/curren...l-imports-post-us-sanctions/story/284024.html

Jackd

Quotas in private would never work because it's easy to dodge. Companies can simply outsource various departments of their business to a sole proprietor instead of having an inhouse team and complying with the quota requirement. So, if they have 100 CA's in their accounting team, then, instead of adding a 50% quota to their hiring, they can simply dissolve the whole team and offload the work to a third-party sole-proprietor accounting firm at a much cheaper rate. The firm can, in turn, hire their own people on a contract basis or hire other sole sole proprietor consultants. Everyone will be an independent consultant and no one will be a permanent employee. The more skilled consultants will get higher pay every time they switch companies. Companies will get skilled workers without having to give in to quota diktats.
Would you want to work in a firm on contract basis knowing that you will be jobless after the contact ends?
Besides, contract workers are low level employees and high value people are hired differently.
If outsourcing is the solution, then how do you propose that companies innovate and invest in R&D? Companies with 50,000+ employees can't just 'outsource', can they?
Why are we even deliberating on fake news?