Indian Economy: News and Discussion

IndianSpiderman

It's not just Japan which stagnated due to its demographics, it's happened in country after developed country. The one big exception to the rule has been the United States, largely due to the fact that it can afford to print unlimited currency. The Belt and Road initiative is China's attempt at emulating the United States' global empire in order to do just that. China's demographic emergency has caused it to take shortcuts in its colonization drive, causing it to give irrecoverable loans to economic basket cases such as Pakistan.

IndianSpiderman

Then you have no idea what AI and 4th industrial revolution really are. It is not only about automation but AI sensor and remote control. In another words, by implementing massive scale of new technologies, 60-70 years old workers can be as productive as their 30-40 years colleagues.
Interesting. Will it also spark in them the drive and the mental acquity of a 30 year old? Will it also make the 30 year olds much more productive than they already are, or does it only benefit septugenerians? What will prevent other countries from acquiring this technology and putting paid to China's plan?

中韓近日又因為泡菜起源展開網上罵戰,事件繼續發酵。南韓吃播主Hamzy因為在YouTube的包飯和泡菜的吃播影片下,讚好「大陸人居然說包飯文化是他們的」、「有人說包飯文化是大陸的,看了真生氣」等留言,被中國網民截圖,放回牆內批評她「辱華」;Hamzy因此在微博直播鞠躬道歉,但中國網民仍指她「跪得不夠端正」,所屬的上海素賢廣告有限公司周日(17日)火速與她解約,稱將刪減Hamzy所有影片,淘寶店舖商品也將全部下架。事件傳回南韓,Hamzy因為道歉,被南韓網民罵她叛國。#Hamzy#
Please reply only in English , Mandarin not allowed

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

Then you have no idea what AI and 4th industrial revolution really are. It is not only about automation but AI sensor and remote control. In another words, by implementing massive scale of new technologies, 60-70 years old workers can be as productive as their 30-40 years colleagues. It will not get new people to sell products, but it will make those late-coming countries harder to compete, especially those who dream to rise with their demographic dividends.

Then you are totally misunderstanding of Japan. There has been always a big difference between Japan and China: China is an 100% independent country but Japan is not. Chinese policies are made in Beijing while Japanese policies are decided by Washington.

AI technology is way off from any mass applications that people can actually make money from. Industrial robots, some speech recognition, imaging areas are where AI is doing ok. But these are still confined to niche areas and won't contribute to GDP growth much yet. Industrial robots are something India already has and so the incremental capability of having additional AI on it is questionable.
Driverless cars with AI are ok for fancy value but still does not have mass market appeal for any significant GDP impact. Driverless trucks may do well but India has a lot of competitively priced drivers and really dont need this technology.
Medical research and weather are areas AI maybe pretty useful to help with better diagnostics. But the west + Japan + Taiwan + Australia + India are doing well, as we work collaboratively. Look at recent Israel + India partnerships AI based medical research. Or Japan + India efforts on AI based weather. This is a GDP impacting area.
At the end of the day, AI is just a bunch of predictions made a bit easier by the enormous computing power available today, as huge volumes of data can be inputted for processing and computations can be done where the algorithm learns itself (note learns itself is just another mathematics which Indians excel at anyways). India has mathematicians, computing power, software development skills, hardware assembly capabilities etc...so AI powered machines should be pretty easy for us when the need arises.

Heat

It is not only about automation but AI sensor and remote control.
And how is AI sensor and remote control not related to automation ? Also since you are a subject matter expert, do explain what AI sensors actually are.

60-70 years old workers can be as productive as their 30-40 years colleagues.
Good luck getting your 70 year olds working into factories again, let alone have them compete with other younger nations. Chinese people certainly have a great sense of humor.

Chinese policies are made in Beijing while Japanese policies are decided by Washington.
Oh, I was waiting for someone to talk about the Plaza accord. Chinese tend to think that it is the only reason why Japan became what it is today. What people also forget that Germany too was a signatory to the accord and didn't face the same crunch as that of Japan.
Even then Germany faced a similar fate eventually.

Still I compare China's future with that of Japan because Japan has a lower per capita income than it's peers in Europe and China's stagnant per capita income will be even lesser.

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

AI technology is way off from any mass applications that people can actually make money from. Industrial robots, some speech recognition, imaging areas are where AI is doing ok. But these are still confined to niche areas and won't contribute to GDP growth much yet. Industrial robots are something India already has and so the incremental capability of having additional AI on it is questionable.
Driverless cars with AI are ok for fancy value but still does not have mass market appeal for any significant GDP impact. Driverless trucks may do well but India has a lot of competitively priced drivers and really dont need this technology.
Medical research and weather are areas AI maybe pretty useful to help with better diagnostics. But the west + Japan + Taiwan + Australia + India are doing well, as we work collaboratively. Look at recent Israel + India partnerships AI based medical research. Or Japan + India efforts on AI based weather. This is a GDP impacting area.
At the end of the day, AI is just a bunch of predictions made a bit easier by the enormous computing power available today, as huge volumes of data can be inputted for processing and computations can be done where the algorithm learns itself (note learns itself is just another mathematics which Indians excel at anyways). India has mathematicians, computing power, software development skills, hardware assembly capabilities etc...so AI powered machines should be pretty easy for us when the need arises.
i forgot to add: do the ccp virus bots know that AI has been around since the 1960s and most AI math was already done and dusted by the year 2000. And there exists tons of free AI models all over the internet? in AI, data collection is what matters. This can be done using simple sensors. For instance, India is world leader in radar and sensor electronics with an array of in-house development of various sensors ranging from rocketry to basic household sensors. Snesors are nothing big - it is just conversion of a signal of one form to a signal of another form which can be easily manipuilated. Sensor tech has been around since the 1920s and gained prominence just after world war 2 for industrial applications. All math related to sensors including signals were already developed by the 1960s. The CCP bots think that everything has just come about. Such is the lack of education in CHina. How many here know that Indian students who complete medical degrees in China cannot pass the IMA medical exam to practice in India? The pass percent has been in single digits attesting to the very poor quality of education in Chinese universities, which is also repeatedly proven by the bat eaters here.

angryIndian

So what should we do? Stop growing which according to you is best solution to solve the problem of poverty?
There is no quick fix or one simple solution to India's problems as the problems are as unique and myriad as the country itself.

India must chart out a plan for the next 50-100 years and work towards it.

But first India should work towards sorting out the basics like healthcare, education because a country will always fail if does not have a healthy and educated population.

It's unacceptable that in this day and age children are dying of malnutrition, cholera, typhoid and the country is still plagued by hunger.

angryIndian

According to him Pakistan’s infra is better than India with a LPI Rank of 122, India’s Infra is poor at 44th LPI rank and China’s infra is da best in da wurld with 26th LPI rank.
Baboo,i really cannot help if English comprehension is not your cup of tea.

Go back to the original statement. I mentioned that Pakistan has good motorways but still it's a laggard in social indicators.

Therefore when you say that UP is building roadways and it will bring prosperity. This is not the case, simply building infrastructure alone does not ensure healthy population.
You need to invest in schools,healthcare,sanitation.

Go back to the original statement. I mentioned that Pakistan has good motorways but still it's a laggard in social indicators.

Therefore when you say that UP is building roadways and it will bring prosperity. This is not the case, simply building infrastructure alone does not ensure healthy population.
PaKiStAn hAs GoOd mOtOrWaYs, that’s why its LPI rank is 122, LoooooooooooooooL.

Still I compare China's future with that of Japan because Japan has a lower per capita income than it's peers in Europe and China's stagnant per capita income will be even lesser.
Japan has good Per capita income. The value comes lower than EU countries only because they have more than 123 million population and biggest EU country other than Russia is Germany with only ~82 million.
If Germany reaches above 100 million than their per capita income will also come to level of Japan and maybe lower then them.
While Japan has slowed down but they will still remain 4th largest economy for long time in future behind China, India & US .

Dude show me some good pakistani motorway which even have some economical signifance , UP will hav ethem for goods transportation and all , what pakistan have .

A typical dim mindset ,how will you spend on helathcare and all if you don't have money, it's not behen ki shaadi ,so take loan and make everyone happy ,yoi need something to pay off that loan andall

Go to Pakistan and check the motorways. They only looks good because the amount of traffic they have is lesser than a Tier-3 Indian city.
Even their bigger cities like Islamabad, Karachi does not have traffic comparable to ours Tier-2 cities. Heck Noida-Gr.Noida has more cars and trucks on road then Islamabad.

There is no quick fix or one simple solution to India's problems as the problems are as unique and myriad as the country itself.

India must chart out a plan for the next 50-100 years and work towards it.

But first India should work towards sorting out the basics like healthcare, education because a country will always fail if does not have a healthy and educated population.

It's unacceptable that in this day and age children are dying of malnutrition, cholera, typhoid and the country is still plagued by hunger.
A country with enough employment don't need much investment in food security and education , and sorry that european model of free education for all is not sustainable .

This fci procurement will also need to stop one day , and reduction in it should happen from 2025 onwards , with more people earning above 10000 dollar per annum , we need to reduce it's scope , we need to focus on quality and nah that can't be achieved by your welfare scheme as government can afford quantity but not quality

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

How will you get to that school if there are no roads? How will you move building materials to build that school? How will you build a toilet if the parts of the toilet cannot get there? How will someone in a village go to a city to make more so they can build a toilet? How will you get medicines to a health care clinic? And how will you keep the prices of schooling, healthcare, sanitation low if transportation costs are very high?

When you answer all this, you will see that investment in transportation systems is what really makes a difference in making a country developed or at least upper middle income. Mobility and connectivity are what makes trade and commerce happen, and people rich.

By the way, GoI has invested tremendously in Ayushman Bharat Primary Health Centers - it is there in almost all of India 700+ districts now. As we all know swachch Bharat has helped reduce open defecation by 90-95%.

As far as education, the number of medical colleges, IITs, central universities, distric level colleges all have grown by 300-400-500%. Places like Ayodhya are getting big medical colleges and super specialty hospitals. Today almost 21 AIIMS are operational/under construction. We had 1 or 2 in 2014. We have what like 15-20 IITs now - there were 4-5 in 2014?

There are government colleges even in violence-prone places in Anatnag and remote places like Leh have a central university now.

A lot more needs to be done but the rapid growth of all infrastructure [roads, ports, railways, air travel, education, sanitation, health, urban development, electricity, power and water supply, etc.] have all been very good under 6 years of BJP government.

Who could have ever imagined that Indian Railways will ever have world class railway stations with railway ministers like laloo yadav, mamata banerjee etc.? Now we have airport like facilities in several railway stations.

Who could have imagined almost every rural household now uses LPG for cooking improving their health tremendously? Who could have imagined 99% of villages being electrified which has led to much better education levels even in remote areas due to use of technology. 80% of poor people now have bank accounts and government benefits goes directly into their accounts - look at how happy Punjab's farmers are or tea estate workers in Assame are for getting directly paid by the center straight into their bank accounts? Look at the electric power situation in the country - most places now hardly have any power cut - thanks to the billions of dollars invested in transmission and distribution infrastructure.

Heck - have you checked out how the Ro-Ro ferry service between Hazira and Bhavnagar has helped people of Kuchch greatly? Which government has developed waterways and port-based infrastructure?

Have you seen how medical care has come to remote corners of Uttarakhand due to high quality new roads being built there by the Modi government?

Have you noticed how much Varanasi has changed and poverty has become a whole lot less there? Heck have you seen how Gangaji is becoming cleaner every day as dozens of STPs keep coming online?

Without Modi government built infrastructure, wuhan virus deaths would have been ten times more, as people would have died in traffic jams and lack of medicines in smaller towns and rural areas due to lack of roads.

You dont understand India's transformation much or you deliberately twist facts to suit an agenda. Which one is it? And why twist things when infrastructure development is benefiting all of us greatly.

This is why there is a saying in the US: "America has great roads not because it is rich; but America is rich because it has great roads".

How will you get to that school if there are no roads? How will you move building materials to build that school? How will you build a toilet if the parts of the toilet cannot get there? How will someone in a village go to a city to make more so they can build a toilet? How will you get medicines to a health care clinic? And how will you keep the prices of schooling, healthcare, sanitation low if transportation costs are very high?

When you answer all this, you will see that investment in transportation systems is what really makes a difference in making a country developed or at least upper middle income. Mobility and connectivity are what makes trade and commerce happen, and people rich.

By the way, GoI has invested tremendously in Ayushman Bharat Primary Health Centers - it is there in almost all of India 700+ districts now. As we all know swachch Bharat has helped reduce open defecation by 90-95%.

As far as education, the number of medical colleges, IITs, central universities, distric level colleges all have grown by 300-400-500%. Places like Ayodhya are getting big medical colleges and super specialty hospitals. Today almost 21 AIIMS are operational/under construction. We had 1 or 2 in 2014. We have what like 15-20 IITs now - there were 4-5 in 2014?

There are government colleges even in violence-prone places in Anatnag and remote places like Leh have a central university now.

A lot more needs to be done but the rapid growth of all infrastructure [roads, ports, railways, air travel, education, sanitation, health, urban development, electricity, power and water supply, etc.] have all been very good under 6 years of BJP government.

Who could have ever imagined that Indian Railways will ever have world class railway stations with railway ministers like laloo yadav, mamata banerjee etc.? Now we have airport like facilities in several railway stations.

Who could have imagined almost every rural household now uses LPG for cooking improving their health tremendously? Who could have imagined 99% of villages being electrified which has led to much better education levels even in remote areas due to use of technology. 80% of poor people now have bank accounts and government benefits goes directly into their accounts - look at how happy Punjab's farmers are or tea estate workers in Assame are for getting directly paid by the center straight into their bank accounts? Look at the electric power situation in the country - most places now hardly have any power cut - thanks to the billions of dollars invested in transmission and distribution infrastructure.

Heck - have you checked out how the Ro-Ro ferry service between Hazira and Bhavnagar has helped people of Kuchch greatly? Which government has developed waterways and port-based infrastructure?

Have you seen how medical care has come to remote corners of Uttarakhand due to high quality new roads being built there by the Modi government?

Have you noticed how much Varanasi has changed and poverty has become a whole lot less there? Heck have you seen how Gangaji is becoming cleaner every day as dozens of STPs keep coming online?

Without Modi government built infrastructure, wuhan virus deaths would have been ten times more, as people would have died in traffic jams and lack of medicines in smaller towns and rural areas due to lack of roads.

You dont understand India's transformation much or you deliberately twist facts to suit an agenda. Which one is it? And why twist things when infrastructure development is benefiting all of us greatly.

This is why there is a saying in the US: "America has great roads not because it is rich; but America is rich because it has great roads".
Damn those congress bastards even delayed 6 aiims approved under atal ji , it took 9 years , others take 3 4 years